Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Torin Big Red Engine Support Bar - 1,100-Lb. Capacity, Model# TRE4007

Torin Big Red Engine Support Bar - 1,100-Lb. Capacity, Model# TRE4007

Item# 144843
This heavy-duty steel Torin Big Red Engine Support Bar enables you to work on engines, transmissions and other automotive components. Capacity lbs. 1,100. Rubber padded support legs prevent slippage as well as damage to paint Screw adjustment for leveling out the unit 1100lbs. max. working load Support assembly includes a steel bar, 2 chains and 2 adjustable track bars
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Torin Big Red Engine Support Bar - 1,100-Lb. Capacity, Model# TRE4007
Review 1 for Torin Big Red Engine Support Bar - 1,100-Lb. Capacity, Model# TRE4007
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gets the job done.

,
July 20, 2009
By David594
from Western Mass
"Simple design and very sturdy.
I've used it a couple times on my personal VW to do the timing belt and to drop the transmission, and it does everything I could want from it. Also lent it to friends on multiple occasions for similar tasks and no one has had a complaint yet.
Great for any time you need to support the engine in the vehicle."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Torin Big Red Engine Support Bar - 1,100-Lb. Capacity, Model# TRE4007
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

For the price it's an excellent tool!

,
March 23, 2009
By Visionlogic
from Foley, AL
"I've used this to support the engine during timing belt changes on several VW TDI's. For the price it's an excellent addition to the tool collection of anyone who wrenches. Sturdy, easy and fast. Just add a couple of good S-hooks for attaching the lift chains to the engine hanger points and you are good to go!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Torin Big Red Engine Support Bar - 1,100-Lb. Capacity, Model# TRE4007
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
November 17, 2008
By Maintainer
from Dover, DE
"This product is a must for anyone, amature or professional, who works on front wheel drive vehicles."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Torin Big Red Engine Support Bar - 1,100-Lb. Capacity, Model# TRE4007
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than we expected

,
November 17, 2008
By RAMAuto
from Raleigh, NC
"I was going to build an engine support but when I saw the price of this one, I just ordered two of them. I didn't expect them to be as heavy duty as they are. The guys in the shop are quite pleased with them and they get used all the time. The only thing we had to modify was the color... all of our shop equipment is painted yellow."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Torin Big Red Engine Support Bar - 1,100-Lb. Capacity, Model# TRE4007
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Engine Support - Good Tool to have

,
April 14, 2008
By Marshall
from Texas
"I wish i had purchased this a long time ago. This holds the engine while you work on the car and gives you a good safety feeling while your underneath the vehicle. Its is worth every penny. You can also move the car without having to worry about the engine at all. Its great I would highly recommend it. Even though I dont use it very often having it there is like any other tool, if you need it and you have it its better than needing it and NOT having it around. Its very adjustable for either in line 4 cyls or "sideways" 4 cyls it can be used on any engine I would think. Just find a place to bolt the lift chain to and your done or you can place the hooks in the engine lift brackets and your done, its that EASY."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Torin Big Red Engine Support Bar - 1,100-Lb. Capacity, Model# TRE4007
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Torin Engine Support

,
March 22, 2008
By turkeyslayer
from Kansas City, MO
"I recently used this tool to support the engine in an '88 Bronco II. It is a very sturdy, easily adjustable device which allowed me to safely adjust the height of and support the engine during transmission removal. It sure beats having to use a floor jack to dangerously balance the engine from underneath the vehicle and risk punching a hole in the pan or smashing fingers if the jack slips.
A real time saver! Thanks for a very useful tool at such a great price!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Torin Big Red Engine Support Bar - 1,100-Lb. Capacity, Model# TRE4007
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well

,
January 21, 2008
By aleidig
from Abilene, KS
"I find this product works well. I find it can be moved around on cars to lift the engine where good lift points are located. It can be a little time consuming figuring out how to set it up so it'll lift properly."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Torin Big Red Engine Support Bar - 1,100-Lb. Capacity, Model# TRE4007
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Engine Bar

,
July 9, 2007
By wongo
from Mukilteo, WA
"A very heavy duty tool. I am useing it to suspend my boat small block motor while I change the freeze plugs."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Torin Big Red Engine Support Bar - 1,100-Lb. Capacity, Model# TRE4007
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A worthwhile tool

,
March 8, 2007
By BigJohn
from CT
"It does what you ask it to do and is reasonable easy to setup and adjust."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Torin Big Red Engine Support Bar - 1,100-Lb. Capacity, Model# TRE4007
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Right price for a valuable safety item.

,
March 7, 2007
By WeekendWrencher
from SF Bay Area, CA
"Sometimes you need to drop a subframe, but don't have an engine hoist. A well-built support out of 2x4s is not the answer. This engine support is beefy enough that I feel very comfortable getting under the car with the subframes removed.
There were a couple of issues in the order of this product. The packaging is not up to the task of shipping this item cross country. When I recieved it, there was only remnants of the outer box left strapped to the crossbar, and several parts were missing. Northern came through and shipped a second unit, however the same problem happened in shipping. Even fewer parts made the full trip. Northern stayed on it and had the remaining couple of parts drop shipped to me from Torin.
There was also a minor issue with some slag from the welding ending up in the threads of one of the turn screws. A quick hit with the dremel cleared it out.
Would I buy it again? Yes.
I'd just be sure to order it ahead of time so that I would have time to iron out any issues prior to needing the engine support.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Torin Big Red Engine Support Bar - 1,100-Lb. Capacity, Model# TRE4007
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Simple and cheap

,
March 6, 2007
By GarageAlone
from NoVa
"Pro:
- cheap
- simple
- works the way it was expected
Con:
- the chain is quite thick, so it might not go through the hangers' holes. I used 1/2" bolts to attach the chain to the engine.
- lack of adjustable side arms
Overall:
Worth having in a garage if you consider doing car maintenance on your own.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.