Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar II WG 2-Place ATV Trailer Kit - 5ft. x 9ft.

FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar II WG 2-Place ATV Trailer Kit - 5ft. x 9ft.

Item# 125994
The North Star Trailer Sportstar II WG heavy-duty trailer has a 1420lb. load capacity and 2000lb. GVWR. 5-ft. x 9-ft. mesh deck has room for 2 full-size ATVs. Certificate of origin will arrive separately. Please allow approx. 2 weeks for processing. Deck Material Mesh, Deck Size L x W ft. 9 x 5, Ramps Included Yes, Rear Gate Yes, Side Rails Included Yes, Bed Tilt No, Brakes No, Coupler Size in. 2, Jack Type Not included, Fenders Yes, Assembly Required Yes, Lights Yes, Overall Dimensions L x W x H in. 110 x 63 x, Wheel Size in. 13 in. x 175 tires, Frame Material Steel w/powder-coat, Gross Vehicle Weight Rated lbs. 2,000, Load Capacity lbs. 1,420. Holds 2 full-size ATVs Multiuse trailer Full-size rear ramp gate with spring latch Pair of 15in.W side-loading ramps for easy drive-on, drive-off capability 13in. x 175 tires Multi-leaf springs Spare tire mount DOT approved lighting Coupler with brace Steel with powder-coat finish Ships in 2 boxes
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
10 of 11(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar II WG 2-Place ATV Trailer Kit - 5ft. x 9ft.
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar II WG 2-Place ATV Trailer Kit - 5ft. x 9ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great ATV Trailer

,
October 17, 2011
By DJ22
from Cleveland, OH
"The trailer arrived ahead of schedule and the driver was very patient with me as I figured out how to get this off of the truck by myself. The main box is very large and heavy.
Assembly was straight forward with the only challenge being flipping it over. As I had to build this by myself, the easy solution was to stabilize the axle/spring assembly and flip the trailer bed onto it. It took some brute force and ignorance, but it worked out very well. The total build was around 4 hours, including adding a trailer jack.
The trailer tows incredibly well, empty or loaded and the ramps and gate are very simple and sturdy.
The only improvement would be to mount the spare tire differently to allow some options related to adding a trailer box or gas rack. The mount is welded onto the top of the tongue which means you will have to grind it off and re-weld it to the bottom.
My only complaint is that the certificate of origin (and the VIN) took nearly four weeks to arrive, so don't plan any quick trips if your state requires this document for registration.
I would buy this trailer again and again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar II WG 2-Place ATV Trailer Kit - 5ft. x 9ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job and then some

,
September 9, 2011
By rade8u2
from Haverhill, Ma
"Great trailer. Put together with 11 year old son in couple hours. So easy to assemble you do not even need directions. Worst was the flip did this easily with one of the quads it was bought to carry. Rope over top and son let it down. You have to put ramps on sides but this feature allows for the ability to ues trailer for other things like bark mulch etc. do to low sides. Tracks great at 70mph behind jeep empty or not."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar II WG 2-Place ATV Trailer Kit - 5ft. x 9ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar ATV trailer

,
April 10, 2011
By grizzlyman
"Myself and a friend put this trailer together in less than 2 hours.It"s the best trailer I have ever had.Works great for ATV"s. I have two, a Yamaha Grizzly 700 and a Can-Am outlander 400. They fit on this trailer great and tow with ease behind my truck !"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar II WG 2-Place ATV Trailer Kit - 5ft. x 9ft.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Proud to have done it myself.

,
March 2, 2011
By DaytimerHunter
from Nashville Tn
"Pros: Easy to install, just needed to reread instructions several times as they are designed for all the trailers, so you'll need to make out how the step applies to your specific trailer. I called the manufacturer directly and they told me they are working on that. All parts were included. Looks great once finished. The shipping crate makes for a great table to install the trailer.
Cons: Cannot mention since the rules of this site says I cannot mention the retailer I ordered it from or shipping issues. Just read between the lines. The gate is not long enough making getting on and off very scary when I tried to load a riding lawn mower. The angle is too steep.
While putting it together, one side bolt had to be sanded down because the location where the flooring was welded impeded it. Also, the spring on the side of the rear gate is too short. It only sticks out 1/4", and needs another 1/4". You'll definitely need at least four people to flip the trailer over when the time comes, don't kid yourself, one or two men CANNOT do this.
You'll need to order a trailer jack. Without it, there is no way to pick it up to put it on your hitch, especially with a load on it. One last thing, putting the axle on was easy; however, you have to guess about the bearing placement and greasing. I just hope I did it correctly, guess I will find out real soon if not. Again, I told the Manf about this and they are working on it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar II WG 2-Place ATV Trailer Kit - 5ft. x 9ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simplicity

,
September 23, 2010
By yazzyyawn
from Washington, State
"Being a retired Machinist/Modelmaker I value the basic, simple, adequate design and engineering of a product. Over the years of designing and manufacturing many intricate and complex assemblys, I found that the more simple and basic you could keep a unit and still do the job it was meant for, the longer that unit would last and keep on doing it's job very very well. I purchased this trailer (125994) a few weeks ago and when I started putting it together, I couldn't help but notice how basic and simple this design was. It was not over engineered nor under engineered, it was, like Goldilocks, engineered just right, to where it would keep on doing its job very, very well for many years to come."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar II WG 2-Place ATV Trailer Kit - 5ft. x 9ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SportStar II WG

,
February 7, 2010
By Kawasaki
from Washington
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased this trailer about 6 months ago to haul my Kawasaki KFX 700 and Polaris Trailboss 330. Assembly was rather easy using common tools, note that you do need a torque wrench. I completed the assembly by myself in about 2 1/2 hours, assistance would have been nice but not required. Instructions were clear and easy to follow. Both bikes easily fit with several inches on each side of both bikes. You should note that the spare tire mount may come on the top of the tongue as shown in the photos or on the underside of the tongue. If yours arrives on the underside this is a free upgrade, some request this and will have to pay extra. With the spare tire mounted on the bottom you then mount your gas can rack across the top. We actually have 3 bikes, the third which go in the back of the pickup, is a Polaris Sportsman 90 but even the smaller bike easily loads and unloads on the trailer. The sideload is the only way to go. The price on this unit delivered, hard to beat. Quality is solid and I've had no issues or concerns so far."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar II WG 2-Place ATV Trailer Kit - 5ft. x 9ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Trailer, Great Customer Service

,
May 12, 2009
By CodyB
from Madison Hghts, VA
"Great trailer, well thought out and designed, very functonal. I bought this trailer to use as intended, with two atv's. I bought it and the trailer came about 3 days before there 10 to 12 days for shipping, they are out of Utah and I am in Virginia, so thats good by my book. When it arrived it was the wrong trailer, sad to say, but i called Northstar's customer service and they handled it with great care and responsibility, also they offered me a great deal on the trailer that they sent me wrong, so i ended up buying it too! Both the small atv trailer and the 2 atv trailer was a breeze to put together, small trailer was faster of course, with only an hour and a half for build, but the 2 atv trailer took me about 3 hours for building.....(make sure you have someone on hand to help you flip this trailer over..... it is light weight by trailer standards but not lightweight for one person to flip over!!!) Be aware that directions are not the simplest to follow... I read manuals all the time, but this trailer needs a new instruction book, you might have to use a lilttle common sense for building this trailer. Wiring this trailer is great, everything is already spliced and all you have to do is run the wire through pre-drilled holes, and connect to lights. All bolts were included for this trailer EXCEPT... two 1/4" bolts and nuts for grounds on the back lights, one dollar to correct this at any hardware store. Nothing more than basic hand tools required to build this trailer. I would recomend this trailer to anyone for use as it is intended... if you are looking to haul a lawn mower or something like that, this trailer will work too, but you could find a more suited trailer at better cost, but for what it is... a 2 atv trailer, its worth its weight in gold for convenence!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar II WG 2-Place ATV Trailer Kit - 5ft. x 9ft.
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Directions?

,
March 8, 2009
By DWilliams
from Chesapeake, VA
"Directions were pathetic at best. Unit came with two sets of directions and two inserts all were different. You would think they knew what they were sending you. After partial assembly then disassembly then repeating that two more times you can reverse engineer the design and get it together. The pictures of the completed unit were more help than the directions, hardware list is apparently useless, many things on the parts list were not actually needed which was good because they were NOT there, basicaly you don't know what you really did need for hardware until it is assembled. Many parts did NOT line up and had to be bent or forced into place. This was not due to shipping the shipping boxes were not damaged. I would not recomend this unless you have a good mechanical knowledge and you don't mind disassembling and reassembling until you get it right or you can find one already assembled."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar II WG 2-Place ATV Trailer Kit - 5ft. x 9ft.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bad Paint but Nice Trailer

,
February 27, 2009
By Budd
from Charlotte, NC
"The box that the main trailer bed came in was a mess. Ripped and shredded everywhere. Luckily, no parts were missing. The directions weren’t bad but could have been better. My main complaint is the paint. It is a very poor paint job. It took 2 weeks and there is rust in many places. I will repaint it. Other than that, it holds my 2 ATV’s perfectly, and I have also put my 2 ATV’s and a small motorcycle on it. It was cramped but it worked. You have to be careful when handling the ramps because there are many sharp edges on the mesh. And the ramps are a little steep but I guess they have to be because since they are stored sideways on the front of the trailer, they can only be as long as the trailer is wide. And it pulls great. I bought a spare tire for it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar II WG 2-Place ATV Trailer Kit - 5ft. x 9ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sportstar II WG

,
July 7, 2008
By PaulsWackyWorld
from Fountain Hills, Arizona
"I bought this trailer to use as intended. It is one of the few side loader ATV trailers on the market but this one was designed correctly and isn’t too wide (like some others). The ramp system works great and the ramps store nicely on the front of the trailer. The ATV’s load and unload nicely with the ramps solidly hooked on the trailer. The tire size is more like you would find on a 18’ boat trailer, much better than others I have seem, not like those skinny trailer tires. The tong is very sturdy and maybe a foot or two longer than it needs to be. The result is this thing pulls great and is extra easy to backup. The length of the deck is great. I end up with maybe 1 foot at the back 1 foot between the ATVs and 1 foot in the front. There would be plenty of room to pile some more camping stuff on the trailer if needed. As it ends up the “WG” stands for With Gate, so mine came with the rear fold down gate. The “WG” was on sale and was cheaper than the other trailer when I ordered mine. I have removed the rear gate and replaced it with a simple chain across the back. I’m glad I got the rear gate for those times when it will be used for other than ATVs. Just 2 pins and less than 3 minutes and it’s a conventional rear ramp trailer, would be well worth the extra money anyway. Assembly was easier than any trailer I have ever put together thanks to the main frame welded as an assembly.
I’m very happy with the trailer !
Note:
The product is shipped in a few small boxes, tires and fenders, then a BIG BOX. The box looks like a King size mattress box. This box weighs every bit of 400 pounds. Have at least 3 healthy men to get this box off the truck, don’t let it slam on the ground !
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - North Star Trailer Sportstar II WG 2-Place ATV Trailer Kit - 5ft. x 9ft.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar Trailer

,
January 14, 2008
By Sinclair
from Clayton, Michigan
"The trailer was received in excellent condition in half the time. We were able to assemble the trailer with ease, excellent instructions. The trailer will be used on the farm for four wheeler hauling, lawn mower hauling and vegetables. It will probably be used more for hauling garden produce. The width and length with the steel grated bottom will be excellent for washing tomatoes, potatoes, squash, hauling sweet corn, and all other vegetables. Our four wheeler pulls this trailer with ease. We will also be moving boats, paddle boats to and from our pond. The only suggestion I would make is to add or have as an option of a rolling flip up jack for the front tongue, this makes moving much easer without trying to lift the tongue of the trailer while it is loaded. It also makes it easier for hooking the trailer to a truck, tractor, or four wheeler. Great buy for all around use!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.