Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity

Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity

Item# 14230
The Northern Industrial Tools 1,100-lb. Load Capacity double line Electric Hoist is great for lifting engines, tables, lumber, shop equipment and a whole range of other products. No need to climb a ladder and crank a lever with this hoist you can remain on the ground to control operations. Includes rocker-style remote control, 40ft. cable with cable guard, stopper and hook with safety latch. Amps 8, Dimensions L x W x H in. 16 x 6 x 8 1/2, HP 1 3/4, Double Line Lift Capacity lbs. 1,100, Volts 110, Single Line Lift Capacity lbs. 550, Lift Height ft. 36 single, 18 double, Lifting Speed FPM 33 single, 16 1/2 double, Duty Cycle min. S3 20-10min., Cable Diameter in. 5/32 in., Cable Length ft. 40. Power in/Power out Amps 12 Gear type brake 5ft. Remote Maximum braking lbs. 688/1375 lbs. Complies with IP54 and IP65 standards Handle has rocker-style on/off control switch Thermal protection device Single hook and double hook, two operations to choose
Average Customer Rating:
4.593 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (27 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
26 of 27(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

No mounting options??

,
April 19, 2014
By Inspector7
from Minneapolis, MN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased this hoist over a year ago and it is still in the box. I have a gantry installed in my second floor ceiling and was hoping to install this hoist to help lift objects to the second floor. The only way to mount this unit is with a 2" pipe. I don't see any good way to mount a 2" pipe to my trolley and I would rather not add a second connection point when I already have a solid gantry built into my shop. I'm sure this is a good hoist, but unless you have a 2" pipe somehow secured to the ceiling it is useless. There needs to be more mounting options!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good equipment

,
February 5, 2014
By Ussbataan
from Pensacola FL
"Must have for most small engine mechanics. Lift front of riding mowers off ground with no difficulties. Wish I purchased a few years ago."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great light duty hoist.

,
February 4, 2014
By JKJEEP
from Oconomowoc, WI
"Bought to assist with removal of my jeep hard top. This little hoist makes it a one man job. It has also come in handy for lifting an engine block into the back of a pickup bed. Great value and my back says thanks."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric hoist

,
February 4, 2014
By sbob
from Florida
"I use this hoist to pick up heavy tools to load in the back of my work truck. It was easy to set up and works as I had hoped it would. I have used it about three months but so far it works as advertised."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Hoist!

,
February 4, 2014
By ChristmasJoe
from Inver Grove Heights, MN
"I bought to lift my MANY boxes of Christmas lights and accessories into my attic. I've gone too long up and down the ladder! I mounted it in my rafters and built a custom platform to hold the boxes. The hoist works awesome! The only thing I changed was the remote cord length. It was too short for me. I wanted to use the hoist from the garage floor, so I bought new wire and replaced it with a longer cord. Now I can use the hoist up in the rafters or on the floor. Other than that (was a personal preference) it performs very well."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1100# hoist

,
February 4, 2014
By mike1957
from Wisconsin
"We use this hoist for lifting deer for skinning and butchering, It makes the job much easier!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Cable hoist

,
February 4, 2014
By Fos10
from Waconia Mn.
"After I installed the hoist in my garage, I tried to lift my riding lawn mower. It was great. The hoist picked the front right up and made it easy for me to remove the blades and sharpen them. Then I tried to lift my ATV and the 1100 lb hoist had no problem at all. I can't believe I waited so long to order this. I have used it so many times loading and unloading things out of the back of my truck. Great product and great service."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

1100# hoist

,
January 20, 2014
By orinmed1
from nc
"Auto shut off switch contacts cable and shuts off hoist as soon as a load is placed. Attempted to lift the front of my atv.....never got front wheels off the ground. Way too much play in the mounting system. I can manually lift my atv so it was not overloaded. Will try my own mounting design. Disappointed so far."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Bang

,
April 23, 2013
By harpmaker
from Tennessee
"I was looking for the biggest bang for my buck. If you consider price to be important you'll be surprised at the quality of this unit. We couldn't be happier. The only thing that looked cheap was the manual. We built a dumbwaiter and it's working great."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-6points
6out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for price

,
April 23, 2013
By maintenanceengineer
from Indianapolis,IN
"Product is simple, easy to use, and seemingly well built. Installed in a manufacturing environment, and so far has exceeded expectations. Going to buy one for garage at home."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy lifting

,
January 16, 2012
By dakotabuilder
from South Dakota
"I have this hoist in my shop and it is one of the more handy things that I have bought. For the money it is built very well. I have picked up engines, lawn mowers, iron, and many more items. The hoist seems to be holding up quite well."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Winch

,
March 18, 2011
By Tork
from Chippewa Falls, Wi
"This is a great winch, as I can now lift my snowmobile up to check/change carbide wear rods under the skiis, and check suspension and steering parts. I can also lift up John Deere lawn tractor to change/sharpen blades, check steering components, and put on rear chains for winter. It lifts so much easier, and higher than jacks."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It just works

,
August 23, 2010
By MikeN127
from Newbury, OH
"The hoist works well and was quite easy to set up in my work shop. My only issue is that it is a little fast but the speed cannot be controlled. This, however, isn't unusual in these kinds of lifts, and is definitely not a deal breaker. Still, a little lower gearing would have been good."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Warning

,
June 1, 2010
By Trickster
from Santa Cruz Ca
"Be aware that the bollts for mounting do not match the unit.
The bolts are course threads and so is the nut welded on the unit however one is metric and one is standard. So before trying to install the unit check to see if the bolts threads go all the way in. If they start but don't go all the way you need to replace them. Unit works great. Wish I know this before lifitng it on a ladder trying to get the bolts to work.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Help

,
May 25, 2010
By jfeath4
from Richmond, VA
"I do a lot of work alone; this has been a big help with lifting heavy objects in the garage. No problems with the hoist."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electrical Hoist

,
February 15, 2010
By jbw95
from Canton, Ohio
"I purchased this hoist to place my tractor attachments on steel racks. It is very easy to install and operate."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

couldn't be happier

,
November 2, 2009
By elkcutter
from montana
"I operate a wild game processing shop in southwest Montana and before I got this hoist i would have to use a come-a-long to lift the 200 animals that I process during the game season. This year the hoist has saved my back and several hours of ratcheting animals up to skin and then cut them up. I mounted it about ten feet off the floor and it can lift a big elk completely off the ground with no problem!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent hoist

,
November 2, 2009
By CLAYCLAY
from Grand Rapids, MI
"I have used this hoist for 3 years now- I use it to lift my motorcycles to a second floor storage area, and it has worked flawlessly. The heaviest bike is a 800 pound machine and on double-line it works perfectly. I also use it for lifting my mower and snowblower on occassion to put them in the bed of my truck. It's a great hoist for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

A good winch, minor problems

,
October 19, 2009
By spectools
from N. California
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I use this winch to power a home built freight elevator. It has plenty of power and works very reliably, but I had to do two modifications to it. First, the control cord was too short for my purpose, but I think it could stand to be another 3' longer for most any purpose so the operator could stand away from the work during operation. Second, the auto shut off mechanism and switch (for when it reaches full lift) did not work reliably. It seemed as though the winch had enough momentum to continue pulling the cable's stop ring slightly farther even after the shut off switch was activated. This smashed the loop of steel rod (that connects to the switch) into the winch body, bending its pivot bolt. I corrected this by bending the steel rod to sit farther away from the winch body, giving it a safety margin of extra travel. However the switch itself later failed to turn off, breaking the pivot bolt out of the winch housing. Now I have to be sure to watch and stop the winch manually at the end of travel."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
11out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked great out of the box

,
March 23, 2009
By Ronn
from Denmark, Maine
"Was happy to see this hoist perform as explained. Had it running, out of the box, in 20 minutes."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.