Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Azusa Steel Go-Kart Axle - 36in. Length

Azusa Steel Go-Kart Axle - 36in. Length

Item# 1387
"Full length 1/4in. keyways with stubs at axle ends. For fixed or live axles. Has 1in. dia. step down at end to 3/4in., 2in. ends with 3/4in. x 16 threads. U.S.A. 1in. outside diameter Two 1/4in. opposing keyways 3/4-16 threads Zinc plated"
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Azusa Steel Go-Kart Axle - 36in. Length
Review 1 for Azusa Steel Go-Kart Axle - 36in. Length
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

cart racer

,
July 5, 2014
By bj963
from north carolina
"perfect fit and quality, all fell into place and cart is working like new,,"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Azusa Steel Go-Kart Axle - 36in. Length
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Axle is right on!

,
February 4, 2014
By and739
from Lawton, OK
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased this axle for use on our powered drift trike project. The material and construction are top notch. The dimensions are precise and all my other purchased items (bearings, hubs, brake disc) all fit great on this axle. The axle has seen hours of punishment and shows no signs of wear or damage. Like other reviewers have pointed out, the axle does not include nuts. I was able to pick up some 3/4" -16 nuts and big, thick washers at a local fastener store.
One tip I picked up from the internet: I made spacers from 1" ID steel pipe cut to length to fit between all the components that attach to the axle. So, on the axle I have from one end to the other: nut, washer, wheel hub, spacer, pillow-block bearing, spacer, sprocket hub, spacer, brake disc, spacer, pillow-block bearing, spacer,wheel hub, washer, nut all squeezed together with those massive 3/4"-16 nuts. That way I'm not relying on those itty-bitty Allen set screws to hold things in place. This method works real well. To aid in dis-assembly, just remember to put a little oil (something like 3 in 1) on the axle before installing the spacers.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Azusa Steel Go-Kart Axle - 36in. Length
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Replaced bent axle on Manco Dingo Gokart Model 285

,
January 11, 2012
By markwadehall
from Clarksville Ohio
"Note that the axle uses 3/4" #16 nuts which are not supplied with the axle & are not available from Northern Tool. The big box stores don't carry them either, so I got them at a local fastener store. I used some 1" split collars to hold the brake rotor & gear sprocket in place. The old axle had a welded in key & crimps to do this. Also the old axle was 40" so I had to reduce the length of the wheel spacers & mounted the rear roll cage to the inside of the frame with spacer washers so the wheels wouldn't hit the roll cage."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Azusa Steel Go-Kart Axle - 36in. Length
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

No nuts for end...

,
June 26, 2011
By Gusterman19
from NH
"Great axle fore the price but no nuts for end of axle... beware"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Azusa Steel Go-Kart Axle - 36in. Length
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

very strong axle

,
July 21, 2009
By duginator
from carmel
"this axle is very strong and durable at a good price"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Azusa Steel Go-Kart Axle - 36in. Length
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Steel Go-Kart Axle — 36in. Length

,
July 11, 2007
By atvdesign
from Mesa, Az
"I needed high quality a live axel that would adapt to the CV joint of my 1990 GEO Metro when I was converting it from a gas engine to an electric motor. These bearings did the job! Worked out great. Now I have an electric car that needs no more gas. The savings has already paid for the conversion to electric."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-7points
0out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Azusa Steel Go-Kart Axle - 36in. Length
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
March 10, 2007
By pdanowski
from Erie, pa
"love it but no keyway or nuts on each end also bought hubs and bearings"
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Azusa Steel Go-Kart Axle - 36in. Length
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
March 8, 2007
By Aaron871
from Charlotte, NC
"I have been rumming this in an off-road Barstool Racer with 6.5 horsepower and 20" tires. I have broken the key-ways but never the axle. Great product, very strong."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Azusa Steel Go-Kart Axle - 36in. Length
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

NO keys!

,
February 14, 2007
By john11
"I bought the axle, sprocket, sprocket holder, and wheels. None came with the keys for the keyway. Be aware!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.