Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220-/440-Lb. Capacity

Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220-/440-Lb. Capacity

Item# 14226
"The Northern Industrial Tools 440-lb. Load Capacity double line Electric Hoist is great for lifting engines, tables, lumber, shop equipment and a whole range of other products. No need to climb a ladder and crank a lever with this hoist you can remain on the ground to control operations. Includes rocker-style remote control, 47ft. cable with cable guard, stopper and hook with safety latch. Amps 4 1/2, Cable Length ft. 39, Double Line Lift Capacity lbs. 440, HP 3/4, Duty Cycle min. S3 20-10min., Lifting Speed FPM 33 single, 16 1/2 double, Lift Height ft. 36 single, 18 double, Dimensions L x W x H in. 13 1/2 x 5 1/4 x 7, Single Line Lift Capacity lbs. 220, Cable Diameter in. 1/8. Hz 60 RPMs 1725 On/Off switch Power-up, power-down, and brake Auto stop feature automatically applies brakes to secure the load if power is lost Mounting hardware included Remote 5 ft. 4 in. Cord 57in. Cable reel is metal Hand switch is plastic Four holes on top and 2 two-hole straps in half circle shape that can be used in mount hole and then unit is installed on bar Duty cycle S3 20-10min. Brackets 5.25in. x 3.75in."
Average Customer Rating:
4.783 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (46 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
46 of 46(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220-/440-Lb. Capacity
Review 21 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220-/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Back Saver

,
January 31, 2013
By
from Northern California
Mouted the electric hoist in my metal fabrication area a year ago, travels on a 12' x 12' gantry rail system and does alot of lifting. When the line is doubled, the cable travel speed to good (not to slow). Wish I would have installed this years ago.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
9out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220-/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product, easy to use & install

,
August 13, 2012
By
from Michigan
This hoist is excellent. It was very easy to install & the ease of use is great. I use it to lift my John Deere riding lawn mower & it is great to change and sharpen the blades. It is a big help!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220-/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

project lift

,
March 22, 2012
By
from New Haven MO
I ordered this winch for a project at work, I am impressed with the quality for the price. It works great for my needs and is safe and dependable. Mounting hardware did not work for me, but only because of the area I mounted it in. Would work great for lifting and holding things in a garage or shop.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220-/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

works smooth

,
January 11, 2012
By
from St. Joseph, MO
I purchased this hoist to install and remove the 5th wheel hitch in and out of my truck. It works fine but it would have been nice it the directions had indicated the type of mounting bolts ( metric or SAE ) also the control cable is too short for most applications. I have it mounted up 14 ft. in the shed where I store trailer and hitch. It was necessary to replace the control cable with one 18 ft. long to make it useable.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220-/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric hoist

,
January 9, 2012
By
from Charlotte,NC
I ordered this hoist mainly so I could raise up my riding lawnmower so I could change the blades more easily. The hoist was easily installed and works beautifully!I would recommend this to anyone that wants to make this job much easier. Well worth the price!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220-/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not the bigest but good

,
April 18, 2011
By
from Baxter, Minnesota
At 440 lbs max it will not lift your car but will lift your riding lawn mower and other smaller items for maintenance. I contstructed longer mounting straps so it will mount on one 10" rafter.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220-/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb.

,
November 16, 2010
By
I needed this item quickly and Northern Tool was the only company that could ship it in 2 days so I ordered it. It arrived on time and the product has been an amazing asset. I used it to build the roof of my garage by myself. The hoist could pull 3/4 inch plywood to the roof and be used to lower it in place without any problem. I also used it to hoist bundles of shingles onto the roof. This tool saved me time and labor. I would recommend it to anyone.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220-/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

fantastic lift

,
August 23, 2010
By
puts the deer at the perfect height to skin. Very easy to install. Works great. I love it.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220-/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Hoist 220/440 lbs

,
August 23, 2010
By
Works Great! Easy to set up and use. Very smooth and solid operation. Glad I got it!
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220-/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small Electric Hoist

,
May 24, 2010
By
from Semiconductor Equipment Engineer.
This hoist works reliably as described in the catalog. The lift speed is pretty fast so even though I'm only lifting 100#, I used the included block to double the capacity and halve the speed.
Industrial application in inert gas evironment.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220-/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

220/440lbhoist

,
February 22, 2010
By
from RICHMOND, VIRGINIA
I am a senior citizen who has had back surgery. I needed a hoist to lift a portable air-conditioner onto an elevated wall mounted shelf in my garage.
I mounted a hook to a ceiling beam and hung the hoist from it.
This hoist did the job which I wanted it to do, with ease. The hoist is of very good quality for the price. It should serve me well for many years.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220-/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hoist

,
October 19, 2009
By
from Dripping Springs, TX
I bought this and set up my workshop where I can suspect things from the ceiling to make more floor space, workshop being a heavy duty metal building. I got this winch so my wife can use its strength to pull things up where she can then tie them off, and use the winch on another item (kayaks, rooftop car carriers, etc). Wonderful item for the price and well made. Does this job very well.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220-/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
April 23, 2009
By
from Virginia
We have used 2 of these hoists to raise and lower aluminum stairs on a tractor trailer for over 10 years with great success. The stairs are lowered and raised several times a day for 40 weeks out of the year, so it gets a huge amount of use and no problems to date. The weight of the stairs is right at 200lbs. We will probably have to replace the cable eventually, but the motor and switch has worked great!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220-/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a great lift for the money

,
November 18, 2008
By
from Las Vegas
I mounted this to the ceiling of my garage for removal of my fifth wheel hitch from the bed of my pickup. I had back surgery recently and this now does my lifting for me. I can even use it to raise the front of my Road King to change tires, etc. It is versatile and a quality product. Having it mounted to the ceiling keeps it out of the way when but always ready for use. GREAT PRODUCT!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
1mdRick
Stevensville MD 
 
Please wait while more information about 1mdRick is loaded.
Additional information about 1mdRick could not be loaded.
Built way stronger then it looks
June 21, 2011
" Durability is the key word for these winches. I work in a propeller shop with 3 of these honeys. 1hoist gets used as part of the process so it is constantly being cycled. Another gets used 5-10 time a day maybe. Last will sit for months and then it is given the heaviest loads. 800lb Coast guard props.
None of these hoists have ever failed us, and we have only replaced one lifting cable.
I will say it has been over 5 yrs since the heavily used one came into the shop. I wish i could get this kinda bang for my buck all the time.
"
0points
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 35 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220-/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Hoist

,
August 18, 2008
By
from Windsor, VA
This electric hoist is very efficient, and easy to use. I bought it to use in my garage when changing tractor tires, or lawn tractor blades. Set up is minimum, and I don't know how I worked without it. I worked as a rigger at a Naval Shipyard and have used all types of hoists and this one is my personal favorite.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220-/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy in Ohio

,
August 11, 2008
By
from East Canton, OH
I got my hoist as a Father's Day gift. I was so pleased to get it . I already have one and use it in my shop,but I wanted one for moving logs into my outdoor wood burner. It works great. No more heavy lifting for me.
Happy in Ohio
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220-/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Steve

,
January 21, 2008
By
from Hanover, PA
Have used this hoist for over 3 years to lift heavy and bulky items into my attic. Used the heavy duty brackets on the hoist to mount it on a pipe I installed through the rafters. The controller is a real asset in maneuvering heavy and bulky items through the opening of the drop down stairs. A great product and just could not get things to my attic without it! Now I just hook the cable to a strap around the items I want to store and wait for the hoist to pull it up to the attic...where I can easily pull it onto the attic floor. Thanks alot northern tool!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220-/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very pleased.

,
January 15, 2008
By
from Jefferson, GA
We have a small firewood business and use the hoist to move the logs around. The hoist works great! The simple control makes it easy to use. The only thing I can think of to improve it would be to have a better way of hooking it to the trolley. Very pleased.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220-/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ideal Electric Hoist

,
January 14, 2008
By
from Rural New York
I use the Hoist to bring Hay up & down from our Goat Barn Loft. Because of the Hoists light weight, I was able to mount it on a sliding door rail bolted to roof rafters. The rail extends out of the loft. The Hoist travels the distance and raises or lowers a bale of hay in about 5 seconds! Sure beats a clumsy conveyer. Thanks for a GREAT Hoist & Price!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220-/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Hoist

,
January 14, 2008
By
from Maine
I really was impressed with the performance of this hoist. It was used to lift sheetrock into an attic window about a 25 foot lift. We picked two sheets at a time and it performed very well in 12 lifts. The motor did heat up a little but that was expected, I would recommend this hoist to anyone.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.