Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Torin Big Red Transmission Adapter for Service Jacks, Model# TRE2001

Torin Big Red Transmission Adapter for Service Jacks, Model# TRE2001

Item# 144423
Heavy-duty transmission adapter works with most service jacks and others having a removable saddle and 1 1/8in. hole. Specially designed for use with automotive or truck transmissions, differential gears and rear axle units. 400-lb. capacity. Meets ASME PALD safety standards. Lift Capacity lbs. 400, Backward Saddle Tilt deg. 10, Forward Saddle Tilt deg. 60. Works with most service jacks and others having a removable saddle and 1 1/8in. hole Specially designed for use with automotive or truck transmissions, differential gears and rear axle units 400-lb. capacity Saddle tilts 60 forward and 10 aft Minimum overall length 10 11/16in. Max. overall length 15in. Width 17 3/16in. Rugged alloy steel with safety chain
Average Customer Rating:
2.833 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (12 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
6 of 12(50%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Torin Big Red Transmission Adapter for Service Jacks, Model# TRE2001
Review 1 for Torin Big Red Transmission Adapter for Service Jacks, Model# TRE2001
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor design, limited functionality

,
March 2, 2013
By Gr8day2u
from Central Iowa
"There is nothing great about this product. When attached to an Ford 4R75E transmisson, the top of the transmission was 30 inches off of the ground. Had to raise the truck up, slide the transmission under the truck, then lower the truck so the jack would lift the transmission high enough to mate with the engine. Quit using it halfway through the install and will not ever use it again."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Torin Big Red Transmission Adapter for Service Jacks, Model# TRE2001
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not quite universal fit (even with Torin)

,
January 28, 2013
By JHinATL
from Atlanta
"Check the fit carefully to save your self time. It says fits 1 1/8". This is a straight, solid shaft which goes through the main plate and is not mentioned in the ad. Did not fit either of my two Torin jacks (3 ton -which required split shaft or red race - 1" shaft). Will be returned.
Did not assemble so can't judge on any other aspect."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Torin Big Red Transmission Adapter for Service Jacks, Model# TRE2001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy duty, more metal than I'd expected!

,
June 13, 2011
By srdshop
from MO
"Fits my jack great, alot better than I thought it would. I put this on my floor jack on a table, under my car lift. I then lift out the transmission and lower the jack, lift the car a-bit, and roll out the works on the table. I do transmissions rarely, so I did not want to spend much on a trans. jack.... This is well worth the money!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Torin Big Red Transmission Adapter for Service Jacks, Model# TRE2001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the Job!

,
March 14, 2011
By jer1
from Wellsville, NY
"I have been doing the "balancing" act for years using a floor jack. I turned that jack into a tranny jack by using this adapter. It has and continues to work well. The only problem is that I should have done it years ago!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Torin Big Red Transmission Adapter for Service Jacks, Model# TRE2001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

transmission adapter

,
February 15, 2010
By pop52
from Crawfordville Fla.
"This is a great product. Where it always took two poeple to pull a transmission I now can do it by myself., and a lot easier. It is a big back saver. I have let other people borrow it and they loved it. I told them I purchased it at NORTHERN TOOLS. I would recommmend this tool to anyone. I also tell everyone about your great prices"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Torin Big Red Transmission Adapter for Service Jacks, Model# TRE2001
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

not secure on jack

,
August 23, 2008
By CountyAl
from Where the buffalo roam
"I found the adapter is not secure on my jack. The base of the adapter that goes into "my" floor jack is too small to grip and the floor jack does not have enough room to secure it with a bolt which the adapter has a threaded connection which seems to be there for that reason. It just doesn't fit my allied floor jack. I will have to make some modifications to it or the floor jack to use it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Torin Big Red Transmission Adapter for Service Jacks, Model# TRE2001
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Could be worse

,
April 15, 2008
By turbojimmy
from New Jersey
"As others have mentioned you have to get the car *really* high to make use of this adapter. If you're using a floor jack and jack stands it's going to be tough to get the car high enough even with some creative use of lumber that any Jacking 101 manual would advise against. Even so, it is far better than the balancing act you'd have to do on top of a normal floor jack with a wooden jack adapter (read: a section of 2 x 10 lumber).
I used this adapter underneath a GM 2004R transmission. Note that even in the picture Northern Tool has put up for this product, they show the tilt being side-to-side rather than front-to-back. On the 2004R, and I presume many other automatic transmissions, you cannot position the adapter so that you have front-to-back tilt since the space between the bolt-on rails is not wide enough to accommodate the transmission pan front-to-back. Rather, you have to turn it 'sideways' so that the rails are on the sides of the pan. This way, you only get side-to-side tilt which is useless. It's moot anyway because once you put weight on it you can't adjust it.
With a helper, we lifted the transmission off and on the adapter once it was under the car."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Torin Big Red Transmission Adapter for Service Jacks, Model# TRE2001
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Torin Big Red Transmission Adaptor for Hydaulic Ja

,
January 21, 2008
By JohnF
from New Jersey
"I used it on a Jeep CJ7 with a 4” lift. There was barely enough room to use it. But considering the price, it worked fine. Using it was much easier than my previous installs balancing the transmission on the tip of a jack."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Torin Big Red Transmission Adapter for Service Jacks, Model# TRE2001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

TRANS JACK ADAPTER

,
January 21, 2008
By KDD1949
from WESTERN PA
"THIS ADAPTER FITS THE BRAND OF JACK THAT I HAD PURCHASE YEARS AGO QUITE WELL. IT OPERATES AS INTENDED WITH NO PROBLEMS."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Torin Big Red Transmission Adapter for Service Jacks, Model# TRE2001
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

transmission adapter

,
January 14, 2008
By traderjwc
from Donalsonville, Ga.
"Was too high to do the job. Even with the car on ramps, no room to use. I should have read the other reviews before I bought one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Torin Big Red Transmission Adapter for Service Jacks, Model# TRE2001
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Adapter is not good

,
July 9, 2007
By mike59
from Rialto, Ca.
"This adaptor was not good for the job I needed it for. With the adaptor on the jack and the transmission on the adaptor, and the jack was all the way down as far as it could go, it was still way too high to get under the car. With the trans on jack adaptor it was high enough to reach the middle of the door of the car. The car was on ramps. working in my driveway, I did not have a lift to rase the car that high. It may work ok for pickup trucks but, not cars. The tilt part of the adaptor didnot work that good as well. I found a sissor type jack that worked for me, it was able to get low enough to get under the car."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Torin Big Red Transmission Adapter for Service Jacks, Model# TRE2001
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Torin Big Red Transmission Adaptor for Hydaulic Ja

,
July 9, 2007
By RitchQ
from Double Oak, TX
"The adaptor was easy to put together and put on my jack, but once on and loaded with a transmission it was extemely hard to adjust. The tilt scews and knob seemed to lock into whatever position I had them in when I put the tranny on. I had to add a block to the back to support the transmission and help the chain keep the tranny on the plate. The tranny I was trying to use this with was out of a 1953 Studebaker (3 speed) and therefore not a very heavy part.
Overall I was dissappointed in this item.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.