Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Airheart Mechanical Go-Kart Brake Caliper

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Airheart Mechanical Go-Kart Brake Caliper

Item# 13856
Replacement caliper for many popular OEM go-karts. Made of high-grade friction material, complete with floating mount bracket. Installs and adjusts easily. Brake disc not included. U.S.A. Application Brake caliper, Pad Diameter in. 1 9/16. Compact, cost effective, yet powerful Hardened steel brake components for maximum durability Simple, efficient design reduces moving parts for longer lasting performance Only three simple lever adjustments required over the life of the brake pad lining for optimal braking power Mounting bracket included for quick, easy installation Brake disc are not included
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Airheart Mechanical Go-Kart Brake Caliper
Review 1 for Airheart Mechanical Go-Kart Brake Caliper
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brake caliper

,
April 17, 2014
By Don3
from Thornton, CO
"I am a Kinetics vehicle builder. This brake is used on my latest human powered craft. It was very easy to build the attacment bracket to connect this brake to the craft frame. The braking power was what I was looking for when I was researching brakes, this unit has the holding power that I needed. This unit is such an eloquent solution to what could have been a very cobbled unsatifactory home made brake."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Airheart Mechanical Go-Kart Brake Caliper
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Get a grip with Airheart Mechanical Go-Kart Brake

,
February 4, 2014
By and739
from Lawton, OK
"This Airheart Mechanical Go-Kart Brake Caliper is awesome!
My son and I ordered this one for use on our drift trike and it works perfectly. A drift trike is like a three wheeled go-kart with a bicycle front end. Powered and non-powered drift trikes are all over the internet if you're not familiar.
The only thing is the caliper comes with no instructions or literature of any kind. No big deal when the world wide web is only a few key strokes away. I was able to find all the info I needed to install and setup the caliper online.
We have plans to build another drift trike (one of these is never enough)and I will for sure purchase a second Airheart Mechanical Go-Kart Brake Caliper from Northern Tool + Equipment for our next build.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Airheart Mechanical Go-Kart Brake Caliper
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

go kart brake caliper

,
August 13, 2012
By RHAMRaceTeam
from Hebron, CT
"We used to use the drum brake kit which was very good. This however is much better. Easy to install, and much quicker response. We use them on all of our electric go karts, and have also used it on our bio-diesel and electric dragsters."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Airheart Mechanical Go-Kart Brake Caliper
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Airheart brake caliper

,
October 19, 2009
By RenaissanceMan2
from Quispamsis, New Brunswick, Canada
"This is a great unit. I bought it for my sons homemade cart It was easy to fabricate the mounting brackets, it is nicely adjustable for your pedal linkage and it grips the brake rotor extremely well, in fact my only downside would be that it grips so hard that it locks up quite easily with my particular setup. I think this problem could be easily overcome by building an appropriate linkage that uses more pedal travel than my setup. Overall I would certainly buy this unit again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Airheart Mechanical Go-Kart Brake Caliper
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple brake design works great!

,
November 22, 2008
By redragon6
from California
"I first used this brake caliper when building an school go-cart for my son for Christmas. The design of the caliper is very simple and effective. The mounting bracket is also simple and can be secured to the frame in many different positions. I was so impressed with the performance that I converted my old go-cart from the noisy and weak drum brake system to the Airheart caliper. Both carts stop as fast as the tires allow and operate with no noise so far. These calipers are well worth the reasonable price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Airheart Mechanical Go-Kart Brake Caliper
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best brake in brakes, for the money

,
April 25, 2008
By Racingdad
from El Cajon, CA
"This brake set up is the best. My kids run dirt race cars, and my son's car came with the Airheart brake system on it and has worked flawlessly for 5 years now. When I got a car for my daughter, it had another brand system on it, I found the Airheart here at Northern Tool, and I said we had to change it over. She went from bumping into everyone because she couldn't get the car to stop fast enough, to stopping on a dime all the time. I love the simplicity of the system, and once it is mounted, I don't have to worry about brakes like our competitors. Thank you Airheart & Northern!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Airheart Mechanical Go-Kart Brake Caliper
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Inexpensive & Works Great

,
April 21, 2008
By Anonymous
from Southern Illinois
"I have purchased 2 of these Airheart Caliper's for my Shriner Go-Kart and they work great. Easy to install and what a great value. If you got a kart and want it to have great stopping power then this is your ticket."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Airheart Mechanical Go-Kart Brake Caliper
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

go cart brakes

,
April 19, 2008
By Proptoligist
from MO
"very universal, easily broke down for right/left application and the mounting bracket allows for older warped discs"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Airheart Mechanical Go-Kart Brake Caliper
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
January 21, 2008
By BenL
from Maine
"This is a very quality peice of craftsmanship. The kart now stops on a dime. Northern was great to work with and any questions i had were quickly answered."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.