Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Manual Tire Changer - Handles Tires up to 20in.

Northern Industrial Tools Manual Tire Changer - Handles Tires up to 20in.

Item# 13474
"Change your own tires and save BIG money 11 4/5in. dia. x 1/4in. thick wheel rest plate. Base is 27 1/2in. x 18 1/2in. Works with ATV tires. Recommended Use Tire changer, Spindle Diameter in. 2 3/8, Max. Rim Width 16, Plate Diameter in. 11 13/16, Base Dimensions in. 27 1/2 x 18 1/2, Dimensions L x W x H in. 27 1/2 x 18 1/2 x 40 1/8, Tire Height in. 16-20, Tire Type Universal, Includes Hardware for assembly, Machine Type Manual. Beadbreaker Handle Included"
Average Customer Rating:
3.938 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (32 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
4
27 of 32(84%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Manual Tire Changer - Handles Tires up to 20in.
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools Manual Tire Changer - Handles Tires up to 20in.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gets the job done

,
July 26, 2014
By Bushmaster69
from Ohio
"Easy to use if you have any mechanical experience. Gets the job done."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools Manual Tire Changer - Handles Tires up to 20in.
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Product, Bad Service

,
July 16, 2014
By ROJA1987
from Arimo, ID
"This product seems like it will work well. However, the only problem is the tool came without all the parts and I still haven't received all the parts that it needs to work properly. Tool seems like it will work well when completely put together."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools Manual Tire Changer - Handles Tires up to 20in.
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mount/dismount tool

,
July 9, 2014
By tbanks204
from Toronto, KS
"Everything worked great except the mounting part of the tool, On my 1996 Toyota Tacoma PU, the wheel appears to be taller, and therefore the Hold down spider sits too high up and makes the mount tool work at a too high angle, I cannot get the mount tool to stay locked in, while I know one could use spoons, this is harder work. It's possible it could be operator errror, but I don't think so, I have been changing my own tires for years with a homemade changer. I thought this one would work better.
The Pin that goes in the hole to keep the tire from tuning does not go in far enough to fit my wheel.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools Manual Tire Changer - Handles Tires up to 20in.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tire changer

,
February 16, 2014
By Hawaii50
from Honolulu, Hawaii
"The tool does it's job but is difficult to use. It must be securely floor mounted, I used 5/8inch lag bolts and they came loose, with all the work it took to mount the tire. I used it for a 14 inch wheel. It breaks down for easy storage when not in use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools Manual Tire Changer - Handles Tires up to 20in.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good for atv

,
February 4, 2014
By gammi
from Okla
"quality isn't fantastic, a little light for heavy tires, but is just the ticket for atv tires. ATV tires won't fit on a standard tire machine, but this holds and works them well."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools Manual Tire Changer - Handles Tires up to 20in.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, but maybe not for ATV tires....

,
December 26, 2013
By ThomasJones
from Lakeville, MN
"This is well built. It's much larger and stronger than some of the competitor's models you see in other freight/chain stores. There are many reviews and youtube videos which explain how the cheaper smaller versions get broken easily. There's a youtube video which compares this model to them, showing size and thickness of metal. It's twice the cost, but has about 4 times as much metal.
I have three complaints. One is that my version came with a short assembly sheet, but not really instructions. I had to watch countless youtube videos for pointers on how to use it optimally, but there is a certain "skill" that comes with changing many tires anyway, so instructions wouldn't answer all questions.
My second complaint is that the tire iron which came with it didn't fit properly into the arm for the bead breaker. I see that extra welding material increased it's diameter, and I had to pound it down with a hammer to get it to fit.
My main complaint is that it would not fit the ATV tires I needed to change. While it may work on rims down to 8 inch diameter, that's only if they are thin wheels, maybe 2-3 inches thick. The most common ATV wheel is 12 inches diameter, but 7-10 inches wide. These rims won't allow the 12-inch diameter round platform/base of this tool to fit inside them, and since the tire then must ride on top, it is too wide for the top holder to screw on. I've tried everything, it just won't work. I'm thinking about beginning the arduous task of using a cutting wheel to grind down 1/2 inch of that top metal platform, but that's gonna take a lot of dirty work.
One last thing: The bolt that keeps the wheel from spinning sits in a narrow slot, which doesn't allow it to go inward enough to bolt circles of 4.5 inches. My classic Jeep, for example, uses a 5x4.5 inch bolt circle. I was surprised to see is too small for the bolt to fit.
So while It is well built, the size makes it not fit the ATV tires I purchased it for. I can only give it 4 stars, since the web site said it works down to 8 inch rims."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools Manual Tire Changer - Handles Tires up to 20in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Suprised how good it worked

,
July 18, 2013
By krackerjack9
from Orange Grove,Tx
"Ok I read the 5 reviews and saw some YouTube videos. First off picture on website is very misleading at least to me. It makes it look a whole lot smaller than it really is. I got email saying it was at the store drove into town, no hassle no issues the loaded it up for me and I was on my way home. I have a Kubota Tractor L4400 and around here mesquite thorns are the norm and no matter how much slime or other tire sealants you put in your going to get a flat. So I had purchased a tire insert reliner a few months back and decided to put that in along with a tube and I should be good to go. Well I open up the box and Wow this thing is a lot bigger than I thought. No directions anywhere in box but the photo was pretty good so went with that. Took me less than 10 minutes to put together. Got tractor tire off and first I needed to break the bead. Put down and lined it up and pressed down. Hmmm it didn't break it but I was close so got a cheater pipe and put it on the pipe and pressed down and sure enough it did the job. Then getting the tire on top was hassle but I got it there, The tractor tire im guessing a good 50lbs or more. Any way I had some other tire tools I purchased and sure enough with in 5 minutes I had tire off the rim. Installed the liner and put a tube in and started using the tool provided with the tire changer and I was really surprised just how easily it was pushing the bead of the tire over the lip. Now your using some pretty good force but your not damaging the tire or the tool at all. Got it 3/4 on and that was it for the hand tool, grab another longer spoon tool and 2 tries at it and it was on. Aired it up and I was done. Now I didn't mount this thing to the floor or a pallet as some have suggested. This is something that I need to due but it still did the job, If I could due a tractor tire then changine other tires should be a snap. The only thing you need is 2 other spoons with the angle on them and your good to go!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools Manual Tire Changer - Handles Tires up to 20in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

After 5+ year, good product

,
May 13, 2013
By DoSumpthin
from Maine
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I've now owned this unit for almost 6 years. Manual tire changers are a lot of work to operate but still easier than doing it by hand. First I mounted it outside on a small conrete slab about 2'x3'. This worked fine but on stubborn tires the leverage would start to lift the slab. After building a garage I mounted it upstairs and lag bolted it to a floor joist. It is solid and out of the way as I don't use it a lot. The bead breaker is very handy.
I have done a video review comparing this unit against a different one. It shows them side by side and this Northern Tool unit is TWICE the machine. Search online videos for "manual tire changer comparison" if interested.
Ultimately I am very pleased with this unit. I don't know if the construction has changed in the last 5+ years but the one I have is a nice addition to my home garage."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools Manual Tire Changer - Handles Tires up to 20in.
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Underdesigned and understrength

,
March 19, 2013
By DIYDan1
from St Louis
"First, the unit showed up without any of the mounting hardware. I was able to purchase the necessary hardware locally. Second, the base mounting system is very weak. I welded the base together to make it more secure. Third, the links that go down to the tire bead are understrengh and buckled the first time I used it. On a 16 in tire. Then the bar used for applying load to these links bent. So now in the process of fixing these two areas. Recommend you buy a better (more expensive) model."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
8out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Tools Manual Tire Changer - Handles Tires up to 20in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best tool ever bought

,
April 7, 2012
By HarbourLight
from Carriacou, Grenada
"I'm a missionary in Grenada. I have one of these that I seem to use almost daily sometimes. It takes one more tire tool than it came with to get the tires on and off and I had to do a little grinding on the tool that came with it to get the tires back on. Wow does it work good now, and sure beats working off the ground. I'd give it 6 stars it it was available."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Tools Manual Tire Changer - Handles Tires up to 20in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

As advertised

,
February 5, 2012
By gweb
from wardville oklahoma
"The wait at tire shop too long in town. Thought I would give this tire changer a try. Put new tires on golf cart an lawn mower very pleased with ease of operation for a 60 year old beginner. Neigbor now over changing trailer tires. One thing would like is more specfic instructions own putting together."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Tools Manual Tire Changer - Handles Tires up to 20in.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Manual Tire Changer

,
October 18, 2011
By TCar
from Athens, AL
"Easy to use. Handy to have. Would recommend it to all do-it-yourselfers. I give it 4 out of 5 stars as far as manual tire changers go."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Tools Manual Tire Changer - Handles Tires up to 20in.
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

junk

,
October 16, 2011
By tiretony
from rib lake wisconsin
"i have owned a tire changer for many years and needed to replace my worn out one. this large changer is poorly built so much as to be unusable !!! 6 alterations so far this product should be taken off the market!!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
6out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Tools Manual Tire Changer - Handles Tires up to 20in.
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

for the money it looks good

,
October 5, 2011
By daveja
from Warren,Maine
"I didn't get through 1 tire without bending almost every part on the machine. The bead breaker twisted the end of the tiire bar bent and the base bent. definetly sub standard metal. after a little reman. I think it will work."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Tools Manual Tire Changer - Handles Tires up to 20in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm Happy :-)

,
September 12, 2011
By CaptMike
from Yuma, Arizona
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Set it up this afternoon - changed tires on my cart - 25x12x10 - and my 53' drop-deck - 235-85-16. Good little machine - good addition to my shop.
As to my expertise - I'm professional because of my partner :-) I'm an operator - he's the mechanic ~"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Tools Manual Tire Changer - Handles Tires up to 20in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It Works

,
June 14, 2011
By allpontiac
from North Carolina
"Just changed my first 15" car tire - took a little learning and a little patience but it worked. The next time it should be much easier. I also removed and repaired a leaking trailer tire which was smaller - again it worked. I am glad I purchased this changer and it is about to be used alot more"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Tools Manual Tire Changer - Handles Tires up to 20in.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

life saver

,
March 21, 2011
By roon
from Oklahoma
"Outstanding. Have you tried to have a flat fixed on sunday. This little tire changer is worth every penney. Car, light truck & ATV tires. I have used it on all & it works great. Purchase a tire spoon to go along with it and your all set. You will work up a sweat but you will be back on the road. Or in my case back into the woods. I'm going to mount this tire changer on my ATV hauler and I'll never have a bad weekend due to a flat tire again. I recommend this to anyone who hits the trail on weekends."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Tools Manual Tire Changer - Handles Tires up to 20in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tire machine review

,
February 14, 2011
By DownInTexas
from Tioga TX
"This machine is well worth the purchase price. I made a 5' x 5' base out of 2x6's oin 4x4 runners. Your weight on the base + the weight of the machine - it won't go anywhere. Bolting to the floor is better but didn't want to drill holes in concrete. Buy a couple of the curved 30" northern tire spoons they come in very handy. The bead breaker is marginal. I have a long slide hammer that I use and it is easier on the bigger tires that have been on the rims a while. If you have time, lay them flat and run a little WD 40 around the edge of the rim let them sit before you start- it works wonders. The only downside of the machine is that the anti spin anchor pin does not work well on smaller wheels. It is great on 1 ton dually wheels. It takes a little practice (1 or 2 tires) to get the hang of it but it works pretty darn good."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Tools Manual Tire Changer - Handles Tires up to 20in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tire Changer for the Common Man

,
August 25, 2010
By JackTheToolman
from Snohomis, WA
"I bought this tool based on both the pros and cons. I followed the cons to ensure I met every one of their issues. Once I bolted the easy to put together changer to a solid base and bought a couple of tire spoons, this is definitely a hard working tool. My large SUV, Camry, Lawn Tractor met their maker. With just a little sweat for equity, all tires were removed and replaced. Instructions were fairly easy to follow. Downside was box was received damaged and bag of parts scattered around inside. Nothing was missing during inventory though.
My Grandaughters were upset when I borrowed their bottle of bubble soap, so I let them help lube the tire and I was forgiven."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Tools Manual Tire Changer - Handles Tires up to 20in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy as can be.

,
June 1, 2010
By machinefix
from Dobson NC
"I use this changer a lot around the house for flat tires,and putting on new tires.Works great and I do not regret buying this at all."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.