Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Concrete Vibrator - 3/4 HP, 13,000 VPM

FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Concrete Vibrator - 3/4 HP, 13,000 VPM

Item# 143382
Tapered motor housing is from 3 1/4in. nearest the shaft to 2 1/2in. by the grip. Grip measures 1 1/4in. across the top. Vibrating head diameter 35 MM. High frequency vibrations help settle concrete FAST. Vibration tube is 1 3/8in. diameter and 43 1/2in. long. Overall length with drill housing is 54in. Dependable 110 Volt, 60 Hz., 5.3 Amp motor. 1-year limited warranty. Shaft Diameter in. 1 3/8, Shaft Length in. 43 1/2, Overall Length in. 54, Vibrations Per Minute VPM 13,000, Volts 110, HP 3/4.
Average Customer Rating:
4.316 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (19 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
18 of 19(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Concrete Vibrator - 3/4 HP, 13,000 VPM
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Concrete Vibrator - 3/4 HP, 13,000 VPM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Takes some getting used to

,
March 16, 2013
By WillyBFlamin
from Anchorage, AK
"My partner and I are quite experienced with similar toys as this one. We decided to give it the old college try, despite my reservations on its less-than-1.5" diameter girth. Sure enough, the teeth chattering power made up for its lack of size. We have used this toy now for a few months and it has brought us through on some really dirty jobs."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+11points
18out of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Concrete Vibrator - 3/4 HP, 13,000 VPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good tool for the money

,
March 5, 2013
By Kmanz
from Omaha, NE
"I poured decorative concrete and countertops. This tool was used regularly on a weekly basis, dropped on the floor, dropped in the concrete, and just not treated very well in general. It lasted 8-9 years! Let's just say, I'll have another one on order soon."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Concrete Vibrator - 3/4 HP, 13,000 VPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Results

,
August 13, 2012
By 34WillysGasser
from Upper Lake, CA
"We recently poured concrete footings and stem walls for a building slab. As the concrete was pumped into the forms, I just dropped the wand into the mud, pulled the trigger, and watched the mud flow down the form center, and stopped the vibrator when the mud reached the bottom of the forms. No hammer tapping the forms at all. When we pulled the form boards, we had the smoothest and most consistant pour we've done.
Lows- The motor sounds cheap, like it's grinding itself up, but it never gave us any problems. Also, sometimes you had the rap the wand against the form or something solid to get the vibrating action working.....but, the results were well beyond my expectations.
Highs- The long power chord, the price, and the results.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Concrete Vibrator - 3/4 HP, 13,000 VPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for small jobs

,
October 10, 2011
By YourMdr
from Kirkwood, CA
"Simple and easy to use; very portable
Sometimes requires a slight bump to start vibrating.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Concrete Vibrator - 3/4 HP, 13,000 VPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Concrete Vibrator

,
November 17, 2010
By tmyers
from Girard, PA
"For the occasional/home user you can't go wrong with this product. Excellent value for the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Concrete Vibrator - 3/4 HP, 13,000 VPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool

,
June 1, 2010
By Dennis13
from Jackson CA.
"I'm building a 240 foot retaining wall that is four feet high six inches wide and two hundred fourty feet long. This vibrator has made the project go much easier. The air pockets have been eliminated.
This is a GREAT TOOL.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Concrete Vibrator - 3/4 HP, 13,000 VPM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

vibrator

,
February 22, 2010
By guyr
from fl
"Bought 2 of these, they work as advertised, great price, handy for smaller jobs"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Concrete Vibrator - 3/4 HP, 13,000 VPM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

works good for the money

,
February 22, 2010
By amercasa
from minneapolis & Spain
"bought it so i could stop paying for a rental. it was on sale so i decided to take the plunge. the - bang to get it going is something to get used to but not a big deal. i suppose other units cost a lot more so the luxury of having a switch has it´s cost. i would buy it again although i see the price is considerably higher. a 25% increase in a year and a half? in these times? for construction tools of all things??? maybe it was the dollar dropping. that would make more sense."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Concrete Vibrator - 3/4 HP, 13,000 VPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

By far one of the best

,
November 2, 2009
By mwcomplete
from Brookfeild, CT
"As a smaller construction firm, we mostly did excavation as our main focus. We do have the form and supplies needed to do concrete work, but for the last past 15 years we just "stabbed" the concrete to get all air pockets out. But just recently we got into 'decretive concrete" and we tried using our method of stabbing it, but the results where not good, especially on steps. So there was this need for a cheap in-expencive vibrator that would last. And well where else to look to, but Northern Tool? We purchased this item about 2 years ago, and it was probably one of the best choices out there. This vibrator, never stops running, It never goes more than a week with out being used. Yes some people complain about the fact that you have to slap it to start it sometimes, but that is besides the fact, it is very simple to slap, and stops right up, by far one of the best ones out there, I would definitely recommend this to any small contractor, even large construction firms. One of the many great tools by northern, very impressed."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Concrete Vibrator - 3/4 HP, 13,000 VPM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Amasing results

,
August 11, 2008
By Rusty4u
from Ottawa, Canada
"My son and I do the occasional concrete forming for steps/walkways etc and had not previously used any vibrator to settle the concrete. I bought this vibrator to see what the difference would be but didn't want to spend a lot of money without knowing the effect of vibration. It was amasing.
The only criticism I had seen in previous reviews was that you had to shock the tool to start the vibrations and that was no problem at all. Just give the end a bump on anything and then stick it in the concrete. The concrete flows into all areas and when we remove the forms there are no ugly air pockets on the face of the finished concrete.
The tools does come with a spare set of brushes for the motor which is never a good sign of the anticipated useful life but we are only occasional users and would expect to get many years out of the tool.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Concrete Vibrator - 3/4 HP, 13,000 VPM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent

,
August 11, 2008
By Heath23
from CAZENOVIA, NY
"This product works great and the price is right. We are rebuilding a barn and poured concete for the floor, this concrete vibrator is perfect for the small jobs around the farm. Northern products are very resonably priced and work great. If this product was cordless it would be even better! Will definetly recommend to others."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Concrete Vibrator - 3/4 HP, 13,000 VPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Concrete Vibrator

,
January 21, 2008
By 45JOHNROD
from Houston, TX
"I purchased this vibrator because of the reviews I read as well as this was one of the cheapest I found on line. I am putting in a concrete pathway from one side of the house, rear and all the way to the other side of the house. The width is 5' and the slabs were in 10' increments with half inch rebar. The extra length of the cord was helpful as well as when in use it made little work of spreading and getting out air pockets. With a maximum depth of the slab between 4" and 5" it has proven a very worthy investment for concrete projects. I have put in steel and 4X6 posts 32" deep in the ground for fencing and gates and it has helped make sure again that the concrete is spread out evenly and air pockets removed. For a DIYer this is all you need. The power as well as handling capability was just fine for me. If you have large projects or are a professional, yes you might invest in something larger and more expensive. For the price, I found this tool to be money well spent."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Concrete Vibrator - 3/4 HP, 13,000 VPM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

3/4hp concrete vibrator

,
January 14, 2008
By rwestf
from squamish, bc
"A simple mechanical vibrator. Great for small foundation walls or countertops. The mechanism requires that you first press the trigger then wack or kick the head to get it viberating. I believe this speaks for the simplicity of the design which will likely translate into a long life. Comes with extra brushes"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Concrete Vibrator - 3/4 HP, 13,000 VPM
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Concrete Vibrator

,
October 31, 2007
By dkhanlen
from Denver, CO
"We use to vibrate concrete counter tops in two inch deep molds. Is a little large for the application and the vibration level comes and goes which slows things down."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Concrete Vibrator - 3/4 HP, 13,000 VPM
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

good vibration, but not heavy duty

,
October 8, 2007
By jegr
from Tx
"Good vibration in the concrete, but not heavy duty. plastic body makes it now rough enought"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Concrete Vibrator - 3/4 HP, 13,000 VPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3/4 hp vibrator

,
July 9, 2007
By Victor1
from Philadelphia
"This is a compact handy tool. I used this might mite on a new retaining wall and my wall looks perfect. I"ve used larger vibrators in the past but this tool may be the only one I'll
use in the future.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Concrete Vibrator - 3/4 HP, 13,000 VPM
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cost Effective Tool

,
July 9, 2007
By rick99
from Greenville Sc
"I am working a long term but small concrete project that includes filling the core of concrete blocks and poring a slab. The vibrator works great. No voids along the edges etc. When you pull the trigger it might not start vibrating right off, particularly if the vibrator is already in the mix, so I just start it and then insert it. Good price. Good product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Concrete Vibrator - 3/4 HP, 13,000 VPM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Odi77

,
March 9, 2007
By Odi77
from a ranch in Texas
"I needed a versatile concrete vibrator; but every one of them was abit out of my price range until this Northern model popped up during a search.
The unit works great. I have used it on several pours and have not found any of the usual small voids along form lines or with hollow block builds so far with small aggregate.
If it were only possible to change out the long probe for say a 24 inch one to more easily work slab edeges and corners too."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Northern Industrial Tools Concrete Vibrator - 3/4 HP, 13,000 VPM
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value but not perfect

,
March 7, 2007
By Steve32
from Rural Sotuh Texas
"The price made this more practical than having to drive to an equipment center and rent one periodically. The downside is that it doesn't start vibrating when I pull the trigger. The instructions say you have to "shock" it into action. I assume this means plunging it in and out of the concrete and whipping it around until it starts vibrating. Sometimes there is a long annoying delay before it starts vibrating, but once it does, it settles concrete as well as any expensive commercial model. I' m happy with it since this quirk is less annoying than spending Saturday morning going to the rental center."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.