Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 15 Cu. Ft., Model# 8232

Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 15 Cu. Ft., Model# 8232

Item# 125706
This Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer hauls dirt, rock, wood, small livestock and more across the toughest terrain. Features the all-steel Original Tilt & Swivel frame with quick-release tipper latch dump feature, shielded ball bearings that don't need greasing and wide-track tires. Great for farm chores, hunting or working around the yard. Wheels trail in the track of your ATV. Deck Material Polyethylene, Overall Dimensions L x W x H in. 84 x 45 x 31, Frame Material Steel, Wheel Size in. 18 x 8.5, Load Capacity lbs. 1,200, Application Trailer, Wheel Type Pneumatic. Rugged polyethylene bed and all-steel frame won't rust, dent or corrode Dump feature with quick-release tipper latch makes loading and unloading easy Pass-through axle provides 12in. of ground clearance with 18in. x 8.5in. tires Wide-track tires with bearings and grease fittings Standard pin-style hitch 62in.L x 31in.W x 18in.H
Average Customer Rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (19 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 19(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 15 Cu. Ft., Model# 8232
Review 1 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 15 Cu. Ft., Model# 8232
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT SERVICE LIFE!!

,
June 15, 2013
By JRODFAB
from Texas
"I purchased this trailer in early 2008 to pull behind a 500 ATV and an 800 UTV for various types of ranch work. I expected to get maybe a couple years out of it due to the extreme hilly/rocky terrain in which I have used it.
It's now the middle of 2013, I still use it daily and except for the normal scratches and dings, it still pulls and looks like it's brand spanking new! The only things I have had to do is replace the tires after 3 years, and grease/service the wheel bearings on a regular basis.
I have hauled literally anything that would fit in this trailer and then some for the past 5 years. It is very easy for one person to operate, and the pivoting feature is awesome, especially for parking alongside and dumping into a pit or in tight places. The tilt bed is very useful as well because the wheel center line is just right to be able to dump a heavier load without assistance. The wheel bearings are also easy to service. This trailer is just plain tough.
I put a 1-7/8 hitch on it after a couple months to try and make it pull a lot quieter when running empty.
I would definitely recommend this product to a friend, and have already done so."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 15 Cu. Ft., Model# 8232
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trailer Works

,
November 3, 2012
By JBWoods
from Minneapolis
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Bought this trailer summer 2012. Used it mostly for hauling wood and brush.
Trailer works as billed
sturdy
Easy to assemble
Stable
Short tongue makes for tricky backups
Dumping feature weak.
The pin holes are vertical, ATV's are horizontal. Bought the ball coupler. Much better.
Overall - works great and saved me tons of time clearing 40 acres of pine plantation tree scrap after thinning."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 15 Cu. Ft., Model# 8232
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Match For Honda-Rancher ATV

,
October 8, 2012
By KnuckleGlide
from Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The 1,200 lb. load size is correct for 2012 Honda Rancher with included factory hitch standard.
Meets tongue-weight requirements.
I couldn't handle the property without these guys.
Get the expanded-metal, 1" sq. tube side rails.
I couldn't have packed this mule so full without them.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 15 Cu. Ft., Model# 8232
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Built

,
June 30, 2012
By trailback
from Michigan
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This trailer is well built, would recommend they install
fenders on trailer. which I did. Other wise there is mud
everywhere. Also like the 2 inch receiver attachment. please see attached photo.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 15 Cu. Ft., Model# 8232
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this cart

,
March 14, 2011
By JanieJ
"The cart was really easy to put together and was super light to wheel around the basement to it's storage spot. It's got tons of room and has been a life saver since we got it. I can't wait to start using it during mulch season!"
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 15 Cu. Ft., Model# 8232
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

polar sport trailor

,
November 17, 2010
By mtmantat2
from finlayson, mn
"follows atv thro woods and swamps just fine... works great to retrieve bears and deer... i added a ball hitch coupler to it and that speeds up hook up and i feel makes unit more stable.. the only addition would be a set of holes along top edge to allow bunggies to hook on securely... very glad i bought this trailor and will definately sugest to my hunting friends."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 15 Cu. Ft., Model# 8232
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer

,
November 16, 2010
By DavidGranvilleCoNC
from Granville Co, NC
"Great product. Light, but rugged and sturdy. Wished it had some tie-down hooks on each side, front and back of wheels. Great for hauling deer out of the woods and corn into feeders."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 15 Cu. Ft., Model# 8232
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good trailer

,
August 30, 2010
By fat250boy
from Bovey MINNASOTA
"The polar trailer is more durable than expected and is very easy to move around by hand. I use the trailer as a wheel barrow very often."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 15 Cu. Ft., Model# 8232
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great trailer

,
June 2, 2010
By monroeman
from Peterstown WV
"Will haul all you want it to. Travels well with full load of wood. I also bought side extensions. I pull it with my 650 4 wheeler through woods when cutting my firewood. Well worth the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 15 Cu. Ft., Model# 8232
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice trailer

,
November 2, 2009
By Hockey1
from Ann Arbor, MI
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I use a 2" ball and pull the trailer with my zero turn lawn mower, farm tractor and Jeep. It is very stable and can roll right over rocks or logs that may be in it's way. It is also is narrow enough to fit in tight spaces and in between trees. This is a heavy duty trailer. It is made with quality parts and the plastic bed is nice. The trailer is capable of holding a full load of pretty much anything you want to put in it. I have the metal front and side racks that expand the load capabilities. The dumping feature leaves a lot to be desired. When the load is dumped you must rake the contents out of the trailer. This is not what I expect from a dump trailer.
I agree with Battlegun
PROS:
- Durable / long lasting / able to take abuse
- Stability
- Price / Value
CONS:
- Size seems small without racks
- Dumping ability
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 15 Cu. Ft., Model# 8232
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good buy

,
November 19, 2008
By leroy241
from Poplar Bluff, MO
"I bought this trailer about 2 weeks ago. I love the trailer very durable and easy to assemble. only thing I have to say bad is I wish I would have waited because now they are on sale! If you are looking for one now is the time to buy!!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 15 Cu. Ft., Model# 8232
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer

,
November 17, 2008
By battlegun
from Virginia
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"If you are looking for a durable trailer this is it. It is made with quality parts and the plastic bed is great. The trailer is stable and capable of holding a full load of pretty much anything you want to put in it. (I also have the racks) The fall backs include it's size and dumping ability. The trailer seems to me to be more suited for a lawn mower. I have the metal racks that expand the load capabilities and I'm glad I do. I wouldn't want this trailer without them. The dumping feature leaves a lot to be desired. This is due to the rise in the back of the trailer, which is designed to help it dump. When the load is dumped you must rake the contents out of the trailer. This is easier than scooping it out, but not really what I expect from a dump trailer.
PROS:
- Durable / long lasting / able to take abuse
- Stability
- Price / Value
CONS:
- Size seems small without racks
- Dumping ability
Over-all opinion:
This is a great, durable trailer and I recommend it for someone who is looking for a trailer to use around the yard or maybe even light farm work. I would not recommend it for the serious ATV enthusiast who is looking for maximum functionality.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 15 Cu. Ft., Model# 8232
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Frisco River Camping Trip

,
November 17, 2008
By BigD48
from Silver City, New Mexico
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"The Frisco River area we headed into for a camping/fishing trip is remote, very rugged, and requires the utmost in quality gear...there is no mall or parts store within hours of our destination, so the trip fully depended on our gear selection. We opted for taking our Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer, rated at 1200 pounds, which was also equipped with the Polar Sport Side Rail Extension Kit. We pulled the Polar Sport Trailer with a side-by-side ATV over some terrain that was suitable only for a billy goat, but the Polar Sport Trailer never winced once, taking on the rocks and boulders like a champ.
We had the trailer loaded with generally everything we needed for the camping trip, which included tent, bedding, food, stoves, lanterns, heaters, clothes, fishing gear and chairs. The entire load was then covered by a nylon-stretch net to help keep the load from shifting. The trip in, due to the severity of the trail, took about 2 hours to negotiate. Not once during the trip did we have to re-secure the load or perform any type of maintenance on the Polar Sport Trailer.
The trip was highly successful....we camped, we fished and we had loads of fun, and when the trip was over the Polar Sport Trailer was unloaded at home, put back in it's storage building for a much needed rest, and looked as good as it did the day before the trip...a tip of the hat to Northern Tool & Equipment for carrying the Polar Sport Trailer, a remarkably great piece of gear for the outdoorsman!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 15 Cu. Ft., Model# 8232
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The greatest ATV trailer!

,
August 14, 2008
By Chum
from Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
"The trailer was easy to assemble. It is the largest ATV trailer that I have ever used. You can fill it full of gravel and go uphill with a 500cc Honda ATV and not tip the load half way there. It is fantastic with the side rail to pick up as many branches as a much larger utility trailers normally pulled by cars or trucks.
It has a very solid construction and does not rattle. The swivel action is great for dumping to the side.
One negative comment, however, is that the trailer arrived with one completely flat tire and the tire still has a slow leak.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 15 Cu. Ft., Model# 8232
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

,
August 11, 2008
By bushwacker
from Ontario, Canada
"Was very easy to assemble. Took 1 hour. Very light to manuver manually when not loaded. So far has handled loads of firewood, grass clippings and brush. Ideal for matching the track width of my ATV. Have no complaints."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 15 Cu. Ft., Model# 8232
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Value

,
August 11, 2008
By GATORJJJ
from Berkeley Lake, GA
"This is a great trailer for the money. Used it all summer behind an ATV on rough trails and it took the beating with no issues. Well made, durable and easy to assemble."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 15 Cu. Ft., Model# 8232
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy hauler

,
August 11, 2008
By strider
from Ohio
"Got tired of using wheel barrel for mulching and yard work. Decided to give this a try after reading reviews. Great little cart... takes a lickin' and keeps on tickin' Use with ATV and tractor. Easy to maneuver. Like the ability to pivot and dump."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 15 Cu. Ft., Model# 8232
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Polar Sport 1200

,
July 7, 2007
By Deadeyenevermisses
from Bellevue, Washington
"This is by far the easiest "some assembly required" item I've ever purchased. Two sockets and a philips are the only tools required for complete assembly which I accomplished in about 45 minutes, only about twice as long as the unpacking and disposal of cardboard."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1200-Lb. Capacity, 15 Cu. Ft., Model# 8232
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't live without it!

,
November 19, 2006
By SugarhillFarm
from Bath, NH
"Wonderful!
Tilt / swivel trailer that "Carries it's weight" for sure!
I use this for EVERYTHING!
Highly reccomended
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.