Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Comet Industries Torque Converter Kit - 10 Tooth, 3/4in. Bore

Comet Industries Torque Converter Kit - 10 Tooth, 3/4in. Bore

Item# 1378
Belt and two variable pitch pulleys work together as a clutch and variable transmission. Weatherproof system is completely mechanical and can be mounted in any position. Unique design allows automatic infinite variation and smooth shifting action between the systems high and low range in response to changing loads and travel conditions. Maximum 8 HP. NOTE Briggs & Stratton changed the bolt pattern on some 8 HP engines, so you may need to make an adaptor to fit these converters to your application. Bore Diameter in. 3/4, Application Torque converter kit, Tooth Design Pitch in. 40/41. Bore Size 3/4in. Tooth 10 Pitch 40/41
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Comet Industries Torque Converter Kit - 10 Tooth, 3/4in. Bore
Review 1 for Comet Industries Torque Converter Kit - 10 Tooth, 3/4in. Bore
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great improvement

,
May 20, 2014
By JI1972
from NY
"I installed this on a go kart for my kids. I needed to modify the mount slightly to miss the oil fill on my motor but everything else bolted up great. Now the go kart can be operated slowly and have enough power to climb hills. If you give it gas it will still go fast as well. Works great."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Comet Industries Torque Converter Kit - 10 Tooth, 3/4in. Bore
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

comet TAV2

,
August 30, 2010
By supermanotorious
from Phoenix, AZ
"I use this TAV in my wakeboarding winch builds and it performs just like it should, plenty of torque for deep water starts then plenty of speed for surface and rail tricks."
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
see the winch running
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Comet Industries Torque Converter Kit - 10 Tooth, 3/4in. Bore
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

slingshot

,
April 1, 2009
By ckelp
from santa rosa ca
"i put this on my mini bike with a honda gx200 6.5hp chinese clone. now my mini bikes front tire keeps comeing up. so bewhere if your puting this on a mini bike i've beat on both the engine and the dirve both are running good it's been almost a year and both are running good. the only thing i'd what on it is a way to lock it in a lower range on the fly"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Comet Industries Torque Converter Kit - 10 Tooth, 3/4in. Bore
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comet Clutch

,
November 19, 2008
By gr3456
from Milwaukee WI
"Awesome Clutch!! Used on my GOkart and had great acceleration."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Comet Industries Torque Converter Kit - 10 Tooth, 3/4in. Bore
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

,
November 17, 2008
By Corny1960
from Oklahoma
"One of the strongest clutch systems I have ever used. It has a long life and is dependable. It is very easy to install and requires very little maintenance. I would recommend it to anyone that needs a variable speed clutch system."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Comet Industries Torque Converter Kit - 10 Tooth, 3/4in. Bore
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

torque converter

,
November 17, 2008
By Anonymous
from ma.
"i have purchased two of these torque converters in the past for go karts and they have had tremendous power over centrifigul clutches. this time it is going in a verry small mini bike frame with a 5.5hp honda with the intentions of beating a friend with a 50cc pit bike who thinks its the greatest thing in the world."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Comet Industries Torque Converter Kit - 10 Tooth, 3/4in. Bore
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comet Torque Converter Kit - 10 Tooth, 3/4in. Bore

,
August 18, 2008
By KurtWhy
from Kansas City, MO
"This Torque Converter works wonders. I put in on a racing Briggs engine on a home made off-road go-kart I made and it has great acceleration and top end with me riding it ( over 240 lbs). We've clocked the go-kart at around 40mph. The torque converter works so much better than a regular clutch when you want an off road machine. I would highly recommend this torque converter to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Comet Industries Torque Converter Kit - 10 Tooth, 3/4in. Bore
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

,
October 8, 2007
By JKKK
from ORANGE PARK, FL
"YOUR TECH DEPARTMENT HELPED ME WITH GETTING THE WORKING DRAWINGS OF THIS TORQUE CONVERTER BEFORE I ACTUALLY ORDERED IT WHICH HELPED GREATLY IN THE BUILDING OF MY REPLICA 40'S CUSHMAN SCOOTER. WHEN I DID RECEIVE THE TORQUE CONVERTER FROM YOU IT FIT PERFECTLY WITH NO ADJUSTMENTS NECESSARY. NOW THAT MY SCOOTER IS COMPLETE THE TORQUE CONVERTER IS WORKING PERFECTLY.
THANK YOU AGAIN FOR GOING ABOVE AND BEYOND TO HELP ME EVEN BEFORE I ACTUALLY ORDERED YOUR PRODUCT. WOULD NEVER GO ANYWHERE ELSE FOR THE PARTS THAT I NEEDED.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Comet Industries Torque Converter Kit - 10 Tooth, 3/4in. Bore
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
July 9, 2007
By 2BAGGER
from CENTRAL FL.
"EXTREMELY SATISFIED"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.