Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Torin Service Jack - 3 Ton Capacity, Model# T83002

Torin Service Jack - 3 Ton Capacity, Model# T83002

Item# 144856
The 3 Ton Torin Service Jack is a rapid rise hydraulic power unit featuring dual pump pistons that raise the lift arm to its maximum height in 5 1/2 pump strokes. This heavy-duty service jack is designed with a low profile chassis and lift height to get under vehicles with limited ground clearance. Angular positioned pump pistons provide maximum effective pump stroke when the jack is completely under a vehicle. Meets ASME PASE safety standards. Safety Valve Yes, Dimensions L x W x H in. 25 x 13, Lift Capacity tons 3, Max. Lift Height in. 20.5, Min. Lift Height in. 5.5. Safety overload system and bypass safety valves prevent the jack from being used beyond its rated capacity and also prevent ram over extension Heavy-gauge steel frame Strong chassis with upper and lower frame flanges to withstand twisting Pump piston dust shields and wiper seals protect the hydraulic system from contaminants Wide front wheels and ball bearing mounted rear caster wheels for stability and easy maneuverability Round cast steel saddle Long handle for easy pumping 6,000lb. weight capacity Min. height 5.5in. Max. height 20.5in.
Average Customer Rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 of 13(85%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Torin Service Jack - 3 Ton Capacity, Model# T83002
Review 1 for Torin Service Jack - 3 Ton Capacity, Model# T83002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome jack

,
February 4, 2014
By Tiny2399
from GA
"this jack is great ! Right out of the box with easy prep instructions and I was using it in 10 minutes and had my truck in the air. wheels roll really good and the rubber handle grip performs better than previous jacks that the grip was spinning with the first use. Great piece for the price and great value for the quality! would highly recommend to anyone!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Torin Service Jack - 3 Ton Capacity, Model# T83002
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Jack

,
April 24, 2013
By JAE1961
from Lex NC
"This Torin Jack is mediocre. The first year I had it I had no trouble. The jack developed a leak in the second year. The possibility of getting parts such as seals is almost non existant. I was able to remove the piston and reseat the seal. I re-filled with oil and so far it has not leaked. I bought a bottle jack as a backup to use. I love that this jack lifts quickly but would like to get new seals for it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Torin Service Jack - 3 Ton Capacity, Model# T83002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Red 3 Ton Jack

,
April 24, 2013
By FDNY282
from Staten Island,NY
"Good general use car jack easy to use and great lifting strength for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Torin Service Jack - 3 Ton Capacity, Model# T83002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

as reliable as any proffeyional foor jack

,
April 11, 2013
By rb365
from clearwater
"i titled this jack work horse. after 12 year of my snap on 3 ton floor jack it finally gave up.ididnt want to spend the money on a snap n jack again even though am a proffetional auto technician.northern tool is just a few miles away from work so i decided to give the torin 3 ton jack a try after careful consideration. is jack doesnt stop is a work horse 12 hours a day 6 days a week and performs well and hasnt failed me yet and it performs the same as my 400 dollar jack.great jack for proffetional and non proffetional."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Torin Service Jack - 3 Ton Capacity, Model# T83002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't buy cheap

,
October 30, 2011
By Speednik
from Minnesota
"I have a low end 2.5 ton Larin that I bought several yrs ago but had never used. I tried to use it recently. It wouldn't lift at all. I replaced hydraulic fluid and it still failed. I then bought a 2.5 ton Torin at Northern and it lifted my lawn tractor and then within 10 mins the tires were on the floor. I checked the web for reviews and discovered this model was sold at several retailers and had a very low rating. Most of the complaints involved failure to stay up. I returnded the Big Red 2.5 ton today and bought the more expensive 3 ton, model T83002.
There's no comparison. This is a serious heavy duty machine that worked perfectly out of the box. It's very heavy due to the heavier steel but easy to move around with the longer 1.25 inch handle. Don't waste your time with cheap light weight jacks.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Torin Service Jack - 3 Ton Capacity, Model# T83002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Happy with the performance

,
March 14, 2011
By piulfou
from Snowflake, AZ
"Easy to use. Lifts a lot of weight. Heavy duty. Not one problem.
I have had this jack for about 2 months and have used it about 8 times. I am not really a car guy, but I like to do my own work-like for oil changes and tire rotations. This really fulfills my needs. And, I think it would handle the work load for a car guy that would be using it everyday; it's that well built. It took almost 2 months to get it, but it was worth the wait.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Torin Service Jack - 3 Ton Capacity, Model# T83002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3 ton jack

,
November 24, 2010
By jedi227
from warwick,ri
"better then the craftsman 3.5 ton i just junked this jack lifts almost everything you put it under would highly recomend it thank you"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Torin Service Jack - 3 Ton Capacity, Model# T83002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Jack

,
August 30, 2010
By MLC62
from Ocala, Florida
"I bought this jack over 9 months ago and have used it every day since then to lift cars, trucks, mowers, tractors and trailers. This jack stands up excellent to anything that you use it for. It lifts quickly and holds strong. This is a great jack for the professional or just for personal use. I give it 10 stars!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Torin Service Jack - 3 Ton Capacity, Model# T83002
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Torin Jack

,
February 16, 2010
By jajajy
from N.Y.
"I have used this jack in an all around atmosphere. I find it to be satisfactory for its intended use. It is reliable(insofar as my old one was not). I would recommend it to a friend or fellow worker for use. It does take a beating as far as I'm concerned. I put it through it's paces the first two months I had it since I was very busy, and, it came through just fine"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Torin Service Jack - 3 Ton Capacity, Model# T83002
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

3 ton Torin jack leaks

,
January 9, 2010
By blstx
from Texas
"I purchased a 3 ton Torin floor jack (Model # T83002) and lifted a 350 pound object when it was assembled. The next morning, 8 hours later, the jack had leaked down from the load. I would not recommend this jack to anyone based on this experience."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-21points
3out of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Torin Service Jack - 3 Ton Capacity, Model# T83002
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Torin Garage Jack

,
November 2, 2009
By John63
from New Jersey
"Heavy jack and sometimes hard to move around but strong and picks up my Mercury Grand Marquis with no problems. Price was good and a value."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Torin Service Jack - 3 Ton Capacity, Model# T83002
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Jack Review

,
November 2, 2009
By TxPres
from TX
"Good Quality, Well built.
In addition, has a removable saddle that lets me use my "Jack-a-Vette" special saddle for use with my Corvette.
Also, has very good lifting height."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Torin Service Jack - 3 Ton Capacity, Model# T83002
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Torin 3Ton Garage Jack

,
November 17, 2008
By SandSailor
from Tidewater, VA
"Good purchase. Works as expected. Construction appears to be solid, and I haven't had any problems with its use. I'd purchase it or another Torin jack in the future."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.