Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002

Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002

Item# 144847
"The heavy-duty Torin 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane is specifically designed to raise, lower and transport engines, differentials, transmissions and other heavy loads with minimal effort. This hoist has a 4-hole position reinforced boom, enabling four different load capacities. The vertical lifting ram gets items raised to the maximum rated lifting capacity with ease. Some assembly required. Meets ASME PASE safety standards. Long Ram Jack Capacity Tons 8, Boom Holes qty. 4, Wheels qty. 6, Capacity lbs. 4,000, Foldable Yes, Lift Range in. 1 to 90, Dimensions L x W x H in. 63 3/4 x 40 x 59 1/2, Folded Dimensions L x W x H in. 33 x 33 1/2 x 59 3/4. Fully-adjustable boom slides in or out with 57.8' maximum boom extension 6 swiveling solid steel caster wheels add mobility Foldable design makes for convenient, easy storage Heavy steel construction for maximum durability and longevity Includes FREE 1,500lb. capacity engine leveler 4,000lb. rated capacity 8 ton long vertical ram 1in. to 90in. lifting range Includes chain and hook"
Average Customer Rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (60 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
59 of 60(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Review 1 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WORKS LIKE A CHARM

,
December 18, 2014
By KBAIRD
from TEXAS
" NICE, MOVES AROUND EASY.
EASY SET UP.
WORKS LIKE A CHARM.
MY WIFE DID GOOD PICKING THIS OUT FOR ME.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great!

,
December 3, 2014
By WyattEarpJr
from Roanoke, VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" This was my first time pulling an engine and transmission as part of a father/son project. My two sons assembled the engine crane by themselves in a few hours.
The crane is very stable and easy to use. The engine leveler is a real bonus.
Kudos to Roy in the Salem, VA, store for recommending this tool. We buy all of our mission-critical equipment from Northern Tool. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Engine Crane Review

,
November 12, 2014
By RaceDude
from Dallas
" The Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane was easy to assemble and easy to use. It did it's job with ease. I've only used the crane for one engine swap but I am sure that given the high quality of materials I will be using the crane for many years to come. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Cherry Picker

,
October 2, 2014
By KWSS
from Chicago
" I found this product to be well designed and built, easy to assemble and use, and the tool exceeded my expectations. I pulled a 455 BBO out of my 68 442 with no assistance, and never felt like the crane was under any duress. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Folding shop companion

,
February 4, 2014
By CrazyForTools
from Tn
" Had this for a little over a year now and I've gotta say its a great lift. Very stable, very good welds, folds up to a good size, and maneuvers well even on not so smooth surfaces. Great for automotive work as well as just moving those hard to handle objects around the shop. Buy it you wont be disappointed. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome engine hoist!!

,
July 5, 2013
By Anonymous
from Riverside, CA
" This is hands down the best engine hoist I have ever used in my life. With the leveler attached to it, removing the engine was a breeze. I love this unit. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
10out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Equipment

,
April 23, 2013
By Lee11
from Dallas, TX
" It's heavy duty and easy to move around. The load balancer works great. The boom also had the extra extension I was looking for. The best thing I like about it, is storing it. Requires very little room. Only issue I had was one of the lower leg pins did not slide into the hole correctly. I drilled out the hole and now the pin works fine. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

torin 2 ton engine hoist

,
March 9, 2013
By gatorhotrods
from pinnacle nc
" this is an awsome product got it on sale best value .. it work great i pulled a fully dressed small block chevy it was very stable and smooth the engine leveler worked excellent also i would highly recommend this product im very satisfied with it "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shop Crane

,
August 13, 2012
By Sixbits
from Independence Mo.
" Love BIG RED, I work on large mowers so pulling engines, hydrostats or wheel motors this shop crane makes it easy and when im done it folds up and stores almost flat against the wall. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
9out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

lift

,
October 21, 2011
By theoddoldman
from Libby Montana
" I got this hoist for my son. he has used it in all kinds of places because it folds down he even used it in the woods to fix a friends truck it has a stable stance and is easy to move. I think this is as good as any pro-shop hoist I have ever use and I have been doing auto work for over 35 years "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

engine hoist

,
October 17, 2011
By rickey1172
from greenville, sc
" this engine hoist works great for pulling engines out of cars and trucks. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Completely Satisfactory

,
June 17, 2011
By jaxwithanx
" I can't imagine expecting or wanting more from a lift, especially at the price point. Folds up very compact and welds are more than enough to withstand constant use. Without a doubt the best deal you can get on an engine lift. The leveler is sturdy and definitely not just a "throw-in". "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Red

,
June 17, 2011
By Batesville
from Livermore, Ca
" Easy to assemble.
Easy to use.
Bought one in July of 2010 for one department.
Bought one in June of 2011 for another department.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

engine hoist

,
June 13, 2011
By dartboy
from Albertville mn
" I purchased this mainly to put engines in and out , but I have found it very handy for helping me load bigger things in and out of my truck, I am only 50 years old but I have Learned over the years to work smarter not harder and this hoist has helped me to do so. This is a very strong product and easy to use ,the leveler it came with is another great addition to any engine hoist, if you have a hoist already I would recommend this addition to your tool supply.I have purchased more than one of the Torin big red tools and I have not one problem with them. Thanks Dartboy "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good with Limilts

,
June 13, 2011
By CoolDaD
from Liberty, Texas
" The reason I would not recommend this lift to a friend is the lift worked well with standard auto's but was more trying with trucks most of the problem was lifting the engine high enough to clear the body of the truck we would have to take the leveler device off then it might clear the body . "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

ENGINE CRANE

,
March 22, 2011
By JVINSO
from TENNESSEE
" GOOD PRODUCT FOR THE MONEY, AND CONVIENENTLY FOLDS UP SO IT CAN BE STORED OUT OF THE WAY "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great all around crane

,
March 21, 2011
By NormanH
from Virginia Beach, VA.
" This crane is perfect for the full automotive repair shop to the "shade tree mechanic". It is truly a 1 person lift. I have even used it to pull up fence post. It is that durable. I would recommend this lift to anyone looking for one. The folding legs lets it to be stored in any corner of a shop or shed. To sum it up, it is the last lift I will own. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
March 21, 2011
By Lotsats
from North Carolina
" This thing makes it easy to lift and move the engine in and out of the car, and the leveler makes tilting it much easier. I've never been able to position an engine this precisely and doing the installation by myself was easy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Helpful tool

,
March 21, 2011
By SGTWILL
from FT Hood, Texas
" This engine hoist helped me out alot when I pulled the engine from my old car (1980 Caprice Classic). I would have had a heck of time getting it out without this tool. When I purchased it originally I never knew I would use it so much. I has been a tremendous addition to my tool inventory.
It has a great capacity for lifting even with the arm fully extended.
Storage of this lift is compact and it takes up little space in my work area, unlike the lifts we had when I went to auto mechanics school.
The price was reasonable apart from other I had looked at.
It was easy to assemble at home without a lot of hassle.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Torin Big Red 2 Ton Folding Shop Crane with Free Load Leveler -Model# T32002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dependable

,
March 14, 2011
By rwbaker
from Jacksonville, FL
" This is a solid, dependable hoist. I use it solely for moving heavy-duty machinery.
It's fairly easy to put together, however, mine didn't come with assembly instructions -- just an exploded diagram. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.