Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Torin Hydraulic Ram System - 10 Ton Capacity, Model# T71001L

Torin Hydraulic Ram System - 10 Ton Capacity, Model# T71001L

Item# 144424
This Torin 10 Ton Hydraulic Ram System is an auto body repair kit that features extension tubes with a snap-lock design for quick, easy assembly. The pump has an automatic overload system to help prevent damage to rams and equipment. The Flex Head features a permanently molded rubber pad, Interlocked to prevent separation. Complete kit includes a variety of auto body, frame repair and construction components for lifting, pushing, bending and spreading. Meets ASME safety standards. Max. Lift Height in. 24 3/8, Min. Lift Height in. 18 1/2, Capacity Ton 10, Case Included Yes, Application Ram system. 10 ton capacity Ram stroke minimum 18 1/2in. Ram stroke maximum 24 3/8in. Includes 18in. extension tube, 10in. extension tube, 4 1/8in. extension tube, 28in. extension tube, male connector, wedge head, serrated saddle, flat base, ram toe, plunger toe, rubber head, 90 combination head, spreader, wheeled case
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (24 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
22 of 24(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Torin Hydraulic Ram System - 10 Ton Capacity, Model# T71001L
Review 1 for Torin Hydraulic Ram System - 10 Ton Capacity, Model# T71001L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value

,
February 4, 2014
By TjMo
from Oklahoma City
"Bought this to do some repairs on my kids car, worked great, leaks a bit and the metal piece on spreader broke, but in all honesty I was pushing it way past its limits. If I was in a full time auto body setting I'd drop them $$$ for a higher quality and strength unit but for occasional use this fit the bill"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Torin Hydraulic Ram System - 10 Ton Capacity, Model# T71001L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

hydraulic review

,
October 16, 2012
By rancher76
from Missouri
"I received quickly after ordering, as usual. Case layout is a little congested, but usable. Comes with a nice assortment of accesories. Used it the next day for repairs on a dump truck, worked as well as the higher priced units in my opinion. Great tool for the money. Only issue is manual does not call out which oil is recommended for the pump. Will definitely use this brand again!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Torin Hydraulic Ram System - 10 Ton Capacity, Model# T71001L
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

ram system

,
October 15, 2012
By bnuts
from eubank.ky.
"poor -not made very good,leaks oil right out of the box,Did not do the job I bought it for.should have saved my money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Torin Hydraulic Ram System - 10 Ton Capacity, Model# T71001L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice tool...very versatile

,
August 20, 2012
By Talltileguy
from Orange Co N.Y.
"I've used this set several times to repair automotive dents and straighten body parts, with a good anchor you can straighten just about any thing. Works excellent."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Torin Hydraulic Ram System - 10 Ton Capacity, Model# T71001L
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Adequate, but not stellar

,
May 14, 2012
By Alan129
from Carrollton, OH
"I debated about whether I should answer "Yes" to "I would recommend this product to a friend". I want to say, "Yes, but with concerns".
I bought the Torin brand because it had decent reviews and was much cheaper than the industry-leader brands. I've used it for 3 jobs so far and was quite satisfied for the first 2. On the third job, the main "heel" piece that you need for practically every job snapped. I'd only pumped the jack 2 or 3 pumps when it snapped so it was nowhere close to the limits the ram is designed for. When examining the breakage, the casting from which the piece was made appears to me to be of poor quality. I tried contacting Torin but they have not responded. I'm outside of the 90-day warranty period so have low hopes.
An additional annoyance: the carrying case is embarrassingly cheap with cheap latches. You have to move it very delicately.
So, bottom line, I got a couple good uses out of the ram and I may attempt to repair the broken casting to keep being able to use it. In the long-run, though, it probably would have been better to go with a more expensive brand. If money is tight, though, this might be an acceptable choice for you to get a job done."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Torin Hydraulic Ram System - 10 Ton Capacity, Model# T71001L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Torin Hydraulic Ram Systom 10 Ton

,
May 7, 2012
By 4Leroy4
from Prairieville,La.
"I am in the heavy equipment repair business. This unit has done everything I have asked of it. Money well spent."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Torin Hydraulic Ram System - 10 Ton Capacity, Model# T71001L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ram

,
May 7, 2012
By MrUhwah
from Southern Illinois
"This is the third 10 ton system I have purchased for my Company .They do all we need them to do with power left over..Great Product Great Price"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Torin Hydraulic Ram System - 10 Ton Capacity, Model# T71001L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
June 16, 2011
By mitsubusa
from Houston, TX
"I got this item during a sale for a very good price. It was my first time using an item like this so I read the instructions and got some online tips. I used it to straighten mustang to fit a fender, to fix a bent futon rail and to push out some dents on my tool box. I try to find any excuse to use this toy. I try to do my own work to save money and to buy more tools."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Torin Hydraulic Ram System - 10 Ton Capacity, Model# T71001L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hydraulic Ram kit

,
June 14, 2011
By mblake
from Houston, Tx.
"we used this ram set to adjust the tracks on our track crane. it preformed flawlessly. It is a very versitle tool with many attachments. I would like to see a better case to store the tool in but for the price it is a great value."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Torin Hydraulic Ram System - 10 Ton Capacity, Model# T71001L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

10 Ton to Go!

,
March 23, 2011
By Zinar
from Britt, IA
"I have used this to move LASER machine tool around at customer's on-site visits, and it works great."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Torin Hydraulic Ram System - 10 Ton Capacity, Model# T71001L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hydraulic ram review

,
August 31, 2010
By Sam1a
"This product was easy to connect, simple to operate and does exactlly what I need it to do. It is a bit tricky to re-package so be careful when first removing from the case."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Torin Hydraulic Ram System - 10 Ton Capacity, Model# T71001L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Crash

,
May 24, 2010
By over
from Utah
"Jack knifed trailer into side of my pickup used the hydraulic ram assy to push back to original , was a very time saving purchase and worked very well . After purchase save about $1200.00 dollars on project would recommend to any one for getting job done . Thanks"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Torin Hydraulic Ram System - 10 Ton Capacity, Model# T71001L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

10 ton cap. hydr. Ram System Jack

,
February 22, 2010
By WilsonLady75
from Wilson, Michigan
"I purchased the Ram jack for our Forestry business. Many times we are faced with unexpected accidents that bend our equipment , we need a fast way to get the job done. For instance, my son an operater of the Ponsee Harvester forgot to pull up his ladder before taking off, Causing it to twist and bend in several areas. This jack straightened the ladder quickly ,helping him to have very little down operation time. The Ram jack is in a convenient carry case with all of the attachments to handle anything that we have encounter. Awesome unit. Great price! Would and have recommended this products to many of our forestry competators."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Torin Hydraulic Ram System - 10 Ton Capacity, Model# T71001L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Usefull Tool

,
July 13, 2009
By FixingJunk
from Staunton, VA
"I bought this tool for one specific job but now that its on-hand I'm finding more and more uses for it, wish I had bought one sooner. Tool is of good quality and should last a long time."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Torin Hydraulic Ram System - 10 Ton Capacity, Model# T71001L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Hydraulic tool

,
March 17, 2009
By MickeyMan
from North Western Illinois
"This tool is of decent quality. The case is a little to light weight for the weight of the total unit. This is the only thing I've found wrong with it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Torin Hydraulic Ram System - 10 Ton Capacity, Model# T71001L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

portapower

,
November 17, 2008
By norman2
from indiana
"Great product the case is handy keeps the set together, and has almost all of the attachments except the pullback ram would be nice."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Torin Hydraulic Ram System - 10 Ton Capacity, Model# T71001L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

weak case

,
November 17, 2008
By Anonymous
from Wyoming
"The case came damaged. The case was too weak for the weight of the equipment. I would suggest ribs or metal inserts."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Torin Hydraulic Ram System - 10 Ton Capacity, Model# T71001L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hydraulic Ram system

,
April 15, 2008
By jbmcvay2
from Kansas
"I really like the hydraulic ram system. However, to be honest, the handling and shipping was very rough. The case was broken and can not be used to transport the ram system as I had wanted since it is kind of handy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Torin Hydraulic Ram System - 10 Ton Capacity, Model# T71001L
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

10 ton porta power

,
April 14, 2008
By tntmac
from Anaconda, montana
"I like the item but the storage case is useless. Very flimsy and not worth having. the tool is much too heavy for the case."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Torin Hydraulic Ram System - 10 Ton Capacity, Model# T71001L
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Torin Hydraulic Ram System

,
January 21, 2008
By theshark
from NC
"As a member of a Fire Dept. We purchase this for use in getting People out of trouble.
If it's a car wreck, to a Farm accident this product has done the job We needed it too.
At home I've used it to do all kinds of jobs around the house, from working on my vechiles, to working on equipment.
Having eveything in 1 case makes it easy to carry, & when You take time to place them back in the case, makes eveything easy to find.
The add on equipment also give You a greater range of options.
For what I need it for it has done a great job, & will not be affraid to use it for any job.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.