Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1,100-Lb. Capacity"

"Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1,100-Lb. Capacity"

Item# 14230
"The Northern Industrial Tools 1,100-lb. Load Capacity double line Electric Hoist is great for lifting engines, tables, lumber, shop equipment and a whole range of other products. No need to climb a ladder and crank a lever with this hoist you can remain on the ground to control operations. Includes rocker-style remote control, 40ft. cable with cable guard, stopper and hook with safety latch. Duty Cycle min. S3 20-10min., Single Line Lift Capacity lbs. 550, Double Line Lift Capacity lbs. 1,100, Cable Diameter in. 5/32 in., Lift Height ft. 36 single, 18 double, Lifting Speed FPM 33 single, 16 1/2 double, Dimensions L x W x H in. 16 x 6 x 8 1/2, HP 1 3/4, Amps 8, Cable Length ft. 40. Power in/Power out Amps 12 Gear type brake 5ft. Remote Maximum braking lbs. 688/1375 lbs. Complies with IP54 and IP65 standards Handle has rocker-style on/off control switch Thermal protection device Single hook and double hook, two operations to choose"
Average Customer Rating:
4.588 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (34 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
33 of 34(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1,100-Lb. Capacity"
Review 1 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1,100-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

electric hoist

,
July 26, 2015
By
from Massachusetts
" Nice piece of equipment for the price. I use it to help lift heavy items into a cart behind my tractor, as I have two bad shoulders. I would recommend this hoist to everyone. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1,100-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hoist

,
March 14, 2015
By
from Manteo, NC
" This product in general works fine. However, it is supposed to lift 550 lbs single rived, and 1100 lbs doubled rived. I was not able to pick up a load of what I know to be less than 500 lbs single rived, but handled that load fine double rived. Otherwise, the hoist is fine. I also had to lengthen the control cable/ What good is a five foot control cable when you have 35' of lift, or even 17' of lift double rived? "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1,100-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Satisfied owner

,
January 13, 2015
By
from Des Moines, Ia
" Working good so far. I was worried about the brake on the hoist considering the price but has been working fine.
So far I have been using it in double line manner and works well
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1,100-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Hoist

,
November 13, 2014
By
from Lees summit, MO
" I noticed there are a lot of concerns about how to mount it. I bolted the hoist directly to my 4 X 8 frame using the bolts provided. I really do not need to move the hoist so I am confident it will lift my 1100 lbs with no problem. I really don't think I will ever need it to lift that much but I like having the option. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1,100-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Hoist

,
November 3, 2014
By
from Charleston, WV
" This hoist works well, I have had it about a month and so far I have had no problems. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1,100-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Hoist

,
September 15, 2014
By
from Gooding Idaho
" I installed this hoist in my garage to lift and hang game animals. The mounts left a bit ti be desired but the hoist its self is great. it lifted pronghorn, deer and even a large cow elk. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1,100-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saved a lot of pain !!!

,
July 25, 2014
By
from Greenwich, CT, USA
" We purchase hoist to raise and lower geo-thermal pumps to different levels in a custom home we are constructing. Saved a lot of sore backs, worked great.
Will never go without one on every construction project.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1,100-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

No mounting options??

,
April 19, 2014
By
from Minneapolis, MN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I purchased this hoist over a year ago and it is still in the box. I have a gantry installed in my second floor ceiling and was hoping to install this hoist to help lift objects to the second floor. The only way to mount this unit is with a 2" pipe. I don't see any good way to mount a 2" pipe to my trolley and I would rather not add a second connection point when I already have a solid gantry built into my shop. I'm sure this is a good hoist, but unless you have a 2" pipe somehow secured to the ceiling it is useless. There needs to be more mounting options!!! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
11out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1,100-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good equipment

,
February 5, 2014
By
from Pensacola FL
" Must have for most small engine mechanics. Lift front of riding mowers off ground with no difficulties. Wish I purchased a few years ago. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1,100-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great light duty hoist.

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Oconomowoc, WI
" Bought to assist with removal of my jeep hard top. This little hoist makes it a one man job. It has also come in handy for lifting an engine block into the back of a pickup bed. Great value and my back says thanks. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1,100-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric hoist

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Florida
" I use this hoist to pick up heavy tools to load in the back of my work truck. It was easy to set up and works as I had hoped it would. I have used it about three months but so far it works as advertised. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1,100-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Hoist!

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Inver Grove Heights, MN
" I bought to lift my MANY boxes of Christmas lights and accessories into my attic. I've gone too long up and down the ladder! I mounted it in my rafters and built a custom platform to hold the boxes. The hoist works awesome! The only thing I changed was the remote cord length. It was too short for me. I wanted to use the hoist from the garage floor, so I bought new wire and replaced it with a longer cord. Now I can use the hoist up in the rafters or on the floor. Other than that (was a personal preference) it performs very well. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1,100-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1100# hoist

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Wisconsin
" We use this hoist for lifting deer for skinning and butchering, It makes the job much easier! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1,100-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Cable hoist

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Waconia Mn.
" After I installed the hoist in my garage, I tried to lift my riding lawn mower. It was great. The hoist picked the front right up and made it easy for me to remove the blades and sharpen them. Then I tried to lift my ATV and the 1100 lb hoist had no problem at all. I can't believe I waited so long to order this. I have used it so many times loading and unloading things out of the back of my truck. Great product and great service. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1,100-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

1100# hoist

,
January 20, 2014
By
from nc
" Auto shut off switch contacts cable and shuts off hoist as soon as a load is placed. Attempted to lift the front of my atv.....never got front wheels off the ground. Way too much play in the mounting system. I can manually lift my atv so it was not overloaded. Will try my own mounting design. Disappointed so far. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1,100-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Bang

,
April 23, 2013
By
from Tennessee
" I was looking for the biggest bang for my buck. If you consider price to be important you'll be surprised at the quality of this unit. We couldn't be happier. The only thing that looked cheap was the manual. We built a dumbwaiter and it's working great. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-6points
8out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1,100-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for price

,
April 23, 2013
By
from Indianapolis,IN
" Product is simple, easy to use, and seemingly well built. Installed in a manufacturing environment, and so far has exceeded expectations. Going to buy one for garage at home. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1,100-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy lifting

,
January 16, 2012
By
from South Dakota
" I have this hoist in my shop and it is one of the more handy things that I have bought. For the money it is built very well. I have picked up engines, lawn mowers, iron, and many more items. The hoist seems to be holding up quite well. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1,100-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Winch

,
March 18, 2011
By
from Chippewa Falls, Wi
" This is a great winch, as I can now lift my snowmobile up to check/change carbide wear rods under the skiis, and check suspension and steering parts. I can also lift up John Deere lawn tractor to change/sharpen blades, check steering components, and put on rear chains for winter. It lifts so much easier, and higher than jacks. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1,100-Lb. Capacity"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It just works

,
August 23, 2010
By
from Newbury, OH
" The hoist works well and was quite easy to set up in my work shop. My only issue is that it is a little fast but the speed cannot be controlled. This, however, isn't unusual in these kinds of lifts, and is definitely not a deal breaker. Still, a little lower gearing would have been good. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.