Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002

Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002

Item# 144848
The heavy-duty Torin 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane is specifically designed to raise, lower and transport engines, differentials, transmissions and other heavy loads with minimal effort. This hoist has a 4-hole position reinforced boom, enabling four different load capacities. The vertical lifting ram gets items raised to the maximum rated lifting capacity with ease. Some assembly required. Meets ASME PASE safety standards. Lift Range in. 1-78 3/4, Boom Holes qty. 4, Wheels qty. 4, Capacity lbs. 2,000, Dimensions L x W x H in. 52 x 44 5/8 x 57 1/2, Foldable Yes. Fully-adjustable boom slides in or out Solid steel caster wheels add mobility Foldable design makes for convenient, easy storage Heavy steel construction for maximum durability and longevity 2,000lb. rated capacity 3 ton long vertical ram 1in. to 78 3/4in. lifting range Includes chain and hook
Average Customer Rating:
4.474 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (19 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
18 of 19(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002
Review 1 for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

great small lift

,
August 25, 2014
By OldArmy71
from Bryan, TX
"This is a great little lift. I used it to remove a fifth wheel travel trailer hitch from my Chevy truck and it worked great. The only problem was in assembly. Product details were very lacking and provided little information on assembly. I was able to figure out the assembly, but a novice would have trouble putting the lift together."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

POT LIFTING

,
April 16, 2014
By 71YEAROLD
from TEXAS
"I USE IT TO LIFT HEAVY "120 QT." CRAWFISH POTS AND BASKETS FULL OF CRAWFISH AND CORN, POTATOS, ETC. WORKS GREAT!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great hoist. Versitile for storage.

,
April 23, 2013
By Tinkerswithtoys
from Atlanta
"I bought one of these and it is an excellent buy. Easily lifts and rolls. I would recommend to anyone looking for an engine/transmission hoist."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for light duty and small jobs

,
April 23, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
"I originally was going to buy a 2 ton crane to replace the 5 ton I've had since the 80s. The 5 ton didn't fold and I had to move into a smaller garage so I needed all of the room I could get. After looking at the models, I ended up going a step further down and getting a 1 ton model. It's pretty stout for it's size and rating, even on the far-reaching setting. It takes a little bit of time to put together initially (hence the 4 stars instead of 5) and I wish the boom was a little longer, but it's not worth 3 or 4 times the price for a name brand lift to get these minor inconveniences. I've been very happy with this the few times I've had to use it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1 Ton Crane

,
January 9, 2012
By Chilla
from Dallas, TX
"Good shop crane for a first timer. Works very well, and saves space in my small garage when folded up. My first use was with removing a northstar engine.
I have no complaints about it."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

really nice cherry picker

,
October 17, 2011
By Bullet1
from Elkhorn City KY
"I bought this cherry picker in the johnson city store when I got it home I found it te be really easy to put together and strong built easy to get around because of it being able to be folded up I have pulled to motors with this so far and u could not ask for a better picker"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

torin Shop Crane

,
October 12, 2011
By Rayko
from Magnolia, Texas
"I had an application whereby large heavy pieces of metal needed to be lifted and placed on a metal cutting radial saw. It was very difficult to lift the metal by hand, hence the need for a portable crane. The crane is simple to assemble and use. It works very well, and is very versatile. The only minor item we ran into was the spring locking pins that are used to secure the pins which hold the legs in place. They weren't made very well, but we easily replaced them with ones purchased at a local hardware store. This was a minor issue of no real consequence. I would highly recommend this item to anyone looking for a crane like this. It is well made and sturdy.
The added benefit of being able to fold it up and store it can come in real handy when it is not being used for a considerable length of time.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Missing bolts

,
July 3, 2011
By Ed0067
from Greenville, SC
"Started to assemble the hoist and while reading the awful assembly instructions, I noticed I am missing more then half the bolts."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-8points
5out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

big red

,
August 30, 2010
By brickman1
from north carolina
"this shop crane is a top of the line unit. the foldable capacity takes up less of your shop space. the telescoping boom helps you get to hard to reach areas. strong hydralics, and easy to maneuver wheels nake it everything you will need in an engine hoist."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy....

,
August 23, 2010
By NCSUDucker
from Salisbury, NC
"Great for having around the shop. I use it to help me flip boats and mounting motors. Assembly was easy and seems to be well built. Folds up nice and compact and takes up little floor space."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliable engine hoist priced right

,
July 19, 2010
By Bikenraider99
from Houston, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I picked up this unit last month because it cost less to buy than it did to rent a hoist for the 3 days I was going to use it. I needed something that was compact, as I live in apartment and don't have much space in my storage/patio; this fit the bill. Assembly was fairly easy.
Usage: The first use was a Mopar 440 Engine out of a Dodge truck. This engine handled it with ease! Used it again to get it on the engine stand once at the shop space I rented. Easy as pie, although turning can be a bit of a chore if you don't get the hang of it right away. I'm going to be using it again to lift another 440 out of a car and have the utmost confidence in the hoist.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Engine hoist

,
June 2, 2010
By bronco88
from Chester, VA
"I bought this product 4 or 5 years ago. Very well crafted and extremely durable. The fold up design is an excellent space saver for my shop. I have used it numerous times and it still proforms like the day I put it together."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great back saver

,
February 15, 2010
By windyfarmer
from martin mi
"the torin big red folding engine hoist is one of the best things i bought for my shop and being able to fold up is great on saving space."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hoist

,
November 17, 2008
By riches2000
from Boston, MA
"I bought this to move my RV hitch out of my truck bed as the hitch weighs 250 lbs. With this unit I can easily remove the hitch on my own, when I need the truck bed empty. It is easy to use. The only difficulty is turning the unit as the front wheels are fixed; you need to have room to swing it around. The hoist is well built and really solid, and it was simple to assemble."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Torin Big Red Folding Engine Hoist — 1-Ton Capacit

,
November 17, 2008
By pcross
from Big Spring, Tx
"Worked as I planned, I picked up a 900lb lathe and moved to a truck then, loaded hoist and unloaded from truck to new shop with ease with only one person."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bigjake

,
August 19, 2008
By Bigjake2004
from Luttrell, TN
"I've used this hoist to remove the engine from my '89 F-150. It worked gr8 and the convienience of the legs folding up to store is awsome! It was just as easy to reinstall the motor after rebuild as well. i would recommend it to anyone wanting to R&R a motor."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

,
April 21, 2008
By JBarryW
from Greensboro, NC
"After reviewing my options out there, I chose the Torin. It is great value, very well made, and does everything it is supposed to, very well!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Okay hoist

,
January 23, 2008
By jgreway
from Maple Shade, NJ
"I bought this as a home hoist and have used it around eight times in the past two years.. In general it works great and just as it should. It does fold up pretty easy and takes up little space. The only thing that bummed me about it was that the hand pump piston for the hydrualic ram broke and it is almost impossible to find and replace just that part. I ended up buying a whole cyl."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Torin Big Red 1 Ton Folding Shop Crane -Model# T31002
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Personal Hoist

,
October 31, 2007
By Larks
from Iowa
"I purchased this to aid in building my street rod in my garage. It does a great job of lifting engine/trans and many other heavy pieces that I could NOT lift without 2-3 other guys or this hoist. The best part is that it foldes up to take only about 20" of space out from the wall. That's important to me since I moved and have to work out of the suburban 3-stall garage we now. I'm used to my 24'x36' shop which was larger than my current garage and it didn't have my wife's car in it. :) Great product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.