Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Chapin Deluxe Backpack Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 90 PSI, Model# 61700"

"Chapin Deluxe Backpack Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 90 PSI, Model# 61700"

Item# 13729
"This backpack sprayer is perfect for large spraying jobs. Comfortable straps let you lug 4 gallons of solution around with little exertion. U.S.A. Spray Height ft. 20-25, Tank Size gal. 4, Hose Length in. 48, Pressure PSI 90, Dimensions L x W x H in. 14 3/4 x 8 1/2 x 22, Repairable Pump Yes, Wand Length in. 20, Seal Type Nitrile, Spray Pattern Adjustable, Pump Type Piston. 4in. mouth makes refilling easy The in-tank fillers help prevent clogging Leak-proof cap with nitrile seals"
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (24 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
23 of 24(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Chapin Deluxe Backpack Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 90 PSI, Model# 61700"
Review 1 for "Chapin Deluxe Backpack Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 90 PSI, Model# 61700"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good product

,
August 19, 2015
By
from Orlando, FL
" Good all around versatile general sprayer. Very well priced. There are spray tips enclosed but they don't fit--not sure what the story is with that. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
By Chapin International Customer ServiceAugust 24, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. Our technical Customer Service Team is very knowledgeable and they may be able to identify the problem and help you fit the nozzles or have you return the nozzles for replacement. Please call us at 800-950-4458, let the rep know about this request and they will help you. We want you to be thoroughly satisfied with your sprayer and thank you for the 5 stars!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Chapin Deluxe Backpack Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 90 PSI, Model# 61700"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Built Unit

,
August 15, 2015
By
from Dahlonega, GA
" It is such a pleasure to be able to dispense your liquid without stopping every gallon to mix more. The unit is well built and with the pump right there at your right or left hand, you never have to stop spraying until you have dispensed the entire four gallons. You are able to cover so much more ground than with a one gallon sprayer. I would recommend this sprayer to anyone and if I needed an additional one, I'd buy it again. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
By Chapin International Customer ServiceAugust 17, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We are hearing similar success stories from other Customers too and are happy that our backpack sprayer is working well for you. We appreciate your business!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Chapin Deluxe Backpack Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 90 PSI, Model# 61700"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sprayer

,
August 7, 2015
By
from Western New York
" I've used lots of sprayers on my five acres of land and this sprayer is by far the best. Super easy to use and very well made. A really great value. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
By Chapin International Customer ServiceAugust 12, 2015
Thank you! We strive to make using our sprayers easy to save you time. We appreciate your business.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Chapin Deluxe Backpack Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 90 PSI, Model# 61700"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Chapin Deluxe Backpack sprayer 4 gal.

,
July 12, 2015
By
from Mount Shasta, CA
" The sprayer works fine. But, it wastes a lot of insecticide.
This sprayer uses at least 4 times what I would use in my hand carry 1 1/2gal sprayer. When I tried using a finer spray to conserve liquid, it did not kill the weeds. I will keep experimenting but I do not have high hopes.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
By Chapin International Customer ServiceJuly 14, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We recommend that you check the ratio of herbicide to water according to the manufacturer's instructions. We also recommend that you check the expiration date of the product as the efficacy of herbicides gradually decreases with time. The size of the sprayer should have no adverse affect on the performance of the herbicide. We appreciate you giving our sprayer another try and we appreciate your business.
By Chapin International Customer ServiceJuly 14, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We recommend that you check the ratio of herbicide to water according to the manufacturer's instructions. We also recommend that you check the expiration date of the product as the efficacy of herbicides gradually decreases with time. The size of the sprayer should have no adverse affect on the performance of the insecticide. We appreciate you giving our sprayer another try and we appreciate your business.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Chapin Deluxe Backpack Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 90 PSI, Model# 61700"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terror on Dandelions

,
July 2, 2015
By
from Joanna, SC
" The 4 gallon capacity is all most folks will want to carry, and yet offers enough mix to cover a good sized area. Read the directions and found out you should fill it half way BEFORE adding your liquid concentrate. It mixes well with a large paint stick.
The ability to walk, spray and pump at the same time cuts down on your time needed to do the job. I should have bought this much sooner, as you are not near as tired or have the aching arms from carrying your sprayer in one hand while using the wand in the other.
Be sure to read the directions, as there are some things that should not be sprayed from this particular sprayer. They do list an alternative for these applications. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
By Chapin International Customer ServiceJuly 6, 2015
Great feedback and happy to see the directions helped you find some great tips on how to use the sprayer. Thank you for your business, we appreciate it!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Chapin Deluxe Backpack Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 90 PSI, Model# 61700"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST SPRAYER EVER

,
June 6, 2015
By
from TEXAS
" I DO USE THIS SPRAYER FOR SPRAYING WEEDKILLER AND FOR BUGS. AND I JUST WANN SAY THIS IS THE BEST. PEOPLE DON'T SHOP AROUND GET THIS SPRAYER. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
By Chapin International Customer ServiceJune 10, 2015
Thank you for buying a Chapin Backpack Sprayer and your positive feedback. We appreciate your business!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Chapin Deluxe Backpack Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 90 PSI, Model# 61700"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Time saver

,
May 21, 2015
By
from West Georgia
" This product works well and is much easier to use than the regular "pump up" style. Not having to stop and pump the sprayer every few minutes (or seconds) saves time getting the job done. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
By Chapin International Customer ServiceMay 22, 2015
Thank you for purchasing one of our products. I am sure this sprayer will give you many years of reliable service. Please remember to always clean out your sprayer when finished.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Chapin Deluxe Backpack Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 90 PSI, Model# 61700"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chapin Delux Backpack Sprayer

,
April 19, 2015
By
from Madison County, VA
" I purchased the backpack sprayer for controlling fire when I burn bushes. It is easier than dragging long heavy hoses. The sprayer works very well and I am totally satisfied. It was easy to put together and the pumper is easy to handle. The pumper handle can be installed for either the right side or the left side. It is very well made. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
By Steve Mast, Chapin SalesApril 20, 2015
Thank you for purchasing a Chapin product, you should get many years of good service.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Chapin Deluxe Backpack Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 90 PSI, Model# 61700"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Backpack Sprayer

,
April 9, 2015
By
from New York
" Great product, Delivery and Price ..... Delivery and shipping is so easy. Its a no brainer to buy from Northern Tools. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
By Steve Mast, Chapin SalesApril 10, 2015
Thank you for purchasing our product. This unit should last you many years. Please remember to always clean the unit after use. All the Best
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Chapin Deluxe Backpack Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 90 PSI, Model# 61700"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Chaplin Backpack 4 Gal Sprayer

,
April 8, 2015
By
from Cincinnati
" Product is well made and functions the way I had intended it to function. It will get Its first major workout in a few weeks when I use it to seal a new concrete driveway. After that, it will be used extensively to administer insecticides and weed killer on our property in Tennessee. Aside from perhaps my Gator, my chainsaw, my power washer, and my 12 gauge, it may be my favorite possession. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
By Steve Mast, Chapin SalesApril 10, 2015
Thank you for purchasing our product. When using sealers you must clean immediately after use as sealers setup very fast in sprayers.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Chapin Deluxe Backpack Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 90 PSI, Model# 61700"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Killing Bugs Can Be Backbreking

,
April 3, 2015
By
from Hixson, TN
" I guess this is as good as a backpack sprayer gets. For a woman it is cumbersome but better than a handheld version. It sprays a long way and pressurizes with only a few pumps. The pump handle is convenient and helps me handle the load. Just glad that this is usually a job done rather quickly. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
By Chapin International Customer ServiceMay 21, 2015
We have a full line of backpack sprayers designed for various applications and appreciate that you chose our product for your use. Your sprayer should provide you with many years of spraying. Thank you for your response.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Chapin Deluxe Backpack Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 90 PSI, Model# 61700"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product Great Price

,
March 9, 2015
By
from NW Arkansas
" I have some experience with Chapin products. I have always been pleased. In a world where everything seems to be priced more than the worth I am able to see the value - this Back Pack Sprayer is definitely worth what I spent. Also the shopping experience on line with Northern Tool was a good and efficient one. I was able to see and select the model and features desired with ease. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Chapin Deluxe Backpack Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 90 PSI, Model# 61700"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chapin Deluxe Backpack Sprayer

,
October 22, 2014
By
from Paris texas
" Once again I am pleased with my Northern Tool purchase. This sprayer is everything I had hoped for when I ordered it. It is a no mess no fuss product that just does the job at hand. I used it for the second time this morning and it worked to perfection. I am very pleased and will recommend it to my friends. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Chapin Deluxe Backpack Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 90 PSI, Model# 61700"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Backpack sprayer

,
October 10, 2014
By
from Jamison, PA
" Sprayer instructions were poor but it was easy enough to figure out on my own. Only took about 10-15 minutes. I'm very happy with the distance and height the sprayer throws. Very easy to pump up the pressure while spraying. I "clean" it by spraying a couple gallons of water. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Chapin Deluxe Backpack Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 90 PSI, Model# 61700"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much better than the older styled sprayer

,
August 29, 2014
By
from Scotts Valley, CA
" The sprayer is great. I gets a little heavy when completely filed with 4 gallons of water, but very easy to use allowing you to cover more ground quickly. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Chapin Deluxe Backpack Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 90 PSI, Model# 61700"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sprayer

,
August 27, 2014
By
from Mcallen Tx
" I used this prayer to create a mister. We had a family reunion in the middle of August (the hottest time in Texas) and I used this sprayer as a mister. I bought 3 misting heads and attached them to 1/4" tube. This sprayer has enough pressure to keep the misters going at a rate of 2 gallons water per hour. The pump handle was so easy to use that my 75 year old mother was able to keep the mist going as she needed. The pricing is great and the sprayer has very good pressure compared to the cheaper sprayer that I use to spray my yard. This unit works great. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Chapin Deluxe Backpack Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 90 PSI, Model# 61700"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chapin Deluxe Backpack Sprayer

,
August 23, 2014
By
from Joplin MO
" This sprayer is easy to fill, easy to "backpack", easy to pump while spraying. I have used it 4 times in the past month to spray herbicides. Fill it with 2 gallons as it is heavy (for me) beyond that. The price was right, the instructions are easy to follow, it came partially assembled which was helpful. Am very pleased with it. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Chapin Deluxe Backpack Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 90 PSI, Model# 61700"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product/Good price

,
August 7, 2014
By
from Columbia, Mo
" As tough as professionals can be on equipment; between applicating and hauling etc, these backpack sprayers are holding their own.
Easy to use and fill, comfortable enough to get big jobs done (recommend the better harness system for extended use!), pump and hardware work well and pressurize good, and the cost of product is friendly to a smaller company's budget.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Chapin Deluxe Backpack Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 90 PSI, Model# 61700"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality backpack style sprayer

,
August 6, 2014
By
from 84, PA
" Great backpack style sprayer! Simple and quick minor assembly needed out of the box. Five to ten minutes and the sprayer is ready for use. Holds four gallons and has a large opening for filling. The spray nozzle is adjustable and the sprayer takes very little effort to pump. I find it takes less effort to pump than my can style one gallon sprayer. Even with the weight of a full four gallons of liquid, the shoulder straps do a fine job of distributing the weight. It's comfortable enough to use repeatedly without having to take a rest on the shoulders. I'm incredibly happy with the quality of this equipment and the ease of use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Chapin Deluxe Backpack Sprayer - 4 Gallon, 90 PSI, Model# 61700"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great sprayer

,
July 21, 2014
By
from Deford, MI
" Item is as described, works great, and is very handy since it doesn't require setting down to pump it up. The adjustable nozzle works great as you can change from a fine mist to heavy dousing with a twist or two. I have not yet tried the fixed angle nozzle other than with water when I first tried the sprayer. The weight is not bad, although the straps are a bit on the weak side...could have been built a bit tougher and more padded. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.