Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for 80in. Multi-Purpose Chain with Hook - 4700-Lb. Capacity

80in. Multi-Purpose Chain with Hook - 4700-Lb. Capacity

Item# 143939
15in. hook comes with 80in. of 3/8in. chain. 4700-lb. pulling capacity. Does not include a T hook. Material 3/8 in Chain. 5/16in. binder hook 15in. grab hook
Average Customer Rating:
4.29 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (31 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
26 of 31(84%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for 80in. Multi-Purpose Chain with Hook - 4700-Lb. Capacity
Review 1 for 80in. Multi-Purpose Chain with Hook - 4700-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

tow chain

,
November 19, 2015
By
from Upstate New York
this is a real good chain, bought the first one several years ago and leave it on my tractor has come in handy for lots of projects from pulling out bushes to cars stuck in the snow. just bought a second one to keep in my new Chevy 4x4
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 80in. Multi-Purpose Chain with Hook - 4700-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great!

,
September 23, 2014
By
from Georgia
Purchased for my son so he could pull brush and logs behind our atv. It is easy for him to hook and unhook after dragging brush to the burn pile with the big hook end.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 80in. Multi-Purpose Chain with Hook - 4700-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

chains

,
June 20, 2014
By
from ny
these were not the quality that I needed I should have new better my own fault
Describe Yourself: Professional
-5points
3out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 80in. Multi-Purpose Chain with Hook - 4700-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Multipurpose Chain and Hook set, buy a pair!

,
February 7, 2014
By
from The wilds of upstate NY
We purchased a pair of these hooks and chains from Northen Tool, and use them constantly, from towing cars and other vehicles (our F-350 work truck) out of mud or ditches, to pulling firewood or boulders out of our woods, they have done it all and they just keep on doing it.
We continually find new uses for these chains, frequently heavily loading the J-hooks, but sometimes just using the small hooks and the chain.
The 15" J-Hooks have straight heavy approx. 1" diameter shafts made of round bar stock.
The only way that I can see someone staightening these out would be to load them with significantly more weight than they are rated at and jerking the load aggressively.
We have done both of these no-no's but never at the same time, and they have held up with no damage.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 80in. Multi-Purpose Chain with Hook - 4700-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great for the price

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Albany,NY
I use these daily for strapping cars to my trailer. Hooks will start to straighten out if you pull something real heavy or "jerk" the chain real hard. I recommend for recovery you use two of these together. For the money they work great.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 80in. Multi-Purpose Chain with Hook - 4700-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hookem up

,
February 4, 2014
By
from wisconsin
Worked great for easily pulling my brothers car onto a trailer. Easier then wrapping a strap onto something.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 80in. Multi-Purpose Chain with Hook - 4700-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great to keep with your tow rope

,
February 4, 2014
By
from ME, VT, MA
Product is strong and well crafted. Has pulled out several stranded motorist in northern New England.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 80in. Multi-Purpose Chain with Hook - 4700-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Tow hook

,
December 21, 2013
By
from East Moline, IL
Nice hook & chain, just that the hook is too short. I had to add 24" to it so I would not have to crawl under the vehicle to find a secure spot to hook it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 80in. Multi-Purpose Chain with Hook - 4700-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok but not so great

,
August 10, 2013
By
from Denham Springs, Louisiana
For light recovery it may work fine but the first time I used it on a stuck pickup the hook straightened out. Probably OK for use around the yard......maybe......not up to real work....sorta like a teenager.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 80in. Multi-Purpose Chain with Hook - 4700-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Weak Soft Hook

,
January 16, 2013
By
from Tulsa, OK
I pulled one small shrub out root ball and all. I had the truck in 4x4 low and crept forward; I didn't try to yank it out. The hook slowly straightened out. I was just able to finish with this one shrub. Glad I didn't have two to remove. This chain is kind of useless now with a semi-straight used to be a hook thing on the end of it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 80in. Multi-Purpose Chain with Hook - 4700-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Off Raod use

,
October 9, 2012
By
from upstate New York
I have used this with a block and it worked great! Also this works well for helping beaver dam removal. Managed to get into mud alone and used this with my block and a winch on my vehicle and saved me a 2 mile hike through the woods. Hook is very strong!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 80in. Multi-Purpose Chain with Hook - 4700-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

just what we needed

,
August 20, 2012
By
from Chicago Area
Great product for different tasks. Sometimes you just need a BIG HOOK to move something around. This gets the job done.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 80in. Multi-Purpose Chain with Hook - 4700-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

J hook and chain

,
May 14, 2012
By
from Dallas Tx area.
I use this hook and chain to move vehicles around my place. It also works great for pulling fencing panels out of the grass. I have also used it to pull out old fence posts and cross ties. Very good product and great value for the money. Highly recommend it.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 80in. Multi-Purpose Chain with Hook - 4700-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hook and Chain for quick vehicle recovery

,
January 16, 2012
By
from Michigan
I use this hook & chain for vehicle recovery. it is much easier to snag a structural member of the vehicle with this hook than it is to crawl under and wrap a chain around that same component. I mostly use for slow pulls, or winching. As with any chain - I wouldn't recommend any running jerks. But for more controlled slow maneuvers, this hook & chain works great! also good for hooking non-running vehicles and winching them up onto a flatbed.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 80in. Multi-Purpose Chain with Hook - 4700-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hook and Chain

,
October 10, 2011
By
from CASA GRANDE,Az.
I got this set up for pulling fallen down tree's with... found it works eve better then I thought it would...don't have to rap around a chain's to do the job any more... just hook the hook over the Branch and it hook's on just right... and much easier to unhook when done with... The price was right ... I am sure that the Hook and Chain will last for a long time to come..very well made as well to....
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 80in. Multi-Purpose Chain with Hook - 4700-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Handy for farm

,
June 13, 2011
By
from East Tennessee
Use this chain to lift and pull mostly trees and brush. Handy for small equipment tie down to trailer too.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 80in. Multi-Purpose Chain with Hook - 4700-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hook and Chain

,
March 23, 2011
By
from Lovettsville, VA
I have several acres of forest with many large trees to maintain and large rocks on my property. This device will come in handy with my truck or tractor for yanking tree trunks and stumps and moving rocks around to build rock gardens/ landscaping areas. It's tough and well made, but be careful! Make sure hook is set properly and keep people clear of possible backlash area in case hook, tow chains or cables release unexpectedly.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 80in. Multi-Purpose Chain with Hook - 4700-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must have tool for farmer or land owner

,
March 23, 2011
By
from LaFayette, Ga.
I recently bought a tractor and several implements. I bought the recovery chain with hook to move and sometimes load and unload this implements. You can hook and unhook the equipement while moving them without getting off the tractor using the J hook. I have also found it can be used for cleaning up downed trees, and securing equipment to trailer when hauling it around. This recovery chain is and must have piece of equipment. I use it almost everyday.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 80in. Multi-Purpose Chain with Hook - 4700-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

chain and hook

,
September 13, 2010
By
from Minnesota
We have a small wrecking yard and move stuff all the time. This hook and chain work great. easier to hook up just reach under stuff with the hook rather than lay on the ground and try to wrap chains around. The chain part is long eough to reach whatever is needed, and with the grab hooks thin chain can be shortened as needed.
We also had storm damage and lost a couple trees we just wrapped the hook around the trunk back to the chain it self tightened and we cleared them quickly.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 80in. Multi-Purpose Chain with Hook - 4700-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

shopguy1

,
February 16, 2010
By
from las cruces new mexico
great chain holds up to heavy usage, resists rust well, has lots of uses.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.