Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Pickup Truck Crane - 1000-Lb. Capacity

Northern Industrial Tools Pickup Truck Crane - 1000-Lb. Capacity

Item# 142919
This Northern Industrial Tools Swiveling Pickup Truck Crane lifts heavy trucks and trailers. Rotates 360 to access items from all sides and features a telescopic boom that extends from 35in. to 55 1/2in. Height range is from 31 in. to 71 in. Includes manual winch with 25-ft. cable to raise and lower cargo hook. Base Size in. 9 1/2 x 7 1/2, Capacity lbs. 1,000, Column Diameter in. 3 1/2, Height from Base to Pump Support in. 26 3/16, Height from Base to Top in. 40 3/16, Boom Length in. 35-55 1/2, Cable Length ft. 25, Lift Range in. 31-71. Boom Swings 360 Degrees for easy access to cargo Mounts directly to truck or trailer bed with 9 1/2 in. x 7 1/2 in. base plate I.D. of Bottom Section of Post 3in. Lifts 1000 lbs. fully retracted Lifts 500 lbs. fully extended
Average Customer Rating:
4.226 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (31 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
27 of 31(87%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Pickup Truck Crane - 1000-Lb. Capacity
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools Pickup Truck Crane - 1000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broke promptly

,
February 5, 2014
By atlmew
from Atlanta
"I think the structure is good. But they should use a hardened shaft on the winch."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools Pickup Truck Crane - 1000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

hoist good, pump and winch, not so good

,
February 4, 2014
By TJ155
from Wahpeton, ND
"Made this into a tool cart to put large chucks into cnc machines, hoist is solid and swings well, pump leaks down and can't lift anything heavy, so it is either straight out or I block the jack when I need it to lift higher. The winch I replaced right way with a 12v winch and it works great. Sure there are more expensive ones with these options already, but I put all this together for half that cost."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools Pickup Truck Crane - 1000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product at a Great Price!!

,
September 17, 2013
By Keoki
from Cocoa Beach, Fl.
"We have ordered 6 of these for our service trucks here at work. Making use of them for safety and convenience."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools Pickup Truck Crane - 1000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Reactions after a year of use

,
August 23, 2012
By NMDEUCE
from Socorro, NM
"About six months ago I took the crane off of the truck and totally forgot why until I had to move a few full 55 gallon barrels this weekend. The metal in the crank is extremely cheap so the handle rounded out and the teeth on the winch stripped out. The pump also leaks. I had to resort to the odd man out method of getting all of the liquids out of the barrels on the ground into the barrels on the truck. If the winch were constructed even slightly better or the handle were reliable I would recommend this product. If you are just looking to move something once and it is only going to be for light duty, then by all means get it. If the answer to this question is "repeated use" look forward to replacing the winch. Also look for some additional angle iron to help spread the weight along the bottom of the truck."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
18out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools Pickup Truck Crane - 1000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Manufacturing issues

,
May 10, 2012
By AMF1
from Austin, TX
"Purchased this to use for loading and unloading a generator on a work trailer. It is a simple, but effective, crane. However, it does have some manufacturing issues that may or may not be a problem for you.
Mounting and assembly are straight forward. You must drill into a secure base and bolt it on with 4 bolts. The bolts that came with it are not hardened, so it would be advisable to replace them with better bolts to help prevent shearing or bending under load.
The neck of the crane has several holes drilled through it for a locking pin to secure the boom from swinging during use or travel. We found the holes were not aligned with the base which meant the boom did not lock squarely at anything close to 90 degree angles to the vehicle. In addition, the holes were not drilled squarely to one another, so the locking pin could not slide all the way through. We had to drill our own holes in order for the boom to line up properly in the stored position and for the locking pin to be able to slide all the way in.
In addition, the bolts used in the winch are low grade and will easily bend. The bolt securing the directional latch on the winch, which determines which way the winch is turning and secures the line from feeding out when under load, has bent and allows the gears to turn freely at all times due to the bolt not being hardened steel.
A recent job required us to pull out more cable than we normally do revealing that the factory cable was severely crimped in a couple of places. This has the effect of reducing the load capacity by about 50%. After less than 10 uses, having to replace the winch is unacceptable.
The rotation of the boom is acheived by simply having one pipe slide over another - no bearings. The result is that when under load, the boom can be difficult to swing. You may want to grease the pipes before assembling.
Bottom line, the price makes this very attractive, but as you might have read from other users, modifications are likely to be needed for this to be a long term performer. However, it does provide a good starting point for do it yourself types."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
AMF1
Austin, TX 
 
Please wait while more information about AMF1 is loaded.
Additional information about AMF1 could not be loaded.
Follow Up
May 23, 2012
"Shortly after posting this review, another repair had to be made. The bolt that holds base of the jack on it's swivel connector managed to work it's way out. Two problems with this: One, there is no need for a swivel bracket in this application as it can't swivel. Two, the bolt should not have fallen out as the only movement in the area is due to vibration of the vehicle.
My conclusion is that this tool is not going to last long, even with repairs. I'm now concerned with the integrity of the welding and quality of metal used. I'm sure both are very poor."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools Pickup Truck Crane - 1000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good value

,
October 13, 2011
By dheery
from warminster,pa
"Mounted in back of my dump truck. Picks up & unloads my heavy and awkward plate compactor like it is nothing. Can't beat it for the cost."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools Pickup Truck Crane - 1000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gets the job done

,
June 18, 2011
By jasonf451
from Atlanta
"I restore old Coke machines from the sixties. As you might guess, these things are bulky and HEAVY. I bought this to help me handle these things and what a great job it's done. Lifts them right off the ground easily. I've also used it for lots of other stuff too.
I do suggest welding a ½" piece of plate steel between the crossmembers on the underside of your truck bed cause the angle iron that shipped with this just won't cut it.
I also replaced the hand winch with a reversible electric one.
A great crane!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools Pickup Truck Crane - 1000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pick Up Crane

,
March 16, 2011
By FarnhamCreek
from Farnham, VA
"I had originally priced making a crane such as this to lift oysters floats out of the water. There is no way that I could have even come close to the cost of this item even if I used scrap metal. It looks well made and it will suit our purposes perfectly!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools Pickup Truck Crane - 1000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very usefull

,
March 14, 2011
By CPSS
from Clifton Park, NY
"I have been looking for a way to unload standby generators at customers jobsites, and all the cranes I researched were way too much money. When I found this one I thought it must be pretty light weight for that price. I was pleasently suprised. Its well built, strong, and exactly what we needed. The mounting needs to be reinforced on a typical pickup truck, and needs to be attached to the truck frame. Ours was pretty easy with some 3/8" plate and some angles and a welder. One man can easily unload and place in position a 450 lb generator in minutes."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Tools Pickup Truck Crane - 1000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pickup Truck Crane is more than wonderful

,
November 17, 2010
By luddeke
from Dallas Fort Worth Texas
"I purchased this product to help with loading my Honda Generator (which was also purchased at NT) but since the purchase I have also used it for many different things. I have Pulled old fence post with concrete out of their holes and placed them in the back of my truck with ease. I have used the truck crane also to hoist the three whitetail deer up for cleaning and placing them in the bed of my truck.
With the several uses of this product I highly reccomend this product as a must have for a individual or contractor. Its many uses make it the best product I have in my list of "TOYS" my wife says!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Tools Pickup Truck Crane - 1000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Price, Does what its suppose to

,
May 24, 2010
By FOUO
from Wisconsin
"Installed in the back of cube van to lower and retrieve a sewer camera. It was installed in less than an hour. We removed the hand crank and installed an electric hoist. We saved over $800 with that combination, versus buying a crane/hoist with the same capacity."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Tools Pickup Truck Crane - 1000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great crane for the price

,
March 16, 2010
By mjlelectric
from Westford, Ma
"Use it to transport standby and portable generators to a from jobs. Going to upgrade with an electric winch soon but overall a great crane."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Tools Pickup Truck Crane - 1000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Like a helping hand

,
February 22, 2010
By Itriedthis1
from Dahlonega, Ga.
"This truck crane has been so helpful to me, it's like having a friend around, all the time. I have mine mounted on the receiver hitch, and I have loaded everything from engines, to large appliances in the back of my truck. What a back saver, gives a man great independence to know he doesn't have to wait on a neighbor, or relative for help. I also purchased an electric winch, to add even more ease to loading and unloading my truck. Sometimes I wonder how I ever did without it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Tools Pickup Truck Crane - 1000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pickup Truck Crane

,
November 10, 2009
By Anonymous
from Winter Haven, Florida
"This crane was very easy to install. Everything needed to install was included (like angle iron to help support under the floorboard) and all hardware. It was installed in the back of a 3/4 ton van(took about an hour) to assist in putting samplers into manholes (one man can do it) for wastewater sampling operations. This crane is a very economical cure for a backbreaking job even for two men to perform. Now I don't have to send out two men for a simple sampling operation."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Tools Pickup Truck Crane - 1000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product for the price

,
November 2, 2009
By Cooncan
from south central Nebraska
"You may need to beef up the underside of the truck bed a little more than what the two angle iron support pieces provide but for the cost, it can't be beat. Makes loading heavy objects into the back of the pickup a breeze. It saves my workers from a potential back injury and expensive medical bills!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Tools Pickup Truck Crane - 1000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great truck crane

,
November 2, 2009
By tom25
from Gig Harbor, Washington
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The first thing I did with the crane was to bolt it to a piece of square tube so that it could be mounted in the tow reciever. As I tow a fifth wheel trailer I am not able to mount the base in the truck. When I need to remove or install my fifth wheel hitch or handle large, heavy loads I can now accomplish the task without breaking my back. I find the crane sufficient for my use although the winch could be a little stronger."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Tools Pickup Truck Crane - 1000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

truck crane

,
May 27, 2009
By kansas
from kansas city
"the very first thing i did was remove the hand crank and install a 2,000lb 12 volt winch. i also cut off the cheap hook and installed a larger one. like some of the other guys i had to fabricate my own mounting bracket. they rely on the sheet metal of the bed to support the crane. not so much. i couldn't even put my weight on it without the bed floor flexing.
after all the mods the crane works very slick. be carefull of the tower rusting under the upper section of the crane. i had to repaint mine.
i haven't picked up an entire 4-wheeler yet, can't figure out how to hook up to it. i did, however, pick up the front end of my '04 honda foreman to work on the brakes.
i would recommend a load leveler.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Tools Pickup Truck Crane - 1000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Truck Crane

,
March 26, 2009
By Ken1234
from New York
"We mounted to a 2X2" steel trailer hitch bar for quick setup and take down. We use the lift or tilting 1000 lb steel plates off the ground. Works great for our use
However; 1. The ratchet on the winch broke on the first use (screw that holds the ratchet axle snapped 2. The hook is too small for a 1000lb shackle"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Tools Pickup Truck Crane - 1000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Truck Crane

,
March 25, 2009
By HandymanatHome
from Magalia, California
"Crane was exactly what I was looking for.
It was easy to assemble.
I had a trailer shop make a receiver base for me so I could take it on and off my truck as needed.
Made picking up my 5KW generator a snap.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Tools Pickup Truck Crane - 1000-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great log loader

,
November 18, 2008
By Woodwhacker
from Graham, WA
"I welded together some 2"x2" steel square tube and plate as a mount that slips into the trailer hitch receiver on my pick-up so it can be set up or removed in a couple of minutes. Used it to load 200 pound+ logs for firewood. Worked great. This crane is about as simple and bullet proof as a boulder."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.