Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Motorcycle Dolly - 1500-Lb. Capacity

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial Motorcycle Dolly - 1500-Lb. Capacity

Item# 141227
Sturdy Northern Industrial steel motorcycle dolly enables user to easily maneuver bike in the garage or shop. Capacity lbs. 1,500, Dimensions L x W x H in. 98 x 34 x 5, Caster Size in. 3, Material Steel. All steel construction Rolls on nine 3in. casters Adjusts to accommodate different-sized motorcycles Outrigger for stability
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (10 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
6 of 10(60%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Motorcycle Dolly - 1500-Lb. Capacity
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Motorcycle Dolly - 1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money, time and effort.

,
September 16, 2013
By DisappointedUser
from Richmond, VA
" 1. The hand tightened friction bolts didn't hold. As I rolled my bike up onto the dolly, the parts slid. I had to drill, tap and bolt the parts in place.
2. The kickstand holder isn't long enough. The kickstand didn't go into the "trough". It sat on top.
3. Won't roll my 800 lb. beast. It may be rated to hold 1500 lb., but it won't roll with that much weight on the plastic casters. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Motorcycle Dolly - 1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

sliding

,
August 28, 2013
By daGreek
from Peoria, Arizona
" with positive caster stops on the front and back "cradle" this dolly shouldn't roll out from under your bike. Any new item, will have upgrades suggested by the public. This is just another one of those circumstances. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Motorcycle Dolly - 1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Design

,
March 6, 2013
By Wilburforce
from Sunnyvale, CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" Pros:
1) Seems constructed of durable steal components
2) Easily assembled (mostly)
3) Fits my 2012 Victory Cross Roads
Cons:
1) As I read in another review prior to purchasing the dolly, to tighten down the wheels might require a specialized wrench. I found a way around this challenge by jamming a rasp into the opening so that the wheel would not rotate while I used a ratchet to tighten the nut.
2) As I also read in another review prior to purchasing the dolly, it is impossible to either role or ride my 725lbs bike onto the dolly. It continues to slip across my garage floor. So I built a small wooden ramp with small rubber feet to allow my front tire to attain the same height as the wheel space on the dolly. That got my front tire past the first wheel space, but once I tried to get my front tire onto the second wheel space, the, with my rear tire on the first wheel space, the effort to lift the bike using the engine caused the first wheel space to slip off the guide bar and shoot out the back. Tried this a few times and the first wheel space sliding off the guide bar has caused the guide bar to bend. So this dolly is useless as is. However, I have already measured the distance between the two wheel spaces so that I can build a 2" high wooden spacer so that after the front tire leaves the first wheel space, it does not go back onto the ground but stays at the same level, thereby eliminating the cause for the dolly to slide.
Additionally, this design could be improved by including an additional metal guide bar AND having a mechanism that positively locks the first wheel space in place, preventing it from sliding out the back.
All of these design changes can be made, but you'd expect that it would be done by the manufacturer, rather than by me.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Motorcycle Dolly - 1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Everything you read is true...BUT

,
July 11, 2012
By tylerderbun
from PGH
" Ok, lets start with the basics. This is a good motorcycle dolly for cruiser styled bikes. However, in order to get it to work right, you need to prep in advance.
Yes, the heavier bikes will cause it roll forward as you push the bike onto the dolly, even if the wheels are locked. So you need to have the dolly pointed at a wall so it wont move.
Then what I did was get a 2x6 and place it in front of both tire platforms so the bike rolls up and onto the dolly without fear of your bikes frame getting stuck.
Took a bit of effort...but the 2x6's did the trick and now i use the dolly to get my bike up against the wall of my garage. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Motorcycle Dolly - 1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for storing in off season

,
May 14, 2012
By Anonymous
from Central Maine
" I bought this last fall to store my Harley Road Glide and I am impressed with the quality and ease of use. Rather than ride the bike onto the dolly I lowered it from my cycle jack as it was easier. the dolly is easy to roll on my concrete floor and makes it easy to clear space in the garage. I recommend this for anyone who has a heavy bike to store in the off season. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Motorcycle Dolly - 1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Needed many modifications

,
October 5, 2010
By Goldwing
from Ramsey,MN
" Bought it to store my Goldwing. During assembly I found that the acorn nuts would not work on the casters. Had to get new hardware, metric. Also had to make a wrench out of thin metal to hold caster nut so stub shaft could be tightened properly. Took two people plus wooden extensions to get up the ramp onto the pads. I still need to drill and tap to secure pads because locking handles tended to slip. After getting the bike onto the pads, the casters did make it easy to push my 1000# bike around. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Motorcycle Dolly - 1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

1500-Lb. Capacity Motorcycle Dolly

,
May 24, 2010
By LMG5068
from Kansas City, Mo
" Useful item. Dolly moves around easily once motorcycle is on stand.
For ease of putting cycle on to dolly, should be designed to lower tire bases completely to ground. Otherwise it is somewhat difficult to get cycle onto dolly without bracing long bar against a wall or other solid object. I give it 4 stars.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Motorcycle Dolly - 1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A PRACTICAL GARAGE SPACE SOLUTION

,
February 24, 2010
By gordini
from South Florida
" The "on sale" price surprised me, and I was worried about a flimsy gadget. NOT SO - - This product was conveniently shipped to the nearest Northern store - it is HEAVY, as it should be and easily assembled. Not a lot are sold, so I did find the casters were a bit "sticky" and not easily locked - some lubrication and moving them a bit worked fine, but it was a bit of a chore lifting the two main sections onto a bench to invert and lube the casters and (especially) their locks. The amazing part of this "dolly" is that you can ride right onto it, then slide the bike sideways against the wall of your garage (or trailer). Since the wheels are locked, it won't roll forward when you drive onto it. I believe you could install this permanently to hold your bike precisely where you want it by removing the castors and running bolts through onto say, a trailer floor. It really is fully adjustable, and not a flimsy dolly, rather a heavy, sturdy addition to hold your toys. g.r. derman "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Motorcycle Dolly - 1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Motorcycle Dolly Rolls

,
February 15, 2010
By SteveCD123
from Nashua, NH
" After assembling the Motorcycle Dolly (and locking all the casters), I could not keep the Motorcycle Dolly from moving away from the bike after the front tire hit the lead-in ramp. If the ramps extended further out (less angle), it might be less likely to roll. Also, the sidestand support isn't long enough for my current machine, a Kawasaki Vulcan. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Motorcycle Dolly - 1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Loading Issues

,
July 13, 2009
By Papafoxtrot
from Huntsville, AL
" I'm both pleased and disappointed at the same time. Once you get your bike up on this dolly, it works like a champ. It's gettting the bike up there that's the chore. The casters are about a half inch or so too tall, which means a good bump up to get the bike on the dolly. That wouldn't be so bad but I have a smooth garage floor and the metal caster wheels just skid when you run the bike against the dolly ramps even with all the brakes on. Smaller casters with stickier wheels would go a long way to making this a joy to use. I'm giving this a "4" as the price/performance ratio is still very good.
PWF "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.