Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Dutton-Lainson Winch with Automatic Brake - 800-Lb. Capacity

Dutton-Lainson Winch with Automatic Brake - 800-Lb. Capacity

Item# 129681
Multiple application winch to raise or lower boats, sailboat keels, grain augers and more. Automatic brake holds load in position when handle is released. Minimum operating load of 50 Lbs. Rugged construction, 7in. handle. Rope Type Not included, Line Pull lbs. 800, Gear Ratio 4.41, Drum Capacity Wire Rope ft. 68 ft. of 3/16in., Strap Not included, Braking Automatic, Speeds 1, Handle Length in. 7. Drum Diameter 1 7/8in. Bronze powder-coated finish Cranks in and out under load Self-locking winch does not freewheel, making it ideal for vertical lifting
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 of 9(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Dutton-Lainson Winch with Automatic Brake - 800-Lb. Capacity
Review 1 for Dutton-Lainson Winch with Automatic Brake - 800-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Winch

,
August 13, 2013
By TB54
from Lima Ohio
"I liked the idea of a safe winch. I use it to lower and raise parts in a dipping process. The winch skips and jumps on the way down, very unsuitable for what I'm doing. The winch may be OK for pulling boats on trailers but for me it was a big disappointment."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dutton-Lainson Winch with Automatic Brake - 800-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does exactly what you want it to and safely!

,
January 24, 2013
By goose312
from Utah
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I have used this brake winch for a couple years now to lift and store the hard top to my jeep up to the ceiling in my garage. During the winter when my hard top is on the jeep I use a wood platform for storage and lift that up to the ceiling. I have never had an issue with the brake slipping. I am very happy with this winch!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dutton-Lainson Winch with Automatic Brake - 800-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Winch for a lifting device

,
August 13, 2012
By Contractor2009
from Chattanooga, TN
"I like the idea of no release lever to unwind the cable but there must be a minimum weight on the cable to unwind."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dutton-Lainson Winch with Automatic Brake - 800-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

,
June 13, 2011
By Lakelover99
from Table Rock Lake, MO
"We use a winch for raise and lower metal stairs on our dock on the lake. The winches that were installed were free wheeling and a small child could have been injured. This winch is safe as the the handle stays put even under a load. Great porduct!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dutton-Lainson Winch with Automatic Brake - 800-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

DEER BLIND

,
June 1, 2010
By honestrandy
from Waxahachie, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This winch made an excellent winch for deer corn in a 55 gallon barrel. The winch works wonders even my grandson can work it who is 9 years old."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dutton-Lainson Winch with Automatic Brake - 800-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dutton Lainson Winch with Automatic Brake

,
February 23, 2010
By dave78230
from san antonio tx
"excellent for elevating chandeliers from two story heights.
No need for a tall ladder for cleaning chandeliers, when the winch
can be operated from the attic thus eliminating installation, cleaning
with a very tall ladder.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dutton-Lainson Winch with Automatic Brake - 800-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A decent winch

,
February 22, 2010
By knowtheatre
from cincinnati, ohio
"overall, this was a great product. we're using 4 of them in a theatrical setting. easy to set-up and operate. however, one nut in the included hardware was not fully threaded, but it was a minor issue."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dutton-Lainson Winch with Automatic Brake - 800-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

800 lb winch

,
November 17, 2008
By jay8
from brighton,mi
"Great winch for a jib crane I built and used it on. Worked better than I expected, stops and holds in any direction. Couldn't be happier with this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dutton-Lainson Winch with Automatic Brake - 800-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Application

,
August 12, 2008
By DaveVT
from Lake Champlain
"I use a pair of these winches to raise and lower some docks as the lake level falls (and this year - rises). The brake mechanism makes them ideal for this purpose: I hook them on, take up the slack (whick locks the winches) then release the lock bolts on the docks. The docks don't move because the winches are supporting them. I can crank the docks up or down into the correct height for the current water depth, then tighten the lock bolts and remove the winches. It couldn't be any more simple."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.