Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity

Item# 142260
"Heavy-duty electric hoist has 750-lb. capacity with single line, 1500-lb. capacity with double line. 16-gauge antitwist wire, spring-loaded remote buttons and emergency stop button. Great for lifting engines, tables, lumber, shop equipment and a whole range of other products. The biggest advantage to this hoist is that you do not need to climb a ladder and crank a lever you can remain on the ground to control operations. Cable Length ft. 39, Lift Height ft. 36-single line, 18-double line, Cable Diameter in. 5/32, Lifting Speed FPM 33 minimum-single line, 16 1/2 minimum-double line, Double Line Lift Capacity lbs. 1,500, Single Line Lift Capacity lbs. 750, Dimensions L x W x H in. 16 x 6 3/10 x 9 4/5, HP 2.0, Amps 15, Duty Cycle min. S3 20-10min. 110V single-phase motor Power cord cable is 14 gauge Remote buttons are spring loaded - unit stops when button is released 53in. remote cord Emergency stop button Mounting hole dimensions 4 1/2in. x 8 5/8in. holes are 3/8in. diameter Complies with IP54 and IP65 standards Handle has an emergency stop switch Thermal protection device Single hook and double hook, two operations to choose"
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (15 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 of 15(87%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

,
January 27, 2016
By
from TYLER, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This is the second hoist I have purchased. the first one is still in use for approx. 4-5 years and is working great.
They are used multiple times a day to lift lawnmowers
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Zero-turn blade maintenance

,
October 17, 2015
By
from Hinesburg, Vermont
I finally purchased a 750/1500 lb. Northern Industrial Hoist for my workshop. I need to sharpen the blades on my 61 inch mower deck. It has always been a chore to get under the deck to remove the blades. I priced the lifts available to do this, but I did not want another piece of equipment on the floor to trip over. I mounted a electric hoist on a 2.5 x 65 inch long pipe on the carrier beam to another built-up beam on the ceiling. I can slide the hoist about 4.5 feet to center up on whatever I'm hoisting. I made up brackets to hold the pipe. This hoist costs half what the special lift I was looking at, and I now have a hoist that I can use for a lot of other jobs. I use the 1500 lb. set up so it will move slower.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Higher Level!

,
April 21, 2015
By
from Oviedo, Florida
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Great electric Power Hoist. I use it to remove the hardtop from my Jeep. I also use it for lifting lawn power tools such as lawn tractor and other heavy equipment to sharpen blades, change the oil and more. It's a great hoist and installs easily. Wish I had purchased it and installed it years ago!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hoist is Great, But Trash the Switch Immediately

,
December 4, 2014
By
from Alaska
I use the hoist for lifting stacks of oysters. I've had two. The hoist is great - for a season - but the switches go out within 4 months if used outdoors. I just had one start burning in my hand while lifting a 300 lb stack of oysters out of a vat of hot water. It was cold and snowing, but I was working under a covered area. I've tried taping them, drilling drain holes, "Corrosion Block" (ACF), and wrapping them. Nothing works. The switches are cheaply made, and any moisture starts them rusting right away. The screws that hold the cover in place also rust / swell (even though the housing is plastic), and the heads strip so that the only way to get into the switch is to break the plastic or drill out the screws. Worse, a replacement is 1/4 the cost of the item! I haven't been able to find a good alternative switch yet, as I can't get the specs on the switch from the company. To make matters worse, the last time I ordered a replacement switch from the company, they sent the wrong one. It was for the smaller winch and would only operate in the "down" mode. This product would be great - and I'd pay more - if they would just invest in a good weatherproof pendant switch made with good, quality parts. Otherwise, I won't be buying another one!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Baseball Cage

,
May 26, 2014
By
from New Jersey
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I was in need of a device to lift a baseball cage frame I built to go inside of a pole barn. I placed the hoist between the trusses of my pole barn and it works like a charm, but more important when the cage is not in use I still have all of the space in the pole barn. Since the pole barn is 16 FT high I extended the remote control cable for easier use. So far the product works as advertised.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice hoist

,
May 20, 2014
By
from Neenah Wisconsin
I purchased this hoist to lift stuff from my garage into my bonus room above the garage through a trap door. I'm using it with Northerns 1100 lb swing arm. This hoist works well but it takes some effort to get it to work with the swing arm. Both Northern swing arms use square tubing that is smaller than the strap clamp the hoist has. The clamps are made for round tubing so you'll have to make an adapter that fills in the gap between the hoist and the swing arm. I used oak pieces with 1/2" angle iron to face the oak. Since the swing arm has a diagonal strap on it, you can't mount the hoist where it's clamps interfere with the straps so you can't mount it everywhere on the arm. This affects where the cable goes. And since the swing arm uses 2 sizes of tubing, you'll have to allow for that too if you over lap the tubes. It takes some effort but it works well. As for mounting the swing arm tubing, it uses 1.5" water pipe. I mounted it with structural tubing fittings from Grainger. mounting the swing arm tubing, it uses 1.5" water pipe. I mounted it with structural tubing fittings from Grainger.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Hoist

,
April 23, 2013
By
from Taft Ca.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I purchased this hoist to lift my woodworking tools in my shop. The hoist is well worth the money and will never be without one again.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money

,
May 10, 2012
By
from Pa
Junk- it heats up too fast and shuts down. i wish I could just get my money back but Northern wont even post this negative review!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-10points
7out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

750/1500 Northern Industrial Hoist

,
November 17, 2010
By
from Superior, Wi
I purchased this hoist after looking at dozens of other models on the market today. This hoist from northern was by far the best deal I could find. It is used almost everyday with my small business. The only draw back I could find is that it is a little noisy.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Loved it but...

,
June 30, 2010
By
from Newton, NJ
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Purchased this item to hoist large steel sculpture while I'm working on them. Bought the hoist in Jan/2009 and used it on and off. Definitely not a lot of use.
I absolutely loved this thing. Could not do the job without it. Would have given it 6 stars. But last night (6/29/2010) it stopped responding to the down button on the remote. I could hear it trying to click and sometimes it moves, but something happened. I tried to find a loose wire connection but haven't found it yet. Will keep trying.
I still would recommend this product. My case is just a fluke as you can see from the reviews here. Just letting people know what happened.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Electric Hoist — 750/1500-Lb.

,
July 20, 2009
By
from Munising Michigan
We bought this hoist for our shop to aid in lifting heavy glue laminated stair stringers. Worked great right out of the box. We use the double line to slow down the speed and it is very easy to "bump" the control to get just the right setting.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Heavy-Duty Electric Hoist

,
January 16, 2008
By
from Colorado
Well built winch. Runs very smoothly. Nice safety features: The winch shuts down before the load can be spooled into the cable drum and the winch cannot be operated without first pressing the safety button. Easy to install using the provided clamps but will also mount easily to any suitable flat surface. I'm lifting an average load of about 300 to 400 pounds. The motor isn't even working hard. If you are looking for a nice winch, this is it.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Heavy-Duty Electric Hoist — 15

,
October 15, 2007
By
from Mayport, Pennsylvania
I ordered this hoist for my son's taxidermy shop. I feel that this is the right size for the jobs he is going to do. I like the qualtiy of Northern Tools and they are well worth the money I paid for them.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Electric Hoist — 1500-Lb

,
March 7, 2007
By
from Getysburg, Pa
This hoist has given me good service. I used it to move containers of earth and rock from an 8' deep excavation. The only problems I had was with the cable level winding. Northern tool recomends that the cable be level wound, but they do not provide mechanism to keep it so. When you are pulling objects from a hole your attention is on the load, not on the winch. The other problem I had was when I placed the load off center at the top of the haul, the cable rubed against the upper limit arm, and shut off any upward movement of the cable. The switch did not reset on its own, and I had to manually reset it. After I bought this one i wished I had waited to buy one with remote control.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 750/1500-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hoist Power

,
December 2, 2006
By
from Mountain WI
Hoist is underpowered. Does not have the 1500 lb capacity as discribed. It strains itself on single line -had to double line to get enough power to lift 300 lbs. safely.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.