Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity

Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity

Item# 14226
The Northern Industrial Tools 440-lb. Load Capacity double line Electric Hoist is great for lifting engines, tables, lumber, shop equipment and a whole range of other products. No need to climb a ladder and crank a lever with this hoist you can remain on the ground to control operations. Includes rocker-style remote control, 47ft. cable with cable guard, stopper and hook with safety latch. Double Line Lift Capacity lbs. 440, Duty Cycle min. S3 20-10min., HP 3/4, Cable Length ft. 39, Dimensions L x W x H in. 13 1/2 x 5 1/4 x 7, Volts 110, Lift Height ft. 36 single, 18 double, Amps 4.5, Cable Diameter in. 1/8, Lifting Speed FPM 33 single, 16 1/2 double, Single Line Lift Capacity lbs. 220. Hz 60 RPMs 1725 On/Off switch Power-up, power-down, and brake Auto stop feature automatically applies brakes to secure the load if power is lost Mounting hardware included Remote 5 ft. 4 in. Cord 57in. Cable reel is metal Hand switch is plastic Four holes on top and 2 two-hole straps in half circle shape that can be used in mount hole and then unit is installed on bar 40 Duty cycle Brackets 5.25in. x 3.75in.
Average Customer Rating:
4.811 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (37 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
37 of 37(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Review 21 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small Electric Hoist

,
May 24, 2010
By SparkyScott
from Semiconductor Equipment Engineer.
"This hoist works reliably as described in the catalog. The lift speed is pretty fast so even though I'm only lifting 100#, I used the included block to double the capacity and halve the speed.
Industrial application in inert gas evironment.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

220/440lbhoist

,
February 22, 2010
By Anonymous
from RICHMOND, VIRGINIA
"I am a senior citizen who has had back surgery. I needed a hoist to lift a portable air-conditioner onto an elevated wall mounted shelf in my garage.
I mounted a hook to a ceiling beam and hung the hoist from it.
This hoist did the job which I wanted it to do, with ease. The hoist is of very good quality for the price. It should serve me well for many years.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hoist

,
October 19, 2009
By W5LF
from Dripping Springs, TX
"I bought this and set up my workshop where I can suspect things from the ceiling to make more floor space, workshop being a heavy duty metal building. I got this winch so my wife can use its strength to pull things up where she can then tie them off, and use the winch on another item (kayaks, rooftop car carriers, etc). Wonderful item for the price and well made. Does this job very well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
April 23, 2009
By cwajciec
from Virginia
"We have used 2 of these hoists to raise and lower aluminum stairs on a tractor trailer for over 10 years with great success. The stairs are lowered and raised several times a day for 40 weeks out of the year, so it gets a huge amount of use and no problems to date. The weight of the stairs is right at 200lbs. We will probably have to replace the cable eventually, but the motor and switch has worked great!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a great lift for the money

,
November 18, 2008
By PaulS
from Las Vegas
"I mounted this to the ceiling of my garage for removal of my fifth wheel hitch from the bed of my pickup. I had back surgery recently and this now does my lifting for me. I can even use it to raise the front of my Road King to change tires, etc. It is versatile and a quality product. Having it mounted to the ceiling keeps it out of the way when but always ready for use. GREAT PRODUCT!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
1mdRick
Stevensville MD 
 
Please wait while more information about 1mdRick is loaded.
Additional information about 1mdRick could not be loaded.
Built way stronger then it looks
June 21, 2011
"Durability is the key word for these winches. I work in a propeller shop with 3 of these honeys. 1hoist gets used as part of the process so it is constantly being cycled. Another gets used 5-10 time a day maybe. Last will sit for months and then it is given the heaviest loads. 800lb Coast guard props.
None of these hoists have ever failed us, and we have only replaced one lifting cable.
I will say it has been over 5 yrs since the heavily used one came into the shop. I wish i could get this kinda bang for my buck all the time.
"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 26 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Hoist

,
August 18, 2008
By n8turnut
from Windsor, VA
"This electric hoist is very efficient, and easy to use. I bought it to use in my garage when changing tractor tires, or lawn tractor blades. Set up is minimum, and I don't know how I worked without it. I worked as a rigger at a Naval Shipyard and have used all types of hoists and this one is my personal favorite."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy in Ohio

,
August 11, 2008
By RRG1
from East Canton, OH
"I got my hoist as a Father's Day gift. I was so pleased to get it . I already have one and use it in my shop,but I wanted one for moving logs into my outdoor wood burner. It works great. No more heavy lifting for me.
Happy in Ohio
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Steve

,
January 21, 2008
By Lightwork
from Hanover, PA
"Have used this hoist for over 3 years to lift heavy and bulky items into my attic. Used the heavy duty brackets on the hoist to mount it on a pipe I installed through the rafters. The controller is a real asset in maneuvering heavy and bulky items through the opening of the drop down stairs. A great product and just could not get things to my attic without it! Now I just hook the cable to a strap around the items I want to store and wait for the hoist to pull it up to the attic...where I can easily pull it onto the attic floor. Thanks alot northern tool!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very pleased.

,
January 15, 2008
By BellsFirewood
from Jefferson, GA
"We have a small firewood business and use the hoist to move the logs around. The hoist works great! The simple control makes it easy to use. The only thing I can think of to improve it would be to have a better way of hooking it to the trolley. Very pleased."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ideal Electric Hoist

,
January 14, 2008
By NYGoat1
from Rural New York
"I use the Hoist to bring Hay up & down from our Goat Barn Loft. Because of the Hoists light weight, I was able to mount it on a sliding door rail bolted to roof rafters. The rail extends out of the loft. The Hoist travels the distance and raises or lowers a bale of hay in about 5 seconds! Sure beats a clumsy conveyer. Thanks for a GREAT Hoist & Price!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Hoist

,
January 14, 2008
By Tony55
from Maine
"I really was impressed with the performance of this hoist. It was used to lift sheetrock into an attic window about a 25 foot lift. We picked two sheets at a time and it performed very well in 12 lifts. The motor did heat up a little but that was expected, I would recommend this hoist to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PRODUCT

,
October 15, 2007
By AlNJ
from NJ
"I oredered this hoist to help lift my hard top off of my jeep easly. And it did just that. I mounted it on my garage roof and it easly was able to lift it with no problems. Its a solid unit that does exactly what it claims to be able to do. I would recommend this product, its well built and heavy duty."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

440Lb.Cap Hoist

,
October 8, 2007
By prodmngr
from West Chester, Oh
"The featured hoist is very a reliable product. It is very quiet and smooth operating. The control is rugged and will provide years of trubble free service."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Hoist

,
July 9, 2007
By BGourley
from Bethel, Connecticut
"An economical hoist for my home made attic stairs. Perfect for my needs."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Low Cost, but High on Features

,
March 7, 2007
By Lancie1
from Iron City, TN
"The 440 lb. hoist was a good solution to remove the cover from our hot tub. This hoist weighs only about 30 lbs, so I mounted it on the wall next to the tub, added some angle supports and pulleys, and it worked like a charm. No more back strain!
I bought 10 feet more of 4-conductor electrical control cable, in addition to the 6 feet of cable that comes with the hoist control station. Then I mounted the single-button Up/Down control station on the wall next to the hot tub. The hoist has a built-in cable-stop switch to prevent over-winding, but I could not use it (and did not need it) for this application. The plastic hoist drum was easily drilled to allow the attachment of 3 additional wire cables, one from each corner of the hot tub lid. There is about 40 feet of very flexible 1/8" wire cable on the drum. I bought another 15 feet to have enough for all 4 runs."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

hoist

,
November 16, 2006
By tommy
from PA
"No complaints from me. It arrived quickly, it looks good and it sets up quick and works perfectly. Definitely a worthwhile purchase, should have bought one years ago."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric hoist

,
November 16, 2006
By hawkeye8
from NE Iowa
"I needed an electric lift for overhead storage access stairs in my shop. The Northern Industrial Electric Lift was reasonably priced, easy to install, simple to operate, and perfect for the job. I'm glad I found it in the catalog and would highly recommend it to other interested buyers."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-37 of 37