Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity

Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity

Item# 142260
"Heavy-duty electric hoist has 750-lb. capacity with single line, 1,500-lb. capacity with double line. 16-gauge antitwist wire, spring-loaded remote buttons and emergency stop button. Great for lifting engines, tables, lumber, shop equipment and a whole range of other products. The biggest advantage to this hoist is that you do not need to climb a ladder and crank a lever you can remain on the ground to control operations. Cable Length ft. 39, Duty Cycle min. S3 20-10min., HP 2.0, Lift Height ft. 36-single line, 18-double line, Lifting Speed FPM 33 minimum-single line, 16 1/2 minimum-double line, Amps 15.00, Dimensions L x W x H in. 16 x 6 3/10 x 9 4/5, Double Line Lift Capacity lbs. 1,500, Single Line Lift Capacity lbs. 750, Volts 110, Cable Diameter in. 5/32. 110V single-phase motor Power cord cable is 14 gauge Remote buttons are spring loaded - unit stops when button is released 53in. remote cord Emergency stop button Mounting hole dimensions 4 1/2in. x 8 5/8in. holes are 3/8in. diameter Complies with IP54 and IP65 standards Handle has an emergency stop switch Thermal protection device Single hook and double hook, two operations to choose"
Average Customer Rating:
4.621 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (58 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
56 of 58(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hoist for many uses

,
July 21, 2014
By b21rebuild
from greenville sc
"I need to change the whole loader assembly on my KABOYA B21. The assembly is way too heavy to be handled and maneuvered by myself. This hoist will back an impossible task doable"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Hoist 750/1500-Lb.

,
July 14, 2014
By Forddude
from Tennessee
"Meets or exceeds all my expectations for home garage work. My hobby is building street rods at home for my own use. This handy hoist is perfect for any type of lifting I need in my shop. At present I am using this to lift the engine and trans to rebuild engine. It is easily relocated to any point necessary to lift the other heavy objects involved in this project. Very satisfied with this equipment. I own other hoists and winches but this is by far the best for lifting. I have put this machine to test on many large lifting events such as lifting the rear T-bucket frame off the floor to make changes in the suspension. Very successful in every way. A satisfied customer."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helping Hand

,
June 8, 2014
By SNUFFY3
from Alton Missouri
"I am a custom chassis builder for Street Rods and use this hoist for many different lifting chores fro installing front suspension to rear differentials. It serves as an extra set of hands and makes a great helper.
I also use it to raise my 60" Zero Turn Mower to change or sharpen the blades and general repairs to my tractor.
Everyone needs this hoist in their shop, you won't know how you got along without it!!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Baseball Cage

,
May 26, 2014
By mbp1912
from New Jersey
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I was in need of a device to lift a baseball cage frame I built to go inside of a pole barn. I placed the hoist between the trusses of my pole barn and it works like a charm, but more important when the cage is not in use I still have all of the space in the pole barn. Since the pole barn is 16 FT high I extended the remote control cable for easier use. So far the product works as advertised."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice hoist

,
May 20, 2014
By RamblinDave
from Neenah Wisconsin
"I purchased this hoist to lift stuff from my garage into my bonus room above the garage through a trap door. I'm using it with Northerns 1100 lb swing arm. This hoist works well but it takes some effort to get it to work with the swing arm. Both Northern swing arms use square tubing that is smaller than the strap clamp the hoist has. The clamps are made for round tubing so you'll have to make an adapter that fills in the gap between the hoist and the swing arm. I used oak pieces with 1/2" angle iron to face the oak. Since the swing arm has a diagonal strap on it, you can't mount the hoist where it's clamps interfere with the straps so you can't mount it everywhere on the arm. This affects where the cable goes. And since the swing arm uses 2 sizes of tubing, you'll have to allow for that too if you over lap the tubes. It takes some effort but it works well. As for mounting the swing arm tubing, it uses 1.5" water pipe. I mounted it with structural tubing fittings from Grainger. mounting the swing arm tubing, it uses 1.5" water pipe. I mounted it with structural tubing fittings from Grainger."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

electric hoist

,
April 20, 2014
By walleyefish
from eastchina,mi.
"bought two of thse to lift a 18ft alum, boat has 70 horse johnson the hoist work good, had no problems except the with wire in the box below the motor was lose tighten it up and work great,no problems with the other put it up works great know both hoist are good Yes I would Recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

hoist

,
February 4, 2014
By cccwyomsst
from comwyom
"Hoist Perfect JustMake Remote cord Longer. Plenty Hoistimg Power. Anyone Can Use this"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Hoist

,
September 17, 2013
By GPKEOKI
from Arnold, MD
"Easy set up. Powerful pull and ability. Easy operation and very easy to follow directions. Retracting speed was ok. I thought it could be quicker, but it allowed for smooth operation and clearing any snags as we pulled. Good torque handled all my lifting/pulling jobs. The only issue was it required some thought to properly mount it at times, otherwise, it was flawless. Absolutely recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Hoist

,
April 23, 2013
By Bill101
from Taft Ca.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased this hoist to lift my woodworking tools in my shop. The hoist is well worth the money and will never be without one again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hoist

,
October 15, 2012
By jrsoud
from Quebec
"Very good tool for small shop .
Fast in simple rigging but good speed in in double rigging
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money

,
May 10, 2012
By Homesaver
from Pa
"Junk- it heats up too fast and shuts down. i wish I could just get my money back but Northern wont even post this negative review!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-8points
6out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

electric hoist

,
October 10, 2011
By wml1471
from louisiana
"great hoist works real well. improvements could include a longer remote cord or even a wireless remote control"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just the lift I needed

,
March 21, 2011
By tawasboy26
from Madison Heights, MI
"I am not as young as I used to be and I work alone most of the time. In my little garage shop. I'm always needing to lift something from the floor to a bench as it is so hard for me to work down on the floor. I use this lift and a bench with locking wheels. That enables be to do the heavy lifting without asking a neighbor for help. That can really slow you down when everybody is at work during the week. This lift has more power than I need and I really like the large hand control and big buttons. You don't want a bunch of small buttons when you have gloves on. With this little lift you can lift objects from a few inches to over thirty feet depending on how you mount it. If a vise is like a second pair of hands this is like a second body when you need it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

useful for many purposes

,
March 21, 2011
By Demetrius
from lancaster Pa
"This is a very useful tool for lifting things in your garage to save your back. I have recommended it to friends and they bought it and love it too."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Phantom of the Opera

,
March 14, 2011
By arted101
from Berwyn, PA
"Used this hoist to raise a 300 lb. chandelier for our production of Phantom of the Opera. Was quiet enough to not be heard over the orchestra. Has reasonable speed and very reliable. Worked great and good price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

the best

,
November 25, 2010
By bigbill911
from staten island NY
"I have owned sever electric winches and hoisted in the past but this one is the best I have owned. it can handle pleanty of weight with no strain on the motor. it has a great hand controler. and it mounted very easly on the beams of my garage."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

750/1500 Northern Industrial Hoist

,
November 17, 2010
By KNO66
from Superior, Wi
"I purchased this hoist after looking at dozens of other models on the market today. This hoist from northern was by far the best deal I could find. It is used almost everyday with my small business. The only draw back I could find is that it is a little noisy."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great hoist, limited installation options

,
October 26, 2010
By Sparr
from Atlanta, GA
"I was shopping for a fast hoist with a decent capacity and this one has not let me down. I love everything about it except for the design of the housing.
Specifically, I wanted to mount this hoist to a beam instead of a pipe, but was dismayed to discover that you cannot mount the housing and then install the hoist in it (because the screws that hold the motor into the housing are inserted from the top) and you cannot mount the housing from below while the hoist is installed (because only two of the four bolt holes are accessible "around" the hoist mechanism from below).
If folks at Northern read these reviews, could you please pass that along to your design folks? Moving the two mounting holes an inch or so farther out would provide a lot more mounting options."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
CaptainRex
Orcas Island, WA 
 
Please wait while more information about CaptainRex is loaded.
Additional information about CaptainRex could not be loaded.
Outside use
May 14, 2012
"I'm in need of a waterproof cover/bag for this hoist. Anyone?"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great hoist

,
August 23, 2010
By tosoperator
from Silverthorne Co
"We use this hoist to dump a 95 gallon trash can filled wth heavy grit into our dunpster. We were able to mount the hoist on to a trolley to allow the hoist to be moved into the correct postion. It worked great for 4 years until the cable safety bar got damaged. We bought a new one to relace it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Loved it but...

,
June 30, 2010
By Vasily
from Newton, NJ
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Purchased this item to hoist large steel sculpture while I'm working on them. Bought the hoist in Jan/2009 and used it on and off. Definitely not a lot of use.
I absolutely loved this thing. Could not do the job without it. Would have given it 6 stars. But last night (6/29/2010) it stopped responding to the down button on the remote. I could hear it trying to click and sometimes it moves, but something happened. I tried to find a loose wire connection but haven't found it yet. Will keep trying.
I still would recommend this product. My case is just a fluke as you can see from the reviews here. Just letting people know what happened.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.