Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Manual Gear Chain Hoist - 3-Ton

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial Manual Gear Chain Hoist - 3-Ton

Item# 1438
This hoist is designed using the latest technology and manufactured with quality materials at a price you can afford. In fact, you could spend twice as much and still not get as good a hoist. Hooks are drop forged for strength and long life. All hoists have a total lift of 10 feet. Lift Capacity (tons): 3, Lift Height (ft.): 10, Lift Chain Length (in.): 10, Pull Chain Length (in.): 10, Required Head Room (in.): 16, Lift Chain Diameter (in.): 5/16
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Manual Gear Chain Hoist - 3-Ton
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Manual Gear Chain Hoist - 3-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for any Lift

,
May 24, 2010
By Camphump1
from Valley, AL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I am restoring a 55 Chevy and don't know what I would have done without this lift as I am doing a frame off. This Chain Hoist lifted the car right off the frame with no trouble. Thanks Northern"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Manual Gear Chain Hoist - 3-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice quality

,
October 13, 2011
By calicocrow
from Ronkonkoma, New York
"THE GOOD- Came preassembled, worked well, didn't bind & well geared. THE BAD- Dust cover a little flimsy"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Manual Gear Chain Hoist - 3-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does the job at great price

,
September 2, 2010
By cowbay
from Westbury, NY
"Bought it for my equipment shop. Using fight now to lift sanders off our ten wheel dumptrucks. Lifts it no problem. Great value"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Manual Gear Chain Hoist - 3-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product for the Price

,
December 2, 2008
By mvuser
from MA
"I used this today to hoist my sander into the back of my pickup, very easily done and you have surprisingly precise control for a manual product.
For the cost - you can't beat it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Manual Gear Chain Hoist - 3-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chain Hoist

,
August 18, 2008
By Stargazer621
from Newton Al
"I used this to pick up a 25 foot 8 inch I-beam. It worked perfectly. The Only thing I noticed was that they had installed the heavy lifting chain with a twist in it. All it took was removing the attaching bolt and taking the twist out and Viola! It work perfectly. ♠"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Manual Gear Chain Hoist - 3-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3-Ton Manual Chain Hoist

,
August 11, 2008
By TonyZ
from Cottonwood, California
"Just received this and used it for the first time this past weekend. I am restoring a 1963 Corvette and used the hoist to remove the body from the frame. Normally a three or four man project, I did this by myself without any problems. This hoist is percise in its raising or lowering operation. Great tool."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Manual Gear Chain Hoist - 3-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Efficient lifting

,
July 11, 2008
By MilesD
from Virginia
"This chain fall is well designed and works easily and smoothly for both lifting and lowering weight. Lifting and lowering can be controlled to within about a half inch either way. (That matters if you are raising or lowering your car engine or transmission into the car engine compartment for example.)
The chain fall will operate only within about 15 degrees of the vertical; something to be taken into account if you are lifting the front of your car up at an angle for example.
The most important consideration for using the lifting device - safety - has to be considered from where the chain fall is attached to lift. The ordinary 2x8 or 2x10 wood joists used homes with wood frames won't take three tons in compressive stress - three tons is the maximum designed lift of this device."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Manual Gear Chain Hoist - 3-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3 ton chain hoist

,
January 14, 2008
By mac47
from Ellensburg, WA
"This hoist fits my purposes. I use it to lift heavy loads out of my pick-up. It has amazing mechanical advantage, but of course takes a little more time to do the job. I am not a professional, so will not use it often; however, it does all I ask of it, virtually with no effort."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Manual Gear Chain Hoist - 3-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

hoist

,
July 22, 2007
By tracker958
from Williamstown Vt
"It does what I want it makes things go up and then down again. So it does what I want it to."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Manual Gear Chain Hoist - 3-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to Use and Durable

,
March 7, 2007
By BC802
from Houma, La.
"A first time user could use this equipment in seconds. High quality, durable, and easy to operate. Large hooks a plus."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.