Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Wel-Bilt 4 1/2in. Angle Grinder Kit - 4.5 Amp, Model# HP-023-17-WB

FREE SHIPPING - Wel-Bilt 4 1/2in. Angle Grinder Kit - 4.5 Amp, Model# HP-023-17-WB

Item# 1433781
This Wel-Bilt 4 1/2in. Angle Grinder Kit gives you everything you need to effectively grind and sand metal, wood and more. Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies. Amps 4.5, Battery Included No, Product Type Handheld, Side Handle Yes, Speed RPM 11,000, Spindle Lock Yes, Spindle Thread Size 5.8 in.-11, Switch Type Slide w/lock on, Variable Speed No, Wheel Diameter in. 4 1/2, Wheel Included Yes. 4.5 Amp, 500 Watt motor Slide switch w/lock on 5.8'-11 spindle w/spindle lock Aluminum gear housing Side handle Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies
Average Customer Rating:
4.438 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (16 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 of 16(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Wel-Bilt 4 1/2in. Angle Grinder Kit - 4.5 Amp, Model# HP-023-17-WB
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Wel-Bilt 4 1/2in. Angle Grinder Kit - 4.5 Amp, Model# HP-023-17-WB
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy Duty Lightweight

,
July 30, 2014
By TradesJack
from Trinity,NC
""This is a powerful little tool, but with surprisingly quiet operation. Well balanced and substantial enough to make quick work of a project, yet light enough to prevent user fatigue before completing the task at hand. Accessories attach easily and stay put. The handle can be placed on either side increasing maneuverability and access to tight spaces. The extra brushings are an added bonus.""
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Wel-Bilt 4 1/2in. Angle Grinder Kit - 4.5 Amp, Model# HP-023-17-WB
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grinder

,
May 21, 2014
By JayX
from Cali
"Arrived quickly and works as well as the grinder I use at work."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Wel-Bilt 4 1/2in. Angle Grinder Kit - 4.5 Amp, Model# HP-023-17-WB
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grinder

,
May 1, 2014
By YGBSM
from Montana
"Works great for light work. Good bargin for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Wel-Bilt 4 1/2in. Angle Grinder Kit - 4.5 Amp, Model# HP-023-17-WB
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pleasant Surprise

,
February 8, 2014
By Sammythelobster
from Barren County, KY
"My old grinder died and I had to have another quickly. I found this one online and took a chance. The grinder arrived in three days which was the first pleasant surprise. The second was the heft and power. It performs as well as the high-dollar name brand grinder I had been using at a fraction of the cost and came with all the accessories I need. Truly an excellent value."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Wel-Bilt 4 1/2in. Angle Grinder Kit - 4.5 Amp, Model# HP-023-17-WB
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Angle Grinder!

,
January 20, 2014
By AnyNameITryHasBeenTaken
from Princeton, MN
"I had a 4" angle grinder before but it only lasted for about an hour of use. I happened to be at the Northern Tool Store in Rogers, MN one day and they had these on sale for the same price as these, if I remember right. Anyway, I talked to one of the guys there and asked him about them. The old one I had looked the same as this one. He said they have one in the back that they use most every day for the last few years and it still works good. That was good enough for me and I purchased it. That was a couple of years ago and it's still running great. It grinds great and cuts off metal nicely with a cutoff disk. The one I got was red where these are black but what's in a color? I like it and it's been working good for me."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Wel-Bilt 4 1/2in. Angle Grinder Kit - 4.5 Amp, Model# HP-023-17-WB
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works as it should

,
April 24, 2013
By ashtrae311
from Caryville, TN
"works pretty good to be a cheap grinder I'm impressed and its nice that it comes with extras motor brushes so hopefully it should last a long time"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Wel-Bilt 4 1/2in. Angle Grinder Kit - 4.5 Amp, Model# HP-023-17-WB
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good value

,
April 23, 2013
By mtc2
from tulsa,ok
"caught this on sale for five dollars off,can't beat that.works just fine,probably not tough enough for professional welders, but for every now and then use it works very well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Wel-Bilt 4 1/2in. Angle Grinder Kit - 4.5 Amp, Model# HP-023-17-WB
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

First Grinder -ever-

,
April 23, 2013
By Anonymous
from shelby, montana
"this is my first grinder- i got it off ebay- northern tool got it here timely and in one piece- i hooked it up- gave it a spin- cut a few things with it- works great- then didnt send any of the thin culling disks- which would have been groovy- but thats just bein nit pickey i guess- great little tool- -peace-"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Wel-Bilt 4 1/2in. Angle Grinder Kit - 4.5 Amp, Model# HP-023-17-WB
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

piece of junk!!

,
February 17, 2013
By michael434445
from NC
"This is the worst tool I have bought from Northern ...I used it on 3 small jobs...!) polished an air compressor head...
2) cut 2 pieces of 1/8" mild steel round stock
3) Turned on to do some sanding and it growled and quit.!!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Wel-Bilt 4 1/2in. Angle Grinder Kit - 4.5 Amp, Model# HP-023-17-WB
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

not what I thought

,
October 20, 2012
By thezig
from mpls, mn
"Bought this thinking it would get me through just a couple of jobs because of the low price, turns out to be a good grinder when you use quality grinding discs."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Wel-Bilt 4 1/2in. Angle Grinder Kit - 4.5 Amp, Model# HP-023-17-WB
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Angle Grinder

,
October 20, 2012
By Eagle4
from Texas
"This is my first Angle Grinder, so I can't say much about comparing it to other brands and types. I use it exclusively for heavy sanding on wood. I've had it for about 3-4 months and have only used it 5 or 6 times, each no more than 30 minutes at a time. I like it that you can change the motor brushes because that really extends the tool's life. It shoots dust everywhere, so be sure to wear a mask or respirator. The gear housing gets a little warm, but that is to be expected. As for wheels, I have used up all 60 and 80 grit wheels and replacements were easy to find. Overall, it is very good in my opinion."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Wel-Bilt 4 1/2in. Angle Grinder Kit - 4.5 Amp, Model# HP-023-17-WB
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Get the Job Done Grinder

,
October 9, 2012
By inthewood
from Aylett, VA
"I find this tool a great asset for field work when I am having to work away from my shop. The grinder was a really good value for the money and if lost it or it was permanently borrowed I am not out a terrific amount of capital. It has performed, and still is performing, to my satisfaction. I find these type of tools to be perfect for the jobs I need to do in field conditions."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Wel-Bilt 4 1/2in. Angle Grinder Kit - 4.5 Amp, Model# HP-023-17-WB
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wel-Bilt 4 1/2in. Angle Grinder

,
August 13, 2012
By TheHeartGuy
from Midland, MI
"This is a great little grinder and a valuable addition to my shop. The quality is good and I expect I'll be using it for a long time."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Wel-Bilt 4 1/2in. Angle Grinder Kit - 4.5 Amp, Model# HP-023-17-WB
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for my needs

,
January 16, 2012
By Bobby37076
from Nashville, TN
"I got this to use occasionally for grinding and sanding metal. Works very well with plenty of power for my needs. Be sure to use gloves and eye protection as it really throws the sparks. For the price it can't be beat."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Wel-Bilt 4 1/2in. Angle Grinder Kit - 4.5 Amp, Model# HP-023-17-WB
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Things that are great about it

,
October 10, 2011
By dakotadewey
from Sioux Falls
"This unit is sturdy and has a enough power to grind down the ugliest welds. it is light and easy to handle when sharpening lawn mower blades. The wheels are easily changes to go from grinding to sanding. The cost comparison between this tool and one of the name brand griders on the market made this an easy choice. I would highly recomend this product"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Wel-Bilt 4 1/2in. Angle Grinder Kit - 4.5 Amp, Model# HP-023-17-WB
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Economy Grinder

,
October 10, 2011
By MacGiver
from Minnesota
"Just bought a mig welder and needed a small grinder for weld cleanups. This one sure did the trick. More than enough power and works as good as a more expensive unit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.