Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Millside Wagon Kit - 800-Lb. Capacity, Model# 01728"

"Millside Wagon Kit - 800-Lb. Capacity, Model# 01728"

Item# 143309
"Create your own wagon for any job Wagon kit allows you to supply your own deck to customize your wagon. Kit fits deck size range of 16-24in.W and 30-48in. L predrilled holes in metal frame allow easy fastening to deck. Preassembled includes easy-grip D-handle for comfortable transport, along with 4in. x 10in. pneumatic tires. Side Rails Included No, Load Capacity lbs. 800, Wheel Type Pneumatic, Handle Type D, Wheel Size in. 10, Frame Material Steel, Steering Type Automotive. Pneumatic tires assure a smooth ride, while the anti-tip front assembly keeps the front wheels under the deck, even on the tightest turns Fold-under handle provides compact storage 800-lb. capacity 10in.dia. x 4in.W pneumatic tires"
Average Customer Rating:
4.622 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (37 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
35 of 37(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Millside Wagon Kit - 800-Lb. Capacity, Model# 01728"
Review 1 for "Millside Wagon Kit - 800-Lb. Capacity, Model# 01728"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Missing hardware

,
May 24, 2015
By dyer29
from Ny 11768
" Disassembled the old wagon intending to use the kit to build a new wagon but when I opened the box the hardware was missing. Very annoying. Didn't have enough spare bolts in my toolbox so it's off to the hardware store. Very disappointing. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Millside Wagon Kit - 800-Lb. Capacity, Model# 01728"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wagon Kit

,
May 23, 2015
By DW70
from Loganville, GA
" My Grandson and I put this together, Had and great time building and painting it together. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Millside Wagon Kit - 800-Lb. Capacity, Model# 01728"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

red wagon

,
March 7, 2015
By bc16
from holly hill fl.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" i got this wagon kit to make a red wagon for my grandson. the wagon is 4ft by 2ft wide. I made it out of red oak, painted it red and made the railing out of oak and varnish them. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Millside Wagon Kit - 800-Lb. Capacity, Model# 01728"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT!

,
February 20, 2015
By SmittySmithsonite73
from MA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" Wow did this thing make moving my Yamaha EF6300iSDE generator EASY! The OEM wheels were rigid casters, requiring one to lift half the weight of the unit and swing it, in order to change direction - no matter how minute of a change! This coupled with the hard, skinny wheels made moving across the soft, wet lawn in springtime a REAL challenge (not to mention it ruined the lawn with 3/4" wide 2" deep ruts). I bought some U-clamps, and clamped this wagon kit to the generator. Moving and steering this thing is now 100% easier! It made the unit sit up alot higher, and is slightly unstable due to the height, but as long as I don't RUN across the lawn towing it behind me, it won't tip over. The fat tires just roll over all kinds of imperfections with ease. I do keep one hand on the generator when encountering uneven surfaces, due to the now higher center of gravity. Haven't had any close calls with it yet, however. I greased every moving part during assembly to prevent future problems. So far, not one issue after over 1 year of use, aside from having to air up the tires every so often, which is to be expected. Highly recommended! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Millside Wagon Kit - 800-Lb. Capacity, Model# 01728"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Wagon/cart frame

,
October 17, 2014
By PaulBun
from Colorado Springs, CO
" The product works just fine. The first concern is the lack of instructions. Even a note saying that there are no instructions would have helped. There is no hardware included because you have to design the platform for your own purpose. I will keep the product and use the product, but I will not buy another or reccommend the product to anyone. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-7points
2out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Millside Wagon Kit - 800-Lb. Capacity, Model# 01728"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great Wagon - Bad Handle

,
July 12, 2014
By TexasRoadRunner
from Houston, Texas
" I purchased 2 of these wagon kits to permanently mount large electronic signs on and wheel in and out of my trailer. The wagon structure itself is perfect. It's definitely built to handle a load, and they are easy to assemble. My only complaint was the handle. While the structure is rated to hold 800 lbs, the handle is made from plastic. I have loads of about 500 lbs on each of my two carts, and I've already broken both handles within the first month. If you don't plan on using the given handles for your cart, then this will do the trick. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Millside Wagon Kit - 800-Lb. Capacity, Model# 01728"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
June 10, 2014
By Jester7
from Ohio
" This was a great purchase it's was Exactly what I was looking for for to build a wagon for my daughter. The Quality was superb all part were well fitted and finished only down side was the lugs for the wheels they are plastic but easily replaced so no big deal I would recommend this to anyone looking to build a wagon or yard cart. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Millside Wagon Kit - 800-Lb. Capacity, Model# 01728"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun project for grandson

,
December 21, 2013
By lmg47
from Golden, CO
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" The undercarriage hardware is high quality but missing a few key things. You have to buy washers to shim the wheels or they move on the axles. The plastic hub/retainers should be metal. The wagon I made should last a long time, even though Van is only a year old. I made it big enough to double as a "toy chest" until he is old enough to use it. At 20 inches wide, it is probably better for a kid aged 5-10. For fun, the back panel has inlaid black mottle makore wood for his name and I used oak for the front piece and stake sides. Thanks to other builders for their pictures that gave me some of the ideas "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Millside Wagon Kit - 800-Lb. Capacity, Model# 01728"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Barebones Kit

,
November 19, 2013
By Stefano
from Mississauga, ON
" I wanted to build a cart to move my dock sections at the end of the year so I bought two complete kits to build one, six-foot by 10-foot wagon. Good price but very poorly packaged. Parts were sticking out of the box by the time I received the two boxes. Inside each box, four wheels, rear axle assembly, front axle assembly, one handle and one shredded instruction sheet. Got the instructions from this website and printed them out. They speak about using "the template", but you have to make that template as they just provide a measured drawing.
The whole things looks to be pretty well made and solid, exactly what I was looking for. The instructions talk about nuts, bolts and washers but don't provide any with the kit (how would they know what your deck thickness is going to be?) and just give you a hint as to what size the (two different sizes of) bolts to use.
You can figure it out.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Millside Wagon Kit - 800-Lb. Capacity, Model# 01728"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A wagon for Grandson

,
November 11, 2013
By 58h12
from South Central Wisconsin
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" This Kit was perfect for my needs. True, I don't need several hundred pound capacity, but I am happy with it's being well built. Make sure you mock up the hole locations first and double check their location. I may build another. Wood handle is glued strips formed. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Millside Wagon Kit - 800-Lb. Capacity, Model# 01728"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Item to make my Hammermill Chipper towable!

,
May 29, 2013
By OmniWho
from Lansdale PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I purchased an old Hammermill Chipper a few months ago and from the time I purchased it, I wanted to make it towable with my garden tractor. For months I searched different websites to find and purchase various parts until I found this wagon kit at Northern. I figured that if it didn't fit or work out the way I wanted it to, it would make a great beach wagon. Well - it worked out great! I had to modify/re-weld the chipper base / foot (see before and after pictures) to accept the front axle and I still want to find a different handle for attaching it cleanly to my tractor, but I can't wait to try it out! The chipper MFG wanted almost $400 for their kit and I could only buy the parts through a 3rd party distributor. NO thank you! This Wagon Kit did the trick and more. I still might buy another kit to build that beach wagon! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Millside Wagon Kit - 800-Lb. Capacity, Model# 01728"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Wagon Kit!

,
October 22, 2012
By OrBlackFZ1
from Beaverton, Oregon
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" The wagon kit is a great way to create the foundation for a shop cart. I added a 1-1/8" x 22" x 40" plywood deck , four (4) recessed tie downs and a mahogany rim to the kit to create a shop cart for hauling wood and equipment from my truck into the shop. I then added a 2" x 4" triangular stand on top to hold 4' x 12' sheets of drywall that I was using to finish my workshop. I remove the shop cart's steering handle at the bottom of my 30' long ramp and attach my chain hoist to the handle mount. The cart tracks perfectly up the 16% grade to my shop door.
The kit has all the right parts and is made very well. The heaviest load I have carried on the cart is about 600 lbs. The cart handled the load with no trouble at all. I have a 950 lb surface planer that I will be moving into my shop with the new cart in a couple of weeks. The cart should handle it easily.
Great Kit! I have no complaints about the kit at all! I highly recommend the kit for making your own custom shop cart. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Millside Wagon Kit - 800-Lb. Capacity, Model# 01728"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy product and easy assembly

,
August 13, 2012
By RockvilleJim
from Rockville, Md
" Works well for our organization. We bought 2 of these and made the bodies ourselves for use in moving computer equipment around. The balloon tires work really well indoors and outdoors over uneven surfaces. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Millside Wagon Kit - 800-Lb. Capacity, Model# 01728"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

First Birthday Present

,
August 13, 2012
By GrampaMax
from Pendleton, IN
" I bought this kit to build my grandson a wagon for his first birthday. Was very impressed with quality of the kit. With a little tweaking on the braces it went together fairly easy. I replaced the plastic wheel nuts with locking metal nuts just to be safe.My grandson loves the wagon. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Millside Wagon Kit - 800-Lb. Capacity, Model# 01728"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kids Wagon

,
July 12, 2012
By warmachine
from Long Beach, California
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Needed a good ungercarriage for a "Kids" wagon I wanted to build from scratch. I took actual dimensions from an old "Red Flyer" wagon and built the entire wagon from redwood pieces. This kit allows the wagon to steer like a car. Highly recommended for ANY wagon project !!! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Millside Wagon Kit - 800-Lb. Capacity, Model# 01728"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beach Buggy

,
July 4, 2012
By jeeprenegade
from Peaks Island, Me
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I used this product to build a wagon that could haul everything needed for a day at the beach.
The wheel kit was easy to attach using a few carriage bolts. The steering is smooth and the pneumatic tires easily go over rocks and sand.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Millside Wagon Kit - 800-Lb. Capacity, Model# 01728"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wagon kit

,
May 7, 2012
By Garm
from Monticello, MN
" I have used this wagon kit twice in the last month to make 2 wagons. The product is excellent. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Millside Wagon Kit - 800-Lb. Capacity, Model# 01728"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wagon Kit

,
January 19, 2012
By househusband
from Atlanta, GA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I bought this wagon kit for my grandson and built it over a couple of weeks to give to him for Christmas. The kit is complete enough to allow many different design options. The component parts in the kit are good quality for a kids wagon and I know he will get many years out of it. The steering mechanism is much better than most wagons available in the stores, it is really heavy duty and does not bind when turning. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Millside Wagon Kit - 800-Lb. Capacity, Model# 01728"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

pet owner

,
October 10, 2011
By sandy
from Ryndon (Elko County), NV
" We had difficulty getting an pet cage in and out of the house daily. This kit helped me make an custom size wagon that would not catch furniture or the doorway like an regular yard wagon. The tires also helped softened the jolts when pulling over an gravel drive. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Millside Wagon Kit - 800-Lb. Capacity, Model# 01728"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Value

,
June 13, 2011
By Jenally
from New York, NY
" Purchased the wagon under assembly to rebuild an existing wagon.. Upon receipt of the kit, I was very pleased with the quality of the parts and value. The parts are heavy duty, simple to assemble and strong enough to handle any household loads...
I highly recommend this product to anyone interested in making or rebuilding a pull wagon and saving money.... "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.