Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Dutton-Lainson Winch with Automatic Brake - 1200-Lb. Capacity

Dutton-Lainson Winch with Automatic Brake - 1200-Lb. Capacity

Item# 129682
Multiple application winch to raise or lower boats, sailboat keels, grain augers and more. Automatic brake holds load in position when handle is released, making it ideal for pulling loads. Minimum operating load of 50 lbs. Rugged construction, 7in. handle. Handle Length in. 7, Line Pull lbs. 1,200, Rope Type Not included, Speeds 1, Braking Automatic, Drum Capacity Strap ft. 31, Drum Capacity Wire Rope ft. 69 ft. of 7/32in., Gear Ratio 5.41, Strap 2 in. wide. Drum Diameter 2 1/2in.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
10 of 11(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Dutton-Lainson Winch with Automatic Brake - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Review 1 for Dutton-Lainson Winch with Automatic Brake - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dutton-Lainson 1200lb Brake Winch

,
April 25, 2013
By BargeGuy
from Anacortes, wa 98221
"This is the second Dutton-Lainson 1200lb brake winch I have purchased. Both times for lifting a swing keel on two different sailboats. The first worked flawlessly and held at every angle. The finish held up well even exposed to salt water with routine maintenance. I was only lifting around 600lb but the 1200lb winch had a little lower gear ratio. I expect the new one to work equally as well."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dutton-Lainson Winch with Automatic Brake - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1200# brake winch

,
October 17, 2011
By biggieVT
from VT
"Ordered this winch to replace the winch for the keel on my sailboat. Very well made and works great. Very easy to mount."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dutton-Lainson Winch with Automatic Brake - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Brake Winch

,
October 17, 2011
By CEBBBBB
from Hart, MI
"I use this lift and install the hard top on my Jeep Wrangler. I use a home made lift frame, and this winch. Great Product!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dutton-Lainson Winch with Automatic Brake - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best of this type, #1 by a long shot.

,
October 10, 2011
By truespirit
from Heber Springs, Arkansas
"This type of winch, usually will hurt you on the down load. NOT this one it has a brake that prevents you from being hurt. When lowering a load you can let go of the handle and it stops, others swing around and brake arms, faces, and whatever else gets in the way. I will never buy any other kind of winch. I build boat docks and we use these for standoffs, and to lift lighter boats out of the water. The others have hurt me and my guys.
I find it hard to believe more people do not know about this great product.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dutton-Lainson Winch with Automatic Brake - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Safer replacement for original winch

,
July 2, 2011
By jasonf451
from Atlanta
"I bought this winch to replace the quirky and dangerous winch on my pick up truck crane(it had no brake when lowering).
This one is safer and easier to operate, in fact it works so well I'll use these from now on.
In case you're wondering why the handle seems too easy to unscrew is it's a safety feature. In the unlikely event the brake slips or malfunctions the handle would come loose instead of taking your hand off. The spring and nut on the handle shaft keep the handle from flying off in this event."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dutton-Lainson Winch with Automatic Brake - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works ALL winter long without slipping!

,
June 12, 2011
By gerber
from Orlando, FL
"Have been using this winch for 8 years to hoist and suspend a pontoon boat during the winter. Winch with load on it is exposed to below zero weather - holds without slipping all winter long. Works so well, I'm buying two more to hoist my other boat and get out of doing the same work with my back!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dutton-Lainson Winch with Automatic Brake - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern tools is the go to Place for me!!!!

,
March 30, 2011
By itallgood
from Gilroy california
"After having a problem with another online distributor for a product, that was suppose to be the similar at the Dutton-Lainson winch with a automatic brake. turned out to be a total waste of time and one big headache. It was time to go with what my gut was telling me all the while.
purchasing the correct product for the the job, and i can honestly say that Northern tools. couldn't be beat. the Dutton-Lainson 1200lb Winch with Automatic Brake is exactly what i needed and is perfect for the job i need it for. when i went to the product page that northern tool posted for this winch. i had no questions what so ever about what i was buying, unlike the previous, purchase i made, and never will again, long story short i received my product one day earlier than expected when i was tracking it thanks to the tracking no, i received. and there was no problems with the product i received. packaging was beyond many other places that i have ordered from in the past. i would say if you want the right product and not have to worry about what it will look like when you receive it then you need to place you order with Northern tools, i know i will be in the future.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dutton-Lainson Winch with Automatic Brake - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Winch Review

,
March 14, 2011
By bigjohn44
from Rotonda West,Fl
"I am using two of these winch's for a ham radio tower. One is used to tip the the tower over to work on antenna's and the other is used to raise top portion of tower up. The tower raises from 20' to 40' with the winch.The winch has a brake which is a very important safety factor for my use I have not found any
problems with this product..
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dutton-Lainson Winch with Automatic Brake - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Winch... Dutton-Lainson 1200 lb w/brake

,
August 4, 2009
By BAMM
from Green Bay Wis.
"I bought 2 of these 1200# winches for my pwc lifts, 1 works great the other has what I will call gear binding between the small gear and the large gear on the drum of the spool. It is from manufacturing (welding on the sides of the spool has pulled and missaligned the gears forcing the small gear into the flange of the spool.) It is working but not like it should. When cranking up or down it binds.
I also added 6 inches to the handle (length) for better leverage. pwc weight is 400 lbs.
NT&E please forward my comments to D-L so they can have quality control
put back in specs.
I would give 4 stars for the one that works great (handle lenght is short)
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dutton-Lainson Winch with Automatic Brake - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well, including the braking, but one issue

,
October 15, 2007
By DonInColorado
from Mead, Colorado
"The winch works just as advertised, and I'm very happy with it. Assembly and installation was easy and the automatic braking works great. The only issue I have is that the handle too easily unscrews from the winch when working it. If the handle had some type of locking mechanism (seems a simple enough proposition), I would have given this winch 5 stars."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dutton-Lainson Winch with Automatic Brake - 1200-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Replacement for Macs and Ventures

,
June 1, 2007
By gpecaut
from Mi
"This is the perfect replacement winch for Mac Gregor and Venture sail boats."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.