Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening

Item# 143995
3/8 in. steel tongs are ideal for skidding and dragging operations. 2 1/2in. to 17 1/2in. opening. Fine-ground points for long-lasting sharpness. Product Type Tong, Length ft. 2 1/12, Material Steel, Jaw Opening in. 2 1/2-17 1/2. Overall Length when Closed 25in.
Average Customer Rating:
3.746 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (55 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
7
41 of 55(75%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Review 1 for Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

skidding tongs

,
September 20, 2013
By hunterbill1
from NH
"I bought these to remove fence posts that had broken at ground level in my wifes horse paddocks and they worked far beyond my expectations they gripped really well while pulling the broken posts out of the ground"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Skidding Tongs Do the Job

,
September 17, 2013
By DogmanUT
from Orefield, PA
"I purchased these tongs to move about 15 downed trees due to hurricane Sandy. These are well made, and super strong. They dig in and hold firm. I have used them both by dragging behind my truck and lifting with my tractor bucket. The only improvement I would make is a latching chain hook. For the money you will be very pleased."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Work well for intended purpose

,
November 25, 2012
By Anonymous
from MidAtlantic US
"I've had these skidding tongs for approximately five years now. Once I learned my first lesson - that they REALLY need the points sharpened before use - they've worked like a champ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tongs for a great price!

,
October 15, 2012
By tallywag1
from Hollis Center, Maine
"I've used these for two seasons, dragging over 20 cord worth of large trees into our yard to prepare for firewood. They've held up well and worked smoothly and easily."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Moving experience

,
October 8, 2012
By Samoth
from Emmett, Idaho
"I use these tongs to tow railroad ties around my property with a garden tractor. I attach tongs to lumber and haul away with a short chain. No problems. Best price I found. No local store even came close to the size I needed or the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs

,
October 8, 2012
By Anonymous
from Auburn, IN
"Works great. Sharp points and plenty of strength.Delivery was prompt.. I have used it to lift and drag up to 14" logs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

log tongs

,
August 14, 2012
By hllblly
from Hughesville Pa
"these tongs work well with firewood sized logs, but too small for saw logs"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Swivel Grab Tongs

,
August 13, 2012
By wtpooh43
from Cadiz, KY
"I am using these tongs to move RR Ties. It is very useful and after I finish, I am going to move logs. It is so nice to hang onto the tie or log and start pulling. Saves me a ton of time verses hanging a chain around the tie or log."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs

,
August 13, 2012
By MILLERTYME
from wisconsin
"this thing works great! so far used it to pull a cord of oak out of the woods and load the logs on a trailer. it's still a two man job for some one to hook up the tongs while someone runs the tractor but could be done by one person just slower. you could even use it with an atv or pickup with a tow chain."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Movin' trees

,
May 7, 2012
By MikeFL
from N.W. Florida
"With exceptional price I wasn't sure about what I would get. Excellent shipping. Heavy tongs. Impressed with thick paint with good coverage. Proof was in the use. Had several small to midsize trees to move on property. Some large (leg size) limbs also. I connected Tongs to pull chain and had son clamp them to tree with minimum pressure. Great hold, No slip. Dragged several about a100 yds or so. No problems. Some areas had bad undergrowth and even though it is not recommended, I raised boom on tractor to get tongs up with no slips or problems. If I ever need another, I'll buy again. Good Product and price. Continue to buy from Northern Tools."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

there not bad

,
February 9, 2012
By wesbuff
from huntsville, al
"people sit here and hatemail these but there perfectly good i do very light duty with them and there great, take a look at what your gonna do with em."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

dang good lil skidder

,
January 16, 2012
By Dawgphan2
from Ga.
"No prblx doing what it was purchased for! look forward to finish a cutover clearance project with it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Log draggers

,
January 9, 2012
By GSXR816
from Rockingham, NC
"Work as they are intended. Good product for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice surprise

,
October 17, 2011
By CountryVet
from Cross, SC
"I was skeptical when I bought this, as it was smaller than I wanted, but after a full year of treating it like a larger tool, it continues to perform well. I have used it to load everything from fresh cut timber, to 30 ft. sections of power pole, and as long as I keep the points sharp (they do dull after abuse), it does the job I ask of it. If my local store ever stocks a larger size, I'll probably buy it, but until then, I can count on this one to perform."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs

,
October 17, 2011
By crazywolf01
from Weatherford TEXAS
"Bought this to help me move railroad ties .Best thing I have found to do this with .Digs in great and away we go.Works great for me."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

NEED MODIFICATION

,
June 14, 2011
By BullMoose
from Vermont
"These tongs are adequate after you grind the inside of the points out to change the angle, sharpen the points, and weld a lug stop at the hinge to keep the reshaped and sharpened points from hitting each other. Be sure to bring a hammer to drive the points into the log"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pulling logs with an ATV

,
March 21, 2011
By BigBug
from SE KS
"I used a log chain and an ATV to pull a large log recently. The tongs cab be driven into the wood and then pulled on. I would say a 12" log is a limit. Better for 10" logs and under,"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Tool service

,
March 17, 2011
By Bigfish35
"The first time I used the tongs, they broke just above the hook. I e-mailed Northern Tool on a Sunday evening and a new grab tong arrived on Thursday. Northern Tool's service was absolutely fantastic. I will continue to purchase from Northern Tool and let all my friends know about the great service. I have used the new tongs and they are working very well moving logs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bent during use

,
March 17, 2011
By thepipe
from New Jersey
"These seem pretty heavy, but bent during their first use. I can put them in a vice and bend them back, but that's a real pain. They need to be of better quality to be of real value."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Swivel Grab Skidding Tongs - 17 1/2in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tongs

,
March 14, 2011
By Tuner38
from Farmington, IA
"These tongs are perfect for the intended use of dragging firewood logs to be bucked up by my wood shed. This has eliminated my need for using my S-10 pickup in the woods as I now use my Kubota to drag the logs and don't have to cut and load in the woods and maneuver the truck in places the Kubota can more easily operate."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.