Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING Northern Industrial Adjustable Position Grinder Pedestal

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

FREE SHIPPING Northern Industrial Adjustable Position Grinder Pedestal

Item# 14356
Rock-steady 33 1/4in. high, 10in. x 7 1/8in. steel top plate has 7/16in. wide slots that adapt to your grinders mounting configuration. Loosen 2 set screws on top plate base to turn on 2 3/4in. diameter post. Base legs extend 7 1/4in. and have 1/2in. mounting holes. Dimensions L x W x H in. 10 x 7 1/8 x 33 1/4, Wrench Included No, Case Included No.
Average Customer Rating:
4.357 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (28 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
27 of 28(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING Northern Industrial Adjustable Position Grinder Pedestal
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING Northern Industrial Adjustable Position Grinder Pedestal
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WORTH EVERY PENNY...DO IT

,
September 17, 2013
By 12B2P
from Helena, MT
"When it comes to buying shop equipment, I like to take my time to make sure I'm getting the best quality at a good price. This stand is ruggedly constructed, and met all of my needs. No complaints."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING Northern Industrial Adjustable Position Grinder Pedestal
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

An inexpensive and surprisingly solid stand

,
April 25, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
"When I first saw the stand, I thought it might be a little top heavy as the base should be a bit heavier. I bought it anyway. It does good on it's own, holding up my bench grinders away from my work bench so I don't have long pieces of steel with limited space to work on them. I did bolt both of mine to the floor, as I wanted the extra stability. That said, they probably would have been fine on their own."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING Northern Industrial Adjustable Position Grinder Pedestal
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Stand

,
January 17, 2012
By crm123182
from Minot, ND
"For the price a nice stand for a bench grinder would of gave 5 Stars but item was scratched when delivered very sturdy if bolted to floor"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING Northern Industrial Adjustable Position Grinder Pedestal
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Holds grinder solid

,
October 10, 2011
By sootechs
from Thunder Bay Ontario Canada
"After buying this stand I realized that because of my pex heating pipe in my concrete floor, I was nervous of drilling anchor holes. I ended up bolting this stand to a piece of wood then gluing the wood to my floor with a good quality construction adhiesive. So far my pedestal is holding my grinder securely. It is great because it keeps my workspace free on my bench."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING Northern Industrial Adjustable Position Grinder Pedestal
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A good solid foundation

,
April 10, 2011
By coachbarry
from Rome, GA
"I ordered this stand for my 6" grinder (which I also ordered from NT+E) and it is just what I needed for my small diy wood shop. The price was right as is the quality. Unit is bolted to my plywood floor and is solid as can be.
I would recommend this to all who have a grinder that just "sits on a bench".
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING Northern Industrial Adjustable Position Grinder Pedestal
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good quality good price

,
March 16, 2011
By lakeside204
from maine
"just what i needed...great space saver. i anchored it to my concret floor"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING Northern Industrial Adjustable Position Grinder Pedestal
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good buy

,
March 14, 2011
By jersd
from SD
"found this to be a substance pedestal with a lot of options to mount different bases on. with this price I'll definitely get another one for my grinder."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING Northern Industrial Adjustable Position Grinder Pedestal
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

impulse

,
December 21, 2010
By smalldog
from framingham mass
"this was just an impulse buy,i saw it on sale so i grabbed it. my only problem with pedistal stand is that they tip over easy if you bump into them"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING Northern Industrial Adjustable Position Grinder Pedestal
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grinder Pedestal-Vise Stand-All Purpose Stand

,
October 28, 2010
By 1HappyContractor
from Prescott , AZ
"Awesome pedestal stand! I'm using one for my bench grinder and one for my vise! This pedestal is very well made and strong enough to hold just about anything! I will be buying some more ! They are well finished and industrial looking stands! My friends always ask me where I bought them-so I give them a catalog and say Have Fun!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING Northern Industrial Adjustable Position Grinder Pedestal
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good

,
February 15, 2010
By Guess
from Miami, Fl.
"Pretty good, easy to work, hard to broke. No too noisy. Fit in every space."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING Northern Industrial Adjustable Position Grinder Pedestal
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Priced right

,
October 19, 2009
By koumis
from Elbert Co, CO
"This is a good, affordable solution for a stand-alone grinder. I liked it so much, I bought another to mount my bench top drill press. Now I have more space on my workbench!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING Northern Industrial Adjustable Position Grinder Pedestal
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stand Review

,
August 12, 2008
By Jens
from South Dakota
"The pedestal is solidly built, although the center pipe is really too short for mounting a grindstone. To gain elevation, you either need a longer pipe or put the mounting stand on some sort of elevated base. I used a ruined tire rim and with some additional steel, bolted down through the rim."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING Northern Industrial Adjustable Position Grinder Pedestal
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

grinder pedestal

,
April 18, 2008
By ducman
from upstate, New York
"you get what you pay for, the stand was kind of cheap. it should be bolted to a floor otherwise it wobbles a lot . the center portion is hollow and very thin walled so when you tighten the top and bottom it just cruches the tube. I found some ways to make it work better. but i think there are probably better products out there for a little more money."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING Northern Industrial Adjustable Position Grinder Pedestal
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Grinder Pedestal

,
April 15, 2008
By kalbow
from Whitehall, MT
"Very good quality. Missing one set screw which was easily replaced with a 3/8 bolt. Other than that, excellent!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING Northern Industrial Adjustable Position Grinder Pedestal
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Grinder Pedestal

,
January 21, 2008
By TXtoolman
from Dallas, TX
"Good product for the price I paid, but could be a bit taller. The base is not quite level so it must be bolted to floor or attached to a larger base. Overall does a good job with a few workarounds."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING Northern Industrial Adjustable Position Grinder Pedestal
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grinder Stand

,
January 18, 2008
By acardoctor
from Durham, NC
"Very good stand for the price. Well built and will accept a large grinder. Find a good place to bolt this one down."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING Northern Industrial Adjustable Position Grinder Pedestal
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good buy

,
January 14, 2008
By ED41
from TN
"I'm 6'3" and the pedestal is just right for me standing. I always add a wider plywood base to make it more stable. I have two now. 5 stars as compaired to more costly pedestals."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING Northern Industrial Adjustable Position Grinder Pedestal
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Challenging gravity and refusing to concede

,
January 14, 2008
By Fletcher
"If you have a bench grinder and it refuses to stay 33 1/4 inches above the Earth's surface as mine does, I recommend purchasing Northern Tool's grinder pedestal. Stationed between my shop floor and the grinder, it's indeed peanut butter to their bread, to abuse a metaphor. Or, jelly, if that's your bent.
It's stable, that's for sure, in both it's physical nature and it's demeanor. It hasn't gone off on me once, and I do a lot of swearing in it's presence (although, it should be made clear, none of that is it's fault.)
The Northern Industrial Tools Adjustable Position Grinder Pedestal (or NITAPGP, as grinder pedestal cogniscenti refer to it) arrives in 3 pieces, not including the box which can be repurposed into a rocket ship by those 3 years and under. Instructions are meager; if you're having trouble determining assembly order just remember that the long skinny piece goes in the middle. (Sorry, can't help you with the rocket ship, and my 2 year old can't type.)
The 'adjustable' label is a bit misleading. There's not much to adjust. I suppose you could loosen the shaft from the base and rotate it, or lower it by cutting the tube (raising it might be somewhat more difficult.) It's not telescoping; more like confidently fixed at 33 1/4 inches.
Overall, this is a good product that does one thing, and does it well. And the box is handy too.
"
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING Northern Industrial Adjustable Position Grinder Pedestal
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

adequate for my purposes

,
January 14, 2008
By carhobbyist
from Massachusetts
"The stand arrived promptly, easy enough assembly and will get the job done. The stand's center tubing in the kit is short and flimsy so you cant really clamp down on it with the cast base or top, but I'll likely get a longer heavier piece from a metal supply house since it is too short for my liking. I didn't expect perfection so I can't complain about the price, which is why I bought it. This is perfect for a hobbyist, so I will recommend this to anyone who wants to set up a nice workshop without hurting the wallet."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING Northern Industrial Adjustable Position Grinder Pedestal
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm not a man but...

,
January 14, 2008
By Wifeofkgc
from Piedmont, Oklahoma
"My husband bought me a grinder stand for Christmas to go in my little area of his "Man Cave". Here comes the UPS Delivery and leaves the package on the porch. My husband is so excited that "My grinder stand is here" we take it to the shop to set it up but all of the parts are not with the package.
Husband takes picture and e-mails details to Northern tools. So, Northern tools says we will send you another stand ASAP. True to your word here comes the UPS Delivery.
Just because of this we will be life customers and also recommend Northern Tools to our friends.
My Grinder Stand is heavy duty. I was surprized that the stand was able to do the job in such a stable way. It was very easy to put together. Once bolted to the floor it does it's job. Now anthing that does it's job I am impressed with.
Thank you for your all around EXCELLENT service and a product that does it's job.
Sincerely dlc Wife of KGC
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.