Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity

Item# 14230
"The Northern Industrial Tools 1100-lb. Load Capacity double line Electric Hoist is great for lifting engines, tables, lumber, shop equipment and a whole range of other products. No need to climb a ladder and crank a lever with this hoist you can remain on the ground to control operations. Includes rocker-style remote control, 40ft. cable with cable guard, stopper and hook with safety latch. Cable Diameter in. 5/32in., Double Line Lift Capacity lbs. 1,100, Single Line Lift Capacity lbs. 550, Lift Height ft. 36 single, 18 double, Lifting Speed FPM 33 single, 16 1/2 double, Amps 12, Duty Cycle min. S3 20-10min., Dimensions L x W x H in. 16 x 6 x 8 1/2, HP 1 3/4, Cable Length ft. 40. Power in/Power out Amps 12 Gear type brake 5ft. Remote Maximum braking lbs. 688/1375 lbs. Complies with IP54 and IP65 standards Handle has rocker-style on/off control switch Thermal protection device Single hook and double hook, two operations to choose"
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 of 8(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Hoist

,
April 18, 2016
By
from Idaho Falls, Id.
Haven't used it yet but, Looks to be very good quality.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Exactly What I Expected

,
April 6, 2016
By
from Shreveport, LA
The winch works great as I expected.
My only complaint is the length of the remote. It could be a little longer.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent hoist great value

,
December 24, 2015
By
from Western, North Carolina
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Have been using this now for a while in the capacity of a custom hoist from a second level deck. Have used it to haul everything from groceries to furniture to concrete deck tables to firewood. Gets used mostly for hsulingvheavy firewood. Works flawless. I keep it outdoors but under the covered porch. Have used it both a single and double line with a pulley block. Reliable and smooth.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hoist

,
March 14, 2015
By
from Manteo, NC
This product in general works fine. However, it is supposed to lift 550 lbs single rived, and 1100 lbs doubled rived. I was not able to pick up a load of what I know to be less than 500 lbs single rived, but handled that load fine double rived. Otherwise, the hoist is fine. I also had to lengthen the control cable/ What good is a five foot control cable when you have 35' of lift, or even 17' of lift double rived?
Describe Yourself: Professional
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

No mounting options??

,
April 19, 2014
By
from Minneapolis, MN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I purchased this hoist over a year ago and it is still in the box. I have a gantry installed in my second floor ceiling and was hoping to install this hoist to help lift objects to the second floor. The only way to mount this unit is with a 2" pipe. I don't see any good way to mount a 2" pipe to my trolley and I would rather not add a second connection point when I already have a solid gantry built into my shop. I'm sure this is a good hoist, but unless you have a 2" pipe somehow secured to the ceiling it is useless. There needs to be more mounting options!!!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
17out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

1100# hoist

,
January 20, 2014
By
from nc
Auto shut off switch contacts cable and shuts off hoist as soon as a load is placed. Attempted to lift the front of my atv.....never got front wheels off the ground. Way too much play in the mounting system. I can manually lift my atv so it was not overloaded. Will try my own mounting design. Disappointed so far.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Warning

,
June 1, 2010
By
from Santa Cruz Ca
Be aware that the bollts for mounting do not match the unit.
The bolts are course threads and so is the nut welded on the unit however one is metric and one is standard. So before trying to install the unit check to see if the bolts threads go all the way in. If they start but don't go all the way you need to replace them. Unit works great. Wish I know this before lifitng it on a ladder trying to get the bolts to work.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools Electric Hoist - 1100-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

A good winch, minor problems

,
October 19, 2009
By
from N. California
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I use this winch to power a home built freight elevator. It has plenty of power and works very reliably, but I had to do two modifications to it. First, the control cord was too short for my purpose, but I think it could stand to be another 3' longer for most any purpose so the operator could stand away from the work during operation. Second, the auto shut off mechanism and switch (for when it reaches full lift) did not work reliably. It seemed as though the winch had enough momentum to continue pulling the cable's stop ring slightly farther even after the shut off switch was activated. This smashed the loop of steel rod (that connects to the switch) into the winch body, bending its pivot bolt. I corrected this by bending the steel rod to sit farther away from the winch body, giving it a safety margin of extra travel. However the switch itself later failed to turn off, breaking the pivot bolt out of the winch housing. Now I have to be sure to watch and stop the winch manually at the end of travel.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
16out of 24found this review helpful.