Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Drum Deheader

Northern Industrial Drum Deheader

Item# 143032
Cuts top off a standard 30- to 55-gallon industrial steel drum, leaving an untorn edge around rim so drum can be reused. Easy one-person operation. Made of forged steel with replaceable alloy steel blade Item# 143033. Cuts top off a standard 30- to 55-gallon industrial steel drum, keeping drum reusable Easy one-person operation Remove drum lids comfortably using the leverage from the long arm Non-skid rubber hand grip for comfort Adjustable to open steel drums with different thicknesses Made of rugged forged steel with replaceable alloy steel blade Item# 143033 - sold separately
Average Customer Rating:
2.944 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (18 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
6
11 of 18(61%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Drum Deheader
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Drum Deheader
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

drum deheader

,
September 4, 2014
By txlnghrn
from temple,tx
"works ok decent design.need to sharpen blade when you get it.worked terrible out of box sharpened blade worked ok then."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Drum Deheader
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Junk

,
May 12, 2014
By Rick12345
from Ma
"After getting it second day air you could see the cutting blade was flat so i had to sharpen it. I have used others in the past but not the northern brand. Spend a little more and get the better one."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Drum Deheader
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wayne

,
January 20, 2014
By Wizardofwild
from Tx
"I had one of these deheaders several years ago until it was stolen. I ordered this one and it showed up today just as promised. I immediately went out back and deheaded three oilfield drums with no problems. It takes about 1 minute to the drum and anyone from the oilfield will tell you there is nothing uniform about the oilfield. These drums were all a little different but no problem.
You can't ask for anything better than for a product to do what it is advertised to do.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Drum Deheader
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Saves Time and Labor

,
April 23, 2013
By westman407
from misssouri
"normally i have to take off the top of a barrel with an axe and a hammer. With this drum deheader it sure saves a lot of effort. It is still not easy to do but it is easier. I have found that some drums with too deep a ridge it does not work on. But for the drums it does, it saves so much effort."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Drum Deheader
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

drum deheader

,
March 18, 2013
By StarBrass
from SLC, UT
"The blade on this tool is too short to cut 55 gal drums. If it was 1/2 inch longer it would work fine."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Drum Deheader
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not dehead 55 gallon steel drums

,
October 8, 2012
By JosephK
from Columbia, SC
"This drum deheader is supposed to work like an oldtime can opener. You fit it to the drum head so that the lower part of the deheader clamps to the bottom of the rim while the upper part of the deheader is to serve as a kind of guillotine while you exert downward pressure. But this tool is too poorly made to work properly after just a few ragged slices into the drum head. We gave up on the drum deheader halfway through one drum head. It took more than an hour to get to that point. We bought a small, battery operated reciprocating saw to handle drum deheading. It works well. The drum deheader was a waste of our time and money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Drum Deheader
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Might open tin cans, but not steel drums

,
August 13, 2012
By JeepOwner
from Greenville, SC
"Maybe we have tougher than average drums or the upper lip is too tall, but this tool has not been able to do more than make a few dents in the top much less a hole."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Drum Deheader
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

You get what you pay for

,
April 3, 2012
By WVOman
from Minneapolis MN
"After figuring out how to use the tool, it worked well. The deheader left a fairly smooth edge and overall did a decent job, but there's definately a learning curve. Having instructions in the box would have been very useful."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Drum Deheader
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Drum deheader

,
November 10, 2011
By Madstill
from Idaho
"Did not work at all. The blade is cut improperly-it is too shallow. I used a friend's deheader which is identical except for the blade and his works well."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Drum Deheader
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Limited use only -

,
June 28, 2011
By drumdemon
from Middle Tennessee
"As the lowest price alternative in the drum deheader offerings from Northern Tool, this is a servicable tool that will mostly cut through drum tops. However, if you have to cut more than 1 or 2 drums per month, spend the extra money for the more expensive rotary cutter. Heres what goes wrong with the low price alternative.
1. The drum top may stretch under the blade rather than cut. This makes it difficult to start a cut.
2. Once a cut is started, cut only in the forward direction and make very small cuts. Trying to cut too much at once causes the aforementioned stretching of the metal rendering it unable to be cut by this tool.
3. If the rim of the drum is flattened in any spots, carefully hammer it out to a rounded profile, the tool has difficulty transitioning from a round rim to a flattened area.
4. No drum I have cut so far has cut successfully all the way around with the tool. In all cases, small sections have remained uncut and I had to cut them manually to get the top off.
If I had to cut more than 1 or 2 drums a month, the more more expensive cutter would be in my toolbox now. Regardless, my next drum cutter purchase will be the rotary cutter."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Drum Deheader
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

drum deheader

,
June 16, 2011
By mark3885
"Seems to be a well built product . It doesn't leave a very smooth edge. The edge is somewhat ragged . You could cut yourself on the edge , just like a metal can . Overall, it got the job done."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Drum Deheader
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

don't work

,
May 26, 2010
By popshallman
from Lexington,S.C.
"The drum deheader is a piece of junk. I have used a drum deheader at my former job and it worked great. This one don't work at all. When I come to pickup this meat grinder I will bring it and a drum and see if someone at the store can teach me something. So far this is the worst thing I have purchased from northern tool. I am very dissatisfied with it. I hope your guys can show me how to work it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Drum Deheader
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Instructions would be nice !

,
February 15, 2010
By returncustomer
from Union, Missouri
"This a sturdy well made tool, but it came with NO instructions. There is a BIG learning curve if you have never de-headed a drum before. Instructions would have been a great help as I`m sure I looked like I was wrestling a greased pig. I am very handy with tools, but this one was hard to use at first. The 2 stars is for no instructions, if it would have had them I would have given it at least 4 stars"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Drum Deheader
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is GREAT!!

,
November 2, 2009
By ScottyBoy
from Southwestern Pennsylvania
"Anyone who has spent the time cutting out the end of a 55-gallon drum with a hammer and a chisel knows how time consuming and dangerous it can be. It would take about 10 minutes for my one wrist to be considered useable again because it locked into the position of holding the chisel. Not with this tool. It's as simple as using a can opener. Do yourself a favor and buy one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Drum Deheader
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Jack of all trades

,
June 25, 2009
By remclassic
from Livingston, TX
"Works well and after figuring out how to use it best, then the time to remove the lid was cut in half or better.
Would like to have instructions in packaging. Some learning curves are avoided with a few simple instructions.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Drum Deheader
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

drum deheader

,
April 16, 2008
By texasgreenacres
from orange grove texas
"some drums that are sealed type have flameable chemicals in them.and to remove the top requires a chisel a hammer and lots of elbow grease.you can't use a torch because it will blow up.unless you fill it with water.drilling around the top takes forever. the tool is like a large can opener does a great job.no rough edges leaves a really smooth finish. i'm 65 and it's been a blessing for me to have one.one of the best tools i've ever owned. thank you charles orange grove texas"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Drum Deheader
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drum Deheader

,
March 7, 2007
By Alternator
from Mesa, Az.
"Have cut over 40 drums on the one blade and still in good shape. The person we had cutting them is not that mechanical inclined and had no problem using it . Did purchase extra blade with it just in case hav'nt needed it yet."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Drum Deheader
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It works.

,
November 30, 2006
By 60something
from AZ
"This tool is fairly simple so the test is , does it work? Yes it works. It is fairly simple to use. It opens drums in a few minutes and leaves a good edge. I am 63 and can open drums by myself."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.