Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Lawn-Revitalizing Aerator Shoes

Lawn-Revitalizing Aerator Shoes

Item# 14264
Deluxe hook-and-loop straps hold these light weight Lawn Aerator Shoes to your feet. Each step presses a dozen 2in. metal spikes into hard-packed soil and densely-packed turf. Thousands of holes create air, fertilizer, and moisture to soak into the soil. Rugged green plastic, 11 3/8in. long. Strap easily onto any adult size foot. Perfect for using when cutting the grass or raking the leaves. Spike Length in. 2, Overall Width in. 11 3/8 Long, Spike Penetration Depth in. 2, Spikes qty. 12, Aerator Type Spike, Application Aerator. Makes aerating easy by creating a dozen 2in. deep holes with each step, even in hard-packed soil Straps easily onto any adult-size foot Cultivates lawns by making it easy to water and nutrients to reach roots
Average Customer Rating:
3.321 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (53 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
20
3 stars
7
2 stars
9
1 star
7
37 of 53(70%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lawn-Revitalizing Aerator Shoes
Review 1 for Lawn-Revitalizing Aerator Shoes
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Forget it

,
May 29, 2014
By jknj
from Millstone NJ
"Straps come loose immediately, only get these if you devise your own method of attaching them to your feet! Otherwise they are cool."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lawn-Revitalizing Aerator Shoes
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Lawn Revitalizing Aerator Shoes

,
May 29, 2014
By Danmac19
from DE
"The straps don't stay on when you try to walk in them
Take old shoe strings and wrap them around them it helps but still hard to keep on
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lawn-Revitalizing Aerator Shoes
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

quick fix

,
May 8, 2014
By billy365247
from dunkirk md
"Good concept ridicules design it seems no one tried to test them. It bothers me that someone gets paid to put junk together. The straps do not work take two steps and they fly off. First thing throw the straps away and use string to tie them on. I am working on using Velcro. The nuts, I used a lock washer. How about that a five cent piece. I spent five minutes with them and improved them 100% maybe I should get a job with them putting out a product I am proud to put my name behind."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lawn-Revitalizing Aerator Shoes
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's ok

,
April 23, 2013
By sick13
from WR,AZ
"The issue with the staps is the only thing, as it get loose and needs to be tightened constantly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lawn-Revitalizing Aerator Shoes
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

loose shoes

,
January 28, 2013
By jimksa
from satx
"put he shoes on then fold back the extrastrap under the shoe secure strap through a spike on the bottom you wont have to keep tightening the straps . when you feel it being easier to walk check the spikes they may be filled up with leaves and grass
Happy walking
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lawn-Revitalizing Aerator Shoes
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

LAWN AERATOR SHOES

,
October 15, 2012
By JGP43
from tx
"THEY WOULD NOT STAY ON MY FEET. THE STRAPS KEPT COMING LOOSE."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lawn-Revitalizing Aerator Shoes
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

lawn aerator sandals

,
June 10, 2012
By Chaz77d
from Mass
"A good concept, but did not work well. Specifically, I tightened all the nuts holding the nails as tightly as possible. Still, the first time I used them, in 20 minutes of mowing, I lost 10 of the 26 nuts. they are somewhere in my lawn, who knows where??"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
12out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lawn-Revitalizing Aerator Shoes
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

lawn revitalizing aerator shoes

,
May 14, 2012
By ETO60
from Fort Washington, MD
"I purshase the aerator shoes last month because my lawn was full of bare spots. I attached the shoes to my work shoes begin walking with them while mowing the lawn. First it was very difficult to stand with them on. But once I got the hang of it I was able to aerator whole front lawn.While mowing the lawn. I'm not a little guy (5'9 300lbs.). I did have to tight the straps several times. But the great thing about the shoes the bare spots now have grass growing along with rest of the lawn."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lawn-Revitalizing Aerator Shoes
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product for the Price!

,
May 8, 2012
By beginnergardener
from Elgin, IL
"The shoes came as promised and some assembly was required. I was looking for an inexpensive way to aerate the lawn and this deivered as promised. It took 10 minutes or so to get used to walking in the shoes and securing the straps. This was my first purchase and plan to purchase more in the future."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lawn-Revitalizing Aerator Shoes
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Could be better but does the job

,
May 7, 2012
By rj007923
from Illinois
"Some one was on the right track when inventing these. However, they could have thought it out a bit more.
The spikes will come loose on you. In order to make them stay, place super glue on the nut and tighten them down. I did this just the other day and let them sit over night. Nothing has come loose since.
Regarding the straps that hold your feet in. They are garbage! They will become loose and your feet will slip out. One thing that I tried that helped out a little is after you buckle your self in, make sure you wrap the strap around the main strap that is holding your feet in. You might get about 50 ft before they start to come loose. I am still trying to find a way to make them stay. I thought about using duck tape, but then it would be to cumbersome to get out. Good luck with this!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lawn-Revitalizing Aerator Shoes
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cool

,
May 7, 2012
By joewho48
from Daytona Beach, FL
"These shoes worked great. Put them on the kids and they stomped around the yard. Neighborhood kids wanted a turn!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lawn-Revitalizing Aerator Shoes
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Worth the Money

,
April 2, 2012
By MEDELMAN2K
from Texas
"Do not order these, the straps and buckles I received do not work. They are nylon buckles and can't grip the straps correctly. Every two steps you take, they come loose. I tried very hard to make them work, but to no avail. These are a total waste of money. This is my first experience with Northern Tool Company, it was quite a let down."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-6points
3out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lawn-Revitalizing Aerator Shoes
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does the Job!

,
March 19, 2012
By AL15
from Allen,TX
"This product is great for the price. The only thing they need to improve on are the black straps. It is tricky to make sure they don't get loose. Overall a good product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lawn-Revitalizing Aerator Shoes
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Economical way to do it!

,
February 7, 2012
By Roro
from LA, CA
"I bought these to try and save my lawn. They work pretty well for being so simple. I have heard that aerators that pull plugs out are better but these are fine. they stay on better if I dont walk behind the mower. The pushing makes them slip off."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lawn-Revitalizing Aerator Shoes
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Better straps needed.

,
January 9, 2012
By AnthonyG
from Long Island, NY
"The product came quickly and I was excited to get them. However once I put the straps supplied it was clear that the strps would not work to hold the spiked shoe on to my shoes. The clips had no teeth to them so the strap slid right through the clip leaving the shoes imbedded in the grass. A different strap as well as better design for the location of the straps would make this product work. But in the condition now sold I would not recommend the product.
I would however recommend Northern Tool as a good company: when I called in regarding the problem they were even quicker than their shipping to resolve the issue. Thats what I call customer service. I intend to use them again in the future.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lawn-Revitalizing Aerator Shoes
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

,
October 10, 2011
By larryh48312
from Kimball, MI
"This product works great! The only problem I have is the fact that the straps tends to loosen often, but once you find a way to keep the straps on, your off to aerating. it is a little tiring considering the size of your lawn, but you will see results after use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lawn-Revitalizing Aerator Shoes
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

good price, but you get what you pay for...

,
June 15, 2011
By Alan94
from Millville, NJ
"price plus shipping seemed comparable with other retailers so I ordered this set of aerator sandals. First off, the straps/buckles shown in picture are NOT what's in the box I received. The buckles are low quality metal that do NOT have any teeth cut into them, therefore no matter how tight you pull the strap, nothing is biting into it so it comes loose after a few steps. The straps also are cheap and are frayed after appx. 10 minutes of use because you are constantly pulling them tight. I tried different positions of the buckle and no matter where, they came loose. The fact that I had to bend over after every 4-5 steps became such a hassle I ended up taking one off and just stomping with the other.
The platform and spikes seem sturdy and did a great job puncturing the turf, so that's about the only good thing going for this set.
For the price the platform and spikes are decent pieces, just know going into this purchase you will have to fabricate/change out the straps and buckles, which then drives cost up. Therefore you would be better off finding another brand."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lawn-Revitalizing Aerator Shoes
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good product

,
June 14, 2011
By pmhelena
"this product is ok. the sraps come loose easy but once you figure out how to overcome that, they work great."
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lawn-Revitalizing Aerator Shoes
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cheap way to aerate, strapping a pain

,
June 10, 2011
By pilot210
from Saratoga, CA
"These things work well, when they stay on your feet. The strapping method is not secure enough, they work loose as you wear them. The price is right, though, cheap. They do a great job of putting holes in your turf, even works on the adobe soil we have in Silicon Valley, just make sure it's been watered."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lawn-Revitalizing Aerator Shoes
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lawn Shoes

,
June 9, 2011
By Lluvia
from Tucson, AZ
"Our ground was hard as a rock and my Husband and I needed to do some aerating. These shoes were on sale so I bought 2 pairs. They did require some assembly. The worst thing about them is you have to use a wrench to tighten all of the bolts onto the spikes. However, they work great! They did the job and felt very sturdy while we were aerating. I had read many bad reviews on other shoes of this type on other websites about how the shoes were flimsy and didn't work well. These Aerator shoes work great and I would recommend them to anyone I know!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.