Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Portable Marine Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity

Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Portable Marine Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity

Item# 141220
This Northern Industrial Tools 12V Portable Marine Winch offers convenient, portable power for pulling boats, stuck light-duty vehicles and other heavy items without the need for extension cords or gas-powered engines. Features a built-in carrying handle and quick-attach mounting plate. Rope Type Wire, Dimensions L x W x H in. 9 1/2 x 7 1/2 x 10, Remote Length ft. 9 1/2, Volts 12, Line Pull lbs. 2,000. Capabilities 6000 lbs. rolling 5000 lbs. marine 2000 lbs. pulling Max. boat size/weight 18 feet/5000 lbs. Line speed 6 feet/minute with load Easy-to-use Remote control with 9ft.9in. cord Includes 30-ft. steel cable with quick-attaching latched hook, 6-ft. power cord Temporary or permanent mounting bracket Back up hand crank for emergencies or cable tightening
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (16 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
14 of 16(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Portable Marine Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Portable Marine Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

12 Volt Portable Winch

,
February 4, 2014
By Tartar
from Taylorsville, MS
"Have used this winch to pull 34 ft pontoon boat onto dry land and back into the water after repairs. Also used with a snatch block to pull a 55 HP tractor out of mud. Worked great for a small winch."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Portable Marine Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Northern Industrial Tools 12V Portable Marine Winc

,
February 4, 2014
By TTTanner
from Charlotte, NC
"I bought this winch to help/aid me with loading and unloading my lawn mower onto my utility trailer. I am a disabled class III heart patient and am very weak, and also have to watch my exertion limits as well. This winch made it so easy for me. I have also used to pull/winch my daughters car onto a car hauler which really came in handy on a few occasions thus far. With the mounting bracket, the extra long power cord and remote, it is a cinch for a quick set up. I carry it in my truck all the time. For the price, you just cant beat it for a portable easy to use winch system."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Portable Marine Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Field Winch

,
April 23, 2013
By LightEagle
from Bandera TX
"I bought the 12v DC winch to use in the field to load used Fence and down trees/wood. Works great, east to setup and operate. Hasn't failed to date."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Portable Marine Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor

,
March 19, 2013
By stang762
from fl.
"very slow under load, when you stop load goes backward would not recommend."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Portable Marine Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worked great while I had it

,
May 14, 2012
By DSUSMC
from Catawba, NC
"This little winch worked great until someone stole it out of my truck! I used it to drag heavy scrap metal onto a trailer for recycling and other odd jobs around the house. Its quick and handy, just hook it over the ball or tow hook, connect the battery clips and start winching. Also has hand crank for remote locations. I hope whoever stole mine got some good money out of it at the pawn shop cause it really is worth more than the price considering how it saves your back moving heavy objects"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Portable Marine Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial 12 Volt Portable Marine Winch

,
May 7, 2012
By bill7555
from Brownsburg, IN,
"I used it while building my shop building to lift scaffold boards on to ladder jacks and a large exhaust fan up into a gable opening. What a labor saving tool! Could not have done with out it. Plan to rig it on my dump trailer to asist with loading vairus materials and equipment. The only con is it is not reversable, but has a very controlable line release with a load on it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Portable Marine Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good General Winch

,
January 17, 2012
By stfndr
from Hillman, MN
"Has proved to work well for most winching tasks around the homestead, however it is way to slow for a boat winch, and don't even try to use for vertical lifts."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Portable Marine Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Marine Winch

,
January 9, 2012
By CHICOTEX
from texas
"EXCELLENT PRODUCT- performs as advertised-easy to operate"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Portable Marine Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good for all

,
July 11, 2011
By no1catman
from greenville il
"i got one and i used it for my boat 20' bayliner and one day a man i now got hes truck in the mud and it a rom 3500 and it pulled it right out with on one in it and looking ta a 2ed one."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-7points
2out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Portable Marine Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

low power

,
March 20, 2011
By kuma
from maine
"recieved this 12v winch for my birthday to help pull my atv or snowmoble wheh i get it stuck doing my maple saping. Got the atv stuck and it barely had enougth power to pull it out. 2nd time around it started to pull then shut down and would do anything, couldn;t evwn pull the cable out by hand.Not what i expected for power"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Portable Marine Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice little winch

,
March 17, 2011
By tandj
from oklahoma
"have not used it much but seems strong and fit for purpose yet lightwieght. easy to get working."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Portable Marine Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

inexpensive winch

,
November 23, 2010
By NHHick
from New Hampshire
"I have two of these, works well and is small enough and light weight. Works well for moving light items or items on rollers. Inconvient to hook the power to the car battery because of the short lenth of the power cables don't reach under the hood all the way to the front of the truck. Overall it is a good inexpensive winch that will do the job as long as you can reach the battery."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Portable Marine Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Neale1950

,
March 1, 2010
By Neale1950
from Prior Lake, MN
"Great little winch. I use it several times a year but mostly to pull boat lifts onto the beach. Also pulled myself out of the mud in the middle of nowhere. Under priced for the value but wish it pulled a little faster."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Portable Marine Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

12-volt winch

,
February 23, 2010
By TerryH
from Tennessee
"A great tool for emergency preparedness; simple, easy, diverse; would sure beat a hand winch in most any condition, except possibly vertical lifting;
not necessarily fast, but have you ever hand-winched?
Slow keeps the power up and amps down; Value for $$, but not necessarily for daily use
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Portable Marine Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

12 volt winch

,
February 23, 2010
By dodgeboy2
from kellogg MN
"I work on lawn tractors in my garage and use the winch to pull them up on a four foot high table to work on them. I have it hooked up to 12 volt battery and it works great.I like the long cord on the control switch it makes it easy to contol the trator going up the ramps.I use it ot pull lawn tractor up on my trailer and it don't matter if the tires are flat it has enough power to pull it up there anyway. It has never failed me"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Portable Marine Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Portable Winch

,
February 15, 2010
By Bobby1
from Fort Myers, Florida
"This product was very reasonably priced. It was easy to install and works for us extremely well."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.