Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Electric Hoist - 2,000-Lb. Double Line/1,000-Lb. Single Line Capacity

Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Electric Hoist - 2,000-Lb. Double Line/1,000-Lb. Single Line Capacity

Item# 142262
The Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty 2000-lb. Load Capacity double line Electric Hoist is great for lifting engines, tables, lumber, shop equipment and a whole range of other products. No need to climb a ladder and crank a lever with this hoist you can remain on the ground to control operations. Includes remote switch, 39ft. cable with cable guard, stopper and hook with safety latch. HP 2 1/4, Lift Height ft. 36-single line, 18-double line, Double Line Lift Capacity lbs. 2,000, Dimensions L x W x H in. 19 3/4 x 7 9/10 x 11, Volts 110, Cable Length ft. 39, Duty Cycle min. S3 20-10min., Amps 17, Lifting Speed FPM 33 minimum-single line, 16 1/2 minimum-double line, Single Line Lift Capacity lbs. 1,000, Cable Diameter in. 7/32. 110V, single-phase 2.25 HP motor Antitwist cable 51in. remote cord Features an S3 20-10min. duty cycle, allowing the hoist to raise/lower loads continuously for 2 minutes, then it requires 8 minutes of rest before continuing use. This hoist will hold the load during resting periods Complies with IP54 and IP65 standards Handle has an emergency stop switch Hoist continues to hold a load, even if power is lost Dual electric and mechanical brakes to ensure control in all situations Rugged gears are constructed of durable 45-lb. steel Thermal protection device Single hook and double hook, two operations to choose Comes lubricated with grease in the gearbox for smooth operation
Average Customer Rating:
4.69 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (42 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
42 of 42(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
33 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Electric Hoist - 2,000-Lb. Double Line/1,000-Lb. Single Line Capacity
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Electric Hoist - 2,000-Lb. Double Line/1,000-Lb. Single Line Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good lift

,
April 13, 2014
By handyanddandy
from michigan
"the lift looks to be well made and is very easy to use the controls are well placed and easy to use the motor is quite and unwinds fast and lifts quickly. great value for the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Electric Hoist - 2,000-Lb. Double Line/1,000-Lb. Single Line Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

electric hoist

,
April 12, 2014
By akeck
from portland, OR
"the product works very well for all of our needs for this type of product. I even bought a second one as a spare. the price was right and the quality is very good. i buy quite a bit of tools and equipment from this company. this hoist is comparable to others of this type costing twice as much."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Electric Hoist - 2,000-Lb. Double Line/1,000-Lb. Single Line Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Owner

,
February 6, 2014
By tenderrich
from minnesota
"I use this to raise our mowers, take the 300 gallon tank sprayer and our box for leaf collectins off our trucks. Works GREAT!!
ONLY complaint is it doesn't have much range.
You have to be almost under the hoist for it to work due to the safety bar on the hoist.
Oter than that i would recommend this hoist to anyone. Very versitile.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Electric Hoist - 2,000-Lb. Double Line/1,000-Lb. Single Line Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product for the price

,
February 4, 2014
By papaturp
from Indiana
"I love this hoist because I could afford to purchase this product and get more bang for my buck over competitors' products and pricing. My normal use is occasional lifting around 300 to 500 pounds. This hoist is rated much higher, therefore giving me a greater margin of safety at an affordable price. It operates flawlessly and is easy and safe to use."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Electric Hoist - 2,000-Lb. Double Line/1,000-Lb. Single Line Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Built

,
February 4, 2014
By RVFpa
from Pennsylvania
"This is a well built hoist that is perfect for farm use. It will lift safely its capacity. Easy to use and strong.
Needs a longer cord for controls. The 5' factory cord is not long enough to lift objects without standing on a ladder. We put a longer control cord on. Also takes some thinking to hook up to a trolley, but can be done with a little fabrication work.
Overall, it is a great hoist for the price.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Electric Hoist - 2,000-Lb. Double Line/1,000-Lb. Single Line Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2000lb hoist

,
February 4, 2014
By rgwhite
from Dublin, Ga
"I bought this to raise mowers for serviceing. works better than ever anticipated! highly recommend this product, great value also!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Electric Hoist - 2,000-Lb. Double Line/1,000-Lb. Single Line Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Hoist that made life a little easier!

,
June 25, 2013
By BearClaw72
from Houston, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"We bought this hoist to make it easier to service water treatment equipment in an underground pit. After making a mount that would allow us to trolley the hoist back and forth along a beam, it works exactly how we wanted it to."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Electric Hoist - 2,000-Lb. Double Line/1,000-Lb. Single Line Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great addition to a home shop

,
April 23, 2013
By SSLS1
from Houston, Tx
"I installed this hoist on an 11 ft tall A-frame that i built. I use it to pull my welding machine off my truck from time to time. It weighs about 1200lbs and it lifts it with no problem what so ever (with line doubled). I have also used it to install heavy ranch hand bumpers by myself, it is a real back saver to say the least. Only downside i have noticed is the control cord is a little on the short side. I plan on extending it soon."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Electric Hoist - 2,000-Lb. Double Line/1,000-Lb. Single Line Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

home shop use

,
April 23, 2013
By caneyjack
from Houston, TX
"I bought this hoist to be able to lift things in my home shop. It is a little heavy for that use, but so far it has worked great. I also bought the smaller unit to lift my stairs into the attic. That unit is also working well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Electric Hoist - 2,000-Lb. Double Line/1,000-Lb. Single Line Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hoisting is easier now

,
October 9, 2012
By Rubedo
from Las Vegas, NV
"The hoist installed without difficulty.It was installed on a moving trolly about 18 feet above the floor. The purpose was to lift things to a mezzanine 9 feet above the floor and then move them to the platform. A longer cord was added to assist in control from the operator on the floor. A longer cord was more difficult to find than we had anticipated but necessary to make the unit functional from the floor. The hoist replaced a chain fall making moving items much easier. It easily picked up the ATV's and placed them out of the way during the off season."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
17out of 28found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Electric Hoist - 2,000-Lb. Double Line/1,000-Lb. Single Line Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT!

,
October 8, 2012
By Spooner46
from Michigan
"This hoist is great. It operates very smooth and travel speed is a little faster then most. I extended the cord so that I could take it to what ever I lifting. I would recommend this to any do it yourselfers."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Electric Hoist - 2,000-Lb. Double Line/1,000-Lb. Single Line Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a workhorse!

,
August 13, 2012
By mont4024
from new orleans, LA
"This hoist is every bit as powerful as I hoped it would be. It fit my needs perfectly."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Electric Hoist - 2,000-Lb. Double Line/1,000-Lb. Single Line Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Barn Hoist

,
May 7, 2012
By TexasTractorMan
from Point Blank, Tx
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased this hoist with the hoist frame and mounted them on a piece of 1 1/2 - inch pipe in the door of my barn loft. I can easily lift 1000 lbs of material into the loft. The frame lets me lift and swing the load through the 4-foot wide door for easily loading and unloading in the loft. Most economical way to get the job done."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Electric Hoist - 2,000-Lb. Double Line/1,000-Lb. Single Line Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

HOIST

,
January 16, 2012
By FAFMER
from United States
"THIS IS A GREAT HOIST FOR ANY SHOP. I HAVE IT MOUNTED IN MY SHOP AT THE BARN. IT CAN BE USED TO LIFT MANY OBJECTS VERY EASY. HELPS TO SAVE YOUR BACK. I HAVE IT MOUNTED ON A TROLLY AND A 6 INCH BEAM WHICH HELPS TO GIVE MORE RANGE IN LIFTING. GLAD I PURCHASED IT. VERY HAPPY WITH IT."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Electric Hoist - 2,000-Lb. Double Line/1,000-Lb. Single Line Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern 2000# Electric hoist

,
October 19, 2011
By PK60
from Linn, Missouri
"I recently purchased this product to help an elderly person raise his 4 wheeler and lawnmowers up so he could service them. The gentleman had knee surgery and can no longer stoop or bend without pain. This product is absolutely amazing. The quality construction and safety features combined with its robust construction will ensure he gets many years of quality, safe and dependable service. I am impressed!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Electric Hoist - 2,000-Lb. Double Line/1,000-Lb. Single Line Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern 2000 lb electric Hoist

,
October 10, 2011
By 501Seagull
from Port Lavaca, Tx
"I recently purchased this product and it exceeded my expectations. I built a home lift for getting appliances up and down to my house which is elevated 15 ft. for coastal living, and it works perfectly. I love this Northern 2000 lb electric Hoist and would recommend it to anyone who needs a lift for this purpose."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Electric Hoist - 2,000-Lb. Double Line/1,000-Lb. Single Line Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good

,
March 21, 2011
By samlo
"good product but the control cord is too short even another 2 or three feet would be better"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Electric Hoist - 2,000-Lb. Double Line/1,000-Lb. Single Line Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice priced Hoist

,
March 21, 2011
By briqsay
from Milwaukee
"It's an afordable Hoist. Thats the main reason I bought it and it works great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Electric Hoist - 2,000-Lb. Double Line/1,000-Lb. Single Line Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Heavy-Duty Electric Hoist - 2000 lb.

,
March 14, 2011
By Bman702
"Our Volunteer Fire Dept purchased this primarily to assist loading the 68 gal. tank and pump onto our John Deere Gator. it can now be done fully loaded or empty, obviously. We've mounted it on a trolley 15 feet above the floor so the 5 foot control cable is too short, but with a visit to an electric warehouse and a few minutes with a screw driver and the control box now reaches a satisfactory work level. We have a balance issue which is not the hoists' fault it is an added problem from the trolley mount. I thought i'd add this info if someone else wanted to do the same thing. In short. . . OVERALL the hoist seems to be well built and a good value for the $$$."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Tools Heavy-Duty Electric Hoist - 2,000-Lb. Double Line/1,000-Lb. Single Line Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2000 lb Hoist

,
March 14, 2011
By nummy
"Received my HOIST in record time via International Shipping department.
Hoist does the job I require without difficulty. I think the safety off switch on the ON/Off switch is an excellent feature."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.