Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Polar Sport ATV Trailer - 800-Lb. Capacity, 9 Cu. Ft., Model# 8381"

"Polar Sport ATV Trailer - 800-Lb. Capacity, 9 Cu. Ft., Model# 8381"

Item# 125720
"Hauls dirt, rock, wood and other gear across the roughest terrain. Features the all-steel Original Tilt & Swivel frame with quick-release tipper latch dump and wide-track tires. Load Capacity lbs. 800, Application Trailer, Deck Material Polyethylene, Frame Material Steel, Wheel Size in. 16 x 6.5, Wheel Type Pneumatic, Overall Dimensions L x W x H in. 70 x 33 x 24. Frame has powder-coat finish Steel bushing with grease fitting 52in.L x 26in.W x 15in.H bed"
Average Customer Rating:
4.182 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
9 of 11(82%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Polar Sport ATV Trailer - 800-Lb. Capacity, 9 Cu. Ft., Model# 8381"
Review 1 for "Polar Sport ATV Trailer - 800-Lb. Capacity, 9 Cu. Ft., Model# 8381"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

trailer works

,
February 4, 2014
By gatorintennessee
from Harrogate, TN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"after 3 years using this trailer, i am almost always satisfied with the performance. wish it actually dumped full load. bar to the hitch seems loose but hasn't bent or separated yet, just makes noise. tires hold up very well. plastic bucket is perfect for firewood. tracks very well behind my ATV and pulls easily. biggest complaint is the very poor quality hitch mechanism. half comes out from under the spring tensioner and will not work until you fight to put it back in place."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Polar Sport ATV Trailer - 800-Lb. Capacity, 9 Cu. Ft., Model# 8381"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

a few quality issues

,
December 7, 2012
By Bluethunder91
from NC
"I purchased this trailer and its not exactly what you get in the catalog picture. First, I do want to say it is an okay trailer but does have a few quality issues. It was labeled made in China so I dont know if this is why there are differences in what was shown in the picture and what you actually get. When I unpacked the frame I noticed some of the welding on the frame was smooth on one side but had holes on the opposite side. It appears the welding was fully done on the exposed side and not so on the opposite (hidden side). The trailer doesnt have the nice cosmetic Polar decals or the yellow hub tires (the tires are not the ones pictured). The grease fittings on the hubs should be the first thing to replace. After assembly I started to pump the grease in to the hub and ended up with it squirting out all around the fitting. Ive worked with difficult grease fittings before, but even realigning the nozzle and applying tight pressure did not get it to work. The fitting is of poor quality and I recommend replacing them. The trailer does tilt but due to its elongated design, its not a dump type of option. Once tilted the load will have to be shoveled out or pulled out. The trailer does pivot if needed. The rail extension kit is not available on this size trailer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Polar Sport ATV Trailer - 800-Lb. Capacity, 9 Cu. Ft., Model# 8381"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

,
October 15, 2012
By BMCK
from tx
"I needed a trailer to haul 500 to 600 lbs of feed to remote gamefeeder locations over rough terrain. The Polar Sport ATV trailer did the job"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Polar Sport ATV Trailer - 800-Lb. Capacity, 9 Cu. Ft., Model# 8381"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ATV trailer

,
April 2, 2009
By arkie1
from Arkansas
"I have used this trailer to haul 25+ heaping loads of dirt back and forth across grass and fields.
Pro: Easy to load, plastic body is durable, tires and axle carry the weight well, dump latch is sturdy, overall unit seems well made.
Cons: as stated in other posts-unit will not dump entire contents, you must shovel at least half out after you tilt the body. Trailer tounge is short, makes hooking up to ATV awkward and backing it up is not as easy as it would be if the tounge was longer. The hole in the hitch is tiny and had to be drilled out to accept a resonable size pin.
Summary: It is a very good trailer, better than the small metal utility trailers. I am glad I didn't spend the extra $170 on the Polar 1200 trailer, this one does all I want it to.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Polar Sport ATV Trailer - 800-Lb. Capacity, 9 Cu. Ft., Model# 8381"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1001 uses

,
November 18, 2008
By Shepherdess
from Medon Tennessee
"I use this trailer all the time for everything from hauling firewood, large rocks, fencing and posts, newborn lambs, tools for working in remote spots and, on occasion, my husband. It is easy for for me, a mid-60's grandmother, to move and maneuver either loaded or empty. I pull it behind a Gorilla electric vehicle and the size is just right. I don't have to worry about whether the trailer will fit through a tight space; it matches the Gorilla well. The body of the trailer is tough and shows no damage from rain, sun or rip rap being thrown into it. The tongue is seemingly impervious to rust as is the underbody structure. The tilt and turn feature has come in handy. However, if you want to dump something, this trailer doesn't really dump because of the long rear lip, just tilts so that the load is easier to rake or shovel or pull out. I've been using it for about 6 months. It was very easy to assemble and the box fits in the back of a pickup. It hauls as big a load as I want to load and unload."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Polar Sport ATV Trailer - 800-Lb. Capacity, 9 Cu. Ft., Model# 8381"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Little Trailer big on Value

,
August 11, 2008
By VanJ
from Allentown, NJ
"This trailer is the smallest in the series but holds a great deal of material, is easy to handle and dump and was built very well. It will not rust and yet is very durable and just begs to be towed behind the lawn tractor, farm tractor or ATV. I was very satisfied with the trailer and would recommend it to any home owner."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Polar Sport ATV Trailer - 800-Lb. Capacity, 9 Cu. Ft., Model# 8381"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ATV Trailer

,
April 21, 2008
By Dink
from Madison Heights, VA
"Very tough. I hauled dirt up my ATV trail and it handled it like it was nothing."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Polar Sport ATV Trailer - 800-Lb. Capacity, 9 Cu. Ft., Model# 8381"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

,
January 16, 2008
By Donderosa
from Arizona
"If you are looking for a trailer that will dump, this isn't it. The bed tilts, but not enough to dump your load. It will allow easier loading of large rocks, etc. but any material that is shoveled into the bed, must be shoveled back out."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Polar Sport ATV Trailer - 800-Lb. Capacity, 9 Cu. Ft., Model# 8381"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

polar sport

,
January 14, 2008
By FarmerS
from North Dakota
"This trailer was easily assembled and very durable. The only modification I had to make was to the hitch. The pin hole on the trailer was very small, to small for my four wheeler. I took apart the hitch and drilled the hole bigger to fit a bigger pin and have no problems since."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Polar Sport ATV Trailer - 800-Lb. Capacity, 9 Cu. Ft., Model# 8381"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good all around trailer for ATV

,
October 29, 2007
By djmmlm4
from League City, TX
"We use this on a regular basis on our deer lease. It will haul deer feed, ladders and various tools around our property when an ATV rack just isn't big enough. We have not had any problems with it tipping as long as your driving your ATV like a civil human being."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Polar Sport ATV Trailer - 800-Lb. Capacity, 9 Cu. Ft., Model# 8381"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

New product

,
January 28, 2007
By frontierman
from Fairmount Indiana farm land and woods
"Heavy duty frame grease fitted bearings on wheels knobby air filled tires for rough surfaces bad directions small and vauge print mine was shipped without the latch waiting on it from slow UPS"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.