Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer

Item# 141222
"Lightweight portable parts washer can be easily moved from job to job. Ideal for garage, home or business use. Flow GPH 6 GPM Max Flow, Max. Capacity gal. 3 1/2. Heavy-duty tank has steel lid with fusible link for safety Removable shelf keeps parts out of solvent during inspection and drying 5-gallon tank holds 3 1/2 gallons of solvent Convenient 59in. power cord Easy cleanup 18in.L x 14in.W x 9in.H Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies"
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (25 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
22 of 25(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Review 1 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Home Use

,
March 12, 2015
By
from Stockton, CA
" If you piece together the other reviews, you'll find they all contain a part of the truth about this little unit. Yes it can spray a bit hard and splash. It is a sturdy metal cleaner that fits well on a table or bench and is easy to use. Now as far as its cleaning capabilities, you cannot say the unit does or doesn't clean good or bad. It is the cleaning solution that cleans your parts & pieces. This unit requires the use of a water-based cleaner. I have never been able to find a water-based solution that cleans near as easily as solvent solutions. That is not to say it did not clean well for me...it did! I used a water-based solution I bought at my local auto parts store. I mixed it 2-to-1 (water to solution) even though the package said to use it 1-to-1. To solve the spraying issue, I put a small plastic try (you can use an old radiator fluid bottle with the side cut out)) inside....I'd fill that with solution and drop my parts into it. I could then brush them clean or let them soak longer if needed. Like other reviews mention, you have to rinse your parts because unlike a solvent which quickly evaporates, water based solution leave a little residue. What I did, was next to my parts cleaner, I use a "dip" tray with clean water. So after I cleaned my parts, I'd quickly dip them in the clean water and then set them on a tray to dry or be wiped dry. Either way, it worked out well in the end. This is an adequate home unit...but it would be too small for a professional repair center. If you are a home mechanic that routinely needs to clean parts, I think you'll be pleased. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 2 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

wel-built not so well built

,
March 1, 2015
By
from nc
" Purchased this and used it for about three days until pump went out. Nozzle is to small and sprays fluid out to fast , causes over spray. I did use mineral spirits. Which I found out later you can only use water base solvents because it has a fountain pump in it. It would make a good gold fish tank. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid, portable parts washer

,
May 27, 2014
By
from Houston, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I bought this over a year and a half ago to help clean parts on my various projects. I've used it on two engine rebuilds and several other projects that needed to have parts cleaned. The electric motor and parts sprayer is pretty good to have, like the removable shelf for when I want to soak parts or if I have bigger parts to clean. Overall I've had not complaints with the product and would recommend it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Better off with a strainer and 5 gal bucket

,
January 16, 2014
By
from Atlanta
" 1. Purchase, put in 1 gal of water based solvent, turn on switch...nothing.
2. Put in 1 more gal of water base solvent...nothing.
3. Put in 1 more gal of solvent...nothing.
4. 3 gallons of solvent now in tank, reach in tank and pull pump to check for obstruction, pull electrical and check for short, find fault at pump, drain 3 gallons into one gallon jugs, return to store.
5. 2nd unit works with one gallon, find high shelf causes excessive splashing around work area.
6. Determine old 5 gallon bucket and strainer worked better.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good little washer

,
October 8, 2012
By
from Durham, NC
" Works well. Perfect for smaller parts, I use it for bicycle components in my shop. I'm using mineral spirits as a cleaner, which is not recommended by the manufacturer. This has a water based pump unit. Any water based cleaner doesn't work for a darn on greasy parts. I'm going to see how long the pump lasts with the oil product. I would give it five stars if the pump was for an oil cleaner application. Only been using it for two months, so how long will it last? Time will tell. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PARTS WASHER

,
October 8, 2012
By
from MASSACHUSETTS
" Bought this parts washer from NORTHERN TOOL because the quality and price were both to my advantage over the similar item from Harbor Freight Tool.
Love it and does the job without mess and waste. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid product

,
August 20, 2012
By
from Erie, PA
" Everything works as advertised and it doesn't leak. What more do you want? "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little washer

,
May 16, 2012
By
from Cedar Hill, TX
" I bought this to do the annual inspection on my airplane and it performed better than expected. I've recommended it to friends who have bought this washer as well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertised

,
May 14, 2012
By
from Erie,Pa
" It does all that it says it does and doesn't leak. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

graet for small jobs

,
January 16, 2012
By
from Smithville, TX
" I bought this parts washer to clean parts when I had to rebuilt my yamaha golf cart motor. Great value and perfect for smaller jobs. More than paid for itself in its ability to degrease the engine parts. Much safer than petroleum solvents. I plan on completelely cleaning out the tank and using the item to clean pistols. I'm glad that I bought it because it's definitely handy to have. My only complaint would be that the volume of degreaser fluid is little high, but I can live with that. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice parts washer

,
January 9, 2012
By
from VA
" This works good. Great price. Perfect size for doing small jobs. Very portable. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

parts washer

,
June 6, 2011
By
from mn
" this parts washer seems to work well, has plenty of pressure to wash parts. The only thing I would suggest is to get a brush for the unit when you get it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Parts Washer

,
March 23, 2011
By
from North GA
" Does what it says, perfect for small engine work, hobbyists. Doesn't take up much room in the shop, and cuts down a lot of of clutter. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for the money

,
March 21, 2011
By
from Ft Lauderdale, FL
" I bought this parts washer for my husband because as a police officer, he likes to clean his own guns. This particular one was recommended by a fellow officer. My husband is thrilled with everything about this washer from the size, to the materials, to how it functions. The rack allows small parts to be easily found and the pressure from the hose is just right. He couldn't be happier and I'm sure he will find it useful for other things like motorcylce and lawn mower parts. Highly recommend it! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Parts washer

,
March 14, 2011
By
from Lenoir, NC
" This is a good parts washer for the home or smaller projects. Everything seems to work fine, but I do think the pump should be stronger, putting out more pressure to make it a GREAT parts washer. If the parts is heavily soiled it will take a lot of pre cleaning for this to work well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for carb cleaning

,
November 26, 2010
By
from Florida
" I use this for cleaning motorcycle carbs and it works great!! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

3-1/2 Gallon Parts Washer

,
August 30, 2010
By
from Ashland, VA
" The pressure of the pump is to high and splatters every where if you do not aim it right. The nozzle has very limited adjustment, range of motion, and is difficult to work with. The model I bought 8 years ago was better until the nozzle broke from the pump. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

parts wahser

,
June 2, 2010
By
from MN
" this is a real good washer for small parts and delicate stuff. It's not so big that yo can loose parts and the pump pressure is just enough to get the parts clean and not splash everywhere. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wel-Bilt 3 1/2 gallon parts washer

,
May 31, 2010
By
from Chuckey, Tennessee
" Perfect size for small to medium jobs. Very well built. Easy to store when not in use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

owner

,
May 25, 2010
By
from Atlanta,Ga.
" This is a good washer it doesnot take up much shop space,and is protable.With an excellent value. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.