Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Hi-Lift All Purpose Mechanical Jack - 7000-Lb. Capacity, Model# HL-484

Hi-Lift All Purpose Mechanical Jack - 7000-Lb. Capacity, Model# HL-484

Item# 1442
Commercial-quality jack will lift, pull, push and clamp. Hot-rolled alloy steel, powder-coated with zinc-pated hardware. 2-pc. handle and socket for extra durability and reliability. Base is heavily ribbed for strength. Lift Capacity lbs. 7,000, Lift Range in. 4 1/2-37 1/2. 48in. Hi-Lift jack Rated load 4660 lbs. Tested load 7000 lbs. Winching capacity 5000 lbs. Clamping capacity 750 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 of 11(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Hi-Lift All Purpose Mechanical Jack - 7000-Lb. Capacity, Model# HL-484
Review 1 for Hi-Lift All Purpose Mechanical Jack - 7000-Lb. Capacity, Model# HL-484
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool

,
May 5, 2014
By Sean77
from minneapolis
"Bought this to yank fence posts. Used it on Metal chain link posts, Old rotten cedar posts and new PT posts. it pulled them out great. Some were REALLY well sunk in the ground so I had my large friend working the jack handle. He leaned HARD on the jack and it took all the abuse.
the up / down lever is a little awkward, but I've heard some lubrication will improve that."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hi-Lift All Purpose Mechanical Jack - 7000-Lb. Capacity, Model# HL-484
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

everyone needs one

,
February 4, 2014
By jdemo
from St Paul, MN
"Great all around tool for home and offroad. I looked at the cheaper china models and glad I bought the quality one here. Much more heavy duty and will last a lifetime"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hi-Lift All Purpose Mechanical Jack - 7000-Lb. Capacity, Model# HL-484
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

best lifting jack I 've ever had

,
September 18, 2013
By boobalube1
from tenn
"this hi-lift jack does the hard work for me it makes my life go smoother. lifting these uhaul trailers a breeze. thanks for taking my review"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hi-Lift All Purpose Mechanical Jack - 7000-Lb. Capacity, Model# HL-484
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tough, Versatile Jack

,
October 17, 2011
By llohans
from Argyle, TX
"This jack is versatile enough to lift tractors, cars, trucks or trailers with ease. Can be used as winch, to pull posts from ground, to clamp workbenches or other pieces you want to glue, or to tighten fence. Built solidly but you need to keep it lubricated for it to work really well. Since it's so strong, be careful when you are letting things down so the handle doesn't get out of control."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hi-Lift All Purpose Mechanical Jack - 7000-Lb. Capacity, Model# HL-484
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

disfunctional

,
June 13, 2011
By jimchef
from dallas
"If you lower the jack all the way it won't engege. It has to be raised a foot or so to get started."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-6points
2out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hi-Lift All Purpose Mechanical Jack - 7000-Lb. Capacity, Model# HL-484
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Broken Wooden Fence Post

,
June 13, 2011
By POSTMAN1
"Last fall my neighbor's tree fell during a strom falling on my fence snapping its 5x5 wooden post even with the ground. I drilled a hole in the top of the post screwed in a large eye, attached a strap and used the jack to pull the post out (over 30 inches of post were in teh ground). The jack had the broken post out of the ground in a matter of seconds, in all I pulled 5 broken post in no time at all. Using the jack saved me from digging out all of the broken post which could have taken a few hours to finish the job."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hi-Lift All Purpose Mechanical Jack - 7000-Lb. Capacity, Model# HL-484
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

JACK IT--DRAG IT--ROLL IT with a High Lift Jack

,
March 22, 2011
By Newradix
from Costa Mesa, California
"Recently, a sports car owner was shocked to discover that a antique sports roadster in storage in a barn had become trapped by a tree growing up between the vehicle and the concrete wall immediately next to the vehicle. Further, the rear tire was flat on the same side as the tree. Using a High Lift Jack, he raised the rear of the vehicle three feet and placed a skid under the rear tires. Moving the jack to lie on the pavement to be in-line with the skid, he jacked the skid out away from the wall until he had clearance around/by the tree.
But, there was a second problem, an elevated pad had been poured blocking the path to the street.
He fabricated a large skid and with the vehicle chained to the skid, use the High Lift Jack to drag the skid about twenty feet turning the skid ninety degrees and dropping it eighteen inches to be able to let the vehicle be rolled to the street with a new tire installed. The High Lift Jack is a incredible, versatile essential tool that anyone with a RV , Off -Reading or just moving heavy loads needs. The above was accomplished by one individual on a weekend."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hi-Lift All Purpose Mechanical Jack - 7000-Lb. Capacity, Model# HL-484
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must for Jeep owners

,
February 23, 2010
By Wrangler94
from Orlando,Florida
"If you own a four wheel drive, with any kind of a lift package...this jack is a must. It not only is tall enough to get those over-sized tires on, but it works as a come-a-long when you need it. Got a Wrangler..You better get the jack."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hi-Lift All Purpose Mechanical Jack - 7000-Lb. Capacity, Model# HL-484
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small yet powerfull

,
July 20, 2009
By Gdguy
from Virginia
"For the size and price I couldn't find a better tool. It has pulled my truck out of the mud in the woods more than once. I had to replace the supports on a rear deck to a mobil home. It performed even better than I suspected it would. It lifted and held the deck in place while realigning the supports. Never slipped and lifted the deck with ease. I was under the deck a lot and never worried about my safety. I make sure it's always in the back of the truck."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hi-Lift All Purpose Mechanical Jack - 7000-Lb. Capacity, Model# HL-484
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

can't be beat

,
February 5, 2009
By RyanK
from Cleveland, SC
"Short of a winch, this is the best tool an off-roader (4x4) could carry. It has helped remove SO many vehicles I've lost count, and I've not had to replace 1 part in the over 10 years I've owned it!!! These things are absolutely amazing!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hi-Lift All Purpose Mechanical Jack - 7000-Lb. Capacity, Model# HL-484
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hi-Lift Jack

,
October 8, 2007
By Khite100
from Villa Rica, GA
"I would not go on the trail without this jack. Easy to use and works awesome."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.