Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Torin Big Red Engine Stand - 1250-Lb. Capacity

Torin Big Red Engine Stand - 1250-Lb. Capacity

Item# 144850
Rotating head allows for easy access to any part of engine and four-leg design adds extra stability. Strong tubular steel construction. 4-bolt hole mounting head. Meets ASME PALD safety standards. Capacity lbs. 1,250, Mounting Head Bolt Holes qty. 4.
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 of 9(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Torin Big Red Engine Stand - 1250-Lb. Capacity
Review 1 for Torin Big Red Engine Stand - 1250-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stand for the price

,
February 4, 2014
By Mickah
from FL
"This is a decent stand and can't be beat for the price. It holds my 283 small block Chevy engine with no problems. Assembly was easy, but make sure you have the bolts to mount the engine to the stand. There may be better stands out there, but I dare say you would be hard pressed to find a better one in the price range."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Torin Big Red Engine Stand - 1250-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Engine stand

,
November 23, 2010
By Bluemax101
from Charlotte, NC
"Best tool to handle the job. It saved me $400. in labor alone. I needed help rebuilding V-6 engine and could not find help from near or far so I received a suggestion to purchase my own stand to do the job. Not having a lot of cash I searched on-line for a deal, Northern out beat every one by far the rest is history. If you need tools look no further than the nearest Northern Tools!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Torin Big Red Engine Stand - 1250-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good buy

,
September 13, 2010
By TimW
from Raleigh, NC
"I bought this stand for a 3.4 V6 Chevy engine. The engine mounted up well and is easy to spin around. For the money this stand is a definite "buy" in my books. As noted by another reviewer the tool tray is an afterthought (loose and a bit "hokey"). For the price the stand is a good value."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Torin Big Red Engine Stand - 1250-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Engine Stand

,
June 2, 2010
By bronco88
from Chester, VA
"Excellent product. I used this for a Ford V8 rebuild project. Moves easy, rotates easy with a complete engine attached. Product was surprisingly light and easy to assemble. Price was excellent !! I would recommend this stand for every do it yourself automotive project."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Torin Big Red Engine Stand - 1250-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great engine stand for the money

,
June 1, 2010
By memphisjack
from Memphis, TN
"Securely mounted my V6, let me rotate it easily. Couldn't have rebuilt the engine without this! Assembled very easily. Great idea for the tool tray. Really helpful! Thanks, Northern Tool!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Torin Big Red Engine Stand - 1250-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great engine stand

,
May 31, 2010
By panzer
from Athens,Ga.
"This is a really strong engine stand,easy to assemble,easy to move around and best of all,very stable. It would be very hard to tip over and has plenty of room underneath for a drip pan.The best stand I have ever used!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Torin Big Red Engine Stand - 1250-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

ENGINE STAND

,
January 17, 2008
By MYSNAKE
from BOATMAN, OK
"ASSEMBLES EASILY. STAND HAS HAD A V-8 ENGINE/W TRANSMISSION ATTACHED. NO PROBLEM. THE PART OF STAND WHERE THE ROTATION HANDLE IS LOCATED SHOULD HAVE TWO MORE HOLES 90 DEG FROM THE EXISTING HOLES. WOULD BE EASIER TO ROTATED THE ENGINE. THE TOOL TRAY IS GOOD IDEA BUT SHOULD BE SUPPORTED BETTER. EXISTING MOUNT BENDS TOO EASILY."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Torin Big Red Engine Stand - 1250-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

May Be Okay For a Small 6-Cylinder

,
July 2, 2007
By Patrick
from Houston Texas
"I bought one of these for a small Ford flathead V8, but I did not like the amount of flex I was seeing when the engine was mounted...just didn't feel comfortable.
I ditched that stand and went back for the heavier black unit...plus it folds up nicely.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Torin Big Red Engine Stand - 1250-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

engine stand

,
March 7, 2007
By 46flyer
from Nebraska
"I put this stand together in no time and started to use it. It is made very well and is very sturdy. It will work well for my engine rebuild."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.