Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity

Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity

Item# 14226
The Northern Industrial Tools 440-lb. Load Capacity double line Electric Hoist is great for lifting engines, tables, lumber, shop equipment and a whole range of other products. No need to climb a ladder and crank a lever with this hoist you can remain on the ground to control operations. Includes rocker-style remote control, 47ft. cable with cable guard, stopper and hook with safety latch. Lift Height ft. 36 single, 18 double, Dimensions L x W x H in. 13 1/2 x 5 1/4 x 7, Duty Cycle min. S3 20-10min., Lifting Speed FPM 33 single, 16 1/2 double, Cable Diameter in. 1/8, Volts 110, Single Line Lift Capacity lbs. 220, Double Line Lift Capacity lbs. 440, HP 3/4, Amps 4.5, Cable Length ft. 39. Hz 60 RPMs 1725 On/Off switch Power-up, power-down, and brake Auto stop feature automatically applies brakes to secure the load if power is lost Mounting hardware included Remote 5 ft. 4 in. Cord 57in. Cable reel is metal Hand switch is plastic Four holes on top and 2 two-hole straps in half circle shape that can be used in mount hole and then unit is installed on bar 40 Duty cycle Brackets 5.25in. x 3.75in.
Average Customer Rating:
4.824 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (34 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
34 of 34(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy Assistant

,
April 21, 2014
By BKII
from St. Louis Metro, MO
"I ran a piece of 1 1/4" conduit thru the brackets and used it to span the joists in the garage. That gives me unlimited location choices. Daughter wanted to borrow the tiller. Up it went into the truck...oh wait had to remove the ARE bed cover first. Yep used the hoist. Also used it to remove the snow ballast from the truck bed. Lawn mower up onto the table for service. Don't have to find a neighbor to help any more. They still get the beer they just don't have to work for it!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little hoist

,
February 6, 2014
By MarineVet
from Appleton, WI
"I have this hoist mounted to the ceiling of my garage. I use it for lifting the 5th wheel hitch out of my truck. It has lots of lifting power. Works great for this and would recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hoist for Attic

,
February 4, 2014
By DA1943
from Saint Paul, NE
"Bought this hoist and mounted it in the stair opening to my attic. It works great to lift heavy objects and boxes from the garage up into the attic instead of trying to carry them up the stairs and through the attic opening. I just use 2 straps around what I want to lift up into the attic and press the up button and up it comes, no back breaking lifting.
Would recommend this unit for normal loads."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

backsaver

,
February 4, 2014
By TJ155
from Wahpeton, ND
"Used for positioning material for welding, worked great, quick response on single line, half the speed using double line and was easier to get in the right spot."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great winch!!!

,
February 4, 2014
By Nate1970
from Mitchell, SD
"Well built, fast and compact unit with reliable controls.
Couldn't have purchased a better unit for our application.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220

,
January 9, 2014
By JRSusa25
from Grand Prairie, Texas
"The Hoist was purchased to assist techs in hanging signs for an exhibit company. The hoist works great however with a 47' cable and a 57" cord on the remote trying to hang signs from a 24' celling is very difficult."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great hoist

,
April 23, 2013
By cotoman
from Coto de Caza, CA
"hoist was bought to help with repetitive lifting of items - jeep hard top, lawn mower attachments, etc. Easy to install and has worked perfectly"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

For those things you just can't lift by yourself

,
April 23, 2013
By aba3tvbl
from Fairfax, Vermont
"This hoist along with some electrical bracing I made a lift that I use to load 40lb bags of salt pellets into my water softner. Works great! With just a push of a button it lifts the bag up the side of the container and over to the middle, then I cut the bottom out and all the pellets fall into the container.
Any time I can change the configuration and use the Hoist to pull my band saw out of my basement and into the garage."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Back Saver

,
January 31, 2013
By Vibe
from Northern California
"Mouted the electric hoist in my metal fabrication area a year ago, travels on a 12' x 12' gantry rail system and does alot of lifting. When the line is doubled, the cable travel speed to good (not to slow). Wish I would have installed this years ago."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-4points
6out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product, easy to use & install

,
August 13, 2012
By kdg44
from Michigan
"This hoist is excellent. It was very easy to install & the ease of use is great. I use it to lift my John Deere riding lawn mower & it is great to change and sharpen the blades. It is a big help!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

project lift

,
March 22, 2012
By hunting10
from New Haven MO
"I ordered this winch for a project at work, I am impressed with the quality for the price. It works great for my needs and is safe and dependable. Mounting hardware did not work for me, but only because of the area I mounted it in. Would work great for lifting and holding things in a garage or shop."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

works smooth

,
January 11, 2012
By midwest69farmer
from St. Joseph, MO
"I purchased this hoist to install and remove the 5th wheel hitch in and out of my truck. It works fine but it would have been nice it the directions had indicated the type of mounting bolts ( metric or SAE ) also the control cable is too short for most applications. I have it mounted up 14 ft. in the shed where I store trailer and hitch. It was necessary to replace the control cable with one 18 ft. long to make it useable."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric hoist

,
January 9, 2012
By ronrsp
from Charlotte,NC
"I ordered this hoist mainly so I could raise up my riding lawnmower so I could change the blades more easily. The hoist was easily installed and works beautifully!I would recommend this to anyone that wants to make this job much easier. Well worth the price!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not the bigest but good

,
April 18, 2011
By Spectrum
from Baxter, Minnesota
"At 440 lbs max it will not lift your car but will lift your riding lawn mower and other smaller items for maintenance. I contstructed longer mounting straps so it will mount on one 10" rafter."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb.

,
November 16, 2010
By weekendwarrior111
"I needed this item quickly and Northern Tool was the only company that could ship it in 2 days so I ordered it. It arrived on time and the product has been an amazing asset. I used it to build the roof of my garage by myself. The hoist could pull 3/4 inch plywood to the roof and be used to lower it in place without any problem. I also used it to hoist bundles of shingles onto the roof. This tool saved me time and labor. I would recommend it to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

fantastic lift

,
August 23, 2010
By hoister21
"puts the deer at the perfect height to skin. Very easy to install. Works great. I love it."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Hoist 220/440 lbs

,
August 23, 2010
By RickR
"Works Great! Easy to set up and use. Very smooth and solid operation. Glad I got it!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small Electric Hoist

,
May 24, 2010
By SparkyScott
from Semiconductor Equipment Engineer.
"This hoist works reliably as described in the catalog. The lift speed is pretty fast so even though I'm only lifting 100#, I used the included block to double the capacity and halve the speed.
Industrial application in inert gas evironment.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

220/440lbhoist

,
February 22, 2010
By Anonymous
from RICHMOND, VIRGINIA
"I am a senior citizen who has had back surgery. I needed a hoist to lift a portable air-conditioner onto an elevated wall mounted shelf in my garage.
I mounted a hook to a ceiling beam and hung the hoist from it.
This hoist did the job which I wanted it to do, with ease. The hoist is of very good quality for the price. It should serve me well for many years.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 220/440-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hoist

,
October 19, 2009
By W5LF
from Dripping Springs, TX
"I bought this and set up my workshop where I can suspect things from the ceiling to make more floor space, workshop being a heavy duty metal building. I got this winch so my wife can use its strength to pull things up where she can then tie them off, and use the winch on another item (kayaks, rooftop car carriers, etc). Wonderful item for the price and well made. Does this job very well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.