Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1,500-Lb. Capacity"

"Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1,500-Lb. Capacity"

Item# 142260
"Heavy-duty electric hoist has 750-lb. capacity with single line, 1,500-lb. capacity with double line. 16-gauge antitwist wire, spring-loaded remote buttons and emergency stop button. Great for lifting engines, tables, lumber, shop equipment and a whole range of other products. The biggest advantage to this hoist is that you do not need to climb a ladder and crank a lever you can remain on the ground to control operations. Cable Length ft. 39, Lift Height ft. 36-single line, 18-double line, Cable Diameter in. 5/32, Lifting Speed FPM 33 minimum-single line, 16 1/2 minimum-double line, Double Line Lift Capacity lbs. 1,500, Dimensions L x W x H in. 16 x 6 3/10 x 9 4/5, HP 2.0, Amps 15, Single Line Lift Capacity lbs. 750, Duty Cycle min. S3 20-10min. 110V single-phase motor Power cord cable is 14 gauge Remote buttons are spring loaded - unit stops when button is released 53in. remote cord Emergency stop button Mounting hole dimensions 4 1/2in. x 8 5/8in. holes are 3/8in. diameter Complies with IP54 and IP65 standards Handle has an emergency stop switch Thermal protection device Single hook and double hook, two operations to choose"
Average Customer Rating:
4.632 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (68 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
66 of 68(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1,500-Lb. Capacity"
Review 1 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1,500-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What I needed

,
July 10, 2015
By Comblue
from Killeen,tx
" I have used 2 of these along with a 1 ton gantry crane to disassemble a truck. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1,500-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Higher Level!

,
April 21, 2015
By JTCraftsman
from Oviedo, Florida
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Great electric Power Hoist. I use it to remove the hardtop from my Jeep. I also use it for lifting lawn power tools such as lawn tractor and other heavy equipment to sharpen blades, change the oil and more. It's a great hoist and installs easily. Wish I had purchased it and installed it years ago! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1,500-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

750/1500 pound whinch

,
April 9, 2015
By johnboy02
from Nebraska
" This product is great for the price. I us it on my log splitter to lift big logs it takes all the work out of splitting wood. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1,500-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hoist

,
March 30, 2015
By Sandpile
from Appleton, Wi
" Used the hoist to flip a pontoon trailer (alxe replacement) worked without fail !! Looking foward to next project. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1,500-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for the money.

,
February 12, 2015
By Installer13
from Tennessee
" Seems to be well built for the money.
However check everything before you mount it.
One of the mounting bolt holes was not threaded another was just spinning in place. Was not worth the trouble to call and get another one, so I tapped the one then held the other with vice grips while mounting and used thread sealer for insurance.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1,500-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric hoist

,
January 29, 2015
By JoeTuck
from Ohio
" Hoist was as advertised and functions great. Use it to lift dirt bikes and anything else that needs moved. The only issue was the mounting, they could engineer something better "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1,500-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

How do you go wrong

,
December 18, 2014
By Project2
from Zimmerman
" Everything about this hoist was easy take it out of the box and plug it in. Only complaint was I had to rig up a plate to mount it to my I beam. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1,500-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I was looking for!

,
December 8, 2014
By Fhubby
from Traverse City, MI
" I bought two of these units. One to make an elevator to the second floor of our barn and the other to make a hoist for lifting steel ontp my welding table. So far both have worked great. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1,500-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hoist is Great, But Trash the Switch Immediately

,
December 4, 2014
By osoalaskano
from Alaska
" I use the hoist for lifting stacks of oysters. I've had two. The hoist is great - for a season - but the switches go out within 4 months if used outdoors. I just had one start burning in my hand while lifting a 300 lb stack of oysters out of a vat of hot water. It was cold and snowing, but I was working under a covered area. I've tried taping them, drilling drain holes, "Corrosion Block" (ACF), and wrapping them. Nothing works. The switches are cheaply made, and any moisture starts them rusting right away. The screws that hold the cover in place also rust / swell (even though the housing is plastic), and the heads strip so that the only way to get into the switch is to break the plastic or drill out the screws. Worse, a replacement is 1/4 the cost of the item! I haven't been able to find a good alternative switch yet, as I can't get the specs on the switch from the company. To make matters worse, the last time I ordered a replacement switch from the company, they sent the wrong one. It was for the smaller winch and would only operate in the "down" mode. This product would be great - and I'd pay more - if they would just invest in a good weatherproof pendant switch made with good, quality parts. Otherwise, I won't be buying another one! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1,500-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hoist vs Winch

,
November 29, 2014
By RobertMichigan
from Sterling Heights, Michigan
" I built a set of stairs in my garage that are on a hinge and get lifted up to the ceiling. Originally I had purchased a Dayton winch to do that lifting, and it had a dynamic brake, but the brake started to fail, and I needed to replace it. I started looking for a replacement winch, and called a salesperson at Northern Tool and they asked me what I was using the winch for. I told them and they explained to me that a winch is only made for pulling, and not made for lifting, and they explained to me that I need a hoist. They suggested this hoist. I installed it and I am very happy with it. I like the fact that it has an emergency shutoff switch, which I keep pressed in when not using the hoist. The sales people here are very good, and I learned something new about winches verses hoists. I would recommend this product to anyone that needs to lift something, and needs it to stay in place when not in use, because this hoist has a built-in brake. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1,500-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hoist for many uses

,
July 21, 2014
By b21rebuild
from greenville sc
" I need to change the whole loader assembly on my KABOYA B21. The assembly is way too heavy to be handled and maneuvered by myself. This hoist will back an impossible task doable "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1,500-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Hoist 750/1500-Lb.

,
July 14, 2014
By Forddude
from Tennessee
" Meets or exceeds all my expectations for home garage work. My hobby is building street rods at home for my own use. This handy hoist is perfect for any type of lifting I need in my shop. At present I am using this to lift the engine and trans to rebuild engine. It is easily relocated to any point necessary to lift the other heavy objects involved in this project. Very satisfied with this equipment. I own other hoists and winches but this is by far the best for lifting. I have put this machine to test on many large lifting events such as lifting the rear T-bucket frame off the floor to make changes in the suspension. Very successful in every way. A satisfied customer. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1,500-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helping Hand

,
June 8, 2014
By SNUFFY3
from Alton Missouri
" I am a custom chassis builder for Street Rods and use this hoist for many different lifting chores fro installing front suspension to rear differentials. It serves as an extra set of hands and makes a great helper.
I also use it to raise my 60" Zero Turn Mower to change or sharpen the blades and general repairs to my tractor.
Everyone needs this hoist in their shop, you won't know how you got along without it!!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1,500-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Baseball Cage

,
May 26, 2014
By mbp1912
from New Jersey
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I was in need of a device to lift a baseball cage frame I built to go inside of a pole barn. I placed the hoist between the trusses of my pole barn and it works like a charm, but more important when the cage is not in use I still have all of the space in the pole barn. Since the pole barn is 16 FT high I extended the remote control cable for easier use. So far the product works as advertised. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1,500-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice hoist

,
May 20, 2014
By RamblinDave
from Neenah Wisconsin
" I purchased this hoist to lift stuff from my garage into my bonus room above the garage through a trap door. I'm using it with Northerns 1100 lb swing arm. This hoist works well but it takes some effort to get it to work with the swing arm. Both Northern swing arms use square tubing that is smaller than the strap clamp the hoist has. The clamps are made for round tubing so you'll have to make an adapter that fills in the gap between the hoist and the swing arm. I used oak pieces with 1/2" angle iron to face the oak. Since the swing arm has a diagonal strap on it, you can't mount the hoist where it's clamps interfere with the straps so you can't mount it everywhere on the arm. This affects where the cable goes. And since the swing arm uses 2 sizes of tubing, you'll have to allow for that too if you over lap the tubes. It takes some effort but it works well. As for mounting the swing arm tubing, it uses 1.5" water pipe. I mounted it with structural tubing fittings from Grainger. mounting the swing arm tubing, it uses 1.5" water pipe. I mounted it with structural tubing fittings from Grainger. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1,500-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

electric hoist

,
April 20, 2014
By walleyefish
from eastchina,mi.
" bought two of thse to lift a 18ft alum, boat has 70 horse johnson the hoist work good, had no problems except the with wire in the box below the motor was lose tighten it up and work great,no problems with the other put it up works great know both hoist are good Yes I would Recommend this product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1,500-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

hoist

,
February 4, 2014
By cccwyomsst
from comwyom
" Hoist Perfect JustMake Remote cord Longer. Plenty Hoistimg Power. Anyone Can Use this "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1,500-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Hoist

,
September 17, 2013
By GPKEOKI
from Arnold, MD
" Easy set up. Powerful pull and ability. Easy operation and very easy to follow directions. Retracting speed was ok. I thought it could be quicker, but it allowed for smooth operation and clearing any snags as we pulled. Good torque handled all my lifting/pulling jobs. The only issue was it required some thought to properly mount it at times, otherwise, it was flawless. Absolutely recommend this product. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1,500-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Hoist

,
April 23, 2013
By Bill101
from Taft Ca.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I purchased this hoist to lift my woodworking tools in my shop. The hoist is well worth the money and will never be without one again. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1,500-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hoist

,
October 15, 2012
By jrsoud
from Quebec
" Very good tool for small shop .
Fast in simple rigging but good speed in in double rigging
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.