Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Comet Industries V-Belt Centrifugal Clutches

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Comet Industries V-Belt Centrifugal Clutches

Item# 1376
To be used with A, B V-belts. Bore size is 1in. Engagment RPM 1800-2000. For use up to 8HP. Outside diameter of pulley: 3in. Keyway: 1/4in. A Belt Size: 5/8in.W B Belt Size: 1/2in.W
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
6 of 8(75%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Comet Industries V-Belt Centrifugal Clutches
Review 1 for Comet Industries V-Belt Centrifugal Clutches
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

DISSAPOINTED

,
December 10, 2008
By Jhon
from Nashville, TN
" Yeah, i bought this clutch about 2 or 3 weeks ago, and i installed it on a 8hp honda. It did not give me the performance and pickup as i expected. It takes a while for the clutch to kick in, and when it does it gets really grabby and jerks. I do not know why it did so. but i do not think it is very good for go kart applications.It said rated for 8hp engine,but it looked as if it could not pull it, or it was struggling to do so. Recomend for constant running machines.(wood chippers and such)...Thank you "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Comet Industries V-Belt Centrifugal Clutches
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

loved it

,
August 18, 2008
By gocartman
from Sterling, IL
" I got my clutch in the mail fast, and had it on and running even faster. it fit perfect, worked perfect and got me back on the trails. i will come to northern tool for all my go cart and tool needs!!! thank you "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Comet Industries V-Belt Centrifugal Clutches
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

comet clutch

,
August 11, 2008
By bear52157
from Iowa
" excellent rpm engagement. I put this clutch on an 8hp that is on a 36" tiller and this clutch worked perfectly it ingaged at the right rpm and did not slip even in sod! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Comet Industries V-Belt Centrifugal Clutches
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Clutch has grip

,
January 21, 2008
By gumby
from Vermont
" This clutch was used to drive a homemade gokart/parade vehicle. It has true engagement, and plenty of power. Good value! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Comet Industries V-Belt Centrifugal Clutches
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great service Just as advertised

,
January 15, 2008
By slafleur
from Praire Rhonde LA
" This was my first purchase from Northern Tool. After searching for a clutch in town and on the internet, a friend suggested I try Northern Tool. I found their web sight with ease. I found the product I was looking for on the first search I tried. I ordered it and it came in exactly as advertised. I installed the clutch and went to work with my mower that afternoon. I will look at Northern Tool first next time. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Comet Industries V-Belt Centrifugal Clutches
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

bad clutch

,
July 11, 2007
By fixetman
from aumsville oregon
" i was excited about receiving my clutch, i installed it on a small lawnmower based van body, (like the shriners use) for the 4th of july parades, it worked for the first test run around the block. then it got graby jerked around alot and wouldnt release properly. i couldn't use it, when i removed it i inspected the clutch, it had no friction material at all, just medal to medal, and looks like it never had any, the clutch sure would have made the parade much easier, i had to put it back to a belt tensioner type foot clutch "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Comet Industries V-Belt Centrifugal Clutches
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well.

,
March 7, 2007
By maximus
from Nebraska
" We put this on our gas-powered air compressor so that we can start it when there is air pressure against the compressor. It works like a charm although I wish they made more pulley sizes. We had to reduce the compressing rate by nearly half I'd guess because we couldn't match the pulley size. My only other gripe is the price - these things have sure got expensive. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Comet Industries V-Belt Centrifugal Clutches
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comet centrifugal clutch for sawmill

,
March 7, 2007
By Bird
from Southeastern Oklahoma
" I purchased the Comet clutch for use on my band sawmill. I ordered on-line and it was delivered promptly. It was well made American quality, and was easy to install. I have sawed about 500 board feet with it so far and have been impressed with the smoothness with which it kicks in. At idle there is absolutely no grab or movement, which is the whole reason for having a automatic clutch in the first place. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.