Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar I Utility Trailer Kit - 4ft. x 6ft.

FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar I Utility Trailer Kit - 4ft. x 6ft.

Item# 125956
Small utility trailer doubles as an ATV trailer and allows trailers to carry long loads. Has a 50 1/2in. x 75in. mesh floor deck size angled sides accommodate ATV/UTVs up to 81in.L and black powder-coat finish. Assembly required. Certificate of origin will arrive separately. Please allow approx. 2 weeks for processing. The spare tire bracket is welded on the bottom of the trailer to allow room on the top of the tongue for a gas can and jack. Jack Type Not included, Deck Material Mesh, Ramps Included Yes, Rear Gate Yes, Bed Tilt No, Brakes No, Coupler Size in. 2, Frame Material Steel, Fenders Yes, Assembly Required Yes, Side Rails Included Yes, Wheel Size in. 4.80-12, Lights Yes, Gross Vehicle Weight Rated lbs. 1,000, Deck Size L x W ft. 6 1/4 x 4 7/32, Overall Dimensions L x W x H in. 121 1/2 x 64. 700-lb. load capacity, 1,000-lbs. GVWR 33in. tall x 50in. wide ramp/tailgate 121.5in. overall length 2in. hitch 4.80-12in. 4-ply tires with silver spoke wheels
Average Customer Rating:
4.389 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (18 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 18(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar I Utility Trailer Kit - 4ft. x 6ft.
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar I Utility Trailer Kit - 4ft. x 6ft.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Trailer for hauling a golf cart

,
April 23, 2013
By frogger22
from MN
"We got this to haul our golf cart around and it works perfect. The tail lights do seem to need to be replaced every 6 months to a year so make sure you check your lights as you should be doing anyways but really no complaints and I would recommend this trailer to anyone looking to haul a golf cart or ATV, etc"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
16out of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar I Utility Trailer Kit - 4ft. x 6ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trailer

,
April 23, 2013
By Dogwon
from Evergreen, CO
"I purchased this trailer to haul my Harley from California to Colorado and it worked quite well. I had thought I would never use it again. Since I have been here I have found many uses for it. From hauling cords of firewood to transporting my canoe. With a bit of modification [uni-strut brace] it is very versatile.
The only negative thing I could say is that the serial number is hard to find making registration a hassle."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar I Utility Trailer Kit - 4ft. x 6ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

,
October 15, 2012
By BossLady
from Houston, TX
"For the price this is the best trailer around. I haul a motorcycle with my car."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
11out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar I Utility Trailer Kit - 4ft. x 6ft.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

North Star Trailer Sportstar I Utility Trailer Kit

,
August 13, 2012
By wlw641
from Southern California
"Bottom Line: I would purchase this trailer again for utility hauling and transporting my ATV.
Bottom Bottom Line: It has several design/manufacturing flaws that have to be dealt with.
(1) The hinge mounts at the bottom of the tailgate are welded about ½” - ¾” too far to the right so the R latch engages its hole too deeply and the L latch doesn’t engage its hole at all. FIX: Cut two ¼” x 1” x 1¼” pieces of steel stock, mount them with small bolts to the inside surface of the L latch plate, and drill out a ½” hole to receive the end of the L latch pin.
(2) The expanded metal bottom is WAY to flexible to support a 500 lb ATV at only the 4 tire footprint points. FIX: Cover the bottom with 5/8” - ¾” plywood. Use carriage bolts to maintain a smooth bed surface but use a flat washer, a split lockwasher, and a regular nut underneath. [Nylon locknuts twist the carriage bolt head out of the plywood before they tighten down enough to hold the bolt in place for final torquing.] I also mounted pieces of plywood inside the side and front rails to keep anything loose (gravel, debris, etc.) from spilling out; that required fabricating brackets that clamp the plywood to the vertical rail supports with square U-bolts.
(3) The tongue flexes side-to-side with my ATV on it. FIX: I cut and mounted ¼” x 1” strips of steel between the tongue and the bottom of the front rail supports as stiffening triangulation. I used a U-bolt to clamp the front ends of the new supports to the tongue just behind the spare tire mount. That far back from the hitch, the wheeled tongue jack will still swivel up and lock in the travel position.
(4) There are no tiedown eyes. FIX: After installing the plywood floor to the expanded metal original floor, I added a stainless steel 1” dia. eye bolt at each corner with a 6” length of ¼” x 1” steel underneath to spread the pulling force of tiedown straps."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+25points
33out of 41found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar I Utility Trailer Kit - 4ft. x 6ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great little trailer

,
January 9, 2012
By iocinu
from Unicoi,TN
"I got this utility trailer at Northern Tool several years ago at an unbeatable price and it has been worth every penny many times over. I've hauled everthing from furniture to hardwood flooring, to plain ole junk headed for the dump. Easy to load and unload with the fold up ramp which is also highly useful in securing a heavy load. No need for a pick-up when you've got this baby. Love it. and highly recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar I Utility Trailer Kit - 4ft. x 6ft.
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

I agree with nice trailer, HORRRIBLE instructions

,
December 23, 2011
By Anonymous
from Chapin, SC
"The trailer, once assembled, was well worth the money. However, the side reflectors were worthless & the wiring harness was terrible. I had to purchase replacements for these. Once done, I was satisfied with the finished product. Please update the instructions!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar I Utility Trailer Kit - 4ft. x 6ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than expected

,
October 10, 2011
By Deke
from Pueblo, Colorado
"I was in need of a small ATV/utility trailer and saw this one, with free shipping advertised. I read the reviews on it, and most were positive, though there were a few who had complained of missing parts, noise while towing, etc., but figured for the price, and with my mechanical abilities, I could overcome these problems, so ordeed it. It was better than I had expected, and apparently the builder has addressed the concerns. Not only did I get all the hardware, there were actually some spares. The finish seems to be plenty adequate. The spare tire mount left (barelky) enough room for me to mount a swing-up tongue jack. The lights were all pre-wired nicely, and required only plugging in the connectors. Colorado defines this as a "kit" trailer, and requires an assigned ID number, and it must be inspected after completion by a certified officer for road-worthiness. My inspector commented that this one seemed to be of much higher quality than the typical kit trailer he sees from the chain stores. It tows beautifully and quietly at full loaded highway speed. It has more ground clearance than my old one, making it easier to traverse the rough roads into my hunting areas. I have only two minor complaints. I feel there should be safety chains tio lock the gate in the up position, so the if the latches, release, the gate doesn't fall while towing. I made some for mine, and also rigged them so that I can chain the gate level if I want to haul something like 8' sheets of plywood. The other gripe is that the gate is a bit narrow for the sides, and this can allow the latches to come loose on bumpy roads. I solved this with a cable come-along, bending the rear of the rails in a ways so that the latches insert farther, providing more security. All told, I'm quitte happy with the little trailer."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar I Utility Trailer Kit - 4ft. x 6ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

trailer review

,
June 13, 2011
By gregory1
"I bought this trailer last year, i drive a small SUV that you hardly know its behind you. I put treated lumber in the floor along with the mesh, making it that much more durable. The gate folding down is a must for heavy equipment. I'm always asked "can I borrow your trailer"..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar I Utility Trailer Kit - 4ft. x 6ft.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

utility trailer

,
February 17, 2010
By JGary
from Atlanta, Ga.
"I needed a trailer to haul my 3 dirtbikes; the specific motorcycle trailer was on backorder so I purchased this utility trailer. I attached mounting hooks for my 3 bikes the and size of the trailer was adequate but because of the wire mesh floor as I cinched down the bikes there seemed to be too much flex in the trailer. Although I did not feel totally secure with the stability of the motorcycles they traveled fine. The trailer pulls great and for general applications would be an excellent choice at a great price. For peace of mind I will probably install a solid floor."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar I Utility Trailer Kit - 4ft. x 6ft.
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice trailer, HORRIBLE directions

,
December 2, 2009
By drjeffapp
from NW Georgia
"Let me preface this by saying that I am quite mechanically inclined, and have a decently large amount of tools. Based on previous reviews I purchased this trailer. Once you get it built, it is nice. HOWEVER...
I don't know if they updated or modified the parts, but the directions and their "figures", using the word loosely, were horrible. Starting on page 1 I was already worried as the parts list did not agree with what all I had in front of me (stating 30 of one size bolt, 16 of another, 4 of a third, and all I had was 33 of one size...hmmm). I have put things together in the past where some of the parts are already pre-installed, so I was not too alarmed yet.
The figures/pictures they want you to refer to are so pixellated and small that they are nearly useless. And yet they ask you to refer to a picture for clarification of small details? Impossible. There was much trial and error, often times going a few steps ahead to see if that item would fit the way I GUESSED the previous part was to have been installed. As an example, the rear corner brace that supports the lift gate was completely opposite the tiny picture.
Wound up I had enough of the 1-sized bolts, way too many nuts (17 extra?), but not enough lock and flat washers so I had to go out and buy more. The trailer wiring harness had been crimped and nearly cut in two in 3 places, so I had to solder/repair that also. And why on earth would it be necessary to need all these different sized sockets: 17, 18, 19, 22mm, 5/8, 3/4, 7/8, AND an adjustable wrench? Really should be just 2-3 max.
So would I recommend this trailer? It is nice, once you get it built. But either they need to update their instructions, or you might as well be ready to kill an entire afternoon on what should take maybe 2 hours max to build."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar I Utility Trailer Kit - 4ft. x 6ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Multi uses for this small/medium size trailer

,
November 2, 2009
By Vern09
from Bloomington, Mn
"I have a 20hp garden tractor with the leaf bagger on the rear. It fits on the trailer just perfect and I can also pull the trailer around my yard to pick up logs, leaf bags and kids toys. Also when it is not in use for yard work. I have hauled several different motorcycles around town."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar I Utility Trailer Kit - 4ft. x 6ft.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

North Star Trailer

,
August 18, 2008
By Don34
from St Paul,MN
"This trailer has served me very well for yard work,hunting trips,household hauling & storing miss.items."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar I Utility Trailer Kit - 4ft. x 6ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Little Trailer

,
August 18, 2008
By TinaTool
from DFW, TX
"This trailer is the perfect little trailer to carry all the extra load that your small car or small SUV cannot. I use my trailer all the time since it is so easy to hook up, pull and store. I think this makes a perfect addition to a growing family or upcoming handyman or woman."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar I Utility Trailer Kit - 4ft. x 6ft.
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Trailer

,
August 11, 2008
By le1bear
from norwalk, CT
"This trailer is great, but started rusting as soon as we put it together, it is kept outside.
Works great, but is very loud when trailing empty.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Skykingtom
Winchester Va. 
 
Please wait while more information about Skykingtom is loaded.
Additional information about Skykingtom could not be loaded.
Trailer is noisy
October 10, 2011
"When I assembled my trailer I made sure that every nut and bolt was tightened properly. Mine is very quiet, I hardly know it is there. Your problem might be the hitch. most of the plug in hitches have a sloppy fit. I would recommend that you put a layer of epoxy on the top and side of the plug in part and then file it to fit snug."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar I Utility Trailer Kit - 4ft. x 6ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trailer Purchase

,
April 22, 2008
By mdun
from Lynchburg, Va.
"Very good value for the money. I don't think you could make one yourself cheaper. In use every day around our lot."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar I Utility Trailer Kit - 4ft. x 6ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

utility trailer kit

,
April 21, 2008
By smokeyjoe
from challis ,idaho
"easy to assemble even for the novice. good for hauling small loads , game or atv,s. excelent choice for farm or acreage."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar I Utility Trailer Kit - 4ft. x 6ft.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

,
January 22, 2008
By 12345678
from miami,fl
"this product is very good for load and unload,and is perfect for towing wiht small cars."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar I Utility Trailer Kit - 4ft. x 6ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Price, Great Trailer

,
January 21, 2008
By DavidB
from VA
"The only thing this trailer needed was a solid floor to keep the road grime from splashing on the cargo but other than that you cant beat the price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.