Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8233

Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8233

Item# 125707
This Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer hauls dirt, rock, wood, small livestock and more across the toughest terrain. Features the all-steel Original Tilt & Swivel frame with quick-release tipper latch dump feature, shielded bearing hubs and wide-track tires. Great for farm chores, hunting or working around the yard. Wheels trail in the track of your ATV. U.S.A. Load Capacity lbs. 1,500, Overall Dimensions L x W x H in. 98 x 54 x 31, Wheel Size in. 18 x 8.5, Wheel Type Pneumatic, Deck Material Polyethylene, Frame Material Steel, Application Trailer, Axle Diameter in. 1, Steering Type Tilt and pivot frame. Rugged polyethylene bed and all-steel frame won't rust, dent or corrode Dump feature with quick release tipper latch makes loading and unloading easy Pass-through axle provides 12in. of ground clearance with 18in. x 8.5in. tires Wide track tires with shielded bearings - no greasing required 72in.L x 40in.W x 18in.H bed Standard pin-style hitch Side rails not included
Average Customer Rating:
4.649 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (74 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
72 of 74(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8233
Review 1 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8233
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great and Useful

,
August 3, 2014
By garyjr
from Crown Point, IN
"Bought this for a couple of Reasons. Went to get the smaller one. but were sold out. So I got the 1500. I am VERY PLEASED I DID!. On the farm I use this for hauling Wood out of the back! and I will use this too Haul Deer during Hunting Season! LOL. I use my ATV. and I would say This has Hauled far more then I would of expected and exceeded what I would of expected!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8233
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Product

,
July 14, 2014
By Razorhorn
from Shady Shores, TX
"I use this trailer around my property mostly for landscaping tasks - brush and tree disposal, hauling firewood, mulch, landscaping stones, etc. It's towed behind a garden tractor. My wife told me this weekend "I thought this trailer would be a waste of money, but now I am really glad you got it." The cost is a little on the high side but this trailer is definitely a case of you get what you pay for. It has been a workhorse over the last several weeks. Without a doubt, it is the most used attachment in the barn. Chalk me up as one very satisfied customer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8233
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Graet Trailer ! ! !

,
July 8, 2014
By Binor
from Cosby,TN
"Very easy to assemble. So far I've moved fire wood, rocks, & dirt. This trailer has performed without a hiccup. Just to be sure I installed Military grade tire sealant , so no flat tires. There are alot of briars and thorn bushes in TN. Buy one you'll love it ! ! !"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8233
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

grear light trailer

,
June 22, 2014
By golfcourse
from philly pa
"We have work carts at a golf course but the beds are small. This cart is light enough for them to pull but more than double the carring capacity."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8233
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Trailer!

,
June 9, 2014
By Happyfamily
from Ontario, Canada
"The trailer was delivered promptly and the price was great! It is very durable, light weight and was easy to assemble. We will be using it for dirt, mulch and moving logs around our 2 acres. ATV tires were recommended and they are perfect. The sides allow full use of the trailer where others had a "shelf" on each side limiting capacity. Very pleased!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8233
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome cart! Hold's up to my expectations.

,
June 2, 2014
By BKwashPA
from Washington, PA
"This is a really well made ATV/UTV/Lawn cart. I was about the Poly bed on this not being sturdy but it is very sturdy and does not flex or bend much with a load of dirt or logs. I have only had this unit for 2-1/2 but I have used it every day since it arrived. I just bought a large farm and have lots of clearing to do. I can tell you that hauled 20 trips of wall stones and I put 48 blocks @ #31/ea in the cart every trip. The cart had no problem hauling that or the many loads of firewood. The only complaint some people may have is that it won't totally empty itself when you dump it if you are hauling dirt. You have top shovel or rake some of it out. That doesn't bother me but for some it may. Overall it is a rugged unit. FYI: I also have a Bosski ATV wagon and I have to say that i believe I like this cart better.
You won't be disappointed with this purchase."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8233
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great trailer

,
May 30, 2014
By rsuprman
from patchogue ny
"I love this trailer so far. I bought it to use with my atv to move fire wood and mulch around my property. The only thing that would make it even better is if the dump action really dumped to load out. It doesn't dump enough to get all the mulch out you have to help it out. other then that it is awesome."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8233
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent trailer

,
May 28, 2014
By Crossfit
from NJ
"The trailer was easy to assemble and looks durable. I carried a bunch of wood through a rough trail without a problem."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8233
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect size

,
May 27, 2014
By JoeTheEngineer
from Havre de Grace Maryland
"I am a professional Mechanical Engineer, so keep that in mind during this review.
I purchased this trailer to use in conjunction with my tractor equipped with a front loader. When loading with dirt I disconnect the trailer and lay the tongue on the ground. I can fit 4 or 5 loads of dirt in the cart with the 50in. bucket of my tractor . The cart is big enough that no dirt misses the cart. Most of the load is forward of the axel so I haven't had a problem with the cart tipping while filling it disconnected.
My tractor has a standard 3 point hitch which thankfully doesn't interfere with the trailer. The trailer will hit the tires of my tractor during a jack knife, but not any of the three point linkages which was my concern.
When I have a full load of dirt in the trailer with the tongue on the ground it is nearly impossible to safely lift the tongue for coupling, especially on a non level surface. I use a chain to connect the raising arms of the 3 point hitch to the trailer tongue. The hydraulics then lift the front of the trailer for safe, easy coupling.
As others have said, the dumping action of the trailer isn't terribly useful. On level ground the trailer dumps at about a 45° angle, but the tail of the trailer is long and tends to hold the load back. When I purchased the trailer I imagined I would be able to dump the cart and assist the dirt on making its escape. This was not the case. It stays in there and doesn't want to fall out. All of it. I have to shovel it out which takes a while due to the size of the trailer. At least I don't have to lift it over the edge of the trailer I as would if it didn't tilt at all.
On the plus side, the trailer itself is very light. I could pick up the box it came in myself. Assembly was easy and even my wife can roll the trailer around to position it where it needs to be. I can pick it up and lean it against a wall for washing. The plastic bed is proving to be tough as it hasn't gouged at all. This is good since one will have to shovel and rake any of the contents out of the bed since they won't dump out on their own. The tires and wheels are better than I expected. The bearings are cheap Chinese ball bearings with pitiful seals that have huge gaps. It looks easy enough to press in new ones with a shop press when the time comes. I have had old steel lawn tractor trailers and this one is so much more pleasant to haul things in. No more loud clanging. The contents make more of a dull thud sound, not that I can hear it over my tractor and hearing protection.
I haven't had any problems with the dump latch as other reviewers have stated. I can see where it wouldn't take much to bend the guide that keeps the trailer from swiveling if you aren't careful.
Overall I am happy with the trailer. It is the perfect size which was my biggest concern. I needed something sized for a real tractor and not a lawn mower. I will probably end up raising the bed pivot so that the trailer can dump at a steeper angle or rig a way to lift the front up with the tractor. I didn't purchase the side extensions as it is easy enough to make your own if you are handy.
I say, if you need to haul a lot of heavy stuff you should go ahead and get it and don't worry about the side extensions. If you need to dump a lot of stuff, plan on modifying it so your contents actually go somewhere after you tilt the bed. If you aren't terribly handy and will be moving things like leaves and brush I would consider getting the side extensions."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8233
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth Every Penny

,
April 30, 2014
By TOKENS
from North Carolina
"Just bought this trailer to use with my ATV. One word "awesome"! Went together quick and easy. I bought the side rail kit which I think is a no brainer to have but it took longer to add the rail system than it did to build the trailer out. My trailer only had holes for one set of screws to attach the rail kit. You need to drill two other sets to really secure it. For the price nothing comes close."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8233
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

,
April 21, 2014
By Joed1223
from Bucks County Pa
"It's seems hard to find a decent size trailer for ATV use. Many are to small and have little capacity. This trailer fits the bill perfectly, along with the side rails holds two to three times as much cargo as many other trailers I have tried. Definitely expensive but in the end worth the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8233
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Trailer

,
February 4, 2014
By Tavo
from ill
"Perfect for anything you can throw at it around the house or farm. Stable,durable,strong, great design. Easy assembly. Better than those small metal ones from the home improvement stores."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8233
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

tough trailer

,
October 31, 2013
By DZ50
from central Ohio
"Have used trailer for app 3 years with no problems. I pull trailer with Honda atv, this has allowed me to cut firewood in some very difficult areas on our property. Would also recommend rail kit as it really adds to the overall capacity.Pulls easy over rough terrain, backs easy. Only shortcoming is dump feature. Will not empty entire load, but minor problem when you consider how hard you can work this thing. Well worth the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8233
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great trailer

,
September 23, 2013
By splitfirepotter
from Homer, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I use this a lot and it has handled everything that I've thrown at it. I have hauled firewood, dirt, stones, debris, etc... No rust to worry about, the swivel feature has been handy many times and I'm glad I added the metal extended side rail kit for hauling firewood. The only thing I wish is that it tipped at a steeper angle. I need to clear the last few logs, etc by hand if I don't have a slope to unload on. The rear lip is a little too long."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8233
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Trailer!!

,
September 17, 2013
By JH64
from Idaho
"I bought this trailer about 2 years ago, it was easy to assemble and has been a real workhorse around my property. I use it for everything from hauling firewood and building materials and also getting home the occasional deer or other wildlife. It literally goes anywhere that the guad goes and you don't even notice that it is behind you. I bought the side rails for it as well and it doubles the amount of firewood you can haul as well as other things. I don't know how I could get along without this trailer it is great!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8233
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice trailer but requires common sense

,
July 21, 2013
By Raftman79
from Peotone, IL
"I bought one of these a few years ago for recreational & light farm duty. The first thing I did was cut off the hitch and replace it with a coupler for a 1-7/8" ball hitch. I never understood what the original hitch was designed for. (The tools required to do this is just a hacksaw, hand drill & two wrenches)
It's a good trailer as long as you keep in mind that it's payload rating is assuming you're pulling it at low speed on a smooth lawn with a riding mower. My neighbor tore mine up hauling a load of large rocks behind his ATV on a rough trail at probably 20 mph or so. With no suspension system and high pressure tires (25 psi if I remember correctly) it's not going to handle the payload the manufacturer claims unless you're going slow and in smooth terrain.
Using common sense in regards to terrain & loading, I've had mine up to 50 mph behind my ATV with light loads, but when loaded heavy I've never pulled it very fast.
I do plan on buying another one soon and making the same hitch alteration but I won't let my neighbor borrow it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8233
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

polar 1500# Trailer

,
April 24, 2013
By homebrewer
from Montana
"I bought this trailer to use for general use around a small acerage. i have hauled everything from wood to sand in the trailer. it is tough and appears to be very durable. overall it is a great trailer there are only two things to consider when purchasing this product. First it has no suspension so it is slow speed only especially with light loads. my only real complaint is the design of the "tail" while great for rolling things into will not allow anything to come out onto the ground when dumped. dirt sand wood whatever has to be unloaded or shoveled off."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8233
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Trailer

,
April 23, 2013
By Skyote21
from Central TX
"I purchased this trailer along with the side rails & trailer coupler for a 2" ball. The trailer is extremely solid & I was surprised at the size & capacity. Initially, I was torn deciding between the single & tandem axle versions, but the single axle is perfect. I've purposely put the trailer through some extreme uphill, downhill, & sidehill situations for testing, and it's handled all without a problem. I'd recommend saving $$ and going with the single axle unless you're going to be carrying very large & heavy loads (rock, etc.) across extreme terrain.
The dump feature is actually handy for loading large game into the trailer as well. I'm very impressed & happy with my purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8233
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome trailer!!!

,
October 22, 2012
By Dieselbear428
from Dallas, Tx.
"I bought one to use around my 21 acres. The acreage is very wooded and I use it to haul wood and debris. This trailer is very well put together and is easy to assemble. I highly recommend that side rail extensions, I only wish they were standard equipment. :( **Hint....do not fully assemble trailer if you plan on putting the side extensions on right away. You will have to replace two bolts with longer ones for the rail extensions.** All in all a great buy that I am very happy with. I hauled longer pieces of timber that did not lay along the bottom but extended out the back. No matter how much weight I put on the rear plastic, it never flinched or bent."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Polar Sport Off-Road ATV Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8233
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

One Tough Little Trailer!

,
October 21, 2012
By srfnson
from Winnipeg, MB
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"If you're looking for a tailer to haul wood, debris, hay etc this is a great little trailer!
Assembly is simple...I even lost my instructions and was able to put it together in 30min. Quality is very good. Well built frame and strong poly tube which can take lots of abuse and retain it's shape.
Dumping a load full of dirt can be a bit of a pain as this is not really designed as a dirt dumper. It can be done with assistance of a shovel.
I'd recommend getting the side kit as this allows you to carry a substantial load of wood or brush."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.