Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Air Drill - 3/8in. Drive

Northern Industrial Tools Air Drill - 3/8in. Drive

Item# 139275
Northern Industrial Tools air-powered 3/8in. drill delivers power at a very affordable price. Features die-cast aluminum body, variable speed trigger, forward/reverse switch, keyed chuck and through-handle exhaust for easy operation. Min. Hose Size in. 3/8, Reversible Yes, Side Handle No, Chuck Size in. 3/8, CFM at Load 6, Speed RPM 1,800, Air Consumption CFM 6, Air Inlet Size in. NPT 1/4, Keyless Chuck No, Variable Speed Yes. Lightweight die-cast polished aluminum body stands up to heavy use but is still light to hold Trigger-controlled variable speed allows you to set the pace Operating range between 60 and 90 PSI, within range of most medium to heavy compressors Through-handle exhaust prevents shavings and chips from blowing back Easy-to-reach forward/reverse switch lets you switch directions with ease Keyed chuck eliminates slippage Up to 1800 RPM top speed
Average Customer Rating:
4.579 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (19 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 19(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Air Drill - 3/8in. Drive
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Drill - 3/8in. Drive
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice for the Price

,
February 10, 2014
By Callawayman
from Oklahoma
"Can't beat this tool, I will be buying more like it. Let's face it, it's no Snap-On. I happen to have one, but it's truly is a great product for the price...."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Drill - 3/8in. Drive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

,
February 4, 2014
By rperk
from Greenville, SC
"I am an aircraft mechanic and airdrills are generally expensive. Don't be fooled by the price, this drill is good; you can even get a longer warranty on this tool than on the big brands. It has all the power and speed needed for sheet metal work. Not much if any wobble from the chuck so I can drill accurately with no wobble (a must in my field). Reverse feature is nice. Good weight, and durable too. The chuck is also good quality and grips even the smallest bits well. Recommend getting a swivel regulator. Would buy again and have already recommended it to coworkers. Thanks Northern for a good product and a good warranty."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Drill - 3/8in. Drive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellant product for price

,
September 22, 2013
By paulie505
from branford ct
"found using a regulator worked great cant beat the price"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Drill - 3/8in. Drive
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not too bad

,
September 17, 2013
By JeepJK
from Gardner, KS
"I bought this drill because I find that I need one often enough and when I needed to install some step bars on my jeep, well off to NT i went. I have to say that the store personal are great. I chose this, obviously less expensive than the others, it worked well drilling out the holes in the weld seem. This will work for anyone who is not using it every day of the week. I would have given it the 5th star but I thought it needed just a bit more torque. Overall you can't beat the drill at this price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Drill - 3/8in. Drive
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid Tool - not good with smaller compressors

,
May 14, 2012
By DavidCM
from Richmond, Va
"I bought this in addition to a small compressor to use around my apartment (sorry neighbors for all of the racket!) It is a very solid tool that is well built. It feels good in your hand and carries some weight. The only issue is that in my instance, my compressor runs out of air very quickly because rotary tools use a great deal of air. It is a very simple drill and really easy to adjust or switch directions. I would definitely recommend this to someone starting a shop as a great starting tool. Would be best perhaps as a drywall screwdriver on a construction site with a large, multiple outlet compressor."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Drill - 3/8in. Drive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good purchase

,
May 7, 2012
By gene191
from jackson, TN
"a very good light weight drill. performs well. easy to use and not bulky. all you have to do is keep it oiled and you are ready to go."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Drill - 3/8in. Drive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Air drill

,
January 9, 2012
By FXITDUDE
from Chickasha Oklahoma
"We use these little air drills in our fiberglass job shop and they hold up well they are used quite heavly all day. They are also very economical."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Drill - 3/8in. Drive
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Value

,
March 14, 2011
By Transplant
from Central Florida
"Purchased for occasional use in home garage. Smooth operation. Keyed chuck a bit inconvenient (misplaced key) but essential for small bits. Good price for the air drill."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Drill - 3/8in. Drive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Customer Care

,
March 8, 2011
By MetalFab
from Detroit, MI
"I purchased two of these drills, delivery was prompt. I use them at work on a daily basis and they perform as well, if not better than our work provided drills that they pay top dollar for. BUT upon putting the the air fittings on I noticed one of the drills was missing the screen inside the air inlet. The next morning I emailed customer service explaining the issue and they responded by 11am saying that they are sending me a new one, which also was promptly delivered. Despite the missing part I still give this 5 stars based on the product and outstanding customer service."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Drill - 3/8in. Drive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Air Drill

,
November 19, 2010
By ModernWay
from Spring City, Tennessee
"This is a good solid air drill. I don't have many air tools, so I was concerned at first about buying a tool this inexpensive. After receiving it and using the tool, I can recommend it highly. The tool has a good heft to it, handles any bit I've thrown at it, is reversible and it's variable speed to boot. At first, I thought this tool was not a variable-speed drill, because I was testing it unloaded. However, once I chucked up a bit and cut into some old 2X4, I realized that I could vary the drilling speed. And it works well with my 1 HP 20 gallon compressor. For the price, it is hard to beat."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Drill - 3/8in. Drive
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lots of torque.

,
November 16, 2010
By TLinn
from Richmond, VA
"Fit and finish of this drill is ok, the casting of the grip is pretty standard. The chuck is actually pretty good, very little slop, not soft metal or anything. Chuck snugs down tight, hasn't jammed on me, just make sure it stays oiled.
Air consumption isn't too high for a 60 gallon compressor, my pump cycles a lot less with this than things like die grinders or air ratchets, about the same as an impact wrench. It's not variable speed but for self piloting screws thats a good thing. This makes such a powerful screw gun too, not too fast that you would strip a screw head and enough torque that you can put a screw all the way through a 2x4 if you don't pay attention. The reverse is just as strong and reliable."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Drill - 3/8in. Drive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Resonable price, good quality

,
February 22, 2010
By vmorris
from Murfreesboro, TN
"As I remodel my upstairs, I found myself using air tools more and more. So, I went to my local Northern Tool and found this Air Drill. Bought it and really like it. Works great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Drill - 3/8in. Drive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellente for making hole on some concret stick

,
February 15, 2010
By moto06
from Venezuela
"I use it do drill hole on some concret stick to divide the farm"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Drill - 3/8in. Drive
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Drill

,
February 15, 2010
By guesswho
from South GA
"I have a mobile service business. It is easier to use air tools than electric or rechargeable tools. So for the low price I gave it a try. It is a great buy, you will not be disappointed. I only gave it a 4 star review because the keyed chucked isn't a very good fit, but it does do the job. It is great for drill bits 3/8 or smaller. I wouldn't recommend using a reduced shank larger bit, it isn't quite strong enough. But all in all, it is a great drill."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Drill - 3/8in. Drive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works fine

,
November 6, 2009
By pastormike
from Rock Hill, SC
"I bought this for limited use and it has worked well for me."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Drill - 3/8in. Drive
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Air Drill...

,
August 11, 2008
By Marty21
from San Diego
"This drill is compct enough to use with the powerball and mini for my wheels without having to use electrical or power pack ones that run out of juice on me. I like it and it gives just enough torque for this kind of job."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Drill - 3/8in. Drive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Price

,
April 21, 2008
By doechaser
from Waynesboro, MS
"Fantastic Price and Great Quality. Trigger is a little sensitive but you'll get use to it. Works Great. I was really shocked."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Drill - 3/8in. Drive
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

,
March 17, 2007
By Fred1
"Good Value. Drill works perfect. Plenty of power and light weight."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Tools Air Drill - 3/8in. Drive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

,
December 1, 2006
By phutchinson
from Rock HIll, SC
"I am not a professional mechanic in the sense of as a profession, but I am ASE certified and was a mechanic for 15 years. I buy most of my air tools for my restoration hobby from Northern tool, I have had complete success from the quality of the tools and the craftsmanship of each tool. the drill I bought yesterday and it works great, it is alot smaller then all my electric and cordless drills, so it makes it quite convienent to use. I bought it on sale and am throughly satisfied."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.