Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262"

"Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262"

Item# 125724
"The Polar Axle Utility Trailer features the Tandem Walking Arm - an independent walking beam suspension and an extra set of wide-track tires on Polar's rugged all-steel frame. Whether you're hauling in the woods, on the farm or at the jobsite, tandem axles help balance big loads while lending stability and incredible smoothness over any terrain. Tire Size in. 18 x 8.5, Frame Material Steel, Hitch Type Pin style, Overall Dimensions L x W x H in. 98 x 54 x 31, Side Rails Included No, Capacity cu. ft. 22, Assembly Required Yes, Steering Type Tandem walking arm, Dimensions L x H in. 72 x 40 bed size, Load Capacity lbs. 1,500, Axle Diameter in. 1, Tire Type Wide track tires, Deck Material Polyethylene. Dump feature with quick release tipper latch makes loading and unloading easy Rugged polyethylene bed and all-steel frame won't rust, dent or corrode Pass-through axle for extra clearance to allow your Polar Trailer to roll over nearly any terrain Wide-track tires with shielded bearings that don't need greasing 72in.L x 40in.W x 18in.H Side rails not included"
Average Customer Rating:
4.705 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (44 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
42 of 44(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262"
Review 1 for "Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice trailer

,
July 18, 2015
By JohnMc
from Vermont
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I bought this trailer to tow behind my Coot (an antique 1960s era UTV). It makes a nice match. So far, I've mostly used it for hauling firewood out of my woods. It tows and dumps nicely. I haven't loaded it to 1500# yet, but I have been up around 1000# with no problems.
The four wheels help distribute the load and avoid rutting my trails if the ground is a bit soft. The walking arm suspension really makes a difference on rough terrain.
The wood does not all dump out when I tip the bed, but to do that, I suspect the whole thing would have to sit a lot higher off the ground, which would make it top heavy. If needed I just pull forward a couple of feet with the bed dumped, and it clears.
The only complaints I have so far are minor: I wish the tires were larger diameter - this would help even more on the rough terrain and make it easier to roll on soft ground or deeper snow. It hasn't been a problem so far, however. The tongue on the hitch needs a bit more clearance between the hole for the hitch pin and the bottom of the throat where the hitch area meets the square tube. As it is, I can't pull it with the 3 PT hitch drawbar on my tractor, or with the hitch on the back of my logging winch when it's mounted on the tractor - both of these items bind up on the trailer hitch if I try to turn sharper than about a 10˚ angle. (This won't be an issue when I convert it to a ball-style hitch.)
I cn;t rate the durability yet, since I haven;t used it vry long, but all-in-all, a good trailer so far. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer

,
July 6, 2015
By rdloffice
from Oklahoma
" What a fantastic trailer. We love everything about this unit. We use it for moving and spreading wood chips and the tandem axle works great over rough terrain. It pulls easy enough to pull behind a golf cart, but it's tough enough to take a pounding. With the additional rack that can be ordered it hauls quite a load. Someone said 35 cubic ft., but it seems like more than that. The unit dumps very nicely. I would recommend this unit to anyone needing a small, but tough, dump trailer. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Trailer

,
June 24, 2015
By NeverEndingYardWork
from Virginia
" Product was packaged well and installation was simpler than I imagined. You can tell this is a heavy duty, well engineered product with replaceable/serviceable wear parts. However its still quite light due to the polymer dump bed if you need to physically lift it and move it around. I went with the optional extended rail sides and ball style receiver hitch which I strongly recommend. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Polar Trailer

,
June 17, 2015
By Ramoffroader
from Northern New York
" Good and capable trailer. Have been clearing property and the trailer has hauled wood, dirt and debris. Tow it with a compact tractor and the dual wheel design works very well on uneven ground. Only complaint was bolts that hold plastic body to frame are cheap and I broke two of them by hand with a screw driver and 3/8 ratchet. Installed good S.S bolts and off to work. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer

,
May 29, 2015
By Shadow99688
from Spokane, WA.
" The trailer works great, the tandem axle design helps trailer get over rough areas that would bounce single axle trailer all over.
only down side is when loaded turning the trailer by hand is difficult but that is to be expected of any tandem axle trailer.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Purchase of my Year

,
April 25, 2015
By Mollydahma
from Newcomerstown, OH
" I am the lone remaining inhabitant of my 10 acre forested property(60 year old empty nest mom). My kids who help out when they can said I needed some kind of cart. I bought this and my oldest ( engineering grad from Case Western) is absolutely thrilled because as he was assembling it, he was saying what great quality it was, both the metal struts, the wheels, tandem axle and the bed. I have been using it for spring cleanup and a big project to declutter my house and barn. With my right knee instability (ACL), this cart has made it possible to safely and quickly haul things to my Outback for disbursement, to my remote storage shed for long term storage, or to the trash pickup area at the end of my lane. My large and small tractor have ball hitches so I did order a ball hitch coupler since this trailer has a pin. I even started hauling some of the leftover logs from last fall down to the barn for early splitting. The dump feature is fabulous and easy to perform. Pulling it is great on my very uneven grounds. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

POLAR HD TA 1500 TRAILER

,
April 6, 2015
By Obeconobe
from MD
" After receiving and completing the assembly (which is much quicker and easier with two people) of my trailer, I was very impressed overall with the design and build quality of this trailer. I bought the trailer, trailer side extension rack/rails and the 2" ball coupler kit. The worst part is the installation of the side rails/rack. Patience is required here, so take your time and don't rush through the installation and the overall finished product will be more pleasing. Greasing is required in two locations during assembly using the factory installed fittings. I applied grease to all the spindles also prior to installing the wheels and axle assemblies, as well as squirting a little inside the wheel hubs to help prevent wear.
I primarily bought this trailer for hauling firewood, but wanted to be able to also use it to haul dirt, gravel, lawn debris, etc. This ruled out the Yutrax trailer as I would have had to line the interior with plywood.
The poly "tub" is maintenance free as well... no rusting or rotting to deal with. And it's extremely durable as well.
I hauled 3 fairly big loads of soil with it today, that I know weighed at least 800-1000lbs or more, not considering the weight of the trailer. It handled and towed like a champ.
I would however recommend for loads this heavy or heavier the use of a 500cc or bigger class atv/utv.
I think smaller atvs such as a 350cc would probably be better suited with the HD TA 1200.
My atv is a 500cc class Honda Foreman Rubicon and it had no trouble even going down 35 degree or so slopes with a load. Granted I used low range first gear to hold it back.
Yes, this trailer isn't cheap in comparison to other brands. But it's the age old adage of "You get what you pay for."
I would definitely buy this trailer again without any hesitation.
One thing I've failed to see mentioned in any review or in the product description that I will mention here. The tipper latch has a hole located in it that will accept a 1/4" lock pin to prevent accidental tipping. The latch itself seems to very securely prevent accidental dumping even without the use of a lock pin, but I feel better knowing one is being used myself.
Turf tires are excellent IMO.
Huge hauling capacity for a lawn/garden trailer!
I highly recommend buying the rail/rack kit as it will increase the hauling capacity from 22 cu/ft to 35 cu/ft.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best 5 acre friend

,
April 6, 2015
By Silversmith
from North West Illinois
" Ordered with side rail extension kit and 2" ball hitch to connect to all vehicles and tractor. The tandom axles will hall real heavy loads. Filled it with concrete once and the trailer didn't show any sign of a load. Routinely haul wood filled to top. Nice wide tires easy on the lawn. The tub is balanced nicely so it can dump even heavy loads. Tapered wheel bearings, heavy vacuum formed tub, well designed and well made. Like having a small bed pick-up you can drive on the lawn. I have had the trailer for two years. Glad I did not waste time with a small metal trailer. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very solid trailer

,
November 24, 2014
By icrf
from Chattanooga, TN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" This trailer is remarkably light and easy to move around when empty, yet very heavy duty when hauling a load. The tandem axle makes it walk over obstacles far easier than I expected.
It's a little wider than my ATV, but the tires are very bulbous and bounce/scrub around trees and such that the ATV went between.
My only complaint is that the tandem axle can be more difficult to turn when loaded, especially in reverse.
I have had poly wheelbarrows that I've cracked from dropping heavy logs inside. I'm playing a little gentler with this, as though it's far thicker, I'm still paranoid. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Cart!

,
November 21, 2014
By cdebracy
from Valley View, TX
" Just got the cart and so far so good. It's wider than the cart we normally pull behind the ATV or lawn tractor so you have to be careful not to clip things with it.
It seems to be very sturdy and I like the fact that I can buy replacement bearings, etc. should parts wear out.
We have a bit of limestone that comes up from the ground and I will use the cart to get that moved more easily. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's a big strong bucket with good parts

,
July 18, 2014
By Dits
from Central IL
" 2 beer assembly time. Good instructions for a change. You get what you pay for. I'm pleased. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to assembly, great workhorse

,
July 15, 2014
By TylerH
from Airdrie, AB
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" My wife and I recently moved on to an acreage. Along with that came a subcompact tractor and a whole lotta work to do. The trailer was delivered as promised, and was easy to assemble (I don't consider myself mechanically inclined). We also purchased the side/front railings, which I would highly recommend.
So far I have loaded it to the hilt with dirt, sod, compost, etc - heavy items - and no issue with stability at all.
The biggest issues I've had is hooking up the trailer after loaded, as I needed to detach the trailer to use the tractor's bucket to fill it. It would be nice to have some sort of hitch stand so that I could just back up the tractor after the trailer was filled. Having said that, I learned to load the trailer towards the rear, which made it easier to lift the tongue on to the tractor hitch. The "dump" feature is somewhat limited, and I always have to shovel out the contents.
Our next modification will be to add a 100-gallon watering tank to it to water our new trees. I expect that won't be any issue, given the quality and stability of the unit.
Overall, an excellently-made trailer that will benefit us for years to come.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

dont leave the garage without it

,
July 12, 2014
By Moose55783
from Moose Lake Mn
" Its a great trailer for my 4wheeler. I rarely leave the garage without it. Loading wood, dirt, leaves, brush, tools, etc.. The dumping part is less than perfect but the rest of the trailer makes up for it. Recommend the 4 wheel trailer over the 2 wheel. Seems to pull better in snow, mud and ruff ground. I also bought the recommend buying the rail extension kit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Trailer!

,
June 10, 2014
By TeamHD
from Wisconsin
" This is a work horse! Load it a haul it over anything! This is a great trailer and easy to use. I pull it with a Polaris Ranger and over stack it with wood without an issue. Floats through the woods very easy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful!

,
May 28, 2014
By MrJB
from Erie, PA
" This wagon is wonderful! It'll go wherever my 4-wheeler can go. I use it to get firewood from a logged out area. Uneven terrain is not a problem. (7) loads fills my 16 foot trailer. I don't believe you can overload this wagon with firewood. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I Needed!

,
May 21, 2014
By Wadd
from Fallon, Nv.
" Have been using the trailer for three months now and it does exactly what I need it to do. Still small enough to get up the hill and into front yard to haul leaves, limbs etc. to the burn pile out back. Heat with wood only, and the trailer will haul about 1/4 cord wood at a time. So from the splitter to wood racks is a breeze now day's. Extension rails are a must. Now only two trips from wood racks to the deck every three weeks to keep wood in the house. Use it to haul the trash out once a week and it even does that. - Tandem wheels seem to be a must also if you get it loaded down and have to travel rough ground - Rides smoother. Has made my life much easier, and will take a lot of abuse. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

polar tandom axle trailer

,
February 4, 2014
By ghassoc
from Massachusetts
" I bought this trailer for picking up sand .leaves and snow, etc. Great trailer for traveling over uneven ground and not tipping. Also added top side rail extension so I could add more brush I had to pick up. Like other reviews I've read the only real problem is with dumping, why does the tongue allow the dump to turn sideways when dumping sand especially. All in all it's a great ,heavy duty trailer that has numerous uses. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Wagon

,
February 4, 2014
By waterhead
from counce, TN
" Great Wagon seems to do everything I wanted it for, wide track, good flotation good construction. Was shorted the tandem arms for the axles, or lost in shipping called customer service they promptly had the manufacturer send me a set of arms, but we used it with single wheels until we got the arms. Worked great. Going to buy the side extensions for it "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

One Great Trailer!

,
December 30, 2013
By JohnofGlenelg
from New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I purchased this product a year ago and have been using it very frequently through the winter to move my firewood from my storage area to my home. I have also used it during the summer and fall months to collect my stove length wood from my 100 Acres of woodlot that I live on. This is all to say that this trailer gets quite a fair bit of use!
The dumping dynamics are a bit of a pain and slows down the unloading of my wood, but the trailers ability to go almost anywhere and it's low weight makes up for any shortcomings in the unloading department. Oh and make sure to buy the accessory side board kit!
My biggest concern at this point (after 1 year of service) is the wheel bearings. I've noted a bit of a scraping sound in the wheels and this Fall, I took it out of service to grease everything. The bearings are shielded and won't really take a greasing, so I'm alittle disappointed at that. In anticipation of a bearing failure, I will have to do a bit of research and visit my local machine shop to see if there is a bearing option to replace them. As long as I can get my bearings replaced in the event of a failure, I would have no hesitation in recommending this.
I've been using ATV's all of my life and quite a few homemade trailers...this is the nicest general purpose ATV trailer that I've ever had!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
April 28, 2013
By Kirk6845
from Albany NY
" Use this all the time moving dirt! But what it is great for we use it to move concrete over soft ground 1000 lb at a time. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.