Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262

Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262

Item# 125724
The Polar Axle Utility Trailer features the Tandem Walking Arm - an independent walking beam suspension and an extra set of wide-track tires on Polar's rugged all-steel frame. Whether you're hauling in the woods, on the farm or at the jobsite, tandem axles help balance big loads while lending stability and incredible smoothness over any terrain. Frame Material Steel, Load Capacity lbs. 1,500, Application Trailer, Deck Material Polyethylene, Overall Dimensions L x W x H in. 98 x 54 x 31, Wheel Size in. 18 x 8.5, Wheel Type Wide Track, Steering Type Tandem walking arm, Axle Diameter in. 1. Dump feature with quick release tipper latch makes loading and unloading easy Rugged polyethylene bed and all-steel frame won't rust, dent or corrode Pass-through axle for extra clearance to allow your Polar Trailer to roll over nearly any terrain Wide-track tires with shielded bearings that don't need greasing 72in.L x 40in.W x 18in.H Side rails not included
Average Customer Rating:
4.676 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (34 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
32 of 34(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262
Review 1 for Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's a big strong bucket with good parts

,
July 18, 2014
By Dits
from Central IL
"2 beer assembly time. Good instructions for a change. You get what you pay for. I'm pleased."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to assembly, great workhorse

,
July 15, 2014
By TylerH
from Airdrie, AB
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"My wife and I recently moved on to an acreage. Along with that came a subcompact tractor and a whole lotta work to do. The trailer was delivered as promised, and was easy to assemble (I don't consider myself mechanically inclined). We also purchased the side/front railings, which I would highly recommend.
So far I have loaded it to the hilt with dirt, sod, compost, etc - heavy items - and no issue with stability at all.
The biggest issues I've had is hooking up the trailer after loaded, as I needed to detach the trailer to use the tractor's bucket to fill it. It would be nice to have some sort of hitch stand so that I could just back up the tractor after the trailer was filled. Having said that, I learned to load the trailer towards the rear, which made it easier to lift the tongue on to the tractor hitch. The "dump" feature is somewhat limited, and I always have to shovel out the contents.
Our next modification will be to add a 100-gallon watering tank to it to water our new trees. I expect that won't be any issue, given the quality and stability of the unit.
Overall, an excellently-made trailer that will benefit us for years to come.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

dont leave the garage without it

,
July 12, 2014
By Moose55783
from Moose Lake Mn
"Its a great trailer for my 4wheeler. I rarely leave the garage without it. Loading wood, dirt, leaves, brush, tools, etc.. The dumping part is less than perfect but the rest of the trailer makes up for it. Recommend the 4 wheel trailer over the 2 wheel. Seems to pull better in snow, mud and ruff ground. I also bought the recommend buying the rail extension kit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Trailer!

,
June 10, 2014
By TeamHD
from Wisconsin
"This is a work horse! Load it a haul it over anything! This is a great trailer and easy to use. I pull it with a Polaris Ranger and over stack it with wood without an issue. Floats through the woods very easy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful!

,
May 28, 2014
By MrJB
from Erie, PA
"This wagon is wonderful! It'll go wherever my 4-wheeler can go. I use it to get firewood from a logged out area. Uneven terrain is not a problem. (7) loads fills my 16 foot trailer. I don't believe you can overload this wagon with firewood."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I Needed!

,
May 21, 2014
By Wadd
from Fallon, Nv.
"Have been using the trailer for three months now and it does exactly what I need it to do. Still small enough to get up the hill and into front yard to haul leaves, limbs etc. to the burn pile out back. Heat with wood only, and the trailer will haul about 1/4 cord wood at a time. So from the splitter to wood racks is a breeze now day's. Extension rails are a must. Now only two trips from wood racks to the deck every three weeks to keep wood in the house. Use it to haul the trash out once a week and it even does that. - Tandem wheels seem to be a must also if you get it loaded down and have to travel rough ground - Rides smoother. Has made my life much easier, and will take a lot of abuse."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

polar tandom axle trailer

,
February 4, 2014
By ghassoc
from Massachusetts
"I bought this trailer for picking up sand .leaves and snow, etc. Great trailer for traveling over uneven ground and not tipping. Also added top side rail extension so I could add more brush I had to pick up. Like other reviews I've read the only real problem is with dumping, why does the tongue allow the dump to turn sideways when dumping sand especially. All in all it's a great ,heavy duty trailer that has numerous uses."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Wagon

,
February 4, 2014
By waterhead
from counce, TN
"Great Wagon seems to do everything I wanted it for, wide track, good flotation good construction. Was shorted the tandem arms for the axles, or lost in shipping called customer service they promptly had the manufacturer send me a set of arms, but we used it with single wheels until we got the arms. Worked great. Going to buy the side extensions for it"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

One Great Trailer!

,
December 30, 2013
By JohnofGlenelg
from New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I purchased this product a year ago and have been using it very frequently through the winter to move my firewood from my storage area to my home. I have also used it during the summer and fall months to collect my stove length wood from my 100 Acres of woodlot that I live on. This is all to say that this trailer gets quite a fair bit of use!
The dumping dynamics are a bit of a pain and slows down the unloading of my wood, but the trailers ability to go almost anywhere and it's low weight makes up for any shortcomings in the unloading department. Oh and make sure to buy the accessory side board kit!
My biggest concern at this point (after 1 year of service) is the wheel bearings. I've noted a bit of a scraping sound in the wheels and this Fall, I took it out of service to grease everything. The bearings are shielded and won't really take a greasing, so I'm alittle disappointed at that. In anticipation of a bearing failure, I will have to do a bit of research and visit my local machine shop to see if there is a bearing option to replace them. As long as I can get my bearings replaced in the event of a failure, I would have no hesitation in recommending this.
I've been using ATV's all of my life and quite a few homemade trailers...this is the nicest general purpose ATV trailer that I've ever had!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
April 28, 2013
By Kirk6845
from Albany NY
"Use this all the time moving dirt! But what it is great for we use it to move concrete over soft ground 1000 lb at a time."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Must Have

,
April 6, 2013
By AR55
from Ontario Canada
"I purchased this trailer with the optional sides and and it is by far the best utiliy trailer I have ever used. With the optional sides, I am amazed at how much brush and wood it will haul. Assembly was simple. My only regret is that I should have purchased it years ago."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

One Rugged Tool

,
February 8, 2013
By MCINWR
from Maine
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Purchased 3 years ago and still continues to impress. I have used this trailer to carry material (stone dust and rock) repairing and building miles and miles of trails. Also modified the tung and built a deck to haul 14 ft timbers over rough terrain. The tandem walking arm works amazingly well under heavy loads. A little on the pricy side but for heavy work this is your trailer! The Only bad thing I can say is the trailers Dump capability is poor. Be ready to shovel it out."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Trailer!

,
May 7, 2012
By PinIt
from Arkansas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Could not ask for a better utility trailer. The walking beam axle is a must have for rough terrain. 20mph behind a Polaris RZR is nothing for this rig. Highly recommended! The side rails are also a must for utilizing the full capacity of this trailer. The 2" ball hitch adapter is also very convenient and secure."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great farm tractor

,
January 16, 2012
By Fleahawk
from Amboy Wa.
"I did a lot of research looking for the best trailer that would hold up to the demands of year round use.I settled on the Polar trialer and could not be more happy with it. I use it with my Quad and it performs perfect in all weather conditions, Mud, Snow, and rough terrain. This trailer hauls a serius load. Make sure to order the side rails"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy

,
October 10, 2011
By Tmac60
from Michigan
"Received my trailer with the side rail kit. Use it with a quad to cut wood at home. Would say I am a person that cares for but definitely uses things to the limit. This trailer will haul some serious wood with the side kit. The dump is great for wood, but you will end up shoveling some if your hauling dirt. See NO ISSUES with the dump mechanism that I read about in another review. Had a bearing issue on one wheel last Friday. I called mfg and they shipped me new parts out same day. I have UPS tracking number that shows delivery will be Tuesday (4days) NO questions asked. You can't ask for more than that from any company!!! PS.. I heat home fully with wood, cut on 30 acres of two tracks behind my home."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a Happy Dumper

,
August 9, 2011
By DirtBoy
"Just received this unit, and am VERY dissatisfied. Not complaining about the build quality, but the design is very poor.
It seems like this is common, but this cannot be classified as a dump trailer, as if you try to dump anything, you will soon realize what a poor design it is for that.
I loaded some dirt in it, and tried to dump it out, and ended up shoveling it out.
If it wasn't such a problem, and expensive, I would send it back.
Just my .02 worth, but I am extremely disappointed.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
9out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome utility trailer

,
March 24, 2011
By DavidinStonewall
from shreveport, la
"I purchased this trailer along with the 2" hitch kit and the rail kit. This was money well spent and it has already paid for itself. I have used it for hauling over a thousand lb.s of corn at one time at the hunting lease, tools, fence posts, wire, 5 deer at one time and could have carried seven. Around the home we have hauled everything imaginable, bricks, concrete, firewood, you name it. This is an awesome utility trailer to have around and i don't think you'll find a better one anywhere. Great in the swamps, floats when empty, or has a light load. My friends all want one and my father in law has threatened to steal it from me. We will be buying him one for fathers day. Go ahead and buy this trailer, you'll love it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best ATV Trailer on the Market

,
November 27, 2010
By Matty57
from In the Mountains of NE PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have used this Trailer for two seasons of getting firewood. I have had alot of other trailers before this one and they have all broke or flipped on the terrain I put it thru. I havent had a problem with the polar. I put the siderail kit on, a must and the two inch coupler and had this trailer on sidebanks steephills over logs thru water and performed flawlessly. No need to waste time with reviews this is the only Trailer in my book."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A Great Find

,
November 23, 2010
By Foxfire
from Ozark Mountain Country
"This is one of my more favorite trailers. I love the tandem axles, it can be unhooked from the gator and not dump the contents. This is a great feature if you need to leave your load while you tend to other business. Being a stickler on quality, while the turf tires are suitable for the job, I prefer the ability to mount bigger ATV tires for more rough terrain. This could be a great expedition trailer. Quality is overall good and I would recommend this to a friend."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Polar Trailer Heavy-Duty Tandem Axle Trailer - 1500-Lb. Capacity, 22 Cu. Ft., Model# 8262
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Polar trailer

,
November 16, 2010
By Dathan
from Perry, NY
"We had the Polar trailer several weeks now and are very happy with it. Assembly took about 45 minutes and was very easy. We have hauled leaves and firewood and find it a pleasure to use. It is very wide because of the wheels being outside the body of the trailer, so it requires some space to maneuver it as well as for storage. However we are very pleased with it so far and can definitely recommend it to anyone needing a good trailer to be pulled by an ATV or a garden tractor."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.