Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Buyers Receiver Mount Tow Hook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Buyers Receiver Mount Tow Hook

Item# 12885
For use with 2 in. receiver tubes. 10,000-lb. capacity do not exceed hitch capacity. Black powder-coat finish resists corrosion. Fits Receivers in. 2, Max. Gross Trailer Weight lbs. 10,000, Material Black powder-coat, Length in. 14, Product Style Tow hook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.812 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (16 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 of 16(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Buyers Receiver Mount Tow Hook
Review 1 for Buyers Receiver Mount Tow Hook
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Now a place to attach a chain

,
March 14, 2011
By Meff
from Central Iowa
"This along with the binder chain works great when needing to tow or pull another vehicle or piece of equipment loose or out of a predicament. Is a lot easier than trying to find a place on the axle or frame to attach a chain."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Buyers Receiver Mount Tow Hook
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Versatile Hook

,
January 7, 2010
By farmerwannabee
from Rural Pennsylvania
"I got to use this hook almost immediately after I got it for Christmas. A friend of my Son's failed to negotiate our driveway after a major pre=Christmas snow storm. The hook was easily installed into the hitch of my pickup and the fittings on my new tow strap slipped directly onto the hook. It couldn't have been easier, faster, or more secure. It did the job just as it was expected to.
The hook is well made and has an excellent finish (powder coat I believe) It appears to be durable and I expect it to last a very long time. It stores easily in the box under the rear seat of the truck and will always be there for emergencies. I will gladly recommend it to all my friends who have tow vehicles."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Buyers Receiver Mount Tow Hook
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pulls Its Weight

,
September 10, 2009
By TheRealYardman
from Gray, TN
"I found this tow hook on sale a week ago. I'd been looking for something that I could use in the hitch of my Jeep ZJ. I don't have any tow hooks mounted and there's not a really good spot for them anyway. Also with this I can use it in a front hitch too. This has the capacity for pulling other people out in the compact size I wanted. Very well designed and welded. Used it that day to pull some posts out of my garden...the chain broke first!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Buyers Receiver Mount Tow Hook
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

very heavy duty

,
March 16, 2009
By JAC01
from Chicagoland
"I purchased this tow hook because I wanted something a little better than hooking up a chain or tow strap to the receiver ball. You can't tell from the image but this hook is very heavy duty. The hook actually goes through the back plate and is welded to the inside of the receiver tube. The base of the hook is then welded all the way around. I think my 3/4 ton diesel pickup would break before this hook would break; an excellent value for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Buyers Receiver Mount Tow Hook
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Receiver Mount Tow Hook

,
November 17, 2008
By Anonymous
from Central Texas
"Excellent product-less expensive than other sites or catalogs. Quality Craftsmanship that adds to the overall functionality of use. Great for Gators, 4-wheelers and pickups."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Buyers Receiver Mount Tow Hook
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Hook

,
August 11, 2008
By DesertRat
from Work in Iraq, live in Florida, vaction in Colorad
"I received the tow hook and imediatly took a trip to Forbes Park, Colorado.
While in the mountains roming the trails I ran onto a very wet part of the road that snow had melted and the mud was much deeper that anticipated.
Lets see what my new tow hook would do.
IOut camr the chain and with a chain hoist. In no time we were free.
I was driving a Ford 350 that is very heavy. The tow hook worked extremly well, it's quality and heavy duty construction was the reason.
Great product and even better price.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Buyers Receiver Mount Tow Hook
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

2" Tow hook

,
April 22, 2008
By trimbled
from Gainesville, Florida
"I have been using my Jeep to clear some roots off my property and have been securing the chain to the 2" ball. This hook has made the job safer and more secure. I would like to attach a hook to my front bumper. The only draw back is the hook has a tight return, a longer shaft would be helpful. A very solid piece and well made. I would recommend this product to my friends"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Buyers Receiver Mount Tow Hook
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for pulling dodges

,
April 15, 2008
By jwints
from katonah, NY
"works great ive pulled out alot of hemis cummins and fords already
great addition to any chevy looking to a place to attach chains when pulling dodges fords toyotas and anything else that breaks down or gets struck
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Buyers Receiver Mount Tow Hook
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Receiver hook.

,
April 14, 2008
By Dockers
from Seattle, WA
"This item works well, simple to use. would recommend a same type reciever with D hook Shackle."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Buyers Receiver Mount Tow Hook
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

"The Hook"

,
January 21, 2008
By TheOz
from Pennsylvania
"Works great with the tow strap I purchased.
Heavy Duty.
If you paint it a bright color (something that glows in the dark)
it deters tailgater's.....
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Buyers Receiver Mount Tow Hook
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tough hook

,
January 14, 2008
By Limo
from Massachusetts
"Hook is very strong and durable used it to pull autos, trucks, and quads out of trouble with recent snow. Excellent durability. I little longer throat length would be nice. Its tough to get some types of straps on it without that extra length. Highly recommend the buy, should come standard in every full size truck with a tow package."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Buyers Receiver Mount Tow Hook
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Buyers Receiver Mount Tow Hook

,
October 30, 2007
By DJ01
from Maine
"Seem to be well made and handy to have for quick attachment for pulling. All tow hitches should have one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Buyers Receiver Mount Tow Hook
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tow Hook

,
October 15, 2007
By connejames
from Southern California
"As advertised. Heavy duty, light weight and works well. I use it on my 4x4 pickup as well as my ATV. Good price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Buyers Receiver Mount Tow Hook
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tow Hook

,
July 13, 2007
By AzTed
from Phx, AZ
"The Buyers Receiver Mount Tow Hook works perfectly. I have already pulled several stuck vehicles out of deep sand using my new tow hook."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Buyers Receiver Mount Tow Hook
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the price..

,
March 7, 2007
By MjLombardo
from Warren, Ohio
"It's heavy duty and great for the price. Already used it multiple times with expected results, it's a good buy"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Buyers Receiver Mount Tow Hook
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well made and Lightweight

,
November 27, 2006
By Ngageby
from Hedgesville,WV
"Product is well made and light eneough to use on anything. I have used it on y truck but find it most useful on my CUV. Hook size works for everything I have tried thus far."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.