Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Portable Mini Tire Changer, Model# 1302S094

Northern Industrial Portable Mini Tire Changer, Model# 1302S094

Item# 13473
Completely portable tire changer pays for itself after a couple of uses Ideal for your lawn equipment, trailer and other vehicles with smaller tires. Overall 16in.H. Max. Rim Width 12 in., Recommended Use Tire changer, Control Mechanism Handle, Includes Misc. tools, Machine Type Manual, Tire Type Universal. For all tires with 4in. to 12in. rims Smallest center hole size will accept 50MM Largest center hole size will accept 295MM
Average Customer Rating:
3.926 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (27 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
1
22 of 27(81%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Portable Mini Tire Changer, Model# 1302S094
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Portable Mini Tire Changer, Model# 1302S094
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

tire changer

,
August 14, 2012
By mountainman069
from southside virginia
"very good for the price. works well on the small tires such as lawnmower and golf cart. I have both 2 lawnmowers, trailer, golf cart. and wheel barrow"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Portable Mini Tire Changer, Model# 1302S094
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

portable mini tire changer

,
August 6, 2012
By rustyneck
from eagleville tn.
"The reviews I read said it was great, so I took a chance on it. And this is one of the best investment that I have made. I welded it to some 1/2" thick steal 16 inch by 16 inch, which made it easy to handle and portable so if I want to put on table. I'm using it on lawnmower tires and if you lubricant the tires good enough it will only take you about 10 minutes to remove tire and have new one on. The first time I used 3 screwdrivers that took me an hour and cut the ream up a little, got mad and said has to be easier way other than letting CO-OP do it. So as always I looked in my NORTHERN TOOL book and there it was, now I'm VERY HAPPY WITH MY MINI TIRE CHANGER. thank you."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Portable Mini Tire Changer, Model# 1302S094
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

small tire changer

,
May 14, 2012
By Fixnfool
from nw pa.
"this little machine work great for small tires but you do need to mount it on something sturdy and heavy enough that it won't spin around. I have an old heavy picnic table I can mount mine to and it also high enough you don't have to bend over. It had a little trouble with an old three-wheeler tire that had a really deep rim and knobby tire tread around the sides of the tire but we did manage to get it off. All other smaller tires are easy"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Portable Mini Tire Changer, Model# 1302S094
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mini changer works, but you need help

,
May 8, 2012
By BillinTN
from Memphis, Tn
"I changed a 15 x 6.00 x 6 tire for a ZTR. It was not easy and I almost gave up before finding youtube instructions that allowed me to finally complete the installation. I had to use the centering cone to hold down the mounting tool to keep it from jumping up and off. I finally got both edges of the bead to grab the rim and then got the complete bead on. I would definitely recommend having a helper to hold the tire to keep it from slipping around while trying to get the bead started. Now that I have this and a little experience with it, I should be able to handle the few small tires that I need to work with."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Portable Mini Tire Changer, Model# 1302S094
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Portable Mini Tire Changer

,
December 26, 2011
By LawnTech
from Chicago, Illinois
"The main thing to remember the tire should be at 60F for easy expanding over the rim either removing or replaceing DO NOT USE ANY GREAT FORCE. If the tire and the rim is above 60F. Great product Great Price.
Terry
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Portable Mini Tire Changer, Model# 1302S094
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It Works

,
May 22, 2011
By StickDude75
"I changed two small diameter front lawn mower tires. I bent the threaded rod due to poor practice right off the bat, but it keeps on working and I found changing the 2nd tire much easier after practicing on the first tire. I mounted it in a vice and I found this very convenient as I could take it down and put it back into the box for storage. A nice tool to have around."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Portable Mini Tire Changer, Model# 1302S094
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mini Tire Changer

,
April 8, 2011
By Nightintruder
from Hampton Virginia
"I just bought this and I really wanted one of my own, I used the one we had at work and it worked perfectly this is a must for changing tires on a lawn tractor or dolly and wheel barrow I think this tool is something that all home mechanics should have I haven't used mine yet but I"m anxious to use this tool this thing is life saver. I highly recommend this to everyone who changes tires on a regular basis."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Portable Mini Tire Changer, Model# 1302S094
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

not for rear lawn tractor tires

,
April 3, 2011
By JVEnterprises
from Hubbardston MA
"I used this to change tires on a wheel barrow, the front tires of my lawn tractor, and the rear tires of my lawn tractor.
The wheel barrow was easy as pie, this unit worked great. It was a dual tire wheel barrow.
The front tires (15x6-6) of the lawn tractor removed easy (bead breaker works well) but installing took some elbow grease.
The rear tires (20x8-8) of the lawn tractor removed easy after I cut the bead with a hack saw, but I could not get these tires on with this tool. You can start the tire, but you just can not insert and rotate the tire mount tool like the directions say. The tool is just too small. I had to use my ken-tool tire irons, alot of sweat, and a little swearing to get these tires on, and I roughed up the bead and bent the rim edge in the process.
Overall, this is great for 2-ply, no metal in the bead tires. Anything else and you need something bigger than this."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Portable Mini Tire Changer, Model# 1302S094
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

MINI TIRE CHANGER

,
November 30, 2010
By RUFFUS
from ASHEBORO , NC
"Just got it today and put it right to work. This item works great for for small tires like wheel barrows and small pull behind lawn trailers. Just what I needed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Portable Mini Tire Changer, Model# 1302S094
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

,
August 29, 2010
By mmi16
from Maryland
"Bought the product to change tires on my formula race car that has some relatively fragile aluminum wheels. Works great and doesn't put any undue strain on the wheels. Over the years the 'Pros' have bent up several of my wheels. Great, small, simple product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
mspinhd7399
 
Please wait while more information about mspinhd7399 is loaded.
Additional information about mspinhd7399 could not be loaded.
Great Little Tire Changer
September 1, 2010
"I repair golf carts, and always dreaded changing tires. I purchased this tire changer and love it. I took the base plate off and clamp it in a vise, I spray lube on the bead of the tire and it slides right on the rim. I used U bolts and mounted the base plate on the frame of my trailer so when I'm out in the field I put the changer in the base so I have a stable mount to work with. Total mounting time to mount the tire was less than 5 minutes..."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Portable Mini Tire Changer, Model# 1302S094
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
August 23, 2010
By indelistuff
from Atlanta, GA
"Superb tire changer for small tires. Used it to change 4 golf cart tires. Once I figured it out, I changed 4 tires in an hour. I mounted the unit in a big vise rather than use the base. It worked great!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Portable Mini Tire Changer, Model# 1302S094
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mini tire changer

,
June 14, 2010
By Anonymous
from New England
"Worked great breaking the bead but, not being an experienced tire changer, remounting is proving to be very difficult. I wish someone would post a video of how it's done using this tool. I found the instructions to be no help at all..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Portable Mini Tire Changer, Model# 1302S094
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wish I bought it sooner

,
May 24, 2010
By retiredmechanic
from Long Island, NY
"I love how much easier this makes small tire changes. I used to just use a few tire spoons and pry bars and struggle with every tire change. This makes it a breeze. Pays for itself in just one tire change over having a repair shop do it for you. You will need a strong bench to mount it to, or a decent size vice to mount it in. It comes with mounts for using both ways."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Portable Mini Tire Changer, Model# 1302S094
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

tire changer

,
July 16, 2009
By wlou
from New Town ND
"Holds rim sacurely so you can take tire off & on good tool"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Portable Mini Tire Changer, Model# 1302S094
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mini Tire Changer

,
November 18, 2008
By Daniel07
from Louisiana
"Well, I guess I'll go against the grain here. I bought this tire changer to change smaller tires on walk behind mowers, sulkies, small trailers, and rider mowers.
I always lube the beads on every tire I change and let it sit for a bit. Yes, a few of my larger wheels required that I use a tire iron, but for two years now it has performed exactly the way I expected it to for the wheels I use it on.
I take all my larger wheels to the local tire shop. I used to take the smaller ones too, and they charged me an arm and a leg because they aren't set up for smaller tires. We have a lot of thorns around here and I'm always getting flats.
I buy good quality tires and don't want to put Slime in them. I've saved enough money on tire chanes to buy a few of these."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Portable Mini Tire Changer, Model# 1302S094
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

POORLY EXECUTED PRODUCT

,
May 5, 2008
By MrEngineer
from California
"I bought this tool so that I could change tires on racing go karts with 5" wheels.
The idea of the tool is good, but the execution is poor.
First of all, the bottom cylinder is supposed to fit up inside the reverse side of the wheel. Unfortunately for kart wheels, it won't fit.
Secondly, the center shaft is too small a diameter, and will bend if you apply any significant amount of force - like when bead breaking. It needs to the the next size larger - a modification I intend to make to see if I can get this puppy to work.
Thirdly, the tire iron tool (the part that slides around the rim between the rim and the tire) is round rather than flat, and will damage any alloy wheel. This is another modification I intend to make.
In short, it's a good start, and may work in some very limited applications (as a few reviewers have mentioned), but it's not a universal tool, and it has some very significant deficiencies - and therefore cannot be recommended for general use.
I am a mechanical engineer, a racer, and an expert mechanic, so I know what I'm talking about.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Portable Mini Tire Changer, Model# 1302S094
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mini Tire Changer

,
April 20, 2008
By TracterGuy
from Chicago
"This is a very handy tire changer. I would struggle before, now it is very easy to mount and dismount tires from my mower. It is importnat to have it mounted securely."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Portable Mini Tire Changer, Model# 1302S094
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Fell apart.

,
February 28, 2008
By Cashinhand
from Burlington,IL
"All the silver pieces that you see are made of cast aluminum. It may be light but it ain't strong. The machine broke on the second ATV tire. I do plan on fixing the machine using steel stock and not aluminum. The idea works great. But, they tried to shave corners on the quality of the tool and that never pays off in the long run.
I'm not sorry that I bought it. It does have a very good concept when compared to other tools on the market. But, if you don't own a welder-don't buy it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Portable Mini Tire Changer, Model# 1302S094
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tire Changer

,
January 21, 2008
By Tajecc
from Virginia
"I've used this a couple of times to chage/repair a tire on a trailer for a
garden tractor. It worked fine, no problems. The rim was in good condition..
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Portable Mini Tire Changer, Model# 1302S094
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Light Weight

,
January 14, 2008
By WallytheArmor
from North Georgia Mountains
"The vertical shaft bends over when I tried to use the bead breaker. It works okay when mounting and unmounting tires but the bead breaker problem makes the unit more trouble than it's worth. I could have drive the 30 minutes and had the two tires mounted and returned with less aggrivation. Bead breaking a small tire that has been mounted for any length of time is really going to be a problem."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.