Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Torin Off-Road Jack - 3 1/2 Ton Capacity, 48in., Model# TR6501

Torin Off-Road Jack - 3 1/2 Ton Capacity, 48in., Model# TR6501

Item# 144842
The 3 1/2 Ton Capacity Torin Off-Road Jack is one of the most universal jacks in the world Whether you are pulling a stump out of the back yard, changing a tire or getting out of the mud, this lightweight jack has a use somewhere on the farm, on the road, in the desert or anywhere else your vehicle may end up. Perfect for any application dealing with lifting, pulling, clamping or spreading. The adjustable top clamp clevis can be moved to any position on the upright steel shaft for clamping purposes. Lift Range in. 4 1/2-41, Lift Capacity lbs. 7,000. Adjustable top clamp clevis can be moved to any position on the upright steel standard for clamping purposes Made from high-grade steel Smooth powder-coated finish adds durability 7,000lb. capacity 4 1/2in. min. to 41in. max. lift range
Average Customer Rating:
4.705 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (44 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
43 of 44(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Torin Off-Road Jack - 3 1/2 Ton Capacity, 48in., Model# TR6501
Review 1 for Torin Off-Road Jack - 3 1/2 Ton Capacity, 48in., Model# TR6501
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sturdy and Beefy

,
September 4, 2014
By gsw2003
from Bakersfield
"Bought this for 4 wheeling activities; very sturdy and beefy design. will get my large SUV out of a bind when it happens. Since it's a farm jack, discretion must be used and attention must be paid to using it safely, but it's a lifesaver when needed."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Torin Off-Road Jack - 3 1/2 Ton Capacity, 48in., Model# TR6501
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quirky Champion

,
July 28, 2014
By BD2014
from Terryville
"I was very impressed with the beefy design and construction of this jack - much, much stronger than a car bumper jack - uses big pins rather than teeth.
I was a little disappointed that you could only jack it down if there was 110 pounds on it - otherwise the hook would slide right down. Still, overall I am very happy with it and would buy another."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Torin Off-Road Jack - 3 1/2 Ton Capacity, 48in., Model# TR6501
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

,
June 2, 2014
By Brstr
from Vergennes, VT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I used it this past weekend to lift up and support my front porch while replacing the joists. Lifted with ease and worked perfect . I remember using this style jack as a kid on the farm and Northern Tool had just the right jack."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Torin Off-Road Jack - 3 1/2 Ton Capacity, 48in., Model# TR6501
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent jack FOR THE PRICE

,
February 4, 2014
By LuckyPuck
from Knoxville, tn
"Excellent farm jack for the price, if I was planning on using it often I would spring for the HiLift just for peace of mind. I use it as a spare jack for my jeep as the lift makes the factory jack too short. Some of the components have a cheap feel but so far nothing has broken."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Torin Off-Road Jack - 3 1/2 Ton Capacity, 48in., Model# TR6501
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Farm Jack made by Torin

,
October 8, 2012
By EFOX
from North Carolina
"Product is very well made, good for all around farm and home use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Torin Off-Road Jack - 3 1/2 Ton Capacity, 48in., Model# TR6501
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A handy tool

,
August 14, 2012
By gbsme
from Atlanta, GA
"The Torin all-purpose farm jack is sturdy and easy to use. It is self-explanatory and ready out of the box.
The one concern I have is that the gear or clutch that allow changing from elevating the jack to lowering it is fairly stiff, at least in the first few times of usage. I would imagine this will improve and I would rather have a firm lock when raising heavy items.
It is stable on uneven ground also.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Torin Off-Road Jack - 3 1/2 Ton Capacity, 48in., Model# TR6501
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tractor Jack

,
May 14, 2012
By Lokidoodle
from Windham, ME
"Great jack for a great price. I used 2 of them to jack up the garage roof. I also used them to pull old chain link fence posts out of the ground. Works easily and not too heavy to carry. The one thing that could be improved would be to have a heavier spring in the jack as I wore this one out. Also adding a clip to keep the handle up would be a great addition. Overall I would highly recommend."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Torin Off-Road Jack - 3 1/2 Ton Capacity, 48in., Model# TR6501
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most excellent farm jack.

,
May 14, 2012
By Bobtheman
from Maine
"I bought this for use with an old Ford pickup that had no jack. However, it has so many uses beyond a simple vehicle jack. It can be used for pulling imbedded posts from the ground, stretching fence wire. I have even leveled up trusses under my old house. It is strong enough for a myriad of uses. Great jack."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Torin Off-Road Jack - 3 1/2 Ton Capacity, 48in., Model# TR6501
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Torin Jack

,
January 18, 2012
By Kenny59
from Waynesboro, MS
"Good quality jack that is well made. It's heavy, but it needs to be for most purposes. I use it to pull T-posts up I cannot get to with my tractor. Base plate is small so you will need a larger plate or wood block under it on soft ground."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Torin Off-Road Jack - 3 1/2 Ton Capacity, 48in., Model# TR6501
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Still in one piece

,
October 17, 2011
By wattredy
from East Tennessee
"This jack has held up well. the foot is a little small so keep a heavy plank around to give it a steady base."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Torin Off-Road Jack - 3 1/2 Ton Capacity, 48in., Model# TR6501
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good

,
October 10, 2011
By Cowsnone
from New Jersey
"Thought it was good item worked as stated no problems.."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Torin Off-Road Jack - 3 1/2 Ton Capacity, 48in., Model# TR6501
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I bought Four of These

,
June 13, 2011
By JeepGuy
from Maine
"I spaced four vertical 2x4s seven feet apart fastening them to the rafters and the floor. Next I bolted the tops of the jacks to the 2x4s, and tacked the bases to the floor. Then I ran two 2x3 steel tubing between each pair of jacks to lift may car, which it did easily. I also put a piece of plywood across the tubing to drive my garden tractor on and then lift it up. Just one more example of the things these jacks can do. Stay clear of that jack handle, and try if possible to anchor the jack, but of course there are many times when just the jack and the load are in the picture. If you expect it to twist or lean then you can plan or readjust as needed. I recently lifted a 12 x 20 foot greenhouse and drove my camper under it to move the greenhouse down the hill. The four jacks made it easy to do."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Torin Off-Road Jack - 3 1/2 Ton Capacity, 48in., Model# TR6501
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Red Farm Jack

,
March 14, 2011
By blkgnome
from HowardsvilleVa.
"Jack worked excellent, on lifting and leveling my storage shed (12X 24) and with no effort whatsoever. Also worked great as a fence stretcher, ran some 3/4 bar through the fence and hooked the jack to it again no effort at all."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Torin Off-Road Jack - 3 1/2 Ton Capacity, 48in., Model# TR6501
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Farm Jack

,
January 24, 2011
By Stumpygopher
from Lakeland, Fl
"Have used mine 3 times so far since I got it. 1st time was to jack up my shed to put it on a sled and move it. 2nd time was to put overload shocks on my Jeep and the 3rd time was to lift up the front of my friends truck so we could repair his leaf spring shackles on his truck which broke in the woods."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Torin Off-Road Jack - 3 1/2 Ton Capacity, 48in., Model# TR6501
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Up an Up

,
November 23, 2010
By Anonymous
from Wayne, West Virginia
"I do a lot of my own work around the house and I like to help others too ! Anyway, I have an attached carport on my doublewide. I recently had to change all the support posts. I didn't have any help but the Torin All-Purpose farm jack. With additional 4x4's raising the roof was a breeze with the jack. It was so easy to use and it had no problem supporting the weight. Raising the roof or letting it down was simple. The job was quick and painless. I am so glad I had this jack, and I'm sure I will find other uses for it too!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Torin Off-Road Jack - 3 1/2 Ton Capacity, 48in., Model# TR6501
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Farm jack

,
November 19, 2010
By MDSA
from Western NC
"Also known as a jeep jack, this jack has been great for getting our
off-roaders out of ruts. We also used it once when one of our equipment trailers fell off its trailer stand. A hydraulic jack might have worked but would not have raised it high enough to get on the hitch. My only complaint is the danger when their is a heavy load on the jack. These jacks have a tendency to let loose and drop if the mechanism isn't jacked carefully.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Torin Off-Road Jack - 3 1/2 Ton Capacity, 48in., Model# TR6501
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dock Lifter

,
November 16, 2010
By Lender
from Massachusetts
"We bought our Farm Jack to lift a steel dock frame from the Lake for the winter. It worked perfectly, allowing us to raise the dock to prevent ice damage. Most impressive was the lift strength, at 31/2 tons it easily lifted the dock, the height of 48", taller the other jacks, was a benefit as well. A quality tool ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Torin Off-Road Jack - 3 1/2 Ton Capacity, 48in., Model# TR6501
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
September 30, 2010
By memyself
"I Got this jack for my dodge b 250 van but ended up using it so much more I think anyone who owns a big truck,van or suv sould own this jack"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Torin Off-Road Jack - 3 1/2 Ton Capacity, 48in., Model# TR6501
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Torin All-Purpose Farm Jack - 3 1/2-Ton Capacity,

,
August 30, 2010
By MtnSeaRide
from Calvert, MD
"I 've used this farm jack for so many different situations that's unpredictable to happen. This all-purpose farm jack will do what you need it to do - uproot, clamp, pull, lift, shift, push, bend, and many more. If you want to lower something heavy, this is the jack. Lift your vehicle out of the rut is not a problem using this farm jack. I could go on and on. I have used it over couple years and have no mechanical problem whatsoever. I would recommend this product whether you are into farming, boating, hunting, trucking, camping, surffishing, rockcrawling, atving, trailering, logging, etc"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Torin Off-Road Jack - 3 1/2 Ton Capacity, 48in., Model# TR6501
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Off Roader

,
June 2, 2010
By Mimsman
from Mims, Florida
"This product is a must for any serious off roaders, hunters, farmers, or weekends out in the woods. It can be used in many different ways, I carry one in my Jeep & use it in jams were a winch can't be used. Also use it to pull barb
wire when putting up fence. I would recommend this product highly.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.