Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for GoldenRod Hired Hand Fence Stretcher with 3rd Hook, Model# 415

GoldenRod Hired Hand Fence Stretcher with 3rd Hook, Model# 415

Item# 143956
Save time, effort and frustration with the GoldenRod Hire Hand fence tool. This high-tensile, barbed and smooth wire stretcher-splicer is designed with 2 stationary hooks at the ends of the bar and 1 traveling hook. The patented 3rd hook allows for unlimited amount of stretching. U.S.A. Material Type Steel, Product Type Fence stretcher, Compatible With For high-tensile, barbed and smooth wire. 3rd hook allows unlimited amount of slack in the wire while maintaining tension Holds wire securely as traveling hook is moved, freeing the area where the splice is to be made Quick tightening of high-tensile, barbed or smooth wire
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 of 11(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for GoldenRod Hired Hand Fence Stretcher with 3rd Hook, Model# 415
Review 1 for GoldenRod Hired Hand Fence Stretcher with 3rd Hook, Model# 415
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent tool

,
June 14, 2014
By Mymojo
from Norcal
"Great wire fence installation tool. Makes the job go fast and easy. I would highly recommend it"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GoldenRod Hired Hand Fence Stretcher with 3rd Hook, Model# 415
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Title Tells it All

,
May 22, 2014
By fencefixer
from payson, az
"Fence fixer is easy to use and repairs wire fences in all applications. it makes splicing fences an easy chore"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GoldenRod Hired Hand Fence Stretcher with 3rd Hook, Model# 415
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

fence stretcher

,
June 6, 2011
By dcd13
from USA, Idaho
"Good stretcher, the 3rd hook works well, excellent fence stretcher"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GoldenRod Hired Hand Fence Stretcher with 3rd Hook, Model# 415
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fence strecher model #415

,
June 6, 2011
By pdk22
from Arizona
"This is the best strecher I have used. It holds wire in place while you are able to regrab wire and stretch some more. Some complaints are about the paint job and the fact that some parts are stuck together. Dipping the part in a paint solution is the best way to get paint in all hard to get places. If the company powdercoated the parts and then assembled it would be better, but plan on spending double. Once you break loose any part that was fused with paint, it works great and has good rust protection. Excellent product which I would recomend to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GoldenRod Hired Hand Fence Stretcher with 3rd Hook, Model# 415
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool, 3rd hook makes it a lot more versatile

,
August 25, 2010
By OffGrid2009
from Davenport, WA
"I'm a newbie at stretching fence, but I suddenly have 80 acres and over two miles of fences to maintain. I watched a friend using a two-hook Goldenrod, figured I had to have one. Saw the 3-hook "Hired Hand" model and decided to try it. First chore I faced was replacing a 150-foot section of cow-mashed fence. With mostly used wire (some old, some pretty new), I spliced together enough for all four strands...but each had enough bends and kinks and splices that my first "arm-pull" tie-off left a lot more slack than could be taken up by one operation of any Goldenrod. What a relief to be able to jack in 18 inches of slack, fasten the clamp at the 3rd (fixed) hook, release the clamp on the traveler, slide it back to the start, reclamp, release the clamp at the fixed hook, and keep on jacking in slack. IT IS WONDERFUL! I'd read all the comments about the paint-job, and boy, were they right. It's like they applied the paint with a trowel. Before I even started, I took a chisel and hacked off huge goobers of paint, then applied a bunch of clear lube and used a hammer to unfreeze the parts and get them moving, then just worked them by hand. In 5 minutes, it was as loose as a goose. From there on, clear sailing, and I can honestly say, this is a man's tool that I can't live without ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GoldenRod Hired Hand Fence Stretcher with 3rd Hook, Model# 415
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wouldn't do fence without it

,
August 23, 2010
By EagleRancher
"I'm new to working with wire fence, but this tool makes the job a snap. Once I got the tool and cleaned out some of the excess paint, it worked like a champ. I have used this tool for tightening up existing fence and for stringing new fence, it does the job without a hitch. I'm a collector of old tools, and this reminds me of an old classic. Solid performer, well built, reliable, and perfectly suited to the task."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GoldenRod Hired Hand Fence Stretcher with 3rd Hook, Model# 415
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool!

,
November 19, 2008
By 2Tim
from Colorado
"I bought these for a birthday present for my dad. He had the classic two hook style, Work great then got to where it would not hold smooth wire and pinched fingers. These allow an unlimited amount of streching which is nice for long distances. I do agree that the paint job was bad, took a hammer and busted the paint. Works like a good quality tool should work like now. Overall, I would recomend these high quality fence strechers to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GoldenRod Hired Hand Fence Stretcher with 3rd Hook, Model# 415
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stretcher

,
August 18, 2008
By CarlV
from LaCrosse, Florida
"I had to stretch a mile of barbed wire fence five strings per post through mud and lots of trees making it a completely manual job with no tractor or other motorized help. I started using a normal two hook fence stretcher for the first quarter mile and then ordered the three hook stretcher.
The new stretcher cut my work time by a third.
It was hard to use at first because there was too much paint which made it stiff but once that wore off and some silicon spray was applied it worked great.
Three hooks should be the new stretcher standard.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GoldenRod Hired Hand Fence Stretcher with 3rd Hook, Model# 415
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Not Perfect

,
December 11, 2007
By Rottresq
from Colorado Springs CO
"I have used this tool extensively here on my ranch repairing and installing 4 wire pasture fence over T-post.
PROS: Inexpensive, does exactly what it is supposed to, durable, holds that fence wire very tight.
CONS: Heavy, akward, as the other reviews said, sticky because of the heavy paint, spray lube made it work much slicker.
OVERALL: If it got stolen tomorrow, I would order another. Its a big clumsy feeling tool but when you have used it as much as I have you get use to it and its quirks and work with it instead of against it. Also its harder to use with cold fingers."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GoldenRod Hired Hand Fence Stretcher with 3rd Hook, Model# 415
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor quality

,
October 16, 2007
By inventor7
from Los Angeles, California
"product is painted by the worst
paint is driped and deep in all moving parts sticking them together
wile some areas don't have any paint.
and a part is also bent
concept is good but quality of fabrication is at its worst
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GoldenRod Hired Hand Fence Stretcher with 3rd Hook, Model# 415
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

gotta have it

,
July 10, 2007
By ejabshire
from youngsville, la
"great tool. it's simplicity is what makes it great. anyone who has worked with barbed wire knows how much of a pain it can be. any tool that can make this chore easier is worth having. this tool really works. i did have to oil the moving parts to get it to function easier."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.