Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Dent Puller

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial Dent Puller

Item# 14476
Pulls out small dents by suction power alone Many other holding and pulling applications. Super-tough rubber cup and one-piece cast aluminum grip. Diameter of cup 5in.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (26 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
22 of 26(85%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Dent Puller
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Dent Puller
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great suction on smooth surface

,
April 21, 2014
By Jessob
from Brackettville
"This item has very good holding power for very smooth surfaces. It did not remove the dent as well as I had hoped but it has become a handy tool around the shop. I should have gotten two."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Dent Puller
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A good puller for mid to large dents

,
April 26, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
"If you need to pull a medium to large dent (over 5" to under 12"), this is the puller for you. Good suction and grip and then you pull straight back. Should pop out with minimal effort and with no need to re-spray. I've used it to pull out several fenders, hood and roof dents. Once pulled, you can't tell the dent was there. Make sure you cup all the way down on the tool before pulling to get the most effective action from it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Dent Puller
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too big for section of the metal pulled

,
October 15, 2012
By PumperMark
from DC
"Ensure that suction cup will fit over the section where you need the dent pulled. This device did not work where I needed it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Dent Puller
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Strong

,
August 20, 2012
By DIYF16
from Miami,FL
"I bought this to fix a big dent in my daughter's car, I pulled it and it popped out perfectly, no need for painting or anything else."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Dent Puller
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

dent puller

,
May 7, 2012
By bodean53
from ca.
"this is a well built product tough and durable will last me years it also works well on glass and mirrors holding installing etc"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Dent Puller
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just pop it out!

,
January 16, 2012
By Soundwoods
from Jonesboro, AR
"I bought my daughter a used car, which had a couple small roundish shallow indentations. Noticing there were no creases in the sheet metal, I figured I could do it. It was well worth the time and effort. The uneven superficial appearance pulled back into the surrounding surface to make an even
Look again. Works great.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Dent Puller
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

not so good

,
June 13, 2011
By eagle60
from Pa.
"This product did not perform as advertised. It doesn't generate enough suction to do the job."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Dent Puller
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Northern Industrial Dent Puller

,
November 23, 2010
By RG8729
from St Louis, MO
"The dent puller does a reasonable job. Operates as advertized, with good suction. For me, it popped out a large dent caused by some idiot kneeing my door. Although not perfect it did leave a minor dent it was hardly noticeable. This will not work for small dings."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Dent Puller
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

the little engine that couldn't

,
June 24, 2010
By savage7
from San Antonio, TX
"I was really hoping that this suction based puller could pull a large dent out of a Chevy Tahoe. I cleaned the surface of the vehicle and tried the puller both with the surface dry and then with it wet. In all cases the suction was not great enough to overcome the pulling power I was using to try an pull out the dent. I was not loosing suction due to creases in the metal, the suction was lost due to pulling force. I suspect that the resistance imposed by the thickness of the metal was too much for this little guy to overcome. Was worth a shot."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Dent Puller
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well

,
May 24, 2010
By 4wdWolf
from CA
"Don't expect miracles from this little suction cup, but it will certainly pull minor dents."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Dent Puller
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Strong Suction

,
May 24, 2010
By rickcb
from Baltimore, MD
"The NI Dent Puller is a good product. Operates as advertized, extremely strong suction, need to have enough flat area to apply to pull out the dent, not for small dings for sure. Also great at holing window panes."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Dent Puller
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeds expectations

,
March 10, 2010
By monty329
from Tennessee
"When used properly this tool performs exactly as publicized. Suction can be increased by simply applying a small amount of water to the suction cup. As with any suction device, it works best on completely flat surface. When dealing with a crease in the bodywork suction is hard to obtain. As stated before, the device works perfectly when used properly. Excellent product! Saved me $680 in expected bodywork repair."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Dent Puller
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Why get ripped off? Buy this instead.

,
February 19, 2010
By Stripey
from long beach, ca
"We had someone leave us a dent in the rear bumper of our car while we were parked in a grocery store lot. They weren't polite enough to apologise, and when we asked for estimates at the body shop they quoted us around $700 because they'd have to take the bumper off, rebuild it, paint it, etc. Sounded like a rip-off to me--it's not even that large of a dent.
Then we had people who followed us around with this tool and offered to take it out for $50. More reasonable than the body-shop, but still a bit pricy. Instead we just looked up the tool and bought it for less than that. It worked a charm, although you can still tell the bumper isn't priscine. At least we don't get followed around any more, though."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Dent Puller
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dent puller

,
July 20, 2009
By 0149
from Edison nj
"This tool was outstanding. Easy to use and pulled the dent right out. i was so amazed that I yelled out and danced a jig."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Dent Puller
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Great!

,
July 4, 2009
By Kacey
from Bronx, NY
"Hit the husband with the car one day and he punched a 6 inch dia dimple in the car hatch... Think I was mad before I was really mad after. You think he could have just took the little tap. Anyway... my options -pay the auto body guy $450 to pull it out or try this thing I saw in a late night infomercial. I'm cheap and its a recession... I placed the suction over the dimple and it pulled out. It's not 100% but better than what it was before."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Dent Puller
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dent puller

,
August 12, 2008
By Major
from Prattville, Al
"This device worked great and I didn't have to drill and bondo."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
BW21157
Maryland, USA 
 
Please wait while more information about BW21157 is loaded.
Additional information about BW21157 could not be loaded.
only 44lbs of pull!
August 2, 2011
"there is only 44lbs of pull with this item. similarly sized ones have about 110lbs. returning"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Dent Puller
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dents

,
August 11, 2008
By hallcrest
from Winlock, WA
"After trying this item, it failed to perform as stated. The suction was not strong enough except for the most minor of dents."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Dent Puller
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dent Puller

,
April 16, 2008
By coquie
from Spokane, WA
"I purchased the puller to pull out an 8" dent in the door of my car. It worked great.
My only criticism would be that due to the very stiff rubber of the cup, it's impossible to see it pulling down as you pump the vacuum, so you have to keep pulling on it to see if it is holding and if it isn't, you have to start over again. Also, you must wet the rubber to get a good seal.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Dent Puller
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

No Puller Of Dents...

,
April 14, 2008
By skrein
from Nashville, TN
"I received the product with great anticipation of success. I was unhappy... the product does not have the suction power to pull it's own weight. I am very dissapointed because I cannot pull any dents at all. And that's the truth."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Dent Puller
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dent puller

,
April 14, 2008
By hudnub
from Russellville, AR
"Excellent product for the price. Very effective at lifting glass and removing large concave type dents."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.