Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hook and Chain

Hook and Chain

Item# 143939
15in. hook comes with 80in. of 3/8in. chain. 4700-lb. pulling capacity. Does not include a T hook. Material 3/8 in Chain. 5/16in. binder hook 15in. grab hook
Average Customer Rating:
4.321 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (28 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
24 of 28(86%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hook and Chain
Review 1 for Hook and Chain
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Multipurpose Chain and Hook set, buy a pair!

,
February 7, 2014
By ThomDaMan
from The wilds of upstate NY
"We purchased a pair of these hooks and chains from Northen Tool, and use them constantly, from towing cars and other vehicles (our F-350 work truck) out of mud or ditches, to pulling firewood or boulders out of our woods, they have done it all and they just keep on doing it.
We continually find new uses for these chains, frequently heavily loading the J-hooks, but sometimes just using the small hooks and the chain.
The 15" J-Hooks have straight heavy approx. 1" diameter shafts made of round bar stock.
The only way that I can see someone staightening these out would be to load them with significantly more weight than they are rated at and jerking the load aggressively.
We have done both of these no-no's but never at the same time, and they have held up with no damage."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hook and Chain
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great for the price

,
February 4, 2014
By Aaron1981
from Albany,NY
"I use these daily for strapping cars to my trailer. Hooks will start to straighten out if you pull something real heavy or "jerk" the chain real hard. I recommend for recovery you use two of these together. For the money they work great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hook and Chain
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hookem up

,
February 4, 2014
By rj80
from wisconsin
"Worked great for easily pulling my brothers car onto a trailer. Easier then wrapping a strap onto something."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hook and Chain
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great to keep with your tow rope

,
February 4, 2014
By Adam86mo
from ME, VT, MA
"Product is strong and well crafted. Has pulled out several stranded motorist in northern New England."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hook and Chain
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Tow hook

,
December 21, 2013
By Anonymous
from East Moline, IL
"Nice hook & chain, just that the hook is too short. I had to add 24" to it so I would not have to crawl under the vehicle to find a secure spot to hook it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hook and Chain
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok but not so great

,
August 10, 2013
By Chunkyroy
from Denham Springs, Louisiana
"For light recovery it may work fine but the first time I used it on a stuck pickup the hook straightened out. Probably OK for use around the yard......maybe......not up to real work....sorta like a teenager."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hook and Chain
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Weak Soft Hook

,
January 16, 2013
By hateirrelevantquestions
from Tulsa, OK
"I pulled one small shrub out root ball and all. I had the truck in 4x4 low and crept forward; I didn't try to yank it out. The hook slowly straightened out. I was just able to finish with this one shrub. Glad I didn't have two to remove. This chain is kind of useless now with a semi-straight used to be a hook thing on the end of it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hook and Chain
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Off Raod use

,
October 9, 2012
By Jay62
from upstate New York
"I have used this with a block and it worked great! Also this works well for helping beaver dam removal. Managed to get into mud alone and used this with my block and a winch on my vehicle and saved me a 2 mile hike through the woods. Hook is very strong!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hook and Chain
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

just what we needed

,
August 20, 2012
By johnatcnh
from Chicago Area
"Great product for different tasks. Sometimes you just need a BIG HOOK to move something around. This gets the job done."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hook and Chain
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

J hook and chain

,
May 14, 2012
By airdog15
from Dallas Tx area.
"I use this hook and chain to move vehicles around my place. It also works great for pulling fencing panels out of the grass. I have also used it to pull out old fence posts and cross ties. Very good product and great value for the money. Highly recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hook and Chain
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hook and Chain for quick vehicle recovery

,
January 16, 2012
By Grasscutter
from Michigan
"I use this hook & chain for vehicle recovery. it is much easier to snag a structural member of the vehicle with this hook than it is to crawl under and wrap a chain around that same component. I mostly use for slow pulls, or winching. As with any chain - I wouldn't recommend any running jerks. But for more controlled slow maneuvers, this hook & chain works great! also good for hooking non-running vehicles and winching them up onto a flatbed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hook and Chain
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hook and Chain

,
October 10, 2011
By DUMBO
from CASA GRANDE,Az.
"I got this set up for pulling fallen down tree's with... found it works eve better then I thought it would...don't have to rap around a chain's to do the job any more... just hook the hook over the Branch and it hook's on just right... and much easier to unhook when done with... The price was right ... I am sure that the Hook and Chain will last for a long time to come..very well made as well to...."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hook and Chain
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Handy for farm

,
June 13, 2011
By Smokeydog
from East Tennessee
"Use this chain to lift and pull mostly trees and brush. Handy for small equipment tie down to trailer too."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hook and Chain
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hook and Chain

,
March 23, 2011
By Lefty1952
from Lovettsville, VA
"I have several acres of forest with many large trees to maintain and large rocks on my property. This device will come in handy with my truck or tractor for yanking tree trunks and stumps and moving rocks around to build rock gardens/ landscaping areas. It's tough and well made, but be careful! Make sure hook is set properly and keep people clear of possible backlash area in case hook, tow chains or cables release unexpectedly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hook and Chain
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must have tool for farmer or land owner

,
March 23, 2011
By cj34f
from LaFayette, Ga.
"I recently bought a tractor and several implements. I bought the recovery chain with hook to move and sometimes load and unload this implements. You can hook and unhook the equipement while moving them without getting off the tractor using the J hook. I have also found it can be used for cleaning up downed trees, and securing equipment to trailer when hauling it around. This recovery chain is and must have piece of equipment. I use it almost everyday."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hook and Chain
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

chain and hook

,
September 13, 2010
By jimbo1948
from Minnesota
"We have a small wrecking yard and move stuff all the time. This hook and chain work great. easier to hook up just reach under stuff with the hook rather than lay on the ground and try to wrap chains around. The chain part is long eough to reach whatever is needed, and with the grab hooks thin chain can be shortened as needed.
We also had storm damage and lost a couple trees we just wrapped the hook around the trunk back to the chain it self tightened and we cleared them quickly.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hook and Chain
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

shopguy1

,
February 16, 2010
By shopguy1
from las cruces new mexico
"great chain holds up to heavy usage, resists rust well, has lots of uses."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hook and Chain
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid Hook

,
February 15, 2010
By mjthompson
from Iowa
"The hook and the chain are pretty solid. It has some good weight to it also. I haven't had a chance to use them yet this winter but I purchased three of them. One for me, one for my dad, and one for my mom (she is a rural mail carrier). We'll be using them to pull vehicles that don't have hitches out of drifts or shallow ditches and I think they'll work perfectly.
My dad and I drive pick-up trucks and my mother has a jeep for delivering mail. We purchased these hooks just to add to our arsenal of towing straps and chains so we're better prepared for the Iowa winters. I'd recommend this chain/hook to any of my friends."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hook and Chain
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

One insane chain

,
October 19, 2009
By Survivor
from CT
"Very heavy duty, and able to withstand punishment. Once you have this , you will find more ways to use it than why you bought it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hook and Chain
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hook & Chain

,
March 17, 2009
By Paully
from Waunakee, Wisconsin
"I bought this hook and chain because my Wife slid off the road in a snow storm and I was unable to hook on to our Mustang with a regular chain. I drove wrecker for about three years and this is what we used. So I bought this hook and chain just in case there is a next time. Since I purchased it I used it for hooking and pulling logs behind my 4 wheeler and it worked great. I would highly recommend this as a must for a emergency kit in all vehicles in states that get snow like we get here in Wisconsin."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.