Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002

Item# 144848
"The heavy-duty Torin 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane is specifically designed to raise, lower and transport engines, differentials, transmissions and other heavy loads with minimal effort. This hoist has a 4-hole position reinforced boom, enabling four different load capacities. The vertical lifting ram gets items raised to the maximum rated lifting capacity with ease. Some assembly required. Meets ASME PASE safety standards. Boom Holes qty. 4, Wheels qty. 4, Foldable Yes, Dimensions L x W x H in. 52 x 44 5/8 x 57 1/2, Capacity lbs. 2,000, Lift Range in. 1-78 3/4. Fully-adjustable boom slides in or out Solid steel caster wheels add mobility Foldable design makes for convenient, easy storage Heavy steel construction for maximum durability and longevity 2,000lb. rated capacity 3 ton long vertical ram 1in. to 78 3/4in. lifting range Includes chain and hook"
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 of 9(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002
Review 1 for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well built

,
December 22, 2014
By TB04
from Georgia
" This lift works well for our small shop. We use it to lift mower motors when needed. We also use it to lift the front of the mowers so we can clean out the underneath of the decks with ease. The only reason I didn't give it four stars was due to no instructions for assembly. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

great small lift

,
August 25, 2014
By OldArmy71
from Bryan, TX
" This is a great little lift. I used it to remove a fifth wheel travel trailer hitch from my Chevy truck and it worked great. The only problem was in assembly. Product details were very lacking and provided little information on assembly. I was able to figure out the assembly, but a novice would have trouble putting the lift together. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

torin Shop Crane

,
October 12, 2011
By Rayko
from Magnolia, Texas
" I had an application whereby large heavy pieces of metal needed to be lifted and placed on a metal cutting radial saw. It was very difficult to lift the metal by hand, hence the need for a portable crane. The crane is simple to assemble and use. It works very well, and is very versatile. The only minor item we ran into was the spring locking pins that are used to secure the pins which hold the legs in place. They weren't made very well, but we easily replaced them with ones purchased at a local hardware store. This was a minor issue of no real consequence. I would highly recommend this item to anyone looking for a crane like this. It is well made and sturdy.
The added benefit of being able to fold it up and store it can come in real handy when it is not being used for a considerable length of time.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Missing bolts

,
July 3, 2011
By Ed0067
from Greenville, SC
" Started to assemble the hoist and while reading the awful assembly instructions, I noticed I am missing more then half the bolts. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-8points
5out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

big red

,
August 30, 2010
By brickman1
from north carolina
" this shop crane is a top of the line unit. the foldable capacity takes up less of your shop space. the telescoping boom helps you get to hard to reach areas. strong hydralics, and easy to maneuver wheels nake it everything you will need in an engine hoist. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliable engine hoist priced right

,
July 19, 2010
By Bikenraider99
from Houston, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I picked up this unit last month because it cost less to buy than it did to rent a hoist for the 3 days I was going to use it. I needed something that was compact, as I live in apartment and don't have much space in my storage/patio; this fit the bill. Assembly was fairly easy.
Usage: The first use was a Mopar 440 Engine out of a Dodge truck. This engine handled it with ease! Used it again to get it on the engine stand once at the shop space I rented. Easy as pie, although turning can be a bit of a chore if you don't get the hang of it right away. I'm going to be using it again to lift another 440 out of a car and have the utmost confidence in the hoist.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great back saver

,
February 15, 2010
By windyfarmer
from martin mi
" the torin big red folding engine hoist is one of the best things i bought for my shop and being able to fold up is great on saving space. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Torin Big Red Folding Engine Hoist — 1-Ton Capacit

,
November 17, 2008
By pcross
from Big Spring, Tx
" Worked as I planned, I picked up a 900lb lathe and moved to a truck then, loaded hoist and unloaded from truck to new shop with ease with only one person. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

,
April 21, 2008
By JBarryW
from Greensboro, NC
" After reviewing my options out there, I chose the Torin. It is great value, very well made, and does everything it is supposed to, very well! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.