Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002

Item# 144847
"The heavy-duty Torin 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane is specifically designed to raise, lower and transport engines, differentials, transmissions and other heavy loads with minimal effort. This hoist has a 4-hole position reinforced boom, enabling four different load capacities. The vertical lifting ram gets items raised to the maximum rated lifting capacity with ease. Some assembly required. Meets ASME PASE safety standards. Wheels qty. 6, Dimensions L x W x H in. 63 3/4 x 40 x 59 1/2, Long Ram Jack Capacity Tons 8, Lift Range in. 1-90, Boom Holes qty. 4, Capacity lbs. 4,000, Folded Dimensions L x W x H in. 33 x 33 1/2 x 59 3/4, Foldable Yes. Fully-adjustable boom slides in or out with 57.8' maximum boom extension 6 swiveling solid steel caster wheels add mobility Foldable design makes for convenient, easy storage Heavy steel construction for maximum durability and longevity Includes FREE 1,500lb. capacity engine leveler 4,000lb. rated capacity 8 ton long vertical ram 1in. to 90in. lifting range Includes chain and hook"
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Review 1 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great!

,
December 3, 2014
By WyattEarpJr
from Roanoke, VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" This was my first time pulling an engine and transmission as part of a father/son project. My two sons assembled the engine crane by themselves in a few hours.
The crane is very stable and easy to use. The engine leveler is a real bonus.
Kudos to Roy in the Salem, VA, store for recommending this tool. We buy all of our mission-critical equipment from Northern Tool. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Engine Crane Review

,
November 12, 2014
By RaceDude
from Dallas
" The Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane was easy to assemble and easy to use. It did it's job with ease. I've only used the crane for one engine swap but I am sure that given the high quality of materials I will be using the crane for many years to come. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

torin 2 ton engine hoist

,
March 9, 2013
By gatorhotrods
from pinnacle nc
" this is an awsome product got it on sale best value .. it work great i pulled a fully dressed small block chevy it was very stable and smooth the engine leveler worked excellent also i would highly recommend this product im very satisfied with it "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shop Crane

,
August 13, 2012
By Sixbits
from Independence Mo.
" Love BIG RED, I work on large mowers so pulling engines, hydrostats or wheel motors this shop crane makes it easy and when im done it folds up and stores almost flat against the wall. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
9out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Red

,
June 17, 2011
By Batesville
from Livermore, Ca
" Easy to assemble.
Easy to use.
Bought one in July of 2010 for one department.
Bought one in June of 2011 for another department.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

engine hoist

,
June 13, 2011
By dartboy
from Albertville mn
" I purchased this mainly to put engines in and out , but I have found it very handy for helping me load bigger things in and out of my truck, I am only 50 years old but I have Learned over the years to work smarter not harder and this hoist has helped me to do so. This is a very strong product and easy to use ,the leveler it came with is another great addition to any engine hoist, if you have a hoist already I would recommend this addition to your tool supply.I have purchased more than one of the Torin big red tools and I have not one problem with them. Thanks Dartboy "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Torin Big Red

,
November 24, 2010
By Dadshop
from Dallas, Tx.
" I used this product to replace the engine in my son's Jeep Wrangler. The crane worked great and the free leveler made a huge difference in this project. The Jeep is much taller than an average vehicle and the Big Red had enough height and range to get the engine in and out without lowering the Jeep. I would definitely recommend this product especially for the price. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Value in a Foldable Hoist

,
August 30, 2010
By Footbrake68
" The foldable hoist is a good value for a home shop or light duty garage for the occasional lift project. The great feaure is the ability to fold up the unit during storage and maximize shop space for other projects. Lining up the folding legs and retention pins can be a bit tricky and they will require periodic "adjustment" during alternate use / storage but it is not too difficult to maintain for the value of the product. One tip - make sure you get boxes from the store that are unopened and undamaged. Our purchase was missing some hardware (10 x 1.25 x 20mm bolts) but we were able to complete the assembly with fasteners on hand. The included load leveler is a nice bonus adding to the versatility of the hoist. In most cases - for engines - an intake manifold lift plate will do the job. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Torin 2-Ton Foldable Engine Hoist

,
February 15, 2010
By Dennis03
from Winter Haven, Florida
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" This has been a great engine hoist and I've used it for a lot more than an engine hoist. I used it for lifting the rear end of my VW Beetle high enough that I can drop the engine to remove it. It worked great (as long as you remember to brace the bumper). And when it came time to put the engine back in, it even worked as an engine hoist. Imagine that. The leveling part was great, too, even thoug a VW engine isn't really set up for that. Ijust used a coupling of nylon tie-down straps and lifted it right up.
My only complaint was in assembly of the hoist. Some of the bolts in the base don't fit as well as they should and needed to be coaxed into position. Given some time, I'm planning on opening up the holes a bit to make it easier to remove them for folding..
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Engine Hoist

,
March 25, 2009
By kalvi001
from Minneapolis
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I bought this to take the engine out of my '68 Mustang Fastback, It was the first engine I ever pulled. Everything went perfect and the Load leveler made the job easy! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Red

,
November 25, 2008
By RHDMCLEHTPC
from San Antonio, Texas
" I bought this Engine Hoist to help me Lift and mount into position my Tig Welder and Plasma Cutter onto a rolling frame that I built to house them. This made the Job so easy, the load leveler is a must have tool, don't lift without it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great customer service!!!!

,
February 11, 2008
By dzad60a
from Meeker colorado
" I originally ordered this hoist and when I recieved it it was missing several parts. After a week battling the manufacturer on the phone I finally reached Randy in customer service. He immediately sent another entire hoist out ad just asked me to call when I had the peices of the original hoist ready to ship...
This is the kind of customer service that the rest of the world needs to emulate!
Northern tool offers quality products at great prices, and their dedication to their customers is what keeps me coming back!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Engine lift good/bad

,
January 31, 2007
By BradM
from Charlotte, NC
" I purchased the combination engine lift / engine leveler to do some engine work on my import car. The staff was very helpful and the transaction went off with no problems.
Starting with the good parts. This lift has a good range and enough capacity for just about any engine that you are doing in a small shop / home workshop. The adjustments are easy to make on the boom so you can shorten it for storage or high loads or lengthen it for a better reach. The casters work well and this whole unit seems to work better that others in the same price range.
Now for the not so good. This thing is shipped in a ton of pieces and the directions seem to be written by someone who does not understand the English language very well. The parts are not labeled and many of the bolts are very similar in size. All in all the directions are a joke, very poorly done.
All in all it is a good value, and if you can pull a motor, you can put this together without directions. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.