Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Steel Go-Kart Axle - 44in. Length

Steel Go-Kart Axle - 44in. Length

Item# 1388
Full length 1/4in. keyways with stubs at axle ends. For fixed or live axles. Has 1in. dia. step down at end to 3/4in., 44in.L , 2in. ends with 3/4in. x 16 threads. Shoulder to shoulder 40in. 997 gauge steel Tinsel strength 73000 PSI Yield 66000 PSI
Average Customer Rating:
2.857 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (7 reviews)
5 stars
0
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
5 of 7(71%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Steel Go-Kart Axle - 44in. Length
Review 1 for Steel Go-Kart Axle - 44in. Length
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Strong Axle

,
April 23, 2013
By National
from San Diego
"Good Strong Axle... We put our Kart through some seriously punishing off road trials that busted welds and snapped other parts of the frame...but this Axle stayed true...only problem was the 3/4x16 threads needed some chasing prior to installation..."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Steel Go-Kart Axle - 44in. Length
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Thick black paint

,
April 23, 2013
By jdizzle636
from Nixa, MO
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This axle has caused a great deal of extra work getting rid of all of the thick black paint on it. The full length keyway is nice, and I have had no problems with bending, however, the paint cancels out anything positive I could say about it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Steel Go-Kart Axle - 44in. Length
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

black axle

,
May 25, 2012
By Andy51
from odessa, FL
"Right when i got the axle i noticed it was black. i was ok with it, but when i tried to put the hubs on, i realized it was very thick!! i havnt decided whether to sand it down or not."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Steel Go-Kart Axle - 44in. Length
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Returning

,
March 10, 2010
By BINGRACING
from IL
"Returning axle. Painted Black...thick!! NOT Plated as picture would suggest. Not going to deal with scraping it all off to get sprockets on. Won't know how strong it is."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Steel Go-Kart Axle - 44in. Length
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

black?

,
April 30, 2009
By TravisD
from AU
"well when i got it i first noticed it was "black" i didnt know it was going to be black!! and with this black coat on the axle it made it very hard to put my sprokets and bearing on, mostly imposible!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Steel Go-Kart Axle - 44in. Length
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Check your threads!

,
May 19, 2008
By Kinetic
from Humboldt California
"I received two of these and used them to extend axles from a differential. I didn't notice the threads ON BOTH were NOT FULLY CUT until AFTER spending a few hours attaching them to other axle ends. Needless to say, I wasn't going to return them, so spent another hour plus cutting the threads the rest of the way.
Lame to get a part that isn't right... especially TWO!
Other than the threads, great axle!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Steel Go-Kart Axle - 44in. Length
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

strong axle

,
January 21, 2008
By frank2527
from NY
"this axle is very strong and reliable even for off road applications.I tried to make my own before but u have to buy this axle because its tempered steel not mild steel that bends to easy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
motorfreak
 
Please wait while more information about motorfreak is loaded.
Additional information about motorfreak could not be loaded.
size
October 3, 2011
"im not so good in english, can someone please help me? is it 1 or 2 inch thick"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)