Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer

Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer

Item# 141222
Lightweight portable parts washer can be easily moved from job to job. Ideal for garage, home or business use. Max. Capacity gal. 3 1/2, Flow GPH 6 GPM Max Flow. Heavy-duty tank has steel lid with fusible link for safety Removable shelf keeps parts out of solvent during inspection and drying 5-gallon tank holds 3 1/2 gallons of solvent Convenient 59in. power cord Easy cleanup 18in.L x 14in.W x 9in.H Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (22 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
20 of 22(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Review 1 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Better off with a strainer and 5 gal bucket

,
January 16, 2014
By OreeTool
from Atlanta
"1. Purchase, put in 1 gal of water based solvent, turn on switch...nothing.
2. Put in 1 more gal of water base solvent...nothing.
3. Put in 1 more gal of solvent...nothing.
4. 3 gallons of solvent now in tank, reach in tank and pull pump to check for obstruction, pull electrical and check for short, find fault at pump, drain 3 gallons into one gallon jugs, return to store.
5. 2nd unit works with one gallon, find high shelf causes excessive splashing around work area.
6. Determine old 5 gallon bucket and strainer worked better.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good little washer

,
October 8, 2012
By Bikedude76
from Durham, NC
"Works well. Perfect for smaller parts, I use it for bicycle components in my shop. I'm using mineral spirits as a cleaner, which is not recommended by the manufacturer. This has a water based pump unit. Any water based cleaner doesn't work for a darn on greasy parts. I'm going to see how long the pump lasts with the oil product. I would give it five stars if the pump was for an oil cleaner application. Only been using it for two months, so how long will it last? Time will tell."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PARTS WASHER

,
October 8, 2012
By 70yellow
from MASSACHUSETTS
"Bought this parts washer from NORTHERN TOOL because the quality and price were both to my advantage over the similar item from Harbor Freight Tool.
Love it and does the job without mess and waste."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid product

,
August 20, 2012
By Nick86
from Erie, PA
"Everything works as advertised and it doesn't leak. What more do you want?"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little washer

,
May 16, 2012
By rvflyer
from Cedar Hill, TX
"I bought this to do the annual inspection on my airplane and it performed better than expected. I've recommended it to friends who have bought this washer as well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertised

,
May 14, 2012
By Nick1
from Erie,Pa
"It does all that it says it does and doesn't leak."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

graet for small jobs

,
January 16, 2012
By wf1022
from Smithville, TX
"I bought this parts washer to clean parts when I had to rebuilt my yamaha golf cart motor. Great value and perfect for smaller jobs. More than paid for itself in its ability to degrease the engine parts. Much safer than petroleum solvents. I plan on completelely cleaning out the tank and using the item to clean pistols. I'm glad that I bought it because it's definitely handy to have. My only complaint would be that the volume of degreaser fluid is little high, but I can live with that."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice parts washer

,
January 9, 2012
By joeva
from VA
"This works good. Great price. Perfect size for doing small jobs. Very portable."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

parts washer

,
June 6, 2011
By Bob99
from mn
"this parts washer seems to work well, has plenty of pressure to wash parts. The only thing I would suggest is to get a brush for the unit when you get it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Parts Washer

,
March 23, 2011
By Briggsdude
from North GA
"Does what it says, perfect for small engine work, hobbyists. Doesn't take up much room in the shop, and cuts down a lot of of clutter."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for the money

,
March 21, 2011
By Jinx1500
from Ft Lauderdale, FL
"I bought this parts washer for my husband because as a police officer, he likes to clean his own guns. This particular one was recommended by a fellow officer. My husband is thrilled with everything about this washer from the size, to the materials, to how it functions. The rack allows small parts to be easily found and the pressure from the hose is just right. He couldn't be happier and I'm sure he will find it useful for other things like motorcylce and lawn mower parts. Highly recommend it!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Parts washer

,
March 14, 2011
By bornagn2
from Lenoir, NC
"This is a good parts washer for the home or smaller projects. Everything seems to work fine, but I do think the pump should be stronger, putting out more pressure to make it a GREAT parts washer. If the parts is heavily soiled it will take a lot of pre cleaning for this to work well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for carb cleaning

,
November 26, 2010
By dirtdiver
from Florida
"I use this for cleaning motorcycle carbs and it works great!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

3-1/2 Gallon Parts Washer

,
August 30, 2010
By Lt909
from Ashland, VA
"The pressure of the pump is to high and splatters every where if you do not aim it right. The nozzle has very limited adjustment, range of motion, and is difficult to work with. The model I bought 8 years ago was better until the nozzle broke from the pump."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

parts wahser

,
June 2, 2010
By garagehobbyist
from MN
"this is a real good washer for small parts and delicate stuff. It's not so big that yo can loose parts and the pump pressure is just enough to get the parts clean and not splash everywhere."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wel-Bilt 3 1/2 gallon parts washer

,
May 31, 2010
By WatchDoc
from Chuckey, Tennessee
"Perfect size for small to medium jobs. Very well built. Easy to store when not in use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

owner

,
May 25, 2010
By tp54u2
from Atlanta,Ga.
"This is a good washer it doesnot take up much shop space,and is protable.With an excellent value."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PERFECT FOR THE HOME GARAGE

,
February 23, 2010
By techspider
from mpls, MN
"I use it to clean parts in the garage instead of my wife's sink. She is happy I bought it. It is the perfect size for the home mechanic."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

,
February 10, 2010
By Motomatt
from Austin, Texas
"I own a small motorcycle Suspension business, I travel to different races and what not, and this parts washer is wonderful for working on dirty small parts. I looked a lots of portable parts washers and this is the most durable one. It feels and looks like it will last a long time. I recommend it!
Northerntool, did a wonderful job shipping it to me in just 3 days.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Wel-Bilt 3 1/2-Gallon Portable Parts Washer
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little unit so far

,
November 3, 2009
By Bicycletech
from Bethel, Maine
"We bought this parts washer for our bicycle shop, and it has been really great so far. We will know in another year how it holds together..."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.